View Full Version : cockle bank tings
trueblue
21-05-2011, 06:14 PM
plenty of tings on the cockle banks. had the place to ourselves this arvo, 70 whiting in about 2 1/2 hours
came right on the bite as the rain closed in
left them biting once we had a good feed
two dogs
21-05-2011, 06:33 PM
cheers for the report mick... what sort of depth did you get them in and any size? we were going to head to the rous but if they are on like that might save fuel
trueblue
21-05-2011, 06:41 PM
not the biggest, but the odd good one in them.
all diver winter whiting, so anything too small to be bothered filleting makes perfect snapper bait
4 to 5 metres
trueblue
21-05-2011, 07:39 PM
by the way, we caught about half a dozen super small baby squire in my whiting spot...
Never ever seen them there before, and I've fished this spot for years
who's these twats who reckon the snapper are at risk???
nipsta
21-05-2011, 08:25 PM
by the way, we caught about half a dozen super small baby squire in my whiting spot...
what was the conditions like thinking of going down for arun in the morning dpeneding on the rain and yep last time i was there i got a few small snapps too and a few black tip reef sharks
trueblue
21-05-2011, 08:30 PM
it was great this arvo. 1 foot of chop, and nobody there but me today, one boat turned up just as we were leaving but that was it
plenty of showers out there today, but they went around us till the last one that got quite wet but by that time we had a good feed already and headed in
21-05-2011, 09:59 PM
Good to hear you got some fish. I should run out there and pick some up for bait at The Hookup.
How are the new electronics
trueblue
22-05-2011, 08:16 AM
let me know before you go up to the Hookup Chris - I'll have lots more whiting frames in the freezer than I can use for bait if you want them
gunna
22-05-2011, 08:22 AM
Now the experts will say the ban worked - all those small snapper that bred in a couple months lol.
noddy1786
23-05-2011, 05:24 PM
cheers for the report mate. im keen to get out there and grab a feed.
daz
trueblue
23-05-2011, 05:57 PM
How are the new electronics
very nice new fuel flow meter mate. interesting that it came with a new chart thingy :-X :-X :-X
cobia
23-05-2011, 08:10 PM
Where are the cockle banks?
trueblue
23-05-2011, 08:28 PM
between bribie and scarborough, sort of
nipsta
23-05-2011, 08:32 PM
between bribie and scarborough, sort of
true blue shhh shhh tell him between land and water lol .
True blues right on the location wont misss it there are normally about 20 to 30 boats there and you wont belive some of the sizre of the boats fishing for winter whiting love the spot
Seahorse
23-05-2011, 09:08 PM
everytime i fished cockle banks, never got any size.
They are shitloads bigger out front woody point, just not the numbers.
would rather have 20 big whiting than 50 small divers.
We fished between scarb and dbay on saturday. got about 30 and some good size too.
Patanoster rig, all caught on bottom hook.
greg