View Full Version : Ausfish for iphone

upstart
19-01-2011, 08:25 PM
How many people are using an iPhone to check ausfish? Are there any plans to develop an app?

P.s. Posted this with the iPhone via safari.

Gon Fishun
19-01-2011, 08:47 PM
What's an I Phone and an App.:-?

Rhetly
19-01-2011, 09:07 PM
Doing it right now!
An app would be awesome to save the enlarging and moving around the screen etc.

19-01-2011, 09:29 PM
Yes. I believe this question, or similar , has been raised and answered.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=168945

cheers Phill

sleepygreg
19-01-2011, 11:21 PM
Some people have WAY too much time on their hands.

FishHunter
20-01-2011, 05:11 AM
Some people have WAY too much time on their hands.

Some people aren't scared of technology ;D.
Although I don't like fruit that someone has already taken a chunk out of.

20-01-2011, 05:45 AM
Some people aren't scared of technology ;D.
Although I don't like fruit that someone has already taken a chunk out of.

and some people take it to ridiculous extremes.

20-01-2011, 05:59 AM
What's an I Phone and an App.:-?

Sorry mate. Can't help ya. I have no idea.

20-01-2011, 06:02 AM
How many people are using an iPhone to check ausfish? Are there any plans to develop an app?

P.s. Posted this with the iPhone via safari.

Are you in Africa big game huntin' ?

20-01-2011, 07:16 AM
That reminds me of a joke:
The kids gave me a new i-phone
The kids got a new i-pad
I gave the cook a new i-ron and then the fights began.

Get it?? i-ron....iron??

Or something like that :)

20-01-2011, 07:56 AM
Not really one of your better ones Scott.

20-01-2011, 08:09 AM
He has better ones >????????

LP

FishHunter
20-01-2011, 01:30 PM
and some people take it to ridiculous extremes.

No more so than having a house full of tackle.

20-01-2011, 02:28 PM

LOL..I don't have that either.

oddbudman
20-01-2011, 02:48 PM
Q: How do you know if someone has an iPhone?
A: They tell you.

sid_fishes
20-01-2011, 02:51 PM

that would be Mike and Graham i believe

deepfried
20-01-2011, 06:03 PM
Q: How do you know if someone has an iPhone?
A: They tell you.

I've got one :) :-X

They are an awesome bit of gear and well worth it for my work. The apps are just a bonus.

jayvee
20-01-2011, 06:04 PM
i think its a good idea. only ppl that dont have an iphone would think otherwise!! i no at least half of my fishing buddies have iphones and would also use it. but then again we're not affriad of "technology" or taking things to the "extreme" !!!

JAYVEE

20-01-2011, 06:32 PM
we're not affriad of "technology" or taking things to the "extreme" !!!

JAYVEE
With a haircut like that your not wrong ;D
At least your got hair I suppose :-[

FishHunter
20-01-2011, 06:46 PM
i think its a good idea. only ppl that dont have an iphone would think otherwise!! i no at least half of my fishing buddies have iphones and would also use it. but then again we're not affriad of "technology" or taking things to the "extreme" !!!

JAYVEE

Strange I have a Android phone and have no issues with browsing forums, must be a bitten fruit thing where you cant function without a specific app.

PS
Check if they have a spelling app in the store

20-01-2011, 07:02 PM
I have a mobile phone which I loathe and detest..could not think of anythign worse than trying to browse the web on a phone..I rarely even send an sms.

LOL at taking things to the extreme..WOW..extreme mobiles..will have to look into that one.

rat_catcher
20-01-2011, 07:33 PM
x2

I would use it.

upstart
20-01-2011, 08:16 PM
There are two types of people in the world. Those who have an iPhone and those who wish they had one.
:)

Seriously though they are an awesome bit of gear and I reckon an ausfish app would be a winner.

20-01-2011, 08:38 PM
There are two types of people in the world. Those who have an iPhone and those who wish they had one.
:)

Seriously though they are an awesome bit of gear and I reckon an ausfish app would be a winner.

haha..2 biggest blights on humanity...mobile phone and email...get bugger all work done at times cos people keep ringing and wanting quotes instantly by email.

