View Full Version : What sort of cast net to buy

Aussie123
03-07-2010, 09:11 PM
Hi Guys
Being new to fishing in QLD I am wanting to buy a cast net for collecting some bait and a feed of prawns over summer.
Can anyone tell me whats a good net to buy and what I should be looking for in a good net.
I have seen these on ebay and was wondering if they are any good.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/12FT-CAST-NET-/330447204299?cmd=ViewItem&pt=AU_Sport_Fishing_Tackle&hash=item4cf0302fcb

Lance

bondy99
03-07-2010, 09:25 PM
Hi Guys
Being new to fishing in QLD I am wanting to buy a cast net for collecting some bait and a feed of prawns over summer.
Can anyone tell me whats a good net to buy and what I should be looking for in a good net.
I have seen these on ebay and was wondering if they are any good.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/12FT-CAST-NET-/330447204299?cmd=ViewItem&pt=AU_Sport_Fishing_Tackle&hash=item4cf0302fcb

Lance

G'day Lance,

Pero can make nets to your specifications, and they are a lot better than you would buy from a shop.

I had four of them made, lost the first three due to snags etc.

Have a search for Pero and send him a pm

Cheers, Peter

Fish_gutz
03-07-2010, 09:27 PM
that one will do the trick , you could check the local tackle stores for a price check but thats not too bad for the size. then use this link to touch up on the throwing side of things. good luck. Cheers Andrew

http://www.ausfish.com.au/castnet/

timddo
03-07-2010, 09:33 PM
Lance. A bait net and a prawn net are different. I would use a cheap net to gathering bait and another net for prawns. Make sure it is mono net with 7kg of lead and circum of at least 20 meters.

Aussie123
03-07-2010, 09:45 PM
Thanks again guys.
Bondy I will send Pero a PM now and have a chat with him so thanks for that info.
Thanks also fish gutz and Tim
Tim that 20m circ,is that for the prawn net or for both nets that you recommend..
I cant believe for an ex prawn trawler man I am asking about prawn nets,,,lol
That's shame file material.:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[

bondy99
03-07-2010, 10:33 PM
Thanks again guys.
Bondy I will send Pero a PM now and have a chat with him so thanks for that info.
Thanks also fish gutz and Tim
Tim that 20m circ,is that for the prawn net or for both nets that you recommend..
I cant believe for an ex prawn trawler man I am asking about prawn nets,,,lol
That's shame file material.:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[:-[

I use to work on prawn trawlers and dropliners down at Port Stephens.

Different lifestyle, weather dependent etc, one needed additional work to make ends meet.;D ;D ;D 8-) 8-) 8-)

Mate, might have to catch up and a couple of beers. what do you reckon?

Aussie123
03-07-2010, 11:00 PM
Hey Peter
Sounds like a good idea.
I used to own my trawler but so glad to be out of it now.
Time to get back onto the water cos I want to be there and not because I have to.
Lance

gr hilly
04-07-2010, 08:48 AM
once the salt is in ya blood it wont go hahaha.good luck guys
Hilly

bondy99
06-07-2010, 11:59 AM
An old salt never dies or grows old , only younger and more keen my hearties;D ;D