View Full Version : fish ID please?
big_fan_of_jack
11-05-2011, 05:02 PM
pulled this fella up in my cast next when netting mullet up the nerang the other day n havnt see one b4:o so snapped a pic and chucked him back, chee67218rs8-)
blackjew
11-05-2011, 05:07 PM
Gday mate weres da pic
big_fan_of_jack
11-05-2011, 05:44 PM
sorry fella posted it was getting a drink n on second thought i didnt even put a pic on the post haha
Ryan the slayer
11-05-2011, 05:47 PM
i dont gnow what they are but i have got them spear fishing in cudgen creek not bad chewing tho
Greg001
11-05-2011, 05:56 PM
not sure but if it had a bit more purple to it i'd say a Happy moment???????????/
nickstock
11-05-2011, 06:01 PM
River Dory is their common name although they are not a true Dory species.
They go like stink for their size when the get around the 1.5 kilo mark
11-05-2011, 06:04 PM
It is called a scat, very painful spines on them similar to happy moments, but very good eating if you dare.
Grow to 2kg+ and often school around bridges, piers and wharves amongst the pilons.
big_fan_of_jack
11-05-2011, 06:04 PM
<p>good chewing i should have kept the barsted ha, happy moment hey i wasnt really happy when i got it mungrel thrashing around in the net when i was pulling it up scared off all the mullet ah to right about that nicko i reckon it would have went well on a bream outfit as it was as big as my foot,
thanks fellas
11-05-2011, 06:14 PM
striped butterfish, also known as scat and local dory. they are very adaptable and can be converted to fresh water, so great for an aquarium, My uncle nets a few in the passage, he eats them as say they are fine, but as mentioned, watch the spines....