View Full Version : US i-Pilot Now work here??

DarkHorse
10-10-2010, 02:41 PM
G'Day Crew,

Looking at the other post's on here regarding the minn kota i-Pilot, I was just wondering if anyone has RECENTLY purchased the ipilot from the states and found it working ok here in Australia?

I know there was a problem with the original versions, I assume that the US versions were also upgraded??

I have spent hours and hours and sent lots of emails but so far no definitive answer :'(

Normally I wouldnt mind buying here in OZ, but the Mrs has recently castrated me so $$$ are very hard to justify :-[

Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Mike Delisser
10-10-2010, 05:05 PM
Ausfish member Tim Barramasta might be able to help you but keep an eye out for specials here in OZ, complete units were bargins at the boat show.

Awoonga
10-10-2010, 05:45 PM
Mine does bought from J&h products..... 4 months now no problems

DarkHorse
10-10-2010, 06:06 PM
Mine does bought from J&h products..... 4 months now no problems

G'Day Awoonga,

Thanks for the info. I assume you purchased yours about June/July?? If so does it have a code or anything else that would identify it as a "revised" model??

Do you lose satelite connection at all?

How do you find it in blowy conditions with spot lock? I have an minnkota SP model and really want to use it near oyster racks so I dont keep colliding with the bloody racks.

I have found here in NSW I spend MORE time controlling the minnkota than actually fishing!

Awoonga
11-10-2010, 06:31 AM
G'Day Awoonga,

Thanks for the info. I assume you purchased yours about June/July?? If so does it have a code or anything else that would identify it as a "revised" model?? Not that l know of

Do you lose satelite connection at all? Nope

How do you find it in blowy conditions with spot lock? I have an minnkota SP model and really want to use it near oyster racks so I dont keep colliding with the bloody racks. It keeps me within a boats lengh when its windy.Look to be honest its the best thing you are going to get without using a pick.BUT it does not keep the boat still.

I have found here in NSW I spend MORE time controlling the minnkota than actually fishing!

.................................................. ................................

rayken1938
11-10-2010, 07:22 AM
I brought one for a sp model about 4 months ago and the steering motor was engaged all the time as soon as power connected. Price was only $299 us.I sent it back to a mob called "The Trolling Doctor" and am still waiting return after 2 months. There excuse is that they are waiting for a similar motor to come in to check it out. Postage to return was only $29 compared with $50 odd to get it here.
Ray

DarkHorse
11-10-2010, 10:16 AM
Thank you VERY much for the replies guys! It is a tough one. Do I buy overseas and take the chance it does NOT break or wait until BLA pass on the $$$ savings due to the strong currency.

It would be just my luck that I would get a dodgy unit from the states and have to send it back..............

Hmmmm what to do?

rayken1938
11-10-2010, 11:11 AM
Considerable savings buying from the states my mistake was sending back to the seller rather than direct to minnkota. They will wear the postage back to AU so in reality I am only out of pocket by $29. Have other mates that brought from same seller as me and they have had no problems.
Ray

DarkHorse
14-10-2010, 11:43 AM
Thank you for ALL of the info guys.

I placed an order for the Riptide SP i-Pilot with J and H products on Sunday. Credit Card has been debited, just waiting for shipping email.

Can't wait to install it. I have even downloaded the install video off youtube!

Very excited. Hopefully it will not take too long to arrive here. Paid half of the australian RRP freighted to my doorstep.

Also got an email from Minn Kota in the US, stating that ALL units had been upgraded, so should not be any problems using here in Australia!

Dantren
15-10-2010, 05:31 PM
Hey Rob.

Good on you mate. I hear they are the shizzle.
I've been considering one for my boat.
Did you get the 24v 80lb?
How much will you get billed for import duty, gst, etc.

Dan.

DarkHorse
15-10-2010, 08:52 PM
Sorry guys my previous post is a bit confusing.

I only purchased the i-Pilot ADDON for my existing riptide 55lb kota, NOT the whole unit.

I appologise for the confusion.

