View Full Version : Couple of fish

004dam
07-05-2011, 04:27 PM
Went out today for a quick flick to see whats lurking, The river is quite clean considering the weather of recent.

We started off well this morning with me calling a fish for my first cast..... ended up coming true to a pesky hairtail. Three more casts and picked up a 49cm flathead on a 100mm bloodworm wriggler unfortunately it took the lure quite deep so I kept this one for flathead and chips for dinner. After not alot of action moved to some rocky ground and picked up a couple small cod and a nice bream of 30cm on a mix of cranka cranks and a unkown lure. Hit a sandy stretch and pelted out a jackall chubby and picked up my last fish for the day a very decent flatty which thankfully was easy to release.

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/225593_10150248714841223_751566222_9198134_6605114 _n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/224106_10150248714896223_751566222_9198136_2160841 _n.jpg

The jackall after the flathead had a good crack at it 1 snapped treble and the other bent ... Pays to upgrade hooks I guess.

http://i904.photobucket.com/albums/ac244/004dam/P1000342.jpg

And a couple of extra from the other day/night..

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/230649_10150244242041223_751566222_9154685_6906028 _n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/228036_10150245376536223_751566222_9166920_2460765 _n.jpg

2nd bream
http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/230466_10150245376581223_751566222_9166921_1537774 _n.jpg

brock13
07-05-2011, 05:20 PM
good stuff

Tim Hutchison
07-05-2011, 06:09 PM
nice fish jackalls are great lures and you have to pay a top price for you think they could put some owner or decoys

Mossy247
07-05-2011, 06:13 PM
mate any jackall needs an upgrade that's for sure the original ones fold like crazy. Nice fish.

004dam
07-05-2011, 06:32 PM
nice fish jackalls are great lures and you have to pay a top price for you think they could put some owner or decoys

Yeah can't agree more, I'm thinking about trying some atomic cranks almost half the price and hopefully perform just as well.

Mossy247
07-05-2011, 07:31 PM
Yes, don't go past the river to seas though either, they are a great lure and come standard with owners and are also half the jackall price perform the same if not better.

Mexikan
07-05-2011, 07:35 PM
Mate the hairtail seem to come on more after dark.Was getting a few last weekend on SPs(check my post)they were making meals of them LOl

Mex

jesse148
07-05-2011, 11:23 PM
Some nice lizards there mate! That's a good little river system up there. After seeing you the other day I landed a couple more. Those bloody hairtail go alright on the light string hey, ugly lookin things tho! I'd take mossys advice on the river 2 seas, that's what I landed most my fish on on there, also a cheap lure from tackleworld
Kawana called a strada I think....

chief
08-05-2011, 10:51 AM
The only good thing about those light wire jackall hooks is they really pin bream .I usually get most decoys or owners off snags but occassionaly you lose one. Never lose a jackal with standard hooks ,D you can pull the hooks straight no worries ;D

004dam
08-05-2011, 12:02 PM
The only good thing about those light wire jackall hooks is they really pin bream .I usually get most decoys or owners off snags but occassionaly you lose one. Never lose a jackal with standard hooks ,D you can pull the hooks straight no worries ;D

Haha that's a very good point, I stoked up some some baby cranks and atomic cranks so I shall see how they compare next weekend.