View Full Version : Mongrels keeping undersize fish!!!!

crusty
29-04-2011, 01:37 PM
Hi all went out today to flick a few bream poppers around didn't even get a follow:( so changed location and changed to bait there was a couple of guys fishing not far from me you no the type, the guys who see you catch a fish and cast right in front of you coze maybe the fish are all just in front of you and not 30 feet over where they are... any way I saw these two guys catch at least 3 bream and put them in there bucket if they even reached 20mm I would of been surprised!! I said to one guy "bit small to keep eh?" his reply was "it wasn't a bad size one" to which I said "no where near 25 though eh?" then he said "oh well we are only having fun today" then walked off now I'm spewin about this>:( >:( I no I'm not the only one who has seen this before what I want to no is who can we call to report this to? and will they come and do anything if we call them?? anyway tight lines guys8-)

antg2378
29-04-2011, 02:16 PM
If you have their boat or car rego # call Primary Industries and Fisheries (if your in Qld of course). This is what it says on their website "To report suspected illegal fishing activities in Queensland call the Fishwatch hotline (http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/28_12658.htm)on 1800 017 116". Link to the website http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/28_12647.htm
I was out on Tuesday and they came up to me twice within the space of a couple of hours. Checked the Jew I had in the esky and later on when I was pulling crab pots up asked if I had any crabs, if they were legal and if I had a measuring device. I didn't have an issue with it, I'd rather see them trying their best to catch ba$%^rds like you mentioned above.

Orange_hains
29-04-2011, 04:13 PM
i have no problem with them checking me what so ever, i have never once been in the situation that i am worried about sizes, i am acutally happy to get checked beacuse that means there are more of the problem people getting caught.

the type your talking of just make them into "fish cake" no matter the size haha.

samson
29-04-2011, 05:05 PM
i've seen a guy at a boat ramp catching and releasing bream by the hundred at a fish cleaning table at tweed the only problem was every fish released was pissing him off because they were too small so he released every fish to a bunch of pelicans sitting in front of him they were loving the free feed but he persisted even after i commented not to do it, though i don't think he was breaking any laws it was bloody hard to watch.

crusty
29-04-2011, 06:36 PM
If you have their boat or car rego # call Primary Industries and Fisheries (if your in Qld of course). This is what it says on their website "To report suspected illegal fishing activities in Queensland call the Fishwatch hotline (http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/28_12658.htm)on 1800 017 116". Link to the website http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/28_12647.htm
I was out on Tuesday and they came up to me twice within the space of a couple of hours. Checked the Jew I had in the esky and later on when I was pulling crab pots up asked if I had any crabs, if they were legal and if I had a measuring device. I didn't have an issue with it, I'd rather see them trying their best to catch ba$%^rds like you mentioned above.

Thanks mate I'v put it in my phone I'll be ringing them next time! it realy sh#s me! I'v got a little 18month old girl who loves seeing her dad catch fish she loves touching them and says bye! and waves when dad releases them,I want her to be able catch her own fish in the next few years and if mongrels keep taking everything there wont be anything for her to catch!!!!:'(

samson
29-04-2011, 07:35 PM
good luck with that fish watch line i tried it before and was directed to someone in india who didn't even know what a fish was.

antg2378
29-04-2011, 07:50 PM
If you have no luck with the 1800 number there are phone and fax numbers for different areas on the website I linked, such as Redlands and Gold Coast among others.

antg2378
29-04-2011, 07:54 PM
Thanks mate I'v put it in my phone I'll be ringing them next time! it realy sh#s me! I'v got a little 18month old girl who loves seeing her dad catch fish she loves touching them and says bye! and waves when dad releases them,I want her to be able catch her own fish in the next few years and if mongrels keep taking everything there wont be anything for her to catch!!!!:'(

I know where your coming from mate, the look on my daughters face when I pulled a Jew as tall as she is out of the esky was priceless. Have had her in the boat twice but its a bit hard to explain to a 2 year old why she must wear a life jacket.

wayno60
29-04-2011, 08:24 PM
Mate ya see it all the time up the seaway..... Not Australians, (no thats not fair, even aussies) taking every scale home with them. I wish there were more partols out and about....

FishHunter
29-04-2011, 08:34 PM
Mate ya see it all the time up the seaway..... Not Australians, (no thats not fair, even aussies) taking every scale home with them. I wish there were more partols out and about....

I am not a Australian and I know Australians who think I am insane for letting fish go and not filling my esky when I have the chance.

loophole
29-04-2011, 09:11 PM
thats when these guys need to have two accidental flat tires....

wayno60
29-04-2011, 09:28 PM
Fish, i wasnt having a go at any one in particular just that when ever im up their it always seems to be the Asian fisherperson that has a liking to 6in bream.
But having said that ive seen aussies do it to....

anyway it still wrong who ever does it.

apconcen
30-04-2011, 04:59 AM
keeping small fish aint race specific buddy

its just that the Asians tend to get reported more, normal bias in the society until the stereotype becomes 'gospel truth'

30-04-2011, 05:46 AM
I love that term "Asian"...they could could be from Russia or Israel or Japan or India..or a great many other countries in Asia.

I don't care what a person's background is..if they are breaking the law then they should be penalised. Some Aussies are as bad or worse than others.

Bros
30-04-2011, 08:42 AM
i have no problem with them checking me what so ever, i have never once been in the situation that i am worried about

I have, I was crabbing in a tinnie and a female crab ended up somewhere in the boat that I couldn't get. I got back to the ramp and the fisho's were there and asked me to look at my catch. I told them I had a female crab I couldn't find, so they said make sure you find it before you leave. Technically they could have done me as it was in possession.

HeadBanger
30-04-2011, 12:03 PM
Don't start the 'Asian' debate again. I've been on this site a relatively short time compared to other members, and even I've seen it enough. I'm sure Wanyo was just saying what he's seen and called a spade a spade, rather than beating around the bush.

Regardless of race, it needs to be stopped. A walk down the sand pumping jetty on a Saturday or Sunday morning could see the fisheries department making a fair bit of cash?

Kaidon