View Full Version : Last bits of gear to buy for the Swains

Brogsy
30-06-2010, 01:45 PM
Hi everyone,

I started a thread a few months ago an came to a few conclusions after a lot of help from people on this site about setups for my trip to the Swains in August. I bought a few nice reels to take with me however i have a few more questions about line, tackle and a rod, so i am after a few peoples opinion.

For a bottom baching outfit i have a Tyrnos 16 with a T-Curve Deep Jig 400 and 50lbs Finns.

All round setup i have a Saragossa 18000, i am in need of a rod for this. I'm looking for something not to expensive, max $300. It has to be able to throw poppers for this trip aswell as being used as a all rounder for the trip and back home in Brissy. I have had people suggest the T-Curve Bluewater range, however just after a bit of input please.

Backing line and leaders. I have only ever spooled up reels up to 4000 in size so never really thought about what size backing people use on their reels. Is there a set size or is it the same as the braid that is going to be put on the reel? When i fish in brissy for snapper i use a 16lbs Fluorocarbon line to give me abit of stretch on the end of my braid. Now fishing 50lbs finns, bottom bashing, what would be an appropriate line to use to give that bit of stretch that is required?

Hooks and Hook sizes. I have read through the mass amounts of information on this site and it seems like Saltwater Specials by Owner or Gamakatsu Octopus Circles are what alot of people use. Just interested in your thoughts about either hook or other hooks and sizes. Do you normally use swivels up there too?

Thank you in advance for everyones input into this. It really helps hearing everyones experiences with their gear.

Cheers Brogsy

Daintreeboy
30-06-2010, 04:26 PM
Brogsy I remember that thread. First of all can I suggest you take back the T-curve 400 and get a 200? Hopefully they will let you swap. If you are only using 50 lb line the 400 will not give enough bend to properly fish. It's more suited to 80 lb. I use one on my Saltiga expedition with 80lb. For 50 lb I used a 200 and believe me that little extra rod bend made it a joy to use and still put a lot of hurt on the fish.
Although you have made it hard to snap this rod which is a factor I spose!!

For the Saragosa you could try a T-curve Bluewater spin and once again the size will depend on what size braid. Sounds to me here though the 15-24 kg one will be the one. It is a better allround rod than the GT special.
You could also try the Daiwa monster mesh popper rod for this but I didn't like the feel of it in the shops.

I don't use backing.

I use Black Magic supple trace as my leader as it provides a littel stretch and ties a good knot to braid. I use the Yucatan knot for this. Use 60 lb for teh Tyrnos set up.

I use Gamakatsu Octopus hooks, not circles, either 8/0, 9/0 or even 10/0. I tend to use these for reds.
I also use VMC O'Shaughnesy hooks (T9255PS) in 8/0 or 9/0 size. These are cheaper and good for trout and baiting up with bigger baits like pilchards. Because they are cheaper I use them more as well when the sharks are in plus they are my gang hook rigs for macks. You could go a similar style in Mustad for bottom bashing here too.

For my bootm rigs for reds I tie the leader onto a heavy rolling swivel then 80lb minimum trace (usually 100 lb). I use Black Magic tough trace for this. Jinkai will also be good. I use a paternoster set up. For trout you can do similar but use a bottom hook as well with one of those VMC's on the end.

I think that covers it all?

Brogsy
30-06-2010, 05:33 PM
Cheers Daintree Boy, i was looking at the 200 orginally however after a few people said the 400 would be better suited i decided to go for that. Not sure whether this is a stupid question or not but If i can't change it would it be an option to spool the tyrnos with 80lbs ?
Cheers for the quick reply

Daintreeboy
30-06-2010, 05:41 PM
Yeah mate you could spool it with 80 lbs and use the ol' thumb when needed!! It would not have the drag to cope by itself but would go close. This would help you stop some of those big Reds that 50 lb does not. It's happened to me before when using the ligther 50 lb outfit.

The extra strength may prevent a few bustoffs too in case you get a bit of line wear etc.

A tough call but as it is right now I reckon you need to change something.

My call: Put 80 lb on it and put the 50 lb you already have on the Saragosa outfit.

Brogsy
30-06-2010, 06:09 PM
Yeah makes a lot of sence. I'l try an swap him over as i havent used it yet. Otherwise i will spool it up with 80lbs and be prepared to use the thumb a bit.

DOMMO
06-08-2010, 09:24 AM
Brogsy

What boat are you going on? I am on Iron Joy at end of this month and would like to compare notes on your return. I have been a couple of times before and have settled on 30 - 35 lb mono in shallow around reef with heavy drag setting and lightest possible running ball sinker down to hook. Simple set up and easy to re-tie and get back into water post snag. If your not in and around the snags your not where the fish are. I know I got sick of tying and retying mono leader onto braid on snagged bust offs on my first trip and missing fishing time in the shallows.

I use 50 lb braid with 80 lb mono leader when drifting deeper water. I have never used braid greater than 50 lb as I know 50lb can land big fish. Besides how do you get on when snagged with the heavier set up?

Enjoy your trip and talk soon.

Brogsy
06-08-2010, 05:22 PM
hey Dommo, yeh sounds great. I will post some notes about what i find works for me. I ended up going 50lbs overhead and 40lbs spinning reel. Spoke to a few guys going on the same trip an they said not to go to heavy for the same reasons. Have a great trip, look forward to hearing your reports too. Cheers

06-08-2010, 06:32 PM
The only rods I could find in that range were the T Curves and the Daiwa Mostermesh or Catalinas. Fin Nor have put out the Ahab series that sound good but I have not been able to see one in the flesh. I don't think any of them will let you down so what feels comfortable is probably the best option.

reggy
06-08-2010, 07:45 PM
Brogsy

What boat are you going on? I am on Iron Joy at end of this month and would like to compare notes on your return. I have been a couple of times before and have settled on 30 - 35 lb mono in shallow around reef with heavy drag setting and lightest possible running ball sinker down to hook. Simple set up and easy to re-tie and get back into water post snag. If your not in and around the snags your not where the fish are. I know I got sick of tying and retying mono leader onto braid on snagged bust offs on my first trip and missing fishing time in the shallows.

I use 50 lb braid with 80 lb mono leader when drifting deeper water. I have never used braid greater than 50 lb as I know 50lb can land big fish. Besides how do you get on when snagged with the heavier set up?

Enjoy your trip and talk soon.Very good advice. I find 50pound braid with 80 pound leader the best for me. Anything higher than 80 pound leader is too hard to tie a knot in and what I can`t get to the boat with 50 pound braid, I don`t want in the boat.