View Full Version : Cast nets for prawns
poonabayking
01-03-2011, 12:47 PM
Gday,
I am new to prawning with a castnet. ive never chased them, but my old man has given me a bit of a mission to catch him some prawns.. however i went down to the river the other morning and there where blokes there catching heaps of prawns.. and i couldnt catch one.. these blokes had chain leads, top pocket and big nets.. im using a surecatch 8 foot cast net.. the nets i saw these blokes using look far superior to mine.. i have seen the name bob and pero thrown around a bit. whats the deal with those blokes...i was wondering how id get my hands on a big top pocket and chain leaded net?
thankyou all very much
lethal098
01-03-2011, 01:06 PM
PM member Pero, he will sort you out.
Cheers Lee
rosco1974
01-03-2011, 06:44 PM
pero makes a great net mate..i have 1 they arn't cheap but catch well
cheers rosco
bondy99
01-03-2011, 07:47 PM
Yes, I too would recommend Pero, I brought 4 off him over the past 12 months, his nets are far superios to the cheap imports and last longer.
You can use search button and type in Pero and send him a pm or can give you his mobile number directly.
bondy99
01-03-2011, 07:54 PM
Poonbayking
Your mail box is chockers mate, you have to delete some of your messages otherwise people cant send you any messages like i have just tried to.
antg2378
01-03-2011, 08:06 PM
Let us know how you go mate, I'm keen to buy a cast net and after reading these posts I'm not to keen on the idea of a mass produced net. Be interested to hear price range as well.
poonabayking
01-03-2011, 09:04 PM
thanks guys,
ill deffinately get onto pero.. and bondy sorry mate haha i deleted them all then
Let us know how you go mate, I'm keen to buy a cast net and after reading these posts I'm not to keen on the idea of a mass produced net. Be interested to hear price range as well.
3.7 metre nets (maximum legal size) are $350
3.0 metre $250
Any weight you want.
I do leadline as well as chain. I haven't sold a lead net in 2 years. everyone loves the chain nets.(have sold over 60 this year.)
Cheers. My mobile- 0412122256
swabio
02-03-2011, 04:50 AM
hmmm i wonder how hard it is to throw a net from a kayak.........
bondy99
02-03-2011, 08:58 PM
Pero,
I just sent a message to poonabayking a few seconds ago about contacting you by phone, I see its up here now. All good.
bondy99
02-03-2011, 09:01 PM
Swabio, from a kayak I have no idea, but you can try and see what happens.;D
I hope you have freeboard below as you will need the net to be placed on the kayak:) , open the pocket and put prawns in a container without tipping over;) .
Shells and all.;D
bondy99
sandbankmagnet
02-03-2011, 09:05 PM
Not meaning to sound rude, but you can buy a fair few prawns for $350. What do you average on a trip out with one of those nets? And how many do you go through in a season? I've seen some of your reports lately that have lots, but is that the norm, or just a few times a season?
I've only got a cheapo net cause I'm hopeless, but have still managed a feed a couple of times. It's mainly for catching live bait though.
One more question if I may. What are those nets like for live bait, or are they more a prawn net?
Not meaning to sound rude, but you can buy a fair few prawns for $350. What do you average on a trip out with one of those nets? And how many do you go through in a season? I've seen some of your reports lately that have lots, but is that the norm, or just a few times a season?
I've only got a cheapo net cause I'm hopeless, but have still managed a feed a couple of times. It's mainly for catching live bait though.
One more question if I may. What are those nets like for live bait, or are they more a prawn net?
Thats a bit like saying your vbetter off buying your fish. Its the fun of cathing the prawns! its a bit addictive. But on the subject of shop prices, lets say prawns 15-20cm banana prawns sell for $10 per kilo. Friday I got 10litres. Saturday likewise . Yesterday likewise. 30 litres aproximately 25kg+ $250 worth. They are around till may-june. You can get numerous feeds over this period. Last year I estimate I got a bucket at least 20 times(200 litres);D.
And I eat them all.