Cant wait for the new toy to arrive.

robman
16-10-2010, 12:34 PM
Hi DarkHorse, I can't wait to see how it turns out as well. I have boat purchased in the US with a 80lb Riptide ST on it and would like to get the i-pilot add on for it. Minn Kota in the US said in an email that I should buy one from Australia because it would work properly. I wonder if they were just blowin' smoke up my ginger. They cast some doubt in my mind as to how a overseas unit will perform here. So I haven't ordered one as yet and will hold off until i get confirmation that the US models work perfectly here ion OZ.

DarkHorse
16-10-2010, 01:28 PM
All current i-Pilots have had there software updated to address this issue. To tell whether a unit has been updated you need to look at the serial number sticker on the i-Pilot control module. It should have a red dot on it.

Mike N
800-227-6433
Date: Oct 11, 2010 3:34:56 PM
To: service@minnkotamotors.com
Subject: Minn Kota Contact Us Form Submission

Data from form "Contact Us" was received on 10/11/2010 3:33:47 PM.

service@minnkotamotors.com

I was wondering if Minn Kota iPilot part number Part # 1866215 is the revised edition? I understand that there were initial problems with units sold that would NOT work properly here in Australia (no GPS satelite signal)
Email "Minn Kota Contact Us Form Submission" originally sent to service@minnkotamotors.com on 10/11/2010 3:33:47 PM.

Bear001
16-10-2010, 08:46 PM
Sorry guys my previous post is a bit confusing.

I only purchased the i-Pilot ADDON for my existing riptide 55lb kota, NOT the whole unit.

I appologise for the confusion.

Cant wait for the new toy to arrive.

Rob, Im looking to do the same on my Minn kota Terrova 55lb. Could you please PM me with cost from J&H.

Also if you could report back on here time to receive, and if the unit works ok etc.
Cindy

DarkHorse
20-10-2010, 07:38 PM
All current i-Pilots have had there software updated to address this issue. To tell whether a unit has been updated you need to look at the serial number sticker on the i-Pilot control module. It should have a red dot on it.

Mike N
800-227-6433
Date: Oct 11, 2010 3:34:56 PM
To: service@minnkotamotors.com
Subject: Minn Kota Contact Us Form Submission

Data from form "Contact Us" was received on 10/11/2010 3:33:47 PM.

service@minnkotamotors.com

I was wondering if Minn Kota iPilot part number Part # 1866215 is the revised edition? I understand that there were initial problems with units sold that would NOT work properly here in Australia (no GPS satelite signal)
Email "Minn Kota Contact Us Form Submission" originally sent to service@minnkotamotors.com on 10/11/2010 3:33:47 PM.

I received the i-Pilot today from J and H products. One week from postage to receiving it. As you can see from my previous quote, if the unit is a "revised" version it should have a red dot on the serial number sticker. The one I received DOES NOT have a red dot :-[

Unfortunately I cannot test it, as I had to send my riptide into BLA because of corrosion on the prop shaft washer............. Still have not heard from BLA yet :'(

Will have to see what happens, could be an expensive paper weight.

Escape with LG
20-10-2010, 08:19 PM
Mate she will be right!!! Least that is what I'm telling myself just ordered a st 80lb with ipilot 1 thing I do know is it's still under warrenty in the states!! If it doesnt work send it back!!! Mine is not far away and have confirmed the red dot before postage! Keep us posted!!! What dramas have you guys had with your kotas anyways or are they pretty bullet proof? Warrenty didn't really worry me as its only 2years if it was longer might have considered keeping the $$$$ in Aust!

Stressless
22-10-2010, 07:20 AM
Ordered my retro kit from J&H in US last week and was dispatched Monday, saved approx $400 (hopefully not false economy!!!).

Will report any faults when fitted

DarkHorse
24-10-2010, 06:37 AM
Stressless, let me know how you go with yours. When you receive it can you tell me if yours has a red dot, if not, what revision it is please before you install.
I would appreciate it. Still waiting for my kota to be returned from BLA. I asked the technician if the I-Pilot could be updated here and he said no.

Escape with LG
24-10-2010, 08:35 AM
Received my ipilot the other day and yes confirmed it dose have a red dot just have to wait now for the actual electric and I will report back

Stressless
27-10-2010, 06:03 PM
I-pilot arrived today, no red dot on the control unit, so fingers crossed.

