View Full Version : Gold coast tailor
scarby
02-05-2011, 04:05 PM
Just wondering if anyone has heard of the tailor turning up yet? I went down to the sand pumping jetty on sat night for the incoming tide and got nothing. Conditions seemed ideal, plenty of white water and great bait, but not a touch. All i saw caught in a crowd of about 100 was 1 shark, 1 ray and a dart. When we got there a bloke was cleaning a 47cm bream that went 1.6kg. :o
Anyway, anyone seen any tailor around on the beaches or headlands?
URAGANGI
02-05-2011, 06:37 PM
If you'd like to go for a drive further south, let's say Fingal headland and beaches through to kingscliff and wooyung coastline you should tangle with some decent tailor there.
I've been using whitebait and pilchards that have been filleted with one side off then place your gangs through the other side. Cut your tails off your pillies this will stop your bait from spinning during casting and while it's soaking in the surf.
Gav.
seastorm
02-05-2011, 06:44 PM
I caught one on the 24's East of the sand pumping jetty about a week ago went about 45cm
bondy99
05-05-2011, 12:10 PM
G'day Viper Fish (Gav),
How you going champ?
Mate, can you tell me what size gang hooks you are using with your whitebait for tailor?.
I made enquiries with BCF about those hook Mustard number 77662, they never heard of them, all they have is Mustard 7766D
How ddi you stop your filleted pillies from coming off or breaking up? Did you salted them down for a few days?
Cheers, bondy
URAGANGI
05-05-2011, 03:15 PM
Bondy, Yeah G'day how'd your trip go?
About those hooks for the white bait I sware to god I gave you the right details!!
Sorry for the wrong turn I gave you!!....Go the second choice of what was advised Mustad 7766D. The gangs only have to just cover the length of your bait. The more barb you have exposed the better off you are. Or that's what I found.
The Tailor that did take them were all gut hooked.
So make sure you have a very forgiving leader. But once the bait is found and taken... It's taken in a hell of a hurry.
Ok for the Pillies that I have taken the sides off.. Yes salt them down.... Just enough to tuffen up the skin of the pilly. I usually salt them down a night before I need them. The fillet that is left over salt that down as well. I use those for bream.
Cheers, Go P.M
Gav.
bondy99
06-05-2011, 09:47 PM
G'day Gav,
I went down there but went on wrong day, blowy as and big seas. I should have checked BOM site or Seabreeze if it covered that area.
Those whitebait I was looking at are very small. I think the 4/0 7766D hooks I was going to use would have split these no worries.
I'm going to use a 1001b jinkai leader. surely that would be sufficient unless those chopper teeth do damage.
Thanks for the advice on pillies. will give that a go for my next trip. Week after next will be it for the southern area.
Have great one.
Cheers, Peter
trymyluck
06-05-2011, 10:33 PM
G'day Gav,
I went down there but went on wrong day, blowy as and big seas. I should have checked BOM site or Seabreeze if it covered that area.
Those whitebait I was looking at are very small. I think the 4/0 7766D hooks I was going to use would have split these no worries.
I'm going to use a 1001b jinkai leader. surely that would be sufficient unless those chopper teeth do damage.
Thanks for the advice on pillies. will give that a go for my next trip. Week after next will be it for the southern area.
Have great one.
Cheers, Peter
WTHF are you on, 100lb leader for tailor????????????
Vitamin Sea
07-05-2011, 07:37 PM
G'day Gav,
Have great one.
Cheers, Peter
Bondy
I think it's fair to say that 100lb leader is a bit (80lb) overboard for tailor.
Bill
timddo
07-05-2011, 07:53 PM
I use 40 lb leader. 100 is overkill
07-05-2011, 09:14 PM
20lb Jinkai will see all tailor landed that I have come across.
For whitebait I use 1/0 or 2/0 two gangers, for frogmouth I use the same size in 3 gangs. Have never had a problem missing with them. Mustad 4202's are my usual hook, or 4175D linked with swivels.
Last yr I also trialed chem sharpened octopus suicide hooks running on singlestrand stainless wire and used red tube to keep the hooks spaced. Hookups were solid and the red whiting tube did not put the fish off. Might give it another testing run in a week or three again.
