View Full Version : Sea Sick remedy
my 12 year old son is a Type 1 diabetic and has started to suffer sea sickness.:'(
Trouble is can't have someone full of insulin, hurling their lunch, leads to medical emergencies. looking for ideas, medication remedies to help him.
Thanks in advance Kev
Triple
08-02-2011, 09:24 PM
Firstly go out on only really calm days and talk to your local chemist
as they sell some good anti nausea tablets for kids to stop motion sickness or good old Ginger beer helps. Do a search on here cause there is few other remedies and some preventitive action like looking at the horizon and making sure they are in fresh air flow etc.
trueblue
08-02-2011, 09:45 PM
1300 seasick
call them and talk about ET's special blue pills for seasickness
absolutely fantastic
Defore
09-02-2011, 08:30 AM
Talk to your doctor about giving your son quell. He might only require half a tablet an hour before going on the boat and then every 4 hours.
09-02-2011, 09:53 AM
Being 12 he is still a little too young for the more purely psychological seasick cures, Chinese medicine concoctions, magnets, certain extracts etc one needs to first formulate their particular adult outlook on life before placebo like fixs will have true repeatable results across a particular type of population.
Consider the science only as this is IMO important, I like Avomine because it is a gentle antihistamine but it has great effect for me, as good as any of the stronger more marketed toward seasickness drugs which will also work but are harsher on the body and can make a person pretty crook short term, some say Avomine makes them sleepy but I have not noticed any side effects yet...anyway when the science says so unless the affliction is largely psychological nothing but what the suffer chooses (a daisy placed in a pocket even) will work so be wary of the 'alternative' choices as these mostly need adults for them to work or sometimes adults that can make the child believe.
See your doc I suppose but without the child as the more they see you fuss in front of them the lower the chance of finding something softer but still suitable.
Oh yeah if you do see a doc bring up the idea of a smooth muscle relaxant of his choice and if he thinks it will suit best as it may make for a good and quite soft option.... if you do not ask you may not be offered.
I like Bonine,they work good for me and dont give you cotton mouth or make you as drowsy. If i cant get them quells work ok and ET`s blue pills are good to.
As with all kids stuff talk to your doc just in case
09-02-2011, 01:23 PM
whenever I am taking a seasick prone crew out, I try to make it an afternoon trip, for some reason most people who get sick, tend to be OK on afternoon expeditions, kind of reckon it is something to do with your body and brain being properly awake and working, and had a normal day, somehow, getting up at sparrows fart and getting ready when just out of bed seems to invite a bout of seasickness. Also having some sort of strong flavoured lolly (diabetic approved) also helps, same as keeping them busy, nothing sets someone off more than a head down, unpicking a tangle type of thing, avoid cabins and confined spaces and keep their mind on the far off land/seascape.
cass449
09-02-2011, 03:08 PM
I find Avomine the best around. It does tend to make you a little tired but if you take it the night before you will sleep through the worst of it. The chemist told me it stays in your system for 12hrs. Worked a treat on the boat to Antarctica in a force 10 storm!!! I still use it - just as prevention. Nothing worse than being quezy...;D
Hi, thanks everyone for the ideas will being giving them ago until find something that works kev
Runamuck
14-02-2011, 07:55 AM
Hi, thanks everyone for the ideas will being giving them ago until find something that works kev
Mate,
Seek Professional medical advice first. For example a diabetes specialist.
I work as a Advanced Care Paramedic and i am also a VMR coxswain and the last thing i want to do, is go to a 12yo hypo/seizing patient in the middle of the ocean.
Its just a matter of finding what is right for your son. What works for others is not necessarily right for him.
Take Care!:)
14-02-2011, 01:13 PM
For me personally, i only get seasick when i can't see the sun. That is i can head out in the arvo and fish right through the night and I'm fine, but If i head out when its already dark I feel crook as. Strange thing though, if I head out in the early hours of the morning, and the sun rises whilst travelling I'm fine. For me its all about seeing what the water is doing with my movements and keeping balance, once I get a rythm it doesn't matter what the ocean does next I've already got my balance in (well not really, still the most clumsy f'er out there and nearly go ass up at least 1/2 dozen times, but i don't get sick).
I had terrible motion sickness when i was a kid, car sickness, air, sea whatever, I got sick. Kwells were the best thing for me and i still use them, usually pop one on the way to the ramp (takes about 20min, plus rigging etc, so abou 1/2 hour before I'm actually on the water). makes me dry though, so make sure you take plenty of water for him to drink.
Other methods that work is just keeping your gut working, so some chips or dry biscuits, or lollies just to graze on with plenty of water does the trick for me as well if I forget the kwells. i realise that may not be suitable for your son, but chips, lollies and biscuits can easily be replaced with other healthier alternatives, like peices of fruit, carrot sticks etc (never had any experience with diabetes, so am unsure what would be acceptable as snack food). At least if the food doesn't work, it'll give him something to throw up...nothing worse than dry reaching only makes you feel worse.
This one might be a bit cruel, but if he does start feeling sick, when he's not looking get a small bucket of cold water from over the side and pour it down the back of his neck...dad used to do this to me but it worked everytime...suddenly the issue of being cold and wet was more pressing than being sick.
I've heard jumping over the side for a swim gets rid of the sick feeling too, never tried it, but worth a shot if its a nice day.