The p/n is 2994082, REV B, so may have has the bugs ironed out???

I'm off down to Hinchinbrook Is. for the last barra weekend for the season and will fit and test the motor next week

Escape with LG
27-10-2010, 07:46 PM
Darkhorse got your pm but it won't let me reply maybe it's my phone!!! Currently away with work till Monday week will report back then!!!

All the best round the island stressless hope it goes well for you

DarkHorse
27-10-2010, 08:11 PM
Just a quick update managed to get hold of "Australian" i-Pilot direct from supplier. There is absolutely NO DIFFERENCE between the OZ version and US version. Both had same part number, same revision (C) and NO RED DOT. Installed OZ version, 5 bars signal. Unplugged and installed US version, guess what, 5 bars and all good.

Now to sell one of them!

Good luck with install Stressless! There is a good video on YouTube from Minn Kota on how to install took me at the most 30 minutes. I wish I was at Hinchinbrook! Instead chasing Bream, Flatty's etc at Tuross Head :)

The lock function works well. Takes a little while to recognize that it had moved from position but regains it well. Then again it was blowing 15 knots!!!

DarkHorse
31-10-2010, 08:37 AM
**UPDATE No. 2**

Well I am EXTREMELY dissapointed. So far I think that the I-Pilot is not worth 2 knobs of goat SH$T.

On the water at 7.00 each morning, NO SATELLITE reception for at least 40 minutes.

Then one bar, then four. Look away for a few minutes and NO SATELLITE reception again.......... This would continue ALL day.

I was fishing lake Tuross, coastal, about 4 hours drive south of Sydney.

Very open area, no high sided rivers/creeks.

Sent email to supplier and was told that I would have to send in the unit so that it could be "tested". NOT HAPPY! Will have to cut the provided heat shrink and box it up and send it off to QLD.

Will let you know how it goes. As a side note, it was the "OZ" version that was installed and playing up, NOT the US purchased unit. I was unable to swap them over whilst away to see if it was a unit problem or simply a lack of "viewable" satellites.

Although the Global Positioning System (GPS) satellites number about 32 in a geosychronous orbit, there are periods when the satellites are not in a good position for the receiver to get accurate information. You only need a minimum of 3 satellites to give your exact position, 4 to confirm the information from the other 3.

Most modern receiver chipsets can "track" 12 or 16 satellites at a time, whether they are ALL useful is very rare.

When the I-Pilot had NO coverage/reception my chart plotter (Lowrance HDS-7) had 8 "good" satellites. WAAS (Wide Area Augmentation System) was not selected on in the unit and is not "generally" available here in Australia. (although it can be assisted by using a land based system, differential GPS, very accurate to about 0.2m!)

Stressless
01-11-2010, 09:14 PM
Hi Rob

Plan A: I'll fit mine in the next few days. I won't heat shrink anything or screw anything together, just leave bits taped/insulated on the shaft.

My plan is to make the connections, press the anchor lock, and drive around the close (dead end steet), and see what happens.

Plan B: Engage lowest prop speed, press anchor lock, drive around and see what happens, a minute running out of the water shouldn't hurt

Plan C: Contact MinnKota for advice/ full upgrade.

Plan D: Get a refund from Minnkota. My understanding from numerous local publications is that the device would live up to my expectations, and that Australia had no reception issues. The success of teams attributing I-Pilot to winning NT Barra and other comps (according to Minnkota ads e.g. Fishing Monthly) led me to believe it is the ducks nuts for the type of fishing I love to do.

I haven't found anything on the net or in the installation manuals suggesting that Australia is in a "red" area, like the new Lowrance HSD imports are ( justifying my purchase of a HSD7 Structure Scan from an Aust. supplier).

Anyhow I digress. If all works well, I'll complete the instal, do a water test and report back on the weekend if possible

Escape with LG
02-11-2010, 03:37 AM
Guys spoke to BLA today and was told there is no difference between Aussie ones and the rest of the world just the warrenty issue we all know about however he did say they are up to rev c maybe d!!!! I will be home later today and tell you all what rev mine is as it has the red dot someone mentioned!!!

