View Full Version : Bigger bait maybe?
JEWIENEWIE
18-11-2010, 01:52 PM
Heading down to pebbley beach this weekend to chase some jew on the full moon. Went down a coule of full moons ago and got four or five in close off the beach in an hour but all on the small side of things. Was using live beach worms i caught on the low tide earlier. Where there is small ones there must be big ones so just wondering what i can do to attract the bigger ones and put off the small ones.
Jewienewie;D;D
frankgrimes
18-11-2010, 03:28 PM
Livie(Mullet) - If you can get it out far enough is your best bet.
bushwacker
18-11-2010, 07:11 PM
mate worms work fine for bigger jew actually they love them, just use bigger hooks up to 8/0 an make sure you load them up with worms so you get a big bait, gotta love those big stumpies for this, bonnie fillits also go alright i use a two hook snell rig for the big fillits..
rabbi
18-11-2010, 07:39 PM
Hi jewienewie,
Try going on a different moon phase. I find the bigger fish spook easily on a full moon, but having said that I have been getting heaps of small jew around here and having trouble myself finding a bigger fish.
Got a 21kg fish here a while back but hard work mate.
Cheers, steve.
wayno60
18-11-2010, 11:59 PM
Id go a slab of mullet on a 6.0 hook. but even a smallish jew will get that in his mouth...
19-11-2010, 05:36 AM
Large tailor slab, a chopper as a live bait or a large tailor head.
Flat-tail mullet done the same.
Whole medium squid bait as fresh as possible.
I also don't like the full moon, and prefer the neap tides. Enjoy, the smaller ones are arguably better eating anyway!
And the big ones certainly do love worms also!
stonecold
20-11-2010, 06:01 AM
Im no expert mate ...only an apprentice jew fisherman, (3 years into a 40 year apprenticeship) I can tell you that Rabbi is alot further into his apprenticeship than most (there's a reason he's called rabbi) an if he says try a different moon phase thats a good start. There have been barrow loads of small fish about. Some trips a dozen fish in that 2-4kg bracket are not uncommon (for some). Big fish? well my tally for the year is 2! neither of the fish was caught on the full moon.
Probably the best advice is to be consistant with your fishing. One or two trips per moon phase wont cut it, try every night or every second night at specific periods (when the planets align::) ). Once you get a pattern worked out then you can cut back on the recon missions....jeez Rabbi I almost sound like I know what im talkin about;D
FISHAWN
20-11-2010, 07:10 AM
Enjoy, the smaller ones are arguably better eating anyway!
You reckon ? I much prefer the bigger ones, I find the smaller ones have too mushy a texture and don't taste anywhere near as good as the big bad boys.
20-11-2010, 07:19 AM
3-7kg is my fav, get 'em cold asap. Big fellas (10kg+) can get a bit tough IMO.
Jew freeze extremely well also IMO. Each to there own of course, but I'd much prefer to catch 2 x 6kg fish than 1 x 12kg job, but then I do primarily fish for a feed.
rabbi
21-11-2010, 04:41 AM
Well heres one for you.
I went off the nth wall at ballina a few years back when I used to baitfish for jew and I was using whole fillets of mullet along with half dead tailor on a bridled 2 x 8/0 hook rig.
The bream kept chewing the baits to pieces and I ended up giving the big baits away after a fishless couple of hours.
Tied on a bream rig with a small running sinker and a 1/0 suicide hook along with a 10mm x 20mm tidbit of mullet flesh.
The first jew went 10kg and the second one 8kg and I barely got a bump from a bream. Go figure!!
Thats when I cottoned onto the fact that finess comes into play more than throwing huge baits around for jew , works with lures too. Just ask deepfried:D
There was a big one pulled out of the river and onto the wall last night.
Good onya Shane, always trying to be the centre of attention.
Joggers and slimey rocks dont mix mate.:P
Cheers, Uncle Steve.
stonecold
21-11-2010, 06:37 AM
Bet he went hard Steve....and played up when the gaff went in::)
rabbi
24-11-2010, 12:18 PM
Not really SC,
Neil was gaffing him out and I think he missed him the first 10 shots::)
Thats if his previous form is anything to go by!!
Just got back from yamba from a nights visit with friends. Wishing I took my jew gear with the dirty water there at the mo.
24-11-2010, 04:27 PM
Nice fish taken down this way the other night on the top of the tide, 26.5kg, on worms.
rabbi
25-11-2010, 08:42 PM
Yeah was talking to a bloke at yamba yesterday and he saw two big jew come out in daylight hours this week.
Send em up this way will ya!!