View Full Version : PB flathead Moloolaba River

Mexikan
24-04-2011, 03:24 PM
Went to Moloolabah river Pt Cartright end yesterday avo/evening for a fish.Tossed lures most of the arvo my choice being squidgie dropbears and flouro prawns without a touch that I could tell.So just before dark I changed to a small 'el cheapo' blade lure and started firing that into the river and came up trumps with a nice flathead.She went 80cm and went back to swim another day(of course).Called it for something a lot smaller to start with until she turned and powered away.After a few runs I finally persuaded her to come up onto the beach to get some photos and let her go.Had no worries with the leader the blade was wedged firm in the corner of her mouth.
Young fella also got a small hairtail on a squidgie wriggler which was a surprise.
Mex

bennykenny
24-04-2011, 04:39 PM
well done Mex, she is a beauty.

jesse148
24-04-2011, 04:40 PM
Nice going there mate! I'm headin up there for hols tomorrow hopefully I can catch her again haha!

ffejsmada
24-04-2011, 09:03 PM
Good lizard Mex, onya mate.
The little Hairy is a beauty, you could cook that whole, it'd melt in your mouth!

sleepygreg
24-04-2011, 09:15 PM
very nice lizard there mex. Hard to tell from the pic, but that looks more like a ribbon fish than a hairtail.....though I wouldnt argue about the ID based on that pic.

Mexikan
24-04-2011, 10:37 PM
Thanks Guys.We put the hair-tail back because I didn't know the size limit etc. off hand but since then I've found out there is no size limit only a bag limit of 10 in NSW.I know they are supposed to be good eating but there wasn't much to this one-the flesh looks like it would be good for bait though.Anybody tried?
Greg I think hair-tail and ribbon fish are the same thing from what I've seen when I googled it.I attached a close up shot.
Mex

sleepygreg
24-04-2011, 10:47 PM
Sorry mate, I am only used to dealing with Hairtail around the 90cm - 150cm size...and they are much deeper in the body than that....with the meanest set of dentures you will find. Juvies could very well be like your fish. There are a number of fish that are in the same family that could be similar as juvies. Interesting pastime trying to ID them.....alls well...not being critical...just curious.

TimD
25-04-2011, 12:17 AM
Nice lizard there mate :thumbsup:

cheers tim :)

.:::stotty:::.
25-04-2011, 12:34 AM
Nice flatty mate

Pistol_P
25-04-2011, 10:18 AM
Quality Lizard Mex,

Nice catch.8-)

Fish_gutz
25-04-2011, 11:56 AM
Top lizard Mex she`s a solid girl. nice going on the hairtail also. Cheers Andrew

nathank
25-04-2011, 09:30 PM
wow... a hairtail.. i know they get them in the dead of winter in sydney... correct me if im wrong but that has to be something else??

Mexikan
25-04-2011, 11:26 PM
Nathank hair-tail are caught in QLD and from what i can determine it is a juvie hair-tail with a' mean set of dentures' but hey I could be 100% wrong in my ID.
Mex

ddobson
26-04-2011, 10:25 AM
Solid flatty there Mex. A blade on dusk eh. Good fish DD.....

Captain Jack Zero
26-04-2011, 12:59 PM
nathank ,i have caught hairtails in the nerang around wintertime.

Jackinthebox
26-04-2011, 02:16 PM
Caught a baby hairtail about that same size in the cast net last week whilst chasing prawns, very nasty teeth on the little bugger too!

Also caught a baby jew, and a baby threadfin salmon, and a baby queenfish, all about 100mm long.

Oh yeah, well done on the PB!

chief
26-04-2011, 02:52 PM
Great fish mate congrats on the PB