Luke

DarkHorse
02-11-2010, 03:45 PM
My last day of holidays yesterday I set the boat up on our driveway, away from everything, Minn Kota deployed, sounder/plotter running as I would be fishing.

Tried with sounder on and off.

From 7.00am 3 Bars, dropping to 1 bar

From 7.45am to 8.30am, nothing - zero reception

From 8.30am to 9.00am , fluctuating between 1 bar - zero reception

Moved the boat, turned the Minn Kota to face each of the cardinal points (not that it would make any difference) and tested again.

From 9.00am till 11.00am 1 bar, to 3 bars, nothing, nothing, nothing

Plotter was receiving 6 good satellites and 2 were in and out.

I have sent information to the Technical guys at BLA QLD and nothing, not even an acknowledgement. In fact I have a flight to Brisbane tommorow and asked if I could drop the unit in for testing. Nothing.

I appreciate that it would be a very busy time of the year for them, but..............

Also I spoke with the retailer who organised for me to get this unit directly from BLA and he said the chances of getting a refund will be highly unlikely.............

Will see what happens. Just to clarify, the unit I am having trouble with is an Australian purchased unit that I paid OVER DOUBLE for than the US unit.

Escape with LG
02-11-2010, 03:53 PM
That sucks darkhorse I have only heard good reports about bla's service.

How has the American unit been have you been testing that one as well???

Stressless
02-11-2010, 07:06 PM
Here's some discussion from another website forum:

http://www.##############.au/forums/boating-equipment/5408-minn-kota-i-pilot-2.html

Stressless
02-11-2010, 07:08 PM
Must have been edited.

Anyone wanting the site ring me on: 0400 678 763 (company phone)

DarkHorse
03-11-2010, 09:20 PM
Lost ALL my previous post. Using I-Pad. Will update further tomorrow. Just a quick BIG thank you to Tech guys at BLA Qld (Brissy) for swapping unit. Yet to install new one. Will update you when I do.

Bear001
03-11-2010, 10:28 PM
Geez Rob, hope you get it sorted...I can imagine how frustrated you are.

I have decided not to purchase the add-on and wait until another 12months when some more bugs ironed out.

Thanks to everyone who has commented on their personal experience.

As noted above, I have received excellent service from BLA Brisbane re: my Terrova when it had issues - so I am happy to hear they are keeping up their good reputation.

Let us know how you get on.

Cindy

DarkHorse
05-11-2010, 04:30 PM
G'Day Crew,

I was able to visit the BLA Tech guys in QLD. Uninstalled the problem Oz unit, boxed it back up and hired a car from Coolangatta (in Coolangatta for work, live in Sydney).

Described the problems to the technicians, they took it away and 15 minutes later they returned with a brand new boxed unit.

The new unit is also a revision C. Interesting to note that the new unit had a later serial number, but it has a red dot on the box and serial sticker on the unit, the dot is very small.

Installed the new unit late yesterday. Even with very thick cloud and light rain the new unit constantly has FULL satellite reception, it has never dropped below full reception.

Obviously the older Oz unit was simply faulty.

The US unit also maintains full reception, it is a Revision C, earlier serial number, no red dot.................

I asked about revision D units and queried of any updates or changes. It was explained to me that it was simply production runs that changed the Revision letter.

I tried spot lock, as part of my test, but the unit just went around in circles, twisting the cable around the shaft each time, hopefully not another fault.

As yet I have not tested it on the water.

P.S. If anyone wants to buy the US revision C unit for RIPtide SP you can have it for $350, less than I paid to get it from the states and half of what you can get the OZ version for!!!

Escape with LG
05-11-2010, 07:51 PM
That has eased my mind so much rob as my not yet installed US ipilot has the red dot!!!! Glad you finally got it sorted!!!

Cheers luke

Stressless
06-11-2010, 11:45 AM
Hi All

Just tested my unit.

Connected the power to the motor, 3 beeps from the motor head, turned on the hand controller, 3 secs later the hand controller turned off.

Disconnected the motor power, replaced the controller batteries, plugged the motor back in, and the motor turns on its own accord to wrap the coil around the shaft. The hand controller keeps turning off after 3 secs.

Tried "resetting" everything by pulling connections etc apart but still no go.

