View Full Version : fishing mackay
DOMMO
19-07-2010, 05:49 PM
hey everyone. just moved up to mackay from brisbane for work. wondering if there was any locals could take me fishing will cover half the costs of everything. just keen to get out dunno my way around here
Noiseworks
19-07-2010, 06:55 PM
G'day Greg, good to here that you've moved into town. I'm still pretty new here as well, going on 3 years, but loving it. Lots of fishing options but still pretty dependant of the wind >:(. Which part of town are you living, we are up the northside at Shoal Point. Fish off the top end of Bucasia beach chasing whatever is passing. Wife and kids are fisho's as well, which makes things better ;D. Still finding new spots to try our luck....sometimes to many options. Let me know if you want any specifics.
DOMMO
20-07-2010, 05:36 PM
thanks mate . just living at south mackay near the beach at the moment . What do you normally catch where you fish ? and do you normally on fish the high tides?
20-07-2010, 06:55 PM
I'll have the boat in Mackay toward the end of the year (if I'm still working), so there's a chance of getting out one weekend.
FishHunter
22-07-2010, 01:01 PM
Get yourself a kayak there are lots of places within a km of the coast to catch fish besides the rivers, creeks and dams. The latest Sportfishing Australia has a article about kayak fishing in Mackay for more info.
DOMMO
22-07-2010, 01:19 PM
One of the blokes at work brother lives in Mackay and fishs in Mackay and offshore. I have let him know you are new in town and asked him to check with his brother next time he talks to him if a spot on the boat is available.
happy fishing
Noiseworks
23-07-2010, 07:07 PM
A lot of the fishing on the Bucasia area beach is done at low tide. Mostly target Golden Trevally, but have a chance of a mixed bag. Cobia, Mack,Flathead,Oyster Cracker, Queenies are on the cards. Basically like anywhere if you have a line in the water you are in a chance. Can be a fair time between hits. Other places like Reliance offer more action.
webby nq
01-08-2010, 12:17 AM
Welcome to Mackay Greg, youre probably lovin the winter weather up here , clear skyes and water and hopefully some good fishin weather when where not bloody working , Always keen to show people how good the offshore fishin is whether it be the islands , channels or the reef . I own a 19R haines with a 140 suzuki , good economical ride and plenty of fishin room . What type of fishin do ya like ,or done you gotta have the right gear when ya gettin smashed in 60 metres of water. later
madman1
01-08-2010, 08:15 PM
Mackay fishing is pretty good.
Fishing from the beach at shoal point produces great Queenfish. Just ask Noiseworks! Hay Chris?
Gets pretty warm up there.
Make up some gutter pots and score some great mudcrabs in Reliance creek / Proserpine River. Beware of crocs!!!..
Live bait is definitely the way to go in the warmer water.
Bobongies creek is good also. You need a big tide. Head up on a rising tide and make sure you heaps of water to get back. Pretty of skinny water up there.
Definitely head to Notch Point. You wont regret it.
Sometimes I miss living there but its too bloody hot and you need to make a fortune to get by!
Looking forward to the reports and pics.
Any other questions please feel free to ask
Best advice is to drop into Tackle World in Shakespeare Street Mackay and Ask for Clint. Am absolute world of knowledge and not afraid to offer it.