View Full Version : Women and Scales!!??

Dean1
19-06-2010, 07:53 PM
I wasnt sure whether to post this or not but my missus is driving me crazy about fish scales on the ground. I have a built in esky so i have to hose in out onto the floor then out thru the scupper and onto the street.

Then she sees scales on the street/footpath and on the grass after ive filleted them and she cracks it!!

Am i on my own here??? My last trip was 3 weeks ago to 1770 and it was rough so the ice descaled alot of the fish making a lot of scales in the slurrie and theres scales everywhere ;D

Whats the go ive sucked up as many as i can with the blower/sucker but there hard to get outa the grass etc.

Anyone else have a painfull missus?? :-? :o ;D

DAVE_S
19-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Anyone else have a painfull missus?? http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/Original%20Smilies/undecided.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/Original%20Smilies/shocked.gif ;D

Yes
Gee she must be fussie ;D

19-06-2010, 09:03 PM
f@ck me smithy harden the f@uck up. my old girl would much rather scales on the lawn than grass! EDUCATE, my friend. EDUCATE.................

Platitudinus
19-06-2010, 09:09 PM
The sad, sad thing about women is that all these problems are already in their DNA when they are born and any that aren't get transmitted between them like the flu.

I tell my missus that I cant see the scales when they are wet and we have to wait until the next day when they are dry so I can see them. Then I use the vaccuum cleaner to hose them up - lol

YOU ARE NOT ALONE!!!
Plato

19-06-2010, 09:15 PM
I'm hearing ya brother.
But doesn't whinge about the scales but about everything else.
I have the same with scales here and just mow with a catcher fix's the prob on the grass
Otherwise get rid of the missus :P

themissus
19-06-2010, 09:20 PM
I love scales on the lawn, it means we've caught fish!!! Not to mention we'll be having a feed of fresh fish;)

sleepygreg
20-06-2010, 02:16 AM
Sounds like time for a new missus. Dont like ya chances for trade in value though. Glad mine shot through years ago....havent had a whinge about that sort of thing since. Or just get rid of her and dont go near one of them afterwards....then no probs. They are more trouble than they are worth.

el_carpo
20-06-2010, 03:17 AM
Hi Dean1,

If it's feasible, try putting down a large sheet of screening like landscaping cloth where the water and scales come flowing out of your esky. The water should pass through and the scales will be caught and easily disposed of. Like a filter. Hope it helps.

aussiefool
20-06-2010, 04:26 AM
Tell her if she has a problem with the scales then she can pick them up. That was one thine my ex never seemed to worry about was scales except when she was standing in them in the bathroom

Mr__Bean
20-06-2010, 05:12 AM
If you do want to catch them, just for her ::) , try laying a piece of shadecloth under the back of the boat when you rinse it out.

Same as at the drain end of your fillet table.

Easily shaken out into the bin later, easily hosed off and rolled up until next time.

- Darren

Benben86
20-06-2010, 08:23 AM
Do an Italian Job and concrete the whole yard. No mowing and no scales on the grass

20-06-2010, 08:29 AM
Tell her the scales are a good fertilizer for the yard :P:P

A blowervac out the front ROFL ::);D;D;D I think youre whipped :-X

20-06-2010, 08:37 AM
Our dog eats them.
He even licks them off the side of the shed.

He's for hire.

The shade cloth sieve is a good idea though if you don't want to pick up the Barker's nests Pongo would leave behind after eating the scales.

Pridey
20-06-2010, 09:35 AM
My dog does the same. Its funny as hell.

Although most of the time I try to come back without all the mess if possible.

Eg, some gutting and scaling done in the boat etc.

Also, I try to make a point of washing the boat at the Deckies place... works a treat !

ooglie74
20-06-2010, 10:32 AM
Come Deano agree and ignore mate.

Cheers Troy

Dean1
20-06-2010, 03:44 PM
I should have stated that it is her house and its all concrete pretty much except for a grass area about 7m x 7m where i do the filleting and i leave my boat here.

