View Full Version : Rous Channel Monday Arvo

Lachie1
10-05-2011, 01:39 PM
Have been at work for the last 5 or 6 weeks so have been pretty keen to get out for a fish... Finally got a few hours spare after a pretty busy weekend and the weather looked ok so decided to head out into the bay to see what was happening.

Left Manly about 1:30 pm and headed for the rous, stopped on a good show at harries for a bit but decided to go get a feed of whiting as there is nothing at harries that tastes as good as whiting ;D ::) ;D

Drifted around for an hour or 2 and got enough for a feed plus a few good squid, there were some good size whiting around and they seemed fatter than usual. All were caught on squid strips. Plenty of little bar tail flathead around too.

Moved spots to use up some of the pilchards i had and got 2 keeper squire just on sun down. Missed a couple of screaming runs and saw some really big splashes on the surface whilst anchored up. :o

Got a wobbygong about 1.5m long just after 6 so headed home and had the boat back in the yard before 7pm.

A good way to spend the arvo i reckon8-)

Lachie

two dogs
10-05-2011, 02:59 PM
Hey Lachie,

thanks for the report. We fished the rous on monday of the labour day long weekend for some good whiting too and also found the small flat head to be abundant, few of them were legal size but i still find them a tad small for a decent fillet at that size. We also had pots down near the entry to browns i think and the last pot had the biggest wobby i have ever seen, big male, awesome markings and would have been well over 20kg, could hardly get the pot over the side of the boat, lucky for us he left us one legal sandy too. Same one perhaps? Big splashes might have been long tails, they were every where through out the rous on mon feeding on tiny dark coloured bait fish. If you dont mind sharing (but totally understand if you want to keep it secret)... what do you look for in the rous to target the squire?

Lachie1
10-05-2011, 07:51 PM
Two Dogs,

I reckon the splashes were either tuna or big trevally but they were pretty big either way.

Generally just fish the drop offs throughout the channel or patches of weed or harder bottom that are holding fish. It is worth doing a bit of exploring if you have some spare time i reckon.

Hope that helps you a bit??

Lachie

two dogs
10-05-2011, 07:59 PM
Thanks lachie
it is an interesting bit of water with plenty of nice looking drains that we have fished well for mackeral in the past but like you said, i havent done a lot of exploring certainly not enough to find any harder bottom, i know it used to be there from stories but then silted up but think it has recently been exposed again? we caught a heap of undersize tuskies amongst the whiting, one almost measured to. massive test of knots and the whiting gear!

Lachie1
11-05-2011, 10:28 AM
It has been at least 7 months since i've fished the rous for reefies mate but it could have been cleaned out by all that water movement we had earlier in the year i don't really know. It generally gets a fair flush on the big tides anyway. Most of the water i fish in the rous is deeper than 7m unless its for whiting.

Lachie

DRAGMAN
11-05-2011, 10:36 AM
Sounds like a greag day to spend Monday arvo. Mine was stuck at work. Nice pic of the weather!