Would never.never entertain the idea of selling them neither!
bondy99
04-03-2011, 11:04 PM
I just had my other net torn on a huge submersible, mongrel was not there 3 days ago.....all the lead line has gone , bottom pocket is Kaputski,:o >:( >:(
Net Number 6 to be made by Pero
ozozoz
05-03-2011, 10:13 AM
Pero, perhaps you could give us a run down on how to catch a feed of prawns as others have done with catching crabs or a feed of fish in Moreton Bay. Type of nets to use, how to cast, what type of sites are best to catch em etc ....
Use to catch em with my Dad in Lake Illawarra when I was a kid. Would be good
to learn a new skill and be able to show my kids....
thanks
swabio
12-04-2011, 09:51 PM
Swabio, from a kayak I have no idea, but you can try and see what happens.;D
I hope you have freeboard below as you will need the net to be placed on the kayak:) , open the pocket and put prawns in a container without tipping over;) .
Shells and all.;D
bondy99
Well.... it is a hobie pro angler........... so pretty stable beast...... (apparently......i can't say yet, as I haven't had it out yet :-[ )
Might have to give it a test with my old net, before hitting Pero up for one!
bondy99
13-04-2011, 08:20 PM
I can tell you this much , if you get Pero's custom made nets it will out perform all of BCF's and Surecatch crappy nets.
They open smooth and with chain on the bottom instead of lead you will have no problem
14-04-2011, 07:05 AM
Thats a bit like saying your vbetter off buying your fish. Its the fun of cathing the prawns! its a bit addictive. But on the subject of shop prices, lets say prawns 15-20cm banana prawns sell for $10 per kilo. Friday I got 10litres. Saturday likewise . Yesterday likewise. 30 litres aproximately 25kg+ $250 worth. They are around till may-june. You can get numerous feeds over this period. Last year I estimate I got a bucket at least 20 times(200 litres);D.
And I eat them all.
Would never.never entertain the idea of selling them neither!
Agree with you, prawning is addictive. There are a few other things to take into consideration too... My previous boat was powered by 70hp 2s, a trip around the mouth of the Logan, Rudy maas and back would gobble 40 lrs of juice easy, so unless you have an economical setup such as a tinnie with a 25hp motor, add this cost to your trips... and unlike some :P who can get out day after day to chase them while they are there, and I am slaving away at work, there is nothing like the disappointment of getting out there for zip and blokes out there say "you should have been here yesterday, they were pulling a kilo a throw"..... so add the costs of unsuccessful trips, when Woolies are selling green banana prawns @ $14.00 a Kilo, Bondy is up to his 6th net....
Forget all that!! Get out there and have a go!!. When you have thrown your net perfectly, you start pulling the net in and feel that unmistakable pull on the rope because of a dozen prawns as thick as your thumb are trapped in the top pocket, forget the logistics, you'll have a ball.;)
bondy99
14-04-2011, 09:41 PM
Good on ya Scalem,
That's the spirit. My 6th net it is, over time but you do get what you pay for and those prawns in Woolies and / or Coles are nowhere near fresh..they have been frozen and thawed many times over.
Get out amongst them whilst one can and enjoy the sweet prawns any which way that tickles your taste buds.
Curried prawns, coconut prawns, even smoked prawns, prawn and avacado, etc, etc.
bondy
salty holty
09-05-2011, 09:17 PM
Is there anywhere around the redlands to go off the bank chasing prawns that some one would like to share
Greg001
10-05-2011, 05:10 AM
Hey SWABIO if your gonna have a go make sure you got someone standing by with the video camera;D could be interesting footage;)
Captain Incredible
10-05-2011, 11:35 PM
I use cheap nets I buy from the local tackle shop, usually the JARVIS WALKER 10'. It is a big net for the price.If I only threw in the Bay I would spend more on good nets. There is a huge difference in throwability (if that is a word) between custom made and off-the-shelf but I am normally up creeks and get snagged often. I cast for bait mostly and prawns in season. I would love to hear how other blokes do it. One technique I would like to share is the "two person throw". I might take out kids, couples or Dad & son. A great way to throw for two inexperienced people working together is to leave the lead line on the deck, gather a bit up each and "1,2,3 HEAVE!" It is amazing how well this works and gets people catching stuff straight away. It also takes a load off my ageing and surgically repaired shoulder....