View Full Version : Spanish Mackeral on Floaters
Scott79
17-09-2010, 11:45 PM
Just interested to hear where people target Spanish Mackeral on floaters, in particular the areas you do or don't try.
Obviously there are some areas that stand out - islands / bommies / shoals etc, but I am curious to know if you still catch them around the small rubble patches, maybe 30 or 40 metres deep, and the same with fern country in similar depths.
Maybe the question should be "what depths don't you bother chasing them"?
Thanks,
Scott.
perko
18-09-2010, 05:45 AM
I think you could have a pilly, yakka, slimy etc out the back on wire trace everywhere up that way. We have caught them from the inlet to Turkey and everywhere out to the reef. But our sure fire spot is in 38 meters with a bombie that rises to 23 meters that is loaded with bait and always surrounded with tuna schools. I have got a few incidental catches on the flat ground but no where near as often as bombies, current lines etc. Usually there has to be bait for them to get in any large numbers. Also we often get them trolling deep divers under the tuna schools. Put a floater out for your next few trips and see what happens.
Platitudinus
18-09-2010, 11:06 AM
Gold Coast 24F (approx 43m) is good with floaters, livies or pillies for the Spannos. Just dont be in a rush to get the floater down to the bottom, just lightly weighted for control.
They were even hot on gulp earlier this year. (7inch White and Nuclear Chicken)
Baits on the bottom also get the spotties.
And yes - its great fun hooking onto a spanno with a spin reel, open water and no heavy weights!
Plato
smashed crabs
18-09-2010, 09:20 PM
Just interested to hear where people target Spanish Mackeral on floaters, in particular the areas you do or don't try.
Obviously there are some areas that stand out - islands / bommies / shoals etc, but I am curious to know if you still catch them around the small rubble patches, maybe 30 or 40 metres deep, and the same with fern country in similar depths.
Maybe the question should be "what depths don't you bother chasing them"?
Thanks,
Scott.
Gday Scott
you can try for macks just about anywhere bloke , we have pulled them from 80m over rubble patches , 140m of the shelf over good struture and even from river mouths on big tides , birds and bait can be a dead giveaway when working the deeper water , you just never know whats lurking around under em .
Always worth a go mate
cheers SC
mouse71
18-09-2010, 10:00 PM
as Smashed said, try for them anywhere,
usually when the water gets over 20 mts, I will troll for them, using a wide range of lures and skirts
under that I usually send a livie or a pillie, on gangs, out the back on a balloon or a floater
keep close to the reef edge and usually you can't go wrong
Scott79
19-09-2010, 08:57 PM
Thanks everyone, that's certainly alleviated any of my concerns about chasing them in those depths.
I probably would have put one out anyway, but it's certainly reassuring that others are fishing for them in similar water / country.
Thanks,
Scott.
rhino01
21-09-2010, 08:13 PM
I always have an unweighted pilly out the back of the boat when fishing just in case... usually use 3 x gang hook - very short wire trace (only about 10cm long) - 1.5m 40lb leader attached to main 15lb braid on my heavy spin combo. Definently works when fishing drop offs heaps of fun - nothing beats the looong first run of a mack........
Steve82
22-09-2010, 08:37 PM
Thanks for the info fellas, just wondering how far bellow a float do you put your pilly i tend to go around the 3 metre mark