20-01-2011, 09:10 PM
Knock it all you like. I went from a bloke that all he wanted in a phone was enough room to store lots of numbers to one that wouldn't have it any other way now. Some of these Apps are simple awesome. All of that information sitting in your pocket. I would use the Ausfish app for sure. One thing that annoys me is you cant use the search function on the Iphone. Maybe the search has changed since it was located at the bottom.

sleepygreg
20-01-2011, 11:50 PM
HMMM....and how much does one have to PAY to use all this technology??????? (and please include downtime during work time accessing all said 'apps' when supposed to be doing ones job).

PS...I am not a technophobe, nor a luddite. If you need this technology to be more efficient at your job....great. But if you 'want' this technology so you can do all your personal stuff whilst working, then I am dead set against it.

Had a potential apprentice in a job interview today, who kept grabbing his phone and fiddling with it...obviously answering twitters, or sms's or whatever....during the interview. Needless to say I ripped up his application after he left. He was also wearing thongs. damn i wish i could have ripped it up a second time.

21-01-2011, 05:55 AM
PS...I am not a technophobe, nor a luddite. If you need this technology to be more efficient at your job....great. But if you 'want' this technology so you can do all your personal stuff whilst working, then I am dead set against it..
Just after I had my accident I had to get a bloke in to do a small job (my aerial blew down) and when he gave me the bill (3.5hrs labour) I took off 1.5hrs as he was always on the bloody phone.
I wasn't paying him to organise his week-end and to talk to his mates and I know if I did the job it would have taken an hour and a half maximum.
He wasn't happy but stiff poo matey. I'm paying for work not talk (and not even to me)

Can you ban private phones at the workplace??

rat_catcher
21-01-2011, 04:57 PM
Had a potential apprentice in a job interview today, who kept grabbing his phone and fiddling with it...obviously answering twitters, or sms's or whatever....during the interview. Needless to say I ripped up his application after he left. He was also wearing thongs. damn i wish i could have ripped it up a second time.
Yep that is poor form! Geesh kids these days........

Gon Fishun
21-01-2011, 05:01 PM
I have 4 mobile phones, why I do not know, house phone, fax line, voip phone, email, facebook and twitter. Non of em can catch fish.;D
If we have a solar flare the world is in that proverbiable fan.:o

21-01-2011, 06:03 PM
Life is getting too fast as it is, the years fly by and why add to the pace? im still struggling answering the phone let alone messages etc,

Mobile canbe handy if car breaks down etc or but to cruise the net? cant really see the point on a 4 x3 screen when you can see Ausfish on a decent computer screen without eye-straining. WHy browse on a phone with a crappy small screen? dont get it, but hey whatever rocks your boat.

Only decent app on iphone is the weather one,

PS im in LA right now and the iphone has been zero help getting me info on any tackle stores over here

deepfried
21-01-2011, 07:41 PM
All the techno phobes posting on a public forum on the internet that goes world wide. Technology who needs it hey.

PS im in LA right now and the iphone has been zero help getting me info on any tackle stores over here

If you want you could from the comfort of your hotel room using your iphone search 12873-B Harbour Blvd, Garden Grove, CA and it would take you to tackle heaven. You could even tap into their wireless if they give you the password.

Plenty of usefull apps you just need to have a look for them but also the need to use them i guess.

FishHunter,
Yes you can get a dictionary app as well so no need for spelling mistakes.

21-01-2011, 07:53 PM
All the techno phobes posting on a public forum on the internet that goes world wide. Technology who needs it hey.

If you want you could from the comfort of your hotel room using your iphone search 12873-B Harbour Blvd, Garden Grove, CA and it would take to tackle heaven. You could even tap into their wireless if they give you the password.

Plenty of usefull apps you just need to have a look for them but also the need to use them i guess.

FishHunter,
Yes you can get a dictionary app as well so no need for spelling mistakes.

LOL..I doubt anyone is a technophobe...I just cannot work out why you need to be able to access the net everywhere you go and why you would want to.
Once work is over I rarely even have my mobile with me..the last thing I want or need is that thing.

Scott..I know of one builder that has banned mobiles on their worksites..only the site foreman from each contractor to have one on site.
My employees are banned from sending sms during work time..it was out of control..stopping work to send stupid bloody messages..do it in your own time not mine.

deepfried
21-01-2011, 08:54 PM
LOL..I doubt anyone is a technophobe...I just cannot work out why you need to be able to access the net everywhere you go and why you would want to.
Once work is over I rarely even have my mobile with me..the last thing I want or need is that thing.

Like i said in my first post, it is valuable for me at work.

I have no internet at work onsite so have no other means of sending or receiving emails to and from customers. The other apps and functions just add to the usefulness of it.