Ive told her its good for the grass and all the rest of it ;D

My favourite is "you dont mind eating the fish tho so get over it!!" ;D

Good to see im not on my own anyway, thanks for all the opinions i better not let her look at them but hey :P

20-06-2010, 03:59 PM
I must be lucky..my wife has not whinged about anything for about 28 years..at least not any I have heard..must be selective hearing.

four_button_arnie
20-06-2010, 04:04 PM
thats funny as, last week i filleted a Mackerel on the kitchen bench.....needless to say slimy Mackerel skin does the same as scales....and blood on the walls....and misc. clogging up the sink....
________
Pissing Japanese (http://www.####tube.com/categories/826/japanese/videos/1)

20-06-2010, 04:07 PM
I must be lucky..my wife has not whinged about anything for about 28 years..at least not any I have heard..must be selective hearing.

Is she deceased by any chance.

Mine would have a field day if the boat smelled of fish. I try to always fillet at the ramp. Everything I do and say is wrong so I really turn off now when she's picking on me.

sandbankmagnet
20-06-2010, 04:23 PM
I was once told by an ex auditor that when you're being audited, you should leave them something trivial to find and report on, else they will dig deeper and deeper until they find something that may be more trouble to fix or whilst not technically correct, be there for a reason.
I would see fish scales as something to leave the auditor/wife. Maybe you could sprinkle some around the work shed so she doesn't go in there.

20-06-2010, 05:22 PM
Is she deceased by any chance.

Mine would have a field day if the boat smelled of fish. I try to always fillet at the ramp. Everything I do and say is wrong so I really turn off now when she's picking on me.

LOL..still alive and kicking..30th anniversary in a few months..never any problems..go fishing anytime...never any complaints...all is good.

snodger 08
20-06-2010, 08:42 PM
Jease there are some very brave souls in this thread ::)

20-06-2010, 09:28 PM
LOL..still alive and kicking..30th anniversary in a few months..never any problems..go fishing anytime...never any complaints...all is good.

No complaints .........................................

maybe this joke will help explain

Doctor, "What seems to be the problem?"

Patient, "Doc, I've got the farts. I mean I fart all the time,"

The Doctor nods, "Hmm."

Patient, "My farts do not stink and you can't hear them. It's just that I fart all the time. Look, we've been talking here for about 10 minutes and I've farted five times. You didn't hear them and you don't smell them, do you?"
"Hmm," says the Doctor,

He picks up his pad and writes out a prescription.

The patient is thrilled "Great doc. This prescription, will it really clear up my farts?"

"No," sighs the Doctor, "The prescription is to clear your sinuses. Next week I want you back here for a hearing test."

Pinhead -Any chance you are deaf and possibly blind so you can't see her smoke signals ?

21-06-2010, 05:59 AM
No complaints .........................................

maybe this joke will help explain

Doctor, "What seems to be the problem?"

Patient, "Doc, I've got the farts. I mean I fart all the time,"

The Doctor nods, "Hmm."

Patient, "My farts do not stink and you can't hear them. It's just that I fart all the time. Look, we've been talking here for about 10 minutes and I've farted five times. You didn't hear them and you don't smell them, do you?"
"Hmm," says the Doctor,

He picks up his pad and writes out a prescription.

The patient is thrilled "Great doc. This prescription, will it really clear up my farts?"

"No," sighs the Doctor, "The prescription is to clear your sinuses. Next week I want you back here for a hearing test."

Pinhead -Any chance you are deaf and possibly blind so you can't see her smoke signals ?

none of the above..just cos some of you blokes did not strike it lucky like me..not my concern. Hell, some of these blokes even have to "earn" brownie points to go fishing..now that is pathetic.

she has even picked the past couple of boats..now how good is that..AND...she did not mind going over the budget on the...life is good.

sharkymark2
21-06-2010, 10:25 PM
Hey Dean1 my missus is the same. She loves to Fish and can fillet better than me but hates scales. I dump them into the garden now and tell her they are good compost ;).