PLAN C: I'll contact Minnkota, I don't think BLA will help because I bought direct from USA.

Stressless
06-11-2010, 02:12 PM
Between my last post and this, J & H Products in the States are going to send me an exchange unit with the red dot.

They had only just been told about the "red dot" and couldn't remember the version sent.

Gotta love modern technology (email that is!!!).

My final post on this subject will be when all is good

DarkHorse
07-11-2010, 09:25 AM
G'Day Stressless,

You cannot go wrong with J and H products. When I received mine it too did not have a red dot, so I emailed him and asked. As you said he was not aware of any red dot and was making further enquiries. He said if I was concerned, I could send it back.

As I had holidays (very rare) and not wanting to be dissapointed, I purchased an OZ unit at double the cost of the US unit.

As you can see the Oz unit was faulty. I decided to "dry" install the US version. Full satellite coverage. There is no difference in Oz/US versions. Some have the red dot, most do not, why? only Minn Kota knows!

My replacement Oz version is also a revision C, but it has a red dot. Installed it and full satellite coverage. But when dry testing the spot lock function in the driveway, it too, just spins the head, wrapping the cable around the shaft! The remote does not turn off, though. When I tried testing the old unit in the driveway with spotlock it worked by making small adjustments.............

For you that are yet to install here is a link to a youtube video that Minn Kota have made showing the install. Other models are also listed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QH8Mon6LycU

Good luck with it all, let me know how it goes.

The guru
11-11-2010, 07:01 AM
Morning all,

Im looking to buy a terrova 55lb with ipilot. Im SEQ based and was wondering where people have been getting the best prices from?

Thanks in advance.

Justin

rayken1938
11-11-2010, 04:16 PM
I got a unit from the states and when installed it was faulty. It kept turning the power head in one direction after I tried the spot lock button.It appeared all ok untill i hit the spot lock. Contacted the seller and tried taking battery out of remote with no difference.
Looks like its a common fault with the earlier models a a friend had the same problem with his Austrailian purchased one.
Posted the unit back to the states and after a month new unit arrived. The new one has a red dot and works perfectly.
Cost me $29 to send it to the states and $61 for the return postage

Peter4
11-11-2010, 04:38 PM
Morning all,

Im looking to buy a terrova 55lb with ipilot. Im SEQ based and was wondering where people have been getting the best prices from?

Thanks in advance.

Justin

Got mine from Hunt Marine in Sydney - $1,900 plus $50 delivery. Arrived in three days...

Escape with LG
11-11-2010, 04:56 PM
Hey guys so i have emailed my american company and cancled the delivery of my minn kota think i am better off just buying it here however i have sitting in my garage a ipilot to suit the ST model Kota so if anyone is after one $400 now it is from the states however it is one of the ones with the red dot on it so pretty confident i wasnt going to have issues (my only worry or reason for stopping the order is the turn around time on shipping my whole unit back there other than that there are some good savings to be made

PM if interested!

Cheers Luke

Escape with LG
16-11-2010, 06:13 PM
Bump!

Guys just before i email the company in america who i delt with regarding my i-pilot. I have one here for sale $400 free shipping anywhere on the east coast! Thats all i paid just want my coin back! its brand new in the box straight off the shelf! It does have the RED dot everyone speaks of and is the current revision!

Anyways PM me if your keen!

Stressless
06-12-2010, 07:57 AM
Quick update:

Supplier in USA only had rev b in stock, so unit has gone back to Minnkota for replacement, been waiting 4 weeks, luckily Barra season is closed

Stressless
05-01-2011, 04:26 PM
Hi All

NEW I-pilot from MinnKota (Rev C with a re dot) arrived today. I'll fit it this Friday and do a dry run in the street and report back

Stressless
07-01-2011, 12:26 PM
Hi All

SUCCESS. All is working as it should.

I can't thank the supplier, J & H Products in the USA, any more for the effort they put into getting the issue sorted with MinnKota. I'm still $ 250 heavier in the wallet.

Now I can't wait to get back to Karumba to spot lock the snags where I lost valuable casting time using the co-pilot last trip (only hope they haven't been washed away!!!)

Signing off on the subject