View Full Version : big queenie

the gecko
07-02-2011, 06:46 AM
If you haven’t heard from me much lately, its cos Ive started a new job managing a resort, and I had to move house, wife and boat to Urangan. Did it at Sept, right in the start of jack season too. Took me 2 mths before I could find time for a fish, then it rained for…… how long did it rain for? It feels like I gave up fishing, it felt so long….No more quick runs up the Burrum jack hunting, Im stuck with Urangan harbour or River Heads for local ramps, so I left River Heads and headed south down the Great Sandy Straights in search of new grounds.

60 mins later, lost somewhere in Turkey Straights, I found a small creek and thought this looks good. I musta been in the right area, cos I bumped into a guy who said he just got busted off by a jack. Not a bad sign for 10am, after a late start.

I found a snaggy mangrove and anchored up in just 4 ft of water, deepest spot in the creek, I reckon. After a few snags and no hits, I repositioned the boat a few boat lengths away, and went for my ‘go to lure’ that strangely resembles a half fillet of mullet. 30lb braid and 45 lb leader, drag on heavy, as usual. 15 mins later, all hell breaks lose and the line is running fast, thankfully for open water. This is a more sustained run than mr jack, but not as speedy as the threadies, but he still knows how to make a run, hmmm. Ive got just another half turn on the drag before I have to worry about the ping, so I use it, and the Sustain manages to put some more hurt on him, and slow him right before he jumps. I saw him jump clearly, from 60-70m away, but I cant id this fella. I all I can say is that hes over the metre…... Very silver with a dark green lateral line like a greenback, but hes way too big for Tailor. Hes not all silver, so hes not a barra, and he actually looked a bit like Dolphin fish to me. A few more runs, and a few more jumps, and Im still not sure what he is, Im just stoked that its not a shark, and Im trying not to lose him to the snags, cost theres plenty of them. Nows hes tired, OK, undo the drag a bit, don’t want to lose him now. Oh yes, raise the outboard leg with one hand, don’t want to lose him to the prop, Ive learned that lesson before.

As he finally comes to the surface all tired out, I can see a magnificent queenie!! Only the head fits in the net, so I pick up the tail with the other hand, and pray he doesn’t have enough strength to break the line with his teeth while I boat him. Ive never caught a queenfish before, so what a way to open my account. The brag mat wasn’t big enough, and I couldn’t find enough space on the floor to measure him flat. He kept sliding around on the mat, so he was hard to measure perfectly, sorry about that. Lets just say hes somewhere in the lows 120s range. Is that big for a queenie? Im not sure about em. I went home happy anyway.

I had to leave cos the tide was falling, and it was a bit skinny getting out around there. No jacks, but not bad bycatch for just 4 ft of water.

bennykenny
07-02-2011, 06:58 AM
jesus mate she is a monster, great story too, well done. cheers BK

robvee
07-02-2011, 07:37 AM
Great read ... and even greater fish !!!!!
Well done.
The smile in your pics tells it all ...... STOKED !!!!!

nathank
07-02-2011, 10:44 AM
just awsome mate!!!!!!!!!!!! that is a thumper

Silent
07-02-2011, 12:48 PM
Great read for my lunch break and its pretty big in your area, it is not uncommon to catch this length up Gulf or NT...
well done!

Neckrofish
07-02-2011, 12:51 PM
Best read in ages. Congrads on a fantastic catch.

One of the skippers we had up in weipa caught one this size one day while we were working. He crumbed half and battered the other and we ate it fresh that night - it was damn delicious.

carnster
07-02-2011, 12:53 PM
That's a very nice queenie even if you were in the ocean.

frankgrimes
07-02-2011, 01:36 PM
Great skinny Andrew!

brisbane_boy
07-02-2011, 03:35 PM
Ive heard of them causing cigatera from hervey bay locals

Stroadman
07-02-2011, 04:14 PM
Ive heard of them causing cigatera from hervey bay locals

Too right, my mate got struck down from eating a big queenie caught at River Heads.

the gecko
07-02-2011, 05:16 PM
I was gonna eat him tomorrow, but I think ciguteara is a risk from any pelagic over a metre in hervey bay. Id forgotten about that. We usually just think of big spaniards as a risk, but Im sure ive read it applies to others as well.

Ive got a mate who is now permanently allergic to all seafood, and Im not going there. A side effect is that you also get allergic to beer, true!

edit; I did a bit of research
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=188564
big queenies are definitely not worth eating, thanks for the tips boys.

