View Full Version : Theft alert with a twist – Manly and beyond – Beware!
gofishin
30-07-2010, 05:58 AM
Amongst a handful of PBA club boats that went out for a fish last Sunday 25th, a couple left from Manly, and one of them was the unfortunate recipient of some lowlife mongrel(s) particular attention(s) with a pretty cunning MO.
After launching around 5am fellow ‘Ausfisher’ (bobp) parked his rig about where the red circle is in the attached. His is a Silver Triton GLX-R dual cab Ute with about a 2” lift (I think) and bigish tyres, hooked up to a Dunbier MR trailer (suit 6.25m boat). He was parked alongside another PBA rig, a red commodore (VT ???) and trailer for a ~5.5m boat.
Sometime later (not sure of exact timing) thieves broke the passenger front window & took the service book out of the glove box, leaving good sunglasses, a brand new bilge pump and some other stuff in plain sight in the car. This would have been a big enough PITA to come back to (~4pm at Manly), but when he got home (Meadowbrook) he found that someone had also gone through his boat shed and house – and it then all clicked. Obviously they used the address in his service book to go straight to his house (we assume, too much coincidence otherwise).
Fortunately (it seems) they were disturbed by neighbours and didn’t get much from the house, but went through his boat shed and took a lot of gear.
Bob is working out a detailed list of what was taken and will post sometime later in the Lost/Stolen section. In the meantime, if you were around Manly that day and maybe noticed someone lurking around looking suspicious etc, please send me or BobP a PM as your information may help.
Otherwise beware and do not leave any documentation in your car that may lead someone to your house while you are out in the boat.
Brendon
Thats sad there certainly are some scum out there thanks for the heads up.
30-07-2010, 06:15 AM
Leaving a sticky note on the book saying "my sons are at home with the dogs."
This is really disturbing. Poor Bob, it must be an awful feeling.
tim
30-07-2010, 06:19 AM
now that's as low as a snakes belly button.
They'd get a shock coming here and seeing the dogs.
It would be big waste of fuel.
I wonder what Anna Bligh's address is so I put that in the glovebox??
She'll know what it's like to be robbed blind then as well.
robersl
30-07-2010, 06:28 AM
now that's as low as a snakes belly button.
They'd get a shock coming here and seeing the dogs.
It would be big waste of fuel.
I wonder what Anna Bligh's address is so I put that in the glovebox??
She'll know what it's like to be robbed blind then as well.
Finga not point in giving Anna's address i hear its on the market like every thing else in Qld:o ;D
Pity about Bob being knocked off i know my wife and her friends are at home when i go fishing.
shane
30-07-2010, 07:03 AM
There are some low lifes out and about!
We were advised years ago to never leave the service books etc in the glove box.
Apart from this incident it apparently makes stolen cars much easier to rebirth / sell etc.
30-07-2010, 07:30 AM
I just went and checked the address and details in my log book.
I love to be there when they broke in the read it. It might well be worth a new window.
Owner's Name: Commissioner of Police
Street/Suburb: 100 Roma Street
City: Brisbane
Postcode: 4001
I tried to work out how to use the scanner but I'm but a mere male.
levinge
30-07-2010, 08:11 AM
Bought my rig secondhand, the name in the book is still the other bloke, so they will be fresh out of luck. But will be removing all paperwork with address on it.
They would still have fun getting past the dogs though!!!
Peter4
30-07-2010, 08:32 AM
With high tech being so low cost, why aren't there discretely placed webcams at every public car park, especially at boat ramps? This would help police enormously...
Probably because Terry O'Gorman and his dogooder civil libertarians would have a hissy fit!
Regs
LoungeLizard
30-07-2010, 08:38 AM
...why aren't there discretely placed webcams at every public car park, especially at boat ramps...
'Cause there's no money to be made from it ... much better to put up more speed cameras! >:(
Defore
30-07-2010, 09:13 AM
'Cause there's no money to be made from it ... much better to put up more speed cameras! >:(
Maybe they could install speed cameras at the boat ramps and catch the really fast crooks ;D
A mate has just install cameras in his house and yard, if they had done it to him he could have given the police the evidence they need to charge the low life with damaging the car and breaking into the house.
