View Full Version : Caboolture River
gday, decided to try a new spot this arvo. had the father inlaw up from glenn innes so went out for a look see and check out a different area. throwing plastics around the mouth of the caboolture river. was ok, got a few, nothing to get excited about, had to work for em this time but just thought i would post the report anyway. cheers.
Shawn 66
26-02-2011, 08:31 PM
gday, decided to try a new spot this arvo. had the father inlaw up from glenn innes so went out for a look see and check out a different area. throwing plastics around the mouth of the caboolture river. was ok, got a few, nothing to get excited about, had to work for em this time but just thought i would post the report anyway. cheers.
Not a bad haul though Bud, well done.
Shawn
wide_body
27-02-2011, 12:19 PM
What colour you get them on mate?
They are not that fussy in my opinion but in dirty water i tend to use brighter colours and more natural colours in clearer waters, generally. These ones i caught them on glow white, lime tiger and the red/yellow one (the name i cant recall).
Chris1984
27-02-2011, 03:56 PM
Very nice catch mate, well done:)
wide_body
27-02-2011, 09:48 PM
yeah i went down today for a flick... lot of small flathead, only 2 keepers were 2 bream around the 30 mark!! tried nearly every colour just couldnt get a legal lizard!! alot of dirty water still coming out of the creek tho..
yeah it was dirty hey. surface water temp bout 28 degrees which is quite hot for flatties to still bite in shallow estuaries.
28-02-2011, 12:08 PM
nice flatties mate. the river is slowly starting to clean up, the mouth is settling a bit and the water around baker's flats is a really dark tanin colour, but upstream is still like milo though, it's muddy as.
yeah, nice river though, ive never ever fished it surprisingly. definitely worth another shot. cheers
wide_body
02-03-2011, 07:18 AM
if you want some fun... head down river to one of the deep holes and put on the biggest livie you can get and just wait!!! heaps of little sharks around the metre mark down there atm!!!
broncodude
02-03-2011, 10:50 AM
if you want some fun... head down river to one of the deep holes and put on the biggest livie you can get and just wait!!! heaps of little sharks around the metre mark down there atm!!!
Wide body, how far up the river do you go
wide_body
02-03-2011, 03:16 PM
the hole just before montys marina but get more further up from there.... any of the deep holes mate...