View Full Version : Redclaw and Bass at Borumba
George D
21-06-2010, 07:48 PM
HI,
Taking the kids to Borumba to see if we can get some redclaw and maybe a bass or two on the weekend, I have never chased redclaw before. Has anybody got any good tips on bait and where abouts to put the pots out,,,do you put them near the edge or the deeper water??
also are there any bass going at the moment?? any help or ideas would be a great help.
Thanks Heaps
Gday George, Im getting plenty of craw at the moment on spuds and rock melon. Just bang the spuds in the micro wave for a minute or 2 to par boil, then put in pot with a piece of rock melon. I use a bait bag in the pot.
Last time (which was the first time) I dropped the pots in at Borumba was about 6 weeks ago, and found plenty in one of the bays off the basin in around 15 - 20 foot of water. Bass were starting to school deeper off the points in the basin, may be worth a jig.
bondy99
21-06-2010, 08:10 PM
Gday George, Im getting plenty of craw at the moment on spuds and rock melon. Just bang the spuds in the micro wave for a minute or 2 to par boil, then put in pot with a piece of rock melon. I use a bait bag in the pot.
Last time (which was the first time) I dropped the pots in at Borumba was about 6 weeks ago, and found plenty in one of the bays off the basin in around 15 - 20 foot of water. Bass were starting to school deeper off the points in the basin, may be worth a jig.
G'day BR65
Have you been out lately, last two days gone, chasing redlcaw?
I'm wondering whether the buggers might be going back into their burrows due to water temperature drop.
Gday Pete, soaked the 4 pots on Sat nite and pulled em Sunday morn, got around 50, with some big buggers in there, no signs of slowing down!!
Certainly cold, one of the pots got hung up on a tree and I had to go for a swim, yikes!!
bondy99
29-06-2010, 08:35 PM
G'day BR65,
Good to know they are still around, yeah water would be cold, brass monkey weather brother.
Good haul, 50.
pete, just call me brian or rakey mate, sorry, should have added my name to posts.
bondy99
01-07-2010, 01:33 PM
pete, just call me brian or rakey mate, sorry, should have added my name to posts.
No worries Brian,
Will catch up some time , Peter;D