View Full Version : Chat room??
wayno60
09-02-2011, 01:48 AM
Has the idea ever been thrashed around?
Apart from the normal banter that go's with chat rooms i thought it may help with getting answer straight away instead of waiting for a few days for an answer...so good idea yes, no, maybe.
krazyfisher
09-02-2011, 05:52 AM
Ausfish had a chat room at one stage but never got used by more than acouple of people
09-02-2011, 06:53 AM
Yep, they had one but, as Krazy fella said, it was hard to get more then one person there at the same time.
Personally I hate chat rooms but that's me.
I'd rather ring someone to have a yarn or use skype.
09-02-2011, 09:11 AM
They have them on another fishing site I'm on and I've never seen them in use.
09-02-2011, 09:20 AM
Yes......... but only if unmoderated like so many thousands already out there and I notice Ausfish's home is in the US, the land of basic free speech. So the choice to mod will be mostly an ideological one.
back when Ausfish had it's chat, most where still on dialup all clunky and hard to hold a conversation, today chat conversations are almost universally as fast as one can type and read.
4x4frog
09-02-2011, 10:55 AM
Can't see it working either as most members here would, like me just drop by, check new posts and reports then PO and get on with life.
Set up a facebook group maybe?
09-02-2011, 01:54 PM
http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=48329877521 (http://www.facebook.com/#%21/group.php?gid=48329877521)
;)
LP
09-02-2011, 03:40 PM
Set up a facebook group maybe?
http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=48329877521 (http://www.facebook.com/#%21/group.php?gid=48329877521)
;)
LP
I'll join straight after Pinhead ;D
09-02-2011, 03:57 PM
I'll join straight after Pinhead ;D
LOL..looks like you will never be joining then..cos I know I never will be.
SCOTTYGC
09-02-2011, 04:12 PM
the old chat room got used by plenty of people, i remamber up to 20-25 people in there at one time on a regular basis
they use to have quiz nights and was a good way to ask a question and get a responce straigh away
not sure if it would work agian but having it there couldnt hurt
if you didnt like it dont go in
scotty
09-02-2011, 04:31 PM
I think the old chatroom died or was not renewed to the next version because arguments crossed over onto the forum proper but I stand to be corrected if need be.
Mods or a least a certain one was drunk with power and started it all (from memory) dunno who it was now, members where fighting with the mods and each other, lots of banning happened and even an offshoot forum was spawned although I don't know very much about that...heaps of spice watching from the sidelines, was civil war there for a while LOL!
Gee that was a fair while ago.
krazyfisher
09-02-2011, 04:35 PM
I just looked I will have been a memebr for 10 yrs this year and most posts keep coming back..... not a bad thing
09-02-2011, 04:42 PM
I just looked I will have been a memebr for 10 yrs this year and most posts keep coming back..... not a bad thing
Gees eh.
Nearly due for long service leave by the looks.
You must of been one of the originals were you matey??
Lucky Phill was Aug 2001.
09-02-2011, 04:53 PM
Chartroom was a lot of fun. Hopefully if there was another some could check the ego and personal problems at the door :-X ;D
2001?? I was a member before that. Gees I remember when it was a single bulletin board::) 8-)
09-02-2011, 05:02 PM
Mods or a least a certain one was drunk with power and started it all (from memory) dunno who it was now, members where fighting with the mods and each other, lots of banning happened and even an offshoot forum was spawned although I don't know very much about that...heaps of spice watching from the sidelines, was civil war there for a while LOL!
Sounds like a lot of fun..:)
09-02-2011, 05:39 PM
Chartroom was a lot of fun. Hopefully if there was another some could check the ego and personal problems at the door :-X ;D
2001?? I was a member before that. Gees I remember when it was a single bulletin board::) 8-)
I think I do too, i had a different name way back then, all of the threads where strung like windows file system does it. had it's advantages.
Jack yeah it was but we lost lots of interesting characters, overall forum feels different today but it is certainly easier to access information..
Sounds good to me
cheers tim :)
10-02-2011, 05:38 AM
Its was a bit of fun while it was around but was open to abuse so it was eventually shut down.
4x4frog
10-02-2011, 07:51 AM
;)
LP
Was that already there Phil or is it now a new thing?
Haven't done the FB/Twit thing as yet.
10-02-2011, 09:03 AM
Jack yeah it was but we lost lots of interesting characters, overall forum feels different today but it is certainly easier to access information..
There's a real balance there somewhere. Its the interesting characters that develop on the forum that can make a good and entertaining read. But they can cause some trouble if not held in check..the mods can have that job.
10-02-2011, 05:36 PM
There's a real balance there somewhere. Its the interesting characters that develop on the forum that can make a good and entertaining read. But they can cause some trouble if not held in check..the mods can have that job.
yeah..so you better behave..hehe
10-02-2011, 08:49 PM
yeah..so you better behave..hehe
Me!!!..I'm squeaky clean mate..Ask Finga
wamjam
10-02-2011, 09:43 PM
I remember the chat room, we lived out in the sticks at the time and the internet took a stubby to down load a page, so was no good for me at the time. Was about 2000 members then, would be interesting to see how it would go now.
11-02-2011, 04:11 AM
I like the idea of a chat room. It would be a good idea to have fishing related quizzes also. Stuff like fisheries regulations(size and bag), fish descriptions, boating safety, first aid etc when repeated over and over on things like quizzes really sink in. Members could post quiz questions and answers to moderators for inclusion in the quizzes.
The amount of things I have learnt on this forum is great, the amount I forget that I would like to remember is not so great. A 5 minute quiz at the start of every hour could only enhance Angling knowledge.
onerabbit
13-02-2011, 05:32 PM
I think the old chatroom died or was not renewed to the next version because arguments crossed over onto the forum proper but I stand to be corrected if need be.
Im all in favour of it, but it should be called the war room & be un-moderated.
13-02-2011, 05:56 PM
NO, not correct.
" Civil war " :-? was in the forum and not in the live chat.
The live chat was simply not continued due to lack of interest and updating / streamlining of newer forum versions.
LP
Runamuck
14-02-2011, 08:11 AM
How long has it been since Ausfish had a chat board?
Dylan_Rylatt
23-02-2011, 09:33 PM
i remember when there were normally 6 to 10 people on the chat boards most nights.... I met and organised heaps of trips out with awesome fisho's mostly through the original ausfish chat... so i recon... no joke that the chat would have accounted for at least half of my pb's just cause the cool info and trips out that were organised back in the day
Dyl
wayno60
24-02-2011, 08:57 AM
Well ive emailed Phill with a request to run it by SB so now its in the lap of the gods..
Wayne.
wayno60
03-03-2011, 03:24 PM
Still waiting!!!!!
griz066
03-03-2011, 04:05 PM
It was fun I remember it well, might be time for it to do another lap.
griz066
03-03-2011, 04:07 PM
Gees eh.
Nearly due for long service leave by the looks.
You must of been one of the originals were you matey??
Lucky Phill was Aug 2001.
There are a few of us Aug 01's around;D;D
wayno60
29-03-2011, 02:23 PM
Well i sent an email off to SB to see if this whole idea was possible and still havent heard anything......Rome wasnt built in a day!!