View Full Version : Boat Ramp money.
supa29
15-05-2011, 08:27 PM
I have just moved from sunshine coast where i have lived for 20 yrs to Yeppoon for work reasons, and have been told by locals that i have found paradise when it comes to fishing.
Now i know this may have been covered in past threads but i dont understand where our rego money goes when it comes to boat ramp spending, i lived on sunny coast for years and dealing with the rather poor excuse of ramps there. we only really had kawana ramps for yrs until they built mooloolaba coast gaurd ramps but both have very limited parking space and until recently the ramp was in poor condition which did get upgraded (surface only) as i left.
now at yeppoon the ramps here are great compared to kawana they are 4 wide both of them and both have full 50 plus foot of floating pontoons and it seems plenty of parking. but have since heard that on a big day there is cars and trailers parked for miles away. but i must say the ramps look great and they are geting resurfaced now.
considering the sunny coast is 3 or 4 times as big and with closeness of brisy i wonder why money never gets spent on ramps not only on sunny coast but also in areas like yeppoon, with record rego costs and we still dont get qaulity ramps or parking areas for car and trailers.
there must be other ramps out there that are probably worse so i was just wondering what everyone thinks of their local ramps and there condition.
thanks kel.
ifishcq1
15-05-2011, 08:32 PM
Supa, the problem in Yeppoon is we have great ramps but no where near enough parking on glass off days
Captain Seaweed
15-05-2011, 08:35 PM
I think the following of my local ramps:
Manly-Shite, great to see that Fisheries/coastguard have a great new ramp and walkway and the public ramp is still crap. I had the fisheries barge dropping off something not long ago on public ramp and couldnt get onto land , so I pulled up to their pontoon to drop off my mate to get ute. I had a fisheries guy come down swiftly and explain that"if you were to have a slip and fall on their ramp..blah blah blah dont use it again"
Raby Bay- I think someone has dropped sand onto the existing rocks but that may be slowly disappearing.
Shame both great locations but certainly need better facilities.
By the way had a bad day so I may sound worse than normal
supa29
15-05-2011, 08:48 PM
Supa, the problem in Yeppoon is we have great ramps but no where near enough parking on glass off days
mate i drove down there one glassed out day and was lucky to even drive around but at sunny coast it was the same on good day but ur lucky we got good ramps up here and i hear there is a push for ramps at emu park. pity ross creek wasnt deeper too.
kel
Feral
16-05-2011, 05:43 AM
Fisheries had a survey not long ago where you could comment on where you thought they should improve ramps and access. Not seen any results from it as yet.
lifestyle
16-05-2011, 02:13 PM
Pinkenbah ramp used to have heaps of parking be it on dirt it was still there. Now the area has been done up and money spent on the ramp but it has a massively reduced boat trailer parking compacity. In general looks good but not practicable..
I launch off the beach and would love to see that full of boat trailers :P
def could do with some better high tide parking though and a cleaning table
cheers Murf
Captain Incredible
16-05-2011, 08:41 PM
A number of ramps had video surveillance to "survey useage". Where are the results of the survey? Was the survey to spend more money on ramps? Or did some PHD student get his thesis research paid for by our PPVL levy?
Not only are ramps undermaintained- not pressure washed to get rid of slime, the lateral lights into a harbour like Scarborough Marine ARE JUST QUITE SIMPLY INADEQUATE!
No lead lights, etc. So what is the PPVL being spent on? Where is the money being spent which which has been directly deducted from Boat owners while the ramps and entrances are in such shit condition?
I have been trying for three years to get adequate lighting for Scarborough. Is it the old- We will fix it when someone dies to avoid further media scrutiny.
I don't want my friends or family (or me!) to be the one that is killed by the lack of adequate facilities.
