View Full Version : bays fishin ok

rosco1974
26-01-2011, 02:32 PM
took the missus for a ting fish this mornin.left manly around 6 in a slight breeze..the water color was coffee but i expected that headed between green and wello all good no debri in the water still coffee colored water got over the the banks and the water was pretty good but still had a bit of fresh in it...got up to the rous and the water there was reasonably good..we had the usual bait gulp red worms and a couple of squid..we fished for a few hrs but got a good feed in the end of 70 odd tings..not as big as a few weeks ago but most around the 23cm and prob a dozen going 27cm so still a good size for diver tings....over the rous there where a few bait balls boiling the surface ...seen heaps of turtles,dolfins and dugongs so the bay seems to be doing ok...seen a few branches in the water on the way home but nothing more than that .was a great day on the water glassed out conditions

cheers rosco

Vitamin Sea
26-01-2011, 03:21 PM
Good stuff Rosco

Saw a HUGE log just south of Green, pretty well right in the path from the leads to the Lockyer Light, called it in but it had already been done.

Made me think a bit, I left the ramp at 4am this morning in the dark, not really safe out there ATM.

If you hit it, you would go down...

Bill

Prowl n Wolf
26-01-2011, 04:21 PM
g'day all, took a run from beachmere to tangas today and did'nt see any debris. was great to see lots of life still (bait fish, macs, dolphins & turtles.) fingers crossed the bay will be ok after all the floods. regards, tony.

cuzzamundi
26-01-2011, 05:11 PM
Tsunami Crusher,

Mate how was the water clarity over at Tangas? Thanks heaps.

Cuzza

Prowl n Wolf
26-01-2011, 05:33 PM
g'day cuzza, water was pretty good all things considered. not the clarity that were used too. the kids and i were still able to snorkle the wreccks. i was really surprised at the amount of life still there. great to see.

cuzzamundi
26-01-2011, 05:47 PM
Thanks a million, mate. Got a mate going over there in two weeks to dive the wrecks, and he was thinking it would be a write off. Will tell him that there's a good chance there'll be adequate vis. Thanks mate.

Cuzza

shano
26-01-2011, 06:12 PM
rosco where did ya put in? im going to green tomorrow for a fish , conditions look good, is wello boat ramp open? someone said thy heard it was closed.

rosco1974
26-01-2011, 06:52 PM
shano,
i put in at manly....i am not to sure if wello is open...i dont like the ramp there personally...i always use manly or cleveland
cheers rosco

shano
26-01-2011, 08:32 PM
oh ok, whats wrng with that ramp? i only got small tinnie! thought that would be closer to green????????

27-01-2011, 10:30 AM
Be careful, guys!

What's the hurry to get out on the bay?

You could be playing Russian Roulette to be out there for a while ... http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/body-found-may-be-missing-fisherman-20110127-1a5q6.html

QF3 MROCP
27-01-2011, 12:29 PM
AS CHRLIE HAS JUST SAID.. DON'T GET TO COMPLACENT WITH THE BAY.. CHECK OUT THE OTHER THREAD GOING AT THE MOMENT... NOT GOOD NEWS.. ACTUALLY SICK IN THE STOMACH RIGHT NOW.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=172212

rosco1974
27-01-2011, 07:32 PM
shano,
is ok for smaller tinnies,

aparently my thread is the only 1 from yesterday as usual that people have a problem with..is startin to give me the sh#ts..i posted what it was like to let people what i had seen on my travels across the bay as well as what i have caught....i didn't leave in the dark or fish the brissy river as others had posted but hey just pick my thread....onya people..if the bay was so bad close... the bloody ramps to all and block all excess to the bay...i put in from beside the coastguard and marine parks at manly not even a sign to say DANGER floating objects through the bay or anything....if the weather comes good for the weekend will i go fishin u bet u
cheers rosco

shano
27-01-2011, 08:56 PM
yeah know what ya mean! is only good for small boats, no where to pull up really. and ya see now there put out a warning not to eat anything from the bay!

waxy
28-01-2011, 08:43 AM
Gidday All was out in the Bay yesterday rous to peel ting fishing was good small amont of rubbish but not bad hows the amont of small reefys about had trouble getting bait past them.
Sorry to hear about the two lads lost spb very dangerous place at times.

Si
28-01-2011, 08:49 AM
took the missus for a ting fish this mornin.left manly around 6 in a slight breeze..the water color was coffee but i expected that headed between green and wello all good no debri in the water still coffee colored water got over the the banks and the water was pretty good but still had a bit of fresh in it...got up to the rous and the water there was reasonably good..we had the usual bait gulp red worms and a couple of squid..we fished for a few hrs but got a good feed in the end of 70 odd tings..not as big as a few weeks ago but most around the 23cm and prob a dozen going 27cm so still a good size for diver tings....over the rous there where a few bait balls boiling the surface ...seen heaps of turtles,dolfins and dugongs so the bay seems to be doing ok...seen a few branches in the water on the way home but nothing more than that .was a great day on the water glassed out conditions

cheers rosco

cheers for the report roscoe. hey mate, i have a stupid question to ask when you are using the gulp worms. I have used them a couple of times with varying success. How do you find the hook ups on them because they are quite long and i often get fish pulling them off the hook or biting anywhere but the hook. Do you cut them into shorter pieces as you would with bait or do you rig the whole worm.

robsue
28-01-2011, 11:03 AM
cheers for the report roscoe. hey mate, i have a stupid question to ask when you are using the gulp worms. I have used them a couple of times with varying success. How do you find the hook ups on them because they are quite long and i often get fish pulling them off the hook or biting anywhere but the hook. Do you cut them into shorter pieces as you would with bait or do you rig the whole worm.

Rosco does the same as me i think, cut the worm into 4 pieces, i thread mine on the hook, making sure the tip of the hook is clear a bit so you get a better hookup rate
i dont use my gps, might have to start using it again so when i get a good feed, i can return to the same spot next time
last time i bagged out i used crab pots in the water to get marks from where the fish were, last tues, i only got 24 as didnt get back onto the right spot, no pots out, though having said that the fish do move around

AnthonyL
28-01-2011, 11:31 AM
Thanks for the report, its good to hear what it is like out there without having to go out and look for myself.

rosco1974
28-01-2011, 04:48 PM
i do the same with the gulp worms as robsue mentioned above

robsue

i got the whiting on the same drift lines i have on my gps...is alot easier to find them again
cheers rosco

Axl
30-01-2011, 05:57 PM

cheers rosco

Good to here you got out mate thanks for the report. Buy the sounds of it from yours and other reports its not as bad out there as I thought it would be.

I hope to get out some time this week but as people are saying ill take it steady.

Be careful, guys!

What's the hurry to get out on the bay?

You could be playing Russian Roulette to be out there for a while ... http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/body-found-may-be-missing-fisherman-20110127-1a5q6.html

Good advice there Charlie thanks mate but it sounds like its not to bad as long as the suns up and you keep an eye on whts hapening.

rosco1974
30-01-2011, 06:18 PM
good luck mate...i got the whiting from the same drift lines i was using the day i seen you over there..weather looks good early in the week...
cheers rosco