View Full Version : tweed bridge

carnster
30-03-2011, 10:30 AM
Been havin a bit of fun with a few different species lately. The larger jack went 51cm and the cuda 90cm. The big eye trevs have been on the chew, some nights releasing as many as 26. Last night only got 3 BE trevs, but one was a stonker approx 70cm; no pic cause of rain. Then scored a jack and saw some young ladies loose a small jack on a prawn, so showed em mine and got a couple of pics. Good times.

nathank
30-03-2011, 11:59 AM
Good stuff carnster... i toyed with the idea of going out for a fish last night.. dont mind the rain but i just hate the wind.. so you dragg them up off the big main tweed bridge?

Silent
30-03-2011, 12:42 PM
Did you know this barracuda is ciguatera ?

btw nice catches and good party at the bridge...;D

carnster
30-03-2011, 01:20 PM

What do you mean about the ciguatera cuda?
Kept him for bait he was DOA; he had black fillets WTF.
Also got dusted up twice on a bait jig, i suspect jacks.

30-03-2011, 03:55 PM
Mate you are fair dinkum on fire!
Thanks for the post and pics, yet another gem!

Silent
30-03-2011, 05:48 PM
What do you mean about the ciguatera cuda?
Kept him for bait he was DOA; he had black fillets WTF.
Also got dusted up twice on a bait jig, i suspect jacks.
Good to know it kept for bait and just helping to ensure this fish shall be not cosumed...

nathank
30-03-2011, 05:56 PM
The poison accumulates in herbivore reef fish mainly from algae on or in coral and then has an accumulative effect up the food chain to which barracouda hold on the reefs (barrier etc) a couda out of the river system would have no more ciguatera accumulated in its flesh than say a jack.

sharkymark2
30-03-2011, 09:06 PM
I ate barracuda from Cairns to Lae for 6 months as our fridge had broken down and nary an issue with Cigatuera. I hear certain parts of the coast are known for it however.

jackextracter
31-03-2011, 03:46 PM
tarpon and trevs love bait jigs thats what it would of been..

carnster
31-03-2011, 03:58 PM
Def could have been JE but i have caught them before these fought like jacks, will never know; unless catch a jack with jig hook in mouth.

nathank
31-03-2011, 04:19 PM
Jigs can catch amazing things lol.. i have had a mate at the tubes fishing for live bait in the night hook a small black marlin on one!! prob ate a yakka as it ate the jig hook but still.... pretty funny, but to say it was a trev or tarpon is what it would have been? how do you work that out.. a herring could have grabbed the jig as a jack ate it.. trevs and tarpon are two fish that can be pretty easily identified after about 5seconds of being connected.. tarpon will jump and trevs will run with that telltale thump thump of their tail as they plane through the water... Jacks...... well.... they fight like Jacks.

carnster
31-03-2011, 04:44 PM
Caught a few unlucky spotties on bait jigs and been monstered plenty. Once at the bait reef off southport seaway dropped a few livies down after gettin done on the jig; scored two big cobes. I hate loosing fish when i don't know what they are. A marlin would be awesome.

mangrovejacks
04-04-2011, 07:01 PM

WTF? :-?

Nice pics carnster!!! TOP session mate!!

You are quickly getting a reputation around here mate and those pictures with all these chicks in 'em ain't helping ;D

Well done mate.

LAJC2012
04-04-2011, 07:42 PM

How can you tell this?