View Full Version : New Offshore Spin Rod
Timfishin4fun
04-07-2010, 12:33 PM
Hi all, I'm about to purchase another outfit for fishing the bottom for snaps etc.
I will be buying a Shimano Baitrunner D in either the 8000 or 12000 size. I will be running around 40 pound braid.
I am looking at which rod to get to suit. I already have a live fibre 8-15kg and like this but they only seem to do an upsize 10-15kg, and I wonder how much different it will be?
I am wanting to have something a bit stronger for the bigger more stubborn fish. I already have a Gary Howard 15-24kg with tld for the bigger lead and deeper water, so I want something in between.
I have looked on the net at the Egrell rods but not sure if they make one in the size range. I know everyone raves over these so any info will be much appreicated by those in the know.
Any other recomendations that are worthy ara welcome.
You may have guessed but will state that I am not wanting a fibregasss rod.
Thanks heaps
Timbo
patrol50
04-07-2010, 08:07 PM
::) maybe have a look at the daiwa catalina spin in pe3-pe5 very light very tough very nice i have a pe2-3 with a saragosa 8000 and mate has the pe3 - 5 ( 30 lb - 50 lb) and both very nice
worth a look good buy at $300 at the moment - tackle warehouse camp hill / carina
cheers rob
Spot82
04-07-2010, 09:02 PM
Mate I use my baitrunner 8000D on a G Loomis Pro Blue 12-25lb, great rod, light enough in the tip but loads of grunt in the rear and also takes a bit of knocking around unlike some of the graphite sticks. This is a very well balanced combo and the reel suits the heavier version of the rod well too.
I also have the 15-30lb version which i haven't yet used, might even sell this because i have a custom made Gary Howard stick which is very very similar.
Anthony
Anthony
Platitudinus
05-07-2010, 09:48 AM
Hey Tim;
Have a look at both the 8000D and 12000D before you buy. The 8000D is slightly smaller in spool size width than the old 6500B but is a fantastic reel for floatlining. I use an 8000D spooled with either 20 or 30 lb braid. I fish off Goldie as well and reckon the 8000D is suited for the 24's and 36's but if there is current out on the 50's the bigger weights necessary would sugest that you stick to an overhead UNLESS you are going to float your baits down.
The rod then becomes a fairly dependent choice as to whether you are going to chase Kingies/AJ's and need grunt OR pearlies/snapper/trag where you need live fibre and a faster taper.
Plato
Timfishin4fun
05-07-2010, 05:03 PM
Thanks all for your posts.
Plato I have the overhead for the dreaded weights but prefer to float baits down.
I have a set up big enough for the normal run of the mill fish but was looking at a 12000 and a rod that would do all from big snaps to kingies without losing to much touch and feel. I have two 5500 size reels baitrunners and with the new 8000 being the same size (even though I have been told internal setup is so much stronger) I was looking bigger.
I'm am not looking at replacing my current setup as it is so comfortable to use all day long, just expanding to the next size up.
When you say live fibre you were say in general not spefic brand right?
By the way Plato a friend has just bought a 52ft Kingfisher and we will be heading out to the 50 a fair bit soon. Might try to catch up out there and get ya to shows us around a bit if thats ok. I have never been out that far in my rig.
Thanks again
Timbo
Timfishin4fun
05-07-2010, 05:05 PM
Hi spot can ya pm me a price of the pro blue if ya wanting to sell.
I maybe interested or my friend is buying a similar setup at the same time.
Reels we are buying together from OS. I would like to buy here but no way they can match prices.
Timbo
Timfishin4fun
05-07-2010, 05:08 PM
I should also post that on one baitrunner on the live fibre I use 20 pound braid and the other I use 30 pound. I was looking at running 40 on the new setup.
Timbo
Platitudinus
05-07-2010, 09:27 PM
Hey Tim;
IMHO at my age, any live fibre rod is great to use if you are holding it for most of the day. A couple of years ago, I sought to get a bigger rod for the larger fish out on the Goldie 36's and 50's. I had used a 2.1m, 8-10kg jellytip for years. I bought a couple of larger 'broomsticks' (one 24kg and one 37kg) but they were not what I wanted as I lost the feel of 'floating' the livie or pillie/squid down to the fish. I have now gone back to the 8-10kg rod with the 8000D and have found it can handle all I need of the snapper or kingfish varieties. On the 50's I use 30lb braid and on the 36's - 20lb braid. The real problem is when you hook an express train - probably AJ's and then the floater cant stop them anyway.
In my experience, most of the big fish marks on the Goldie 50's scream out for the OH rod and reel with a live slimey on the end. We tend to only fish those marks for 15-30 mins or so anyway as either the fish are home or they are not.
Anyway, more rods are good to have so have a look at the Wilson Texalium rods - good value but probably not in the class of Loomis or Egrell. A friend has a Wilson T 15-24kg spin rod and he is delighted with it.
Love to come out with you one day if you can stand an old fella! Happy to help with the fuel bill of course.
Plato
05-07-2010, 11:02 PM
Tim,
I have just gone through this exercise and should break it in tomorrow. I bought the 8000D and was going to go with the Egrell when I saw the new Gary Howard G-Force 30-50lb. 7 ft I think. Looks to be tough as nails and should do the job nicely. Definitely check them out.
Timfishin4fun
06-07-2010, 06:20 PM
Thanks for the info fella's, I have looked at the tex and will probably get one of them.
I can also get a normal range live fibre real cheap. I like my live fibre so will see if there is any real feel difference between the two.
Rod will be a 10-15kg.
Thanks all for the help.
Plato I will catch up with ya soon and organise a trip.
Timbo
metaloid
07-07-2010, 01:48 PM
Hi Tim,
Nowhere near as fast (or fancy) as a LF texalium, but I've been using a Braid Buster with my baitrunner for years, and I find it a perfect combo both for the stubborn fish (i.e. pretty much unbreakable, well so far!:-?).
http://tacklerat.net.au/shop/anglerbraidbuster-p-540:71ea1ccd0e388d9d76677d3af493144f.html
Just my two cents if you're not going to be plasticking and want to save $$$.;)