ANdrew

geoff72
07-02-2011, 06:03 PM
Holy Jesus Andrew what a cracker queenie,well done mate good read to. How are things going mate,seems like you getting into now,bit better than the fish we had at the pipe at Coomera hey?

loophole
07-02-2011, 07:13 PM
Awesome fish. got some damn size to it

chief
07-02-2011, 07:32 PM
Mate what a cracker and what a top solo effort. It doesn't get much better than that,
Congrats and Cheers

.:::stotty:::.
07-02-2011, 08:52 PM
Sickest fish on af reports for quite a while imo. Great catch mate.

jim_bream
07-02-2011, 09:48 PM
Bloody awsome story there mate, and even better bycatch from a jack outing!
Magnificent fish, well done.
Looking forward to the report of your 50cm+ jack next time *wink*
Jimbo

cuzzamundi
07-02-2011, 10:35 PM
Holy F%C*en hell that is a beast! Speechless. Awesome, Andrew! (Hope you got to see Silva beat Belfort in 126!)

Fish_gutz
08-02-2011, 12:09 AM
thats a ripper. thanks for the great read.

RAT-KING
08-02-2011, 01:27 AM
Wow Gecko what a great looking fish!!!
I bet he put an awesome show in that shallow water too!

the gecko
08-02-2011, 08:40 AM
Sickest fish on af reports for quite a while imo.

thanks stotty, Im just starting to realise that this is a very special capture, since I did a bit of reading up on queenies. Im now wishing I weighed him. He wouldnt be a record on 30lb line, but he could be close. Im in a fishing club too (Toogoom), and although it was comp weekend, I didnt bother bringing him to the weigh in, cos I caught him on saturday, and weigh in was sunday.

Anybody care to make a guess on weight?

I have no idea, is he 15kg, 18, 12?

Although the fight was special, the 2 threadies that I dropped a few months ago, fought even harder, and could have been bigger. That still stings, but this capture takes a lot of pain away.

Stroadman
08-02-2011, 12:46 PM
I have no idea, is he 15kg, 18, 12?

Nowhere near those weights mentioned. I'll say 8 kg

the gecko
08-02-2011, 02:11 PM
Told you I had no idea, lol. Ive never caught a fish over 3 kgs, unless you count vermin.

8kg sounds good to me.
thanks
ANdrew

Mark-P
09-02-2011, 04:27 PM
Hey andrew, bet the guys on fishntales were jealous !

Daintreeboy
09-02-2011, 06:36 PM
That's a great fish mate. I'm a big fan of Queenies and have seen my fair share. It doesn't look all that solid considering it's length but my guess is it's around 13 kilos and I doubt you'll ever see one that big again. It's probably around 30 years old.

10-02-2011, 08:12 AM
Top fish Andrew. I bet those Gregory Jacks are glad you moved to Urangan

mangrovejacks
10-02-2011, 11:06 AM
Awesome Queenie gecko!

Great post mate - only a matter of time before you land a Jack. I know there are not as many where you are but if you can't rip 'em out no-one can:)

Screamin Semen
10-02-2011, 01:32 PM
Well done Gecko nice to see you back into them ;D

ddobson
10-02-2011, 06:13 PM
Good fish there gecko and a good spot for jacks i see. Achange is as good as a holiday i am told. Good queeny and a hand full there. Well done again

Cobia Kid
14-03-2011, 09:18 PM
Thats Hectic buddy :D I Wish plenty more for you, queenies are an unreal sport fish and put on a great aerial display :D

LostNearBribie
15-03-2011, 09:29 AM
Monster of a fish. What a good move you have made...

loko750
15-03-2011, 05:22 PM
A very nice fish bud wish they grew that big down here. anyways thanks for the great read and keep fishing

Sandman
16-03-2011, 09:10 AM
I was gonna eat him tomorrow, but I think ciguteara is a risk from any pelagic over a metre in hervey bay. Id forgotten about that. We usually just think of big spaniards as a risk, but Im sure ive read it applies to others as well.

Ive got a mate who is now permanently allergic to all seafood, and Im not going there. A side effect is that you also get allergic to beer, true!

edit; I did a bit of research
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=188564
big queenies are definitely not worth eating, thanks for the tips boys.

ANdrew

;D ;D Beer ;D ;D I think thats a great tactic to scare any beer drinking fisho off eating fish at risk.