Back to the original thread though an app for ausfish would be good ;D

Ausfish
21-01-2011, 09:22 PM
Yes it is coming, see other post in help section as advised by Lucky Phill

Should be all done in Feb

BTW posting this in Launceston using my IPad that is WiFied through my IPhone :-)
Sorry Pinhead, couldn't resist that one.

22-01-2011, 05:03 AM
Yes it is coming, see other post in help section as advised by Lucky Phill

Should be all done in Feb

BTW posting this in Launceston using my IPad that is WiFied through my IPhone :-)
Sorry Pinhead, couldn't resist that one.

LOL I know where you are..LOL

you lost me on that with Ipad and wifi through phone..out of my league.

22-01-2011, 06:16 AM
Oi Greg.
The screen on my phone stuffed up the day after I saw you last.
It went all black and I didn't have a clue who I was dialling so I went looking for a new phone.
I got a ripper.
No internet, no camera, big numbers I can see and press and easy to use.
And it cost a whopping $17 from Harvey Norman.
I could not be happier as the old phone had bells and whistles and all that caper and I could not work out how to turn the internet thingo off so it was always looking for a network to connect to and the battery always went flat pretty quick because of this which was a pain because I could never find it as it wouldn't ring when I called it as the battery was flat.

Gees I love having a mobile phone that's just a phone :)

wamjam
22-01-2011, 07:29 PM
Oi Greg.
The screen on my phone stuffed up the day after I saw you last.
It went all black and I didn't have a clue who I was dialling so I went looking for a new phone.
I got a ripper.
No internet, no camera, big numbers I can see and press and easy to use.
And it cost a whopping $17 from Harvey Norman.
I could not be happier as the old phone had bells and whistles and all that caper and I could not work out how to turn the internet thingo off so it was always looking for a network to connect to and the battery always went flat pretty quick because of this which was a pain because I could never find it as it wouldn't ring when I called it as the battery was flat.

Gees I love having a mobile phone that's just a phone :)

Does it have a turn dial on it ???? :-?

22-01-2011, 07:52 PM
Does it have a turn dial on it ???? :-?
Where would I find that?
If I plant it in the ground it's a sundial. Is that close enough??

wamjam
22-01-2011, 08:57 PM
http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTnZ8uKn2fKjj1AqeXp4ILlwCRaCP1y4 GFKpwGfFw4AUSUpJ2ZfAQ

23-01-2011, 06:37 AM
No, but I had one for home for when the power went out but they don't work any more for some reason.
Bugger. :(

23-01-2011, 11:50 AM
what is an android phone? never heard of those

23-01-2011, 12:00 PM
what is an android phone? never heard of those
http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-an-android-phone.htm

23-01-2011, 12:25 PM
thanks Scott...you going to buy one ??

23-01-2011, 01:41 PM
thanks Scott...you going to buy one ??
I read that link and still did not understand.
I'll stick to the $17 special thanks. It has a torch in it at least. At least a torch is useful if I was ever out after dark.

I'm afraid I'm another who cannot see the need for internet and stuff in a phone.
When I'm out and about I'm out and about and usually on a mission and would not even think about checking my tweets (what's a tweet?).
But for those who need/want those features.... goodo then.
Just don't use them whilst talking to me or at the dinner table with me or you might get a smack in the chops.
I hate that.
>:(

23-01-2011, 01:56 PM
I read that link and still did not understand.
I'll stick to the $17 special thanks. It has a torch in it at least. At least a torch is useful if I was ever out after dark.

I'm afraid I'm another who cannot see the need for internet and stuff in a phone.
When I'm out and about I'm out and about and usually on a mission and would not even think about checking my tweets (what's a tweet?).
But for those who need/want those features.... goodo then.
Just don't use them whilst talking to me or at the dinner table with me or you might get a smack in the chops.
I hate that.
>:(

Funny thing..we were at a restaurant a while back..a married couple came in ..sat down and the pair of them got their phones out and started messaging or something..we reckon they were sending messages to each other across the table. It was pathetic.

Crestcutter
23-01-2011, 06:21 PM
I agree with Greg and Scott on a couple of things. Smack in the kisser from me if anyone brings that to the dinner table. And also when i am not at work the kids look at me strange when my mobile rings and i dont answer it. I simply screen my calls to see if its after hours ringing me or security. If it isn't either it's back to doing what i was doing. And i love technology , just have not got the time for it lol.