An angry Keith
supa29
16-05-2011, 08:54 PM
keith i think all of us agree with you on your anger at lack of facilities and ramp conditions, who wouldbe controling the cameras mate might try and track the images down
kel.,,,,,,
bigjimg
16-05-2011, 09:19 PM
The only ramps I use are Scarby and MBTBC.Anything else is not considered unless it has a pontoon setup.And at $350 the ramp would want to be good at the club,which it is.But for the life of me every public ramp should have a pontoon.I hope everyone that uses the ramp at Whyte Island notice the effort to maintain the facilities there,ramp pressure washed,fish cleaning tables pressure washed and cleaning the fish and bait mess of the picnic huts.Some fisho's are deadset pigs.Jim
Reef Cruiser
25-05-2011, 09:25 PM
our boat ramp at mourilyan north qld has taken 5 years to build and now cec group who was building it has gone broke it is gov funded ???? but ha we have the rocks down it was spose to take 6 months to build ???? we dont have work or good roads but ha rego for the boat and trailer allways comes on time ... but give us somthing a good boat ramp so we can take our kids fishing and not thinking about the crocs when we get the car and they are holding the boat??? if we lived on the gold coast ..iam sure i would not be wrighting this post
pontificator
26-05-2011, 09:56 AM
they spent a fair bit of money on Dohles Rocks ramp in the Pine River, and for my purposes made it worse :-(
FishHunter
26-05-2011, 06:29 PM
Mackay reportedly has more boats per capita than anywhere else is Australia and we have 1 decent all tide boat ramp with a fraction of the parking space needed.
Reef Cruiser
26-05-2011, 08:07 PM
Mackay reportedly has more boats per capita than anywhere else is Australia and we have 1 decent all tide boat ramp with a fraction of the parking space needed.
it is very sad fish hunter where does all the money go i am sure it is about time they gave us all somthing back from our rego money ha??? fisheries get enough money from the fines they get .. but ha if u are doing the wrong thing you should get fined ha ? but we all need somthing alot better than we have got
BOMBIE
27-05-2011, 11:31 PM
Sorry mate but this area HAS this most rego& licences per capita in Qld, been pushing for a proper Ramp & xcess in Emu Park for years,, Meeting again tomorrow at the proposed site >
yellowbellyking
28-05-2011, 02:04 PM
i reckon the dirtiest ramp i have seen is the one on the logan river near the highway at beenleigh . the parking area is wonderful but the ramp has about a foot of mud on it or more so no one uses it you would think the logan council would clean it once in a while
BOMBIE
28-05-2011, 06:02 PM
Got news today that the govt member in t/ville Wallace (sorry fellas) and let me know if this is incorrect,quoted they are putting ((( 14 )) more ramps in that area with only 18 k of regd boaties !! Bit of pig barrelling ::)
28-05-2011, 07:47 PM
I wouldn't complain about more ramps being put in anywhere.
BOMBIE
30-05-2011, 07:27 AM
I wouldn't complain about more ramps being put in anywhere.
This is not a complaint ,but I would just once like it to be shared equally .Why do areas with Ministers get most::) and we with none,, get F#*k all>:(
Hambone
30-05-2011, 07:52 AM
Actually, Fisheries aren't responsible for boat ramps, although now Boating Infrastructure is in Minister Wallace's portfolio. The Department of Transport had the responsibility for ramps etc.
BOMBIE
01-06-2011, 04:18 PM
Actually, Fisheries aren't responsible for boat ramps, although now Boating Infrastructure is in Minister Wallace's portfolio. The Department of Transport had the responsibility for ramps etc.
Yes, & No is the correct answer, Qld t/port ARE responsible for placement, design, and coffers etc, but the local Regional council must firstly agree to (ask for a Ramp) which ours THE RRC IS NOT DOING ,>:(>:( then put in the basic infrastructure to these ramps, toilets ,lighting ,parking,linemarking etc, then it is there responsibility to maintain it all. But being the Boating Infrastructure Minister wouldnt have much pull in getting this pushed along ::)