View Full Version : Rod and reel storage... separate them?

Damned67
16-08-2010, 06:27 PM
Hi All,
Was just reading an article in a mag that was talking about tackle storage. They mentioned separating the rod from the reel. Just wondering who does this?
Cheers!

Fish_gutz
16-08-2010, 07:51 PM
not me unless transporting them but it does pay to pull them all down and give them a good clean every now and then , you`d be surprised where the salt and corrosion gets in even after a good soaping.

Chopper Taylor
16-08-2010, 08:28 PM
separated, wash down both rod and reel and lock the reels away.

sleepygreg
16-08-2010, 08:45 PM
With the exception of three outfits (out of about 30+) all mine are taken apart, washed down and stored seperately. My 3-5kg placcie outfit, 8kg Spinfisher 750ssm/Ugly stik casting/jigging outfit, and 8kg Duel/Sabre short stroker I keep rigged and ready for last minute call ups. I have had too many outfits over the years corroded together or reel stems weekened from leaving them attached....plus I dont have the storage room to keep all outfits together. Most of my rods are kept in rod tubes, and my reels in cloth bags in plastic storage boxes.

16-08-2010, 09:08 PM
I've got a set of rod racks that stores all my combo's with reels attached, which was a bastard considering my outfits range from 2-4kg outfits through to OH deep water gear, and just about everything in between. I usually take the reel off when washing down, and put it back on once dry, that way I am ready to go at a moments notice, which is usually all i get, not much planning goes into my trips.

dudley
17-08-2010, 07:39 AM
I tend to be like sleepygreg. After each trip i wash the rods down , spray the reels with water and wipe down with a shammy. Rods get stored in their bags and/or tubes.Reels get stored in reel bags in a large tool box. Occasionally i spray the reels with innox before storing, Sounds anal and probably is but i cant justify replacing stellas and saltigas through me being slack on basic maintainance.

17-08-2010, 07:56 AM
Never separate, just hose when cleaning the boat then put them a way till next time. Sometimes reels will get swapped around to suit a deckie.

My most expensive outfit is around $500, typical $300, dunno what I would do if they where $1200 setups...it's actually a major reason why I cannot ever own an expensive rod and reel combo.

Franco
17-08-2010, 11:20 PM
Never bother separating - way too busy first of all and secondly would rather spend an extra half hour on the water than cleaning up. I always wash everything thoroughly and spray with wd40 after as well, and have never in 20 years lost a reel or rod through reel stem breakage or corrosion. I also have around 30 or so outfits between whiting fishing and gamefishing, and most trips are at short notice. Usually take 3-6 outfits for a days fishing so just don't have the time once you include preparing the boat and rigging your lines, getting ice, getting fuel, preparing lunch and drinks, washing the boat, flushing the motor, flushing the trailer, cleaning, filleting and bagging the fish, washing the esky and the filleting board not to mention dumping the frames. ..... Phew! It's a wonder you actually get time to actually FISH sometimes!

On the other hand I have mate who fishes heaps as well but never washes a dam thing and just uses everything till it dies then buys a replacement - but keeps his boat and gear simple and not too expensive. He figures there's no point in spending so much time with all the cleaning etc as it just turns you off going on quick spontaneous trips = you catch less fish ..... I can see his point! But that's not for me.

Each to their own I guess.

Now you can see why I've revisited my youth and embraced the simplicity of beach and rock fishing again!

18-08-2010, 07:20 AM
My reels seldom leave their rods. I give them a rinse with the hose then into the rod racks. I often take up to six outfits and the thought of pulling them all down and then setting up again would be a major pain in the @%#e to me
Back in the days of metal reel seats there was a need to break down rods regularly but I don't see a reason to do it now. Most of my gear is also in the $300-$500 bracket so is certainly not precious top end stuff

18-08-2010, 08:18 PM
My reels come off the rod once a year for servicing and then straight back on. Every setup is rigged ready to go on every rod. I have a couple of backup reels that come away for extended trips in case of damages or line loss. Never had a speck of damage to rod or reel from being kept together.