Slider
08-05-2011, 09:51 AM
I recall a past prominent member of this site with extensive tailor fishing credentials stating that he'd had tailor go through 100lb wire. While I'm more than a little sceptical about that - the first tailor I caught on a Slider which went 12lb, went through the 100lb 10X I was sliding the slug on, just as I beached the fish. Since then I've mostly used wire to slide the slugs, but on occasions have used 100lb 10X. I've been bitten off on a couple of occasions by large greenbacks through fresh 10X and also after beaching a number (10 - 20) of choppers that have gradually worn through the mono with their teeth. I also remember watching a mate drop a 10ish pounder during the Fraser comp after it had chewed through his 100lb mono Slider trace - an expensive drop as it turned out.
Sliders move up the leader when attached to a fish and expose the leader directly above the single treble or opposite facing singles which are easy for decent tailor to have entirely in their mouth which means they are often chewing directly down on the leader.
When using baited gangs, the length of the gang reduces the potential for tailor to have all hooks in their mouth which means they are chewing down on the hooks nearly every time. Therefore, the need for a leader when using gangs is almost unnecessary - unless using particularly light main line such as 6 - 9lb when a heavier leader of 15 - 20lb can be of value for large tailor - to assist against wear from dorsals but not to prevent biteoffs.
In the days when I used bait for tailor, I would mostly use 15lb main line through to the gangs. However, bite offs did occur, but usually from fish other than the one hooked which would chew at anything that moved such as the sinker or swivel - much the same as mackerel.
There are 2 ways to overcome that problem - either use a very short trace of less than 15cm which seems to prevent other fish from targeting the sinker or swivel - probably because too close to the hooked fish's mouth and they risk injury themselves. Though the sinker will ride up the main line whilst playing a fish and bite offs may still occur. The other way, which is the method we adopted for spaniards off the beach - is to use a length of wire of about 20cm to a swivel and then another length of wire 20cm to 40cm with the sinker running on that and a small black swivel at the top that the main line connects to. So when other fish target the sinker, then they are chewing on wire.
But to use anything under probably 60lb mono trace with the expectation that they can't chew through it is a falsehood - even choppers will do that pretty quick.
So, when Bondy says he's going to use 100lb, it's not that radical as tailor do have the ability to go through it. However, Bondy, I'd be inclined to use 30lb black nylon coated wire trace of around 15cm - which helps casting also. But I just don't see that there is any necessity to use anything heavier than 15lb main line for any sized tailor.
SUPERFORM
09-05-2011, 03:43 PM
There was quite a few schools throughout the Broadwater on Saturday and Sunday. Mostly smallish choppers around 40cm......
apconcen
09-05-2011, 04:01 PM
the choppers were at the Sand pumping Jetty as well last week. Most are undersized and 3 fishermen were fined accordingly by Fisheries
bondy99
11-05-2011, 09:54 AM
Trymyluck and Vitamin sea and timddo,
Mate, I've been around too long and caught a few in the past and can say that I wont go under 501b trace, lost too many tailor using less than 501b as leader.
Slider is on the money, Yeah, I'll give that a go what you suggested and see how it goes.
Cheers, Bondy
gunna
11-05-2011, 05:53 PM
Most are undersized and 3 fishermen were fined accordingly by Fisheries
How good is it to hear that !!!!!
bondy99
11-05-2011, 11:22 PM
the choppers were at the Sand pumping Jetty as well last week. Most are undersized and 3 fishermen were fined accordingly by Fisheries
About bloody time
URAGANGI
12-05-2011, 03:00 PM
Easy easy there! what if the 100lb trace was a type "O"Geeze
fishinwahbee
12-05-2011, 05:36 PM
finess is better 20 pound flourocarbon should do it. Got 1m makeral on it.
goat boy
14-05-2011, 12:37 PM
Around South Goldy/Tweed there's plenty of Tailor around,beach and river, though they're still pretty small. I went out for a few hours off a local beach early yest evening and in amongst the (almost) plague undersized choppers, vermin and dart managed a few for the bbg with a couple of fat bream to add in.
bondy99
14-05-2011, 09:45 PM
Thanks Goat boy, mate will be down later next week when the wind blows again