View Full Version : Pine Threadfin

Rainbowrunner
19-03-2011, 09:09 PM
Put the boat in Dohles rocks friday arv before the football, threw the castnet for a few prawns herring and mullet, went upstream a bit for a fish before dark, got a nice little threadfin on the first cast, then a stingray, and a couple of decent runs but didnt hookup. Sorry guys quick post too busy.
oh and I videoed a couple of jet skiers flying past us about 15ft away. They disliked the video camera apparently and one decided he would have a ahhmm to put it nicely . . . bit of a chat with us. I had to laugh when he threatened us I mean what was he going to do? really!:o

Fish_gutz
19-03-2011, 09:14 PM
good to see the threadies spreading out! great catch well done.
I`ve seen some smaller mods in years past and a decent one of the shorncliffe jetty but that's a beauty for the Pine.

as for Mr jet ski , you should have jumped over and whacked the clown! they need to have the same respect for any other craft/boat/people /bird watchers/canoes/kayaks they pass in the rivers/creeks/etc like us fisho`s do.

slingshot and some spare 5 balls!

Obi _ Wan
20-03-2011, 12:00 AM
Peter, I hope you report those idiot's and do it with a copy of the video, i believe that the authorities will prosecute with that evidence, particularly if their rego numbers are shown, i hope so.

And, mate that's a nice catch, i hope now with the flush out the Pine becomes a home for the threadies.

Please keep us up to speed with the jetski crap if you go ahead with it, i would like to see them chucked out of the Pine as i have been almost cleaned up a couple of times, the mongrels don't give a fig for anybody else.

John.

Rainbowrunner
20-03-2011, 11:14 AM
Yeh is good to see threadies in the river, young fella pulled a jewie out of there a few months ago and wont be long before i get a jack i reckon,
Anybody tried using mossie coils in a boat at night? was thinking 2 or three burning away might do the trick if its not too windy. Really dont like repellents. Mossies and sandies got really bad just as it got dark.

As for the jetskies, the reaction I got when they noticed the camera was enough for me. lol

Anybody interested in a run out in the bay tomorrow, monday?

marty+jojo
20-03-2011, 11:41 AM
I have used mossie coils in a boat plenty of times and they do work, i use them in the round metal holders. Plenty of jacks in the pine, i have been smashed up by a few. Good to see a threadfin from there.
Marty.

clone trooper
20-03-2011, 12:07 PM
Good to hear the pine is coming back. havn't been down in awhile, but reports like this, no more driving past my local to go to donnybrook. thanks rainbowrunner.;D

dredger
20-03-2011, 12:15 PM
"Please keep us up to speed with the jetski crap if you go ahead with it, i would like to see them chucked out of the Pine as i have been almost cleaned up a couple of times, the mongrels don't give a fig for anybody else."
":P
A thought, what if we could have the council fix the ramp and make attractive the one near the park/Petrie bridge and just might entice them to blert there machine's there, as not much happens in that area and there's plenty of water and they don't need deep water. A thought only.;)

I agree they have non apprecition of the water ways any where, and well should have a area to play so we can see the effect they have on the banks/ fish/ water quality etc. I don't know just bored to-day.

Laz

ifish86
20-03-2011, 02:44 PM
hahahaha if the c**ts in theo wrong what does he have to dispute ....? snog em hard

smokindrag
20-03-2011, 04:55 PM
Even though I have never hooked one of these beauties... i did get one in my cast net way up behind petrie about five years ago....it thrashed around so much it ripped a big hole in my already damaged net and escaped!! nice to see a good model caught..

forecast for a bay fish looks good!! :D shame i have to work!! doh!

DAn..

littlemac
20-03-2011, 07:58 PM
nice thready, i hope the jet skiers get their own, bloody mongrels

brett

\