View Full Version : i got crabs

Orange_hains
23-02-2011, 07:36 AM
went out to set the pots on sunday morning out at coomera

only had the pots set for a couple of hours, caught 3 good size bucks,
didnt take photos of all of them... biggest going 17.5cm across the carapace
(point to point) all three were near this size.

im new to crabbing and was just wondering whats the biggest muddie anyone has caught on the gold coast/ logan region ?

going out again this weekend

Silent
23-02-2011, 09:37 AM
look who's hungry...:o

nathank
23-02-2011, 12:17 PM
nice one mate.. biggest i got was out of a canal near burliegh and the bugger went 1.8kgs.. didnt measure it.

BLOOEY
23-02-2011, 01:27 PM
Yummo. A mate of mine pulled one 22.5 across the carapace from the area and has given me one 20.5. MONSTERS. There is a picture here somewhere. Ben

mangrovejacks
23-02-2011, 03:49 PM
Nice one - way to go!

No record crab catches from me unfortunately :(

Did you use mullet? What bait do you prefer for muddies?

Orange_hains
23-02-2011, 04:24 PM
mate the best and cheapest bait you can get ! chicken frames

i pay $1.45 for 3 frames, i got 7 crabs in one pot that had only soaked for 1 and 1/2 hours. mainly jennys and a couple of smallies.

rosco1974
23-02-2011, 05:54 PM
good feed of muddies mate.i recon the best crab bait in general for sandies or muddies is tailor frames
cheers rosco

BLOOEY
23-02-2011, 06:16 PM
good feed of muddies mate.i recon the best crab bait in general for sandies or muddies is tailor frames
cheers rosco

I TOTALLY AGREE!

geoff72
23-02-2011, 08:21 PM
Biggest I got for my old man was 200mm across and heavy as and old,the thing had barnikle type stuff on him,the oldman got 3 feeds out of him

pickers
23-02-2011, 09:19 PM
OH
here's a tip for you so your muddy's dont toss all thier legs when you cook them.
put your crabs in the fridge for a couple of hours to slowly put them to sleep...then drop them into iced water to kill them in thier sleep....then they dont throw thier legs and nippers when you cook them....oh and if you can...cook them in sea water...makes a huge difference to the eating quality.
trust me I've worked in the seafood game most of my life.
pickers...aka...Paul

mangrovejacks
23-02-2011, 09:24 PM
Ok, so it's chicken frames and tailor frames - shall have a crack at both.

Good tip on the cooking pickers... cheers

Orange_hains
24-02-2011, 09:41 AM
thanks heaps there pickers, i do put them in the fridge for a few hours, he was only missing a leg because it got caught in the pot, he was very angry and i had trouble getting him out, haha

and sea water as in nice clean stuff from the beach or just where you caught them? i dont know that i would want to cook them in coomera river water.

pickers
24-02-2011, 02:35 PM
just go to where there is some clean salt water coming in from the sea...anywhere along the broadwater on the high tide will do fine....just take a 20ltr drum and fill it up and it will last you all weekend if you go out more than once crabbing.
pickers

URAGANGI
26-02-2011, 08:10 PM
Pickers is on the Honey! When you've selected your keeper. Have your esky or kill tank ready with a really nice, if not near freezing cold brine. If you dispatch your catch soon after capture the meat quality is way better.
It's safer for those that forget, that hammer is laying idle waiting for that stray finger. It pretty well goes with most fish. Get that core temp down ASAP and your catch will be in it's prime be the time it reaches your table.
If you can hold out long enough. Let your cooked crabs settle for one night in the fridge, this helps firm up the flesh. I usually cover them in a damp towel overnight. This helps keep an even cold temp, it also stops the crabs from drying out in the fridge.
From one Crab Addict to another ENYOY!

The_Sloth_man
26-02-2011, 11:12 PM
OH
here's a tip for you ...cook them in sea water...makes a huge difference to the eating quality.
l

so many people tell me this about seafood, not just crabs, but prawns, bugs, crays even oysters.
yet none have caught onto the fact i always cook in fresh water if they didn't see it

I'm not a massive salt fan, I cook all my food in fresh water and wouldn't have it any other way.
some add a shitton of salt to there cooking water to replicate it. YUCK!

fresh water makes them so much more sweeter it's like eating candy!