30-07-2010, 09:15 AM
One of the boys in Darwin had a house break in while he was at work and his Mrs in the house somewhere. Very common. The scumbag stole her handbag with wallet,cards,phones etc. The hubby got an SMS from his "Mrs" phone saying she had forgotten the pin number. So the thief got the pin and helped himself.
manboat
30-07-2010, 09:31 AM
Some low life scum out there for sure. 3 days ago in brought daylight while I was at work, Mrs and baby at home some low life came into my yard and tried doing something to my boat. There was a load thud, something hitting the alloy. The dog started going crazy and as the Mrs opened the front door she saw him running away towards his car and he took off down the street. Lucky nothing was taken but it really makes my blood boil putting my wife and daughter in a situation like that.
Briannes
30-07-2010, 09:32 AM
Hi, but dont you have to carry your rego papers in the vehicle, the ones that you peel the sticker off
Dignity
30-07-2010, 10:08 AM
Briannes, that was my thought also but since they started putting the vehicle rego number and details on the rego sticker I thought that might have stopped. Bloody mongrel act all the same. My brother locks his glove box, I tried it but it became a pain in the proverbial.
30-07-2010, 10:13 AM
No. Perhaps you are confusing us with the US and Canada?
Police can run a check on the usuals via their in car computer.
IMHO carry no material that links the car to an address or allows easy disposal of the car if stolen.
Plus if you have all the papers its easy to make the case that the vehicle is yours should the need ever arise.
C
C
30-07-2010, 10:15 AM
Hi, but dont you have to carry your rego papers in the vehicle, the ones that you peel the sticker off
No . anyone with authority can pull it up on the police computer system from rego number.
As thieves get smarter it gets harder to protect yourselves. To do something so sensible and organised means these aren't your opportunist thieves but are actually planning a bit more.
30-07-2010, 11:24 AM
It makes me glad Im a member of the Moreton Bay Trailer Boat Club - thats it in the picture, at least there is some deterrent to would be thieves by being able to leave my car & trailer in the locked compound. Good investment methinks, sorry to hear about Bobs bad luck all the same.....you would like to catch one of these low lifes in the act one day
30-07-2010, 02:08 PM
I have never heard of that one..all the rego papers for cars and boat are all in the safe at home..never have them in the car.
30-07-2010, 02:46 PM
Thanks for that warning. Have never thought of that problem.
The thieves would be assuming that no one is at home when the boat is out. Someone is always at home when I am out fishing.
Yeah it makes you wonder a bit. How would the theives know someone else was not at home? Or did they just take a punt? Why not hit the other cars at the same time? Maybe these theives knew the owner or had watched him.
It is a shame people choose to do these things when really they know that they would not like it done to them.
8astripey
30-07-2010, 05:33 PM
I keep asking my 2 sons . Why do you live in Brisbane?;D
30-07-2010, 05:51 PM
Yeah it makes you wonder a bit. How would the theives know someone else was not at home? Or did they just take a punt? Why not hit the other cars at the same time? Maybe these theives knew the owner or had watched him.
It is a shame people choose to do these things when really they know that they would not like it done to them.
These days they phone or just knock on the door with some lame excuse.
Possibly targeting fishing gear so are probably fishermen and local.
Have been known to do it to get spare sets of keys so they can steal complete truck and trailer or fancy cars with imobilisers etc.
professional thieves are very hard to stop.
They likely did half a dozen thefts in the same day
Thanks for that warning. Have never thought of that problem.
I've also heard the same with car GPS's. You never put home as a favuorite.
Mr__Bean
31-07-2010, 06:50 AM
I would just be careful that this isn't the first step towards pinching your boat.
Did they take any spare keys from home?