Leon Kruse
15-02-2011, 08:43 AM
whenever I am taking a seasick prone crew out, I try to make it an afternoon trip, for some reason most people who get sick, tend to be OK on afternoon expeditions, kind of reckon it is something to do with your body and brain being properly awake and working, and had a normal day, somehow, getting up at sparrows fart and getting ready when just out of bed seems to invite a bout of seasickness. Also having some sort of strong flavoured lolly (diabetic approved) also helps, same as keeping them busy, nothing sets someone off more than a head down, unpicking a tangle type of thing, avoid cabins and confined spaces and keep their mind on the far off land/seascape.
your spot on for me at least, if i go in the morning i get crook and i find chico babies settle it pretty well, as for arvo trips i agree with you again cause i don't get crook in the evening
grave41
16-02-2011, 06:52 PM
This sounds crazy but a friend of mine does this, if you are right handed put an ear plug in your left ear and left handed in the right ear.He has done this since an old moari skipper told him. I get sick maybe once in five trips so i dont use any medication. The ear plug thing has something to do with your equalibrium. Might be crap but it works for him. Graham
Micadogs
17-02-2011, 08:33 AM
One of the biggest things that I have observed my passengers getting sick from is watching / concentrating on the tip of their rods whilst fishing. It is the same as untangling lines etc. If you are not watching the horizon then your equilibrium is out i.e. your body cant tell why its bumping and swaying up and down and this causes sickness.
I always use Kwells, calm or rough, as a preventative. It always works for me. One of my deckies does uses the same and he is still sick 50% of the time. I have now taught him not to concentrate on the end of the line and now not ever sick (still using Kwells though).
His wife is a doctor and we are trying several things for him, as he seems to have a reaction to Kwells also. Avomine has been ok, but only 50% of the time also.
As with anything, ensure you seek medical advice. Find a good doctor, such as a DIVE doctor, someone who knows what boating is about and can assist with your sons other illness also.
BLOOEY
17-02-2011, 09:49 AM
I used to get pretty crook in swell offshore and tried pills but found they made me feel really crappy even for hours after being off the water(dizzy,dry and sleepy). started chewing raw ginger if i felt crook and it worked for me but tastes bloody awful. stopped chewing the ginger and now hardly get crook ever! Ben
Mate,
Seek Professional medical advice first. For example a diabetes specialist.
I work as a Advanced Care Paramedic and i am also a VMR coxswain and the last thing i want to do, is go to a 12yo hypo/seizing patient in the middle of the ocean.
Its just a matter of finding what is right for your son. What works for others is not necessarily right for him.
Take Care!:)
Thanks, last thing I want is for you to be picking up a patient. Most of the pediatric diabetes doctors are of little help with knowledge of seasickness. He has only just started to get seasick:'( and we have been investigating other causes with his doctor (gp). Will give a dive doctor ago though, hadn't though of that one and are trying other remidies suggested here. Can take him out on the broadwater when there is a bit of a swell and plenty of traffic and he gets sick so I don't need a full recovery rescue from sea;D
Will keep trying as he loves his fishing, but we are getting better at landbased.
Thanks Kev
Member101
21-02-2011, 08:25 PM
This sounds crazy but a friend of mine does this, if you are right handed put an ear plug in your left ear and left handed in the right ear.He has done this since an old moari skipper told him. I get sick maybe once in five trips so i dont use any medication. The ear plug thing has something to do with your equalibrium. Might be crap but it works for him. Graham
BANG ON GRAHAM! This might be crap, but for many trips i was often referred to as 'berley'. But not only was i sick, it was like something out of the exorcist. I've tried quell, travacalm, ginger biscuits, constantly grazing on dry chips or crackers, even not drinking beer. Nothing worked. The one ear plug, OVERNIGHTERS HERE WE COME!!! Ive Also heard of one shoe, to keep the balance in check i suppose but a good night sleep before you leave and dont leave until after sunrise helps too.
best of luck.
Lancair
24-02-2011, 07:45 AM
A mate of mine used to work as a deckie on game fishing out of Cairns. They did 4 and 5 day trips and had regular clients. One year a repeat customer, who had ALWAYS suffered sea sickness for the first few days, had been on board for 3 days when he told my mate about this patch he was wearing behind his left ear and how it had stopped him being sick. My mate replied, "Yeah mate, I think its supposed to be behind the other ear!", the guy was seasick within 30 minutes. LOL
shauny69
22-03-2011, 01:22 PM
1300 seasick is the best by far. Nothing else comes close. Little chemist on the NSW central coast and will take credit card and send it to you.
BaitThrower
22-03-2011, 03:41 PM
Travacalm works for me on the boat, but it didnt work last time I went up in a light plane (in the back seat). I think good airflow has a bit to do with it, and keeping your head up. Certainly looking down trying to untie a knot or rig up something for longer than a minute or two doesnt help.
PeterGar
23-03-2011, 11:17 PM
I vote for Avomine.
I have been chronically seasick for 20 years - now enter Avomine the night before and 2 x Kwells on the day.
I also find that lying down for 15 minutes provides a new lease of life.
I have had no side effects except being thirsty so I had to have a beer to get that problem sorted!
I have not been sick for 3 years.
Try it - I think you will be surprised.
PeterGar
nathank
24-03-2011, 10:15 AM
I have been sea sick once in my life.. i was in a rubber ducky we decided to go fishing because it was to rough to go spearfishing (bad idea). I am pretty sure that seasickness is caused from the fluid in your inner ear rocking back and forth messing up your equilibrium.. so it tends to make sense i think to try to keep your head as level as possible, all i do is use my legs to absorb the rocking in the boat and keep my head level... dunno if this why i never get seasick? but it works for me..