View Full Version : Where to go while travelling around QLD

Corry
20-06-2010, 09:05 PM
We're currently in Bundy, going to head up to Mackay during the week to pick up our tinny, then we were planning on going up to the Daintree to do some fishing.
Thinking about it, there has to be some good fishing between Mackay and Cape Tribulation that is worth having a go at.
Those that know my fishing skills will know that I do more boating than fishing, but it's fun anyway.
We're not fussy on fresh or salt, the tinny is a 4m Proline Angler on a standard trailer, so we're not looking for hardcore offroad, but gravel roads are fine.
Around the bottom of the gulf, Karumba etc, was also on the cards, open for suggestions.
We're going for around 2-3 weeks, so throw up some suggestions of where you reckon is a good place and help us decide where to go.

Corry

PS. If ya keen but don't want to post detailed information for the world to see please PM or email corry@corrysplace.com

20-06-2010, 09:45 PM
You are asking where to go yet your agenda skips you directly past Stanage Bay to Mackay?? What gives?

You could give it a shot getting into the Murray River near Tully, or working over Mourilyan Harbour and the tributaries. All good grounds and well worth exploring. Places like Hinchinbrook are good but take some nutting out unless you have a local in the boat, very big area inside and outside so local knowlege makes a huge difference. Cape Upstart should be working with Spaniards this time of the yr too, but yet to hear reports yet.

Corry
20-06-2010, 10:43 PM
Thanks Jack, we're in Bundy, tinny is in Sarina, picking it up on the way up. Heading back this way afterwards tinny in tow so will explore more then.
Been to Stanage a few times, lived in Gladstone for a little bit there.
Have done a houseboat trip to Hinchinbrook previously, so have thought about going in there for a shot again.
Will check out the others you have mentioned on a map and mark some points.

Cheers for that
Corry

20-06-2010, 11:08 PM
Hull heads, Russel/Mulgrave (mucharoo inlet), Barron river, Lake Tinaroo, Mourilyan Harbour, Trinity Inlet.

None of those compare to what is the Hinchinbrook channel and surrounds IMO but are worth an explore if the time is on your side.

Dunno what length your tinny is but the mackerel and pelagic's are often in close about now so if you strike it lucky and come across a day with flat seas at this time of the year don't waste it fishing next to a mangrove when you could be fishing a close headland/beacon or other structure or reef.

Corry
21-06-2010, 12:17 AM
Thanks for that FNQ, I've found them all on the maps, I'm guessing that we'll spend a bit of time around there.
One I couldn't work out is Mucharoo Inlet, any further directions for this one? Waypoints would be great, but just directions if possible would be good.

Corry

PS Oh, boat is a 4m.

21-06-2010, 08:47 AM
Yeah no worries, 40-ish km south of Cairns on the highway is Deeral (sp) near due east at the coast you will find Mucharoo inlet and just a km or so east of Deeral is the boat ramp. It's a nice spot but when it's quiet it's very quiet.

bushbeachboy
21-06-2010, 05:07 PM
Try the Haughton River about 50km south of Townsville. Good barra river that is also closed to commercial netting. If you go to the Haughton, launch from Cromarty Creek ramp near Giru. In your boat I would have a good look along Burrumbush Creek which meets the Haughton. Bait is normally easy to get too.

Pridey
21-06-2010, 06:44 PM
Yeah, best of heading back down to Brisbane.. the fish have shut down up here.

HA!

No, Hinchinbrook is good if you're in a tinny, you can fish the entire channel if its good, let alone the creeks, Haycock Island and the oyster rocks.

West Point (between palleranda, and the western side of Magnetic Is) out of Townsville is good in a tinny, can troll for Spaniards there as well.

As stated before the Haughton River is great, as are all the systems down near Ayr/Giru. Although you'll be best off targeting winter species in the rivers this time of year. Will be difficult to pull out a barra... but you never know.

nickstock
21-06-2010, 07:11 PM
Hi mate,

If you are spending a bit of time around Cairns, the Russell and Mulgrave systems can fish very well. I have a house on the Mulgrave at Deeral and big Queenies and Trevally around 8-9 kilos are common captures in winter.

There are also a few thumper Barra and Fingermark that can be trolled up out of the main mangrove bank that leads to the mouth.

If you are lucky enough to jag some good weather, High Island is only 15mins drive from the mouth and holds some of the biggest Spanish Mackerel in Australia over winter. 25+ kilo fish are not uncommon with the biggest that I have seen topped the scales at 42 kilos in mid July. I have encountered everything from small Black Marlin to Fingermark on the same patch of water off High Island!

Apart from the trade winds, I used to look forward to winter at Deeral!

Nick

mouse71
21-06-2010, 07:19 PM
Hinchinbrook is a definite must do, just north of the channel you should try Dallachy Ck, Murray River, the Tully and Hull rivers are worth a look, and if the weather is favourable get out amongst the family group of islands, ie Dunk, Bedarra and the like. Inland try Koombaloomba and Tinaroo dams, have a great trip

22-06-2010, 09:55 AM
I heard there is a great pub in mackay and it's owner is a pretty good bloke with a lean towards Ausfishers. ??? ;) ;D ;D

LP.

Flex
22-06-2010, 03:22 PM
I'g stop at stanage bay.(take a map) Probably the best place south of cooktown your likely to get into some decent fish from a tinny.

Then whitsundays if you havent been, just for a look more so than fishing. but its worth it if you get good weather. fishing is pretty good but scenery is magnificent

Definately stop at Hinchinbrook, I like luncinda, creek fishing/Jetty and Islands only 15km offshore

In a tinny I'd skip Cairns and go to Cooktown. It's fantastic if you have the time and good weather.

I'm not sure the trip to Kurumba is worth it. I know alot of guys who've been and could have done better on the east coast. Unless your prepared to head outside and travel into little fished areas everyone I talk to comes back dissapointed for the KMs travelled