- Darren
Thanks guy's
could not take a trick last Sunday stitching on my clears let go in the morning (cold and wet) and not to many fish on board then this sit happens>:(>:(
they had taken my spear keys for house and car but all locks have been changed
i think that they were disturbed bye my neighbors as they did not get as much as they could have .
5 combos gone but left about 7 other good rods a few tools gone from the shed but i cant find anything gone from the house but spare keys
i will probably go looking for some thing in 6 month and realize that it is not there and get pissed off all over again
the thing that is more of a worry is my identity as i had all my tax doc. out ready to go to the accountant
all i all >:(>:(>:(not happy jan>:(>:(>:( but could be worse
31-07-2010, 12:17 PM
Many thefts are also done after a insurance claim is done as they know the "house and shed" and know they will get a bounty of brand new stuff. They may have well got in one way but if pros will have looked at how they will get in in 6 weeks time. Not sure how to combat it apart from good locks , alarm dogs and cameras to identify them. Neighbours are best defence.
These guys will case a joint so always worthwhile keeping a eye out for vehicles in your road wityh people in them doing nothing or folk at the ramp "hanging". Snap a photo of them and their vehicle, say g'day , teh more bullssshit teh story teh more likey they are up to no good. Just disturbing them and making them identifyable will probably protect your stuff . Someone else will get done as they are scum and it is their daily job.
When we caught a girl last year the list that was read out to us by the coppers of the previous makes you wonder what they were doing out and not in goal.
Sucks you should even have to think about this sort of stuff especially when other family members could be at home.
Dignity
01-08-2010, 08:15 AM
I know that where I last lived the pr!cks were well dressed and driving smart looking cars and had all the pretense of being real estate agents (no offence to any ausfish member who is in the trade), they had laptops with them and would check the address of any place they were interested in and pull up the phone number and call, if no answer in they would go. It got to the stage where if I saw a car go by my place I would stare at it as it went up the road, was getting too edgy. Any car that went around the block I would actually stop and ask if they were looking for a particular address, most were genuine but there was one car that left rather quickly with some lame excuse, passed the rego onto the police but never ever got any further response from them.
Member101
02-08-2010, 09:52 PM
How about a 6ft cobra crammed in the glove box. I'd leave the bloody window down as an invite. LMAO
wayno60
04-08-2010, 05:43 PM
I heard of one scam when the scumbags would drop their wallet out the front of the house they wanted to knock over. the honest home owner would ring the owner of the wallet, tell them of their find and the scum would sound so happy that it had been found and that they would drop around and pick it up.
get to the door to pick up the wallet have a good look around and ask the homeowner what they were into, sport, ballet, what ever. A few day later tickets to the footy or the ballet would be in the mail. when the owners got home from their free night out
their house's were empty.....
Dignity
06-08-2010, 09:57 AM
I have never heard of that one..all the rego papers for cars and boat are all in the safe at home..never have them in the car.
It was actually stated on the rego paper work many years ago (maybe showing my age now) that the associated paperwork had to be kept with the vehicle but it is no longer there as we have moved forward with technology.
Corry
07-08-2010, 02:02 PM
This is one of the reasons why I don't like having my name and address on my crab pots either. Sitting in the boat at the ramp, or at the tackle shop on the way, anyone can read it.
Corry
castlemaine
10-08-2010, 09:29 PM
A mate has just install cameras in his house and yard, if they had done it to him he could have given the police the evidence they need to charge the low life with damaging the car and breaking into the house.
Your mate may have to get them to sign a 'Media Release Form' ;D ;D ;D , but seriously .... :-?
Gone are the days when you went out with your doors open!:'(
theangryangler
19-01-2011, 05:18 PM
On your pots put your name and last initial and boat rego and mob that is all that is needed (dpi told me this) And also a quick note as well- recieved a call yesterdayclaimning to be from a "respectible business" (wont mention any names) asking ïs this steven i say yes then can you confirm your last name and date of birth for security. needless to say i told the person to get %$^%$# and hung up!! ALOT of ppl fall for this type of scam for IDs, i also called the authorities and reported the call and gave details. The world is full of mongrels like this.
AnGRy