URAGANGI
21-06-2010, 10:34 PM
If your after a shaw fired top night with the missus. Try scaling your catch in a newly done kitchen.... RUN LIKE HELL. It works every time, trust me.

sleepygreg
21-06-2010, 10:59 PM
now we know why you work the 'long shift'......PMSL

URAGANGI
21-06-2010, 11:15 PM
Yep It's too bloody cold at the moment to walk the dogs and their is no heater in my shed. I've got no where else to hide! ....... I'll have to fix that one day!

Cheers Gav.

BGG
22-06-2010, 07:34 AM
Earn brownie points to go fishing???
What century is this?
What country is this?
Are these blokes on good behaviour bonds because of previous indiscretions?
Sounds like life in a concentration camp.
My wife loves to see scales on the lawn. She calls them fish jewels.

URAGANGI
22-06-2010, 08:18 AM
Does she have a sister?

trueblue
22-06-2010, 08:32 AM
I gave up worrying about it..........

tropicrows
22-06-2010, 11:12 AM
What a great thread lol.

Sadly I have not caught to enough fish in the last 12 months, for the scales to bother anyone.

Pinhead. 30 yrs thats a good innings, theirs not to many who can say that these days, you must be doing something right ;D . I gave up after 27, you get less for murder ;)

Mossy247
22-06-2010, 12:32 PM
hahahaha personally I think women don't like scales of any sort. My wife's happier to see fish scales over scales that indicate weight. LoL :-)

Dezzer
22-06-2010, 04:51 PM
Rough up with a stiff broom or something similar and then use a high pressure hose.
I'm not sure what you can do about the scales though.

Flex
22-06-2010, 05:06 PM
I tell my mrs.

I'll drop the scales if she's willing to do the same :o

samsnap
23-06-2010, 09:12 AM
This is a "a boy comment" but I have to add it because this thread is just too funny!!!::) Only problem I have with scales are the talking type in the bathroom that say "one at a time please" Tell her to "harden up & if it worries her that much - Pick em up!" Sammy xxx;D

Barry Ehsman
23-06-2010, 05:33 PM
none of the above..just cos some of you blokes did not strike it lucky like me..not my concern. Hell, some of these blokes even have to "earn" brownie points to go fishing..now that is pathetic.

she has even picked the past couple of boats..now how good is that..AND...she did not mind going over the budget on the...life is good.

Pinhead it goes to show that Rabbito supporters know how to pick em,Just had my 38th anniversary today ....She made me buy my 6m boat;D loves fishing,, & doesn't mind how many times i go fishing with the boys..Even goes crook if i come out of a tackle shop empty handed...I also have a 4.5m boat which she talked me into buying:-* ..

Cheers Baz

23-06-2010, 05:52 PM
onya Barry..congratulations.. mine made most of the decisions regarding the 10m sports cruiser we had...I have no complaints. I just wonder about her at times..she is the one that married the idiot. Jokes aside..I would not swap her for anyone.

Seems like the good ones just pick the Rabbitohs people..they can appreciate class.

Dean1
23-06-2010, 07:52 PM
onya Barry..congratulations.. mine made most of the decisions regarding the 10m sports cruiser we had...I have no complaints. I just wonder about her at times..she is the one that married the idiot. Jokes aside..I would not swap her for anyone.

Seems like the good ones just pick the Rabbitohs people..they can appreciate class. Gee next thing your'e gonna tell us she's a size 6 penthouse Pet too hey!!! ;D :P

23-06-2010, 08:28 PM
no Dean..no need for that..and i can assure you she has never whinged about scales on the ground...is there something wrong with appreciating someone you have spent more than half your life with ?

But, I will give you a little tip..if there are whinges now about some lousy fish scales then I bet their will be more serious whinges down the track.

Dean1
24-06-2010, 09:15 PM
no Dean..no need for that..and i can assure you she has never whinged about scales on the ground...is there something wrong with appreciating someone you have spent more than half your life with ?

But, I will give you a little tip..if there are whinges now about some lousy fish scales then I bet their will be more serious whinges down the track.
Nah mate all good its pretty hard to find the right one hey. Im happy with what I have she is just very fussy about cleanliness but i tell you now she spoils me rotten! I feel like a king most of the time so i shouldnt whinge too much ;)
Cheers..