View Full Version : October Darwin trip
Fishcam1
16-01-2011, 07:51 PM
Heading to Darwin for the first time for two weeks in October 2011. I'm towing (with a Landcruiser) a 4m / 25hp tinny (with an extra tank) so I can do, say, 70-80+ km round seatrips if necessary (but not too keen to go too far out in unfamiliar territory.)
I'm from Cairns, so I guess the general fishing styles will be similar, but if anyone has any tips for hotspots or good areas it'd be much appreciated. I have a handheld GPS - not expecting any "spot X's" but area marks for wrecks, reefs etc wouldn't go astray ;)
Gear ranges from ABU 5600/6500s, to big Penn eggbeaters, through to a TLD 20, so should be able to cover most styles.
No idea of the prevailing winds, etc (although I guess it'll be starting to heat up, with storms?)
Again, any help/tips/spots much appreciated.
Cam
Fishcam1
25-01-2011, 03:32 PM
Bump? :)
Squidlet
25-01-2011, 03:59 PM
Tides are a bit bigger up here but nothing to freaky,will be nice and sticky so the water will be warm meaning good barra fishing as well as harbour fish'n the blue water should be good as well generaly the winds arnt to bad this time of year you will get your afternoon squall's on ocasion.
When ya get up here the best place to go for the best info is the boy's at Fishing and Outdoor world on cavena street darwin city,they are down to earth and dont talk shit,that will be a good place to start also the magazine "North australian fish finder"has got good maps of of esture and river's also has plenty of basic starting waypoints get's ya in the general vacinety.
Anyway bud i hope you enjoy ya trip up here and don't catch all our fish ;):P
Ps- Go to bunnings and get ya self a mozy thing called THERMO-CELL,they are the best thing goen and they bloody work great for when ya up the creek's getn smashed by mozies and midges.
blackjew
12-02-2011, 04:26 PM
Mate I lived up there for 8 years and after moving south miss it so much , Oct start of the wet so you get some great calm days watch the squawls in between showers but they are ok ,get that book squidlet said , and look for legendary spot 6 ,not far from the rock ,oh the rock fishes great to launch from Buff creek bout 15 mins to the rock beware ,and read the warnings in the book ,this area does dry totally.Heads out from Dinah Beach ramp into the channel out towards Mandorah and look for some good bottom out there good Jews,and snapper,the Hamluang is one of the better wrecks in the harbour most of them are rubble,Oh another spot that fishes well is the spot of Channel Island The Town Hall Deep hole that needs a small tide. Not to mention Bynoe Harbour or Leaders creek lol Head for Shady camp ,go to the mouth YOU WILL HAVE PLENTY OF JUICE JUSs TAKE A JERRY TO . on the way heaps of Awesome barra spots,and at the mouth some of the best fishing for big Black jew ,and goldies ,in shallow water , just head out the mouth say bout 500mtr lol sound for rocky bottom plenty out there .All the best mate .Lucky Bastzzzzz
broncodude
14-02-2011, 02:26 PM
mate check out crab claw island stay there and they have the best fishing you can ask for
15-02-2011, 01:28 PM
My niece and her husband have just moved back to Darwin....army posting......they rang me to tell of their crabing sucsess........5 keepers over 20cm in the last week........I think I need to go for a visit.;D
Just watch out for those snappy handbags.
tim1978
15-02-2011, 04:40 PM
If you go down as far as the Daley the only place to stay is the Banyan Farm which is the first camp on the left.
The bitumen goes right to the front door now. No longer a remote destination.
I did stay at a camp that is closer to the action for a couple of days but it was not to my tastes!!!!
I would be getting a guide for a day or two on the Daley to learn the rock bars and snags +'s where & when.
Watch the Crocs there was one between 4 & 5m just up from the ramp we were using which we did not see until our tenth day.
If you get the chance stop at the Barra Shack at Humpty Doo and say g day to Waldow must see.
On the way across a good place to stop is the Barkley Huts good feed and cold beer book before you leave if you need a room.
Another is the Daley Waters Pub another good feed with cold beer.
Also the Adelaid River Inn / 303 bar is also a good feed with cold beer.