View Full Version : Boatpoint Scammers
team_mongo
14-06-2010, 11:11 PM
I know this comes up every couple of months, but it still goes on and is getting worse.
Recently put my boat up for sale and had several scam responses.
I'd thought I post a couple...
Sent: Monday, 14 June 2010 3:39:14 AM
Thanks for the swift response...I am willing to buy it now and will like to know the conditions too..But due to the nature of my job and location...i will not be able to come for inspection,am a very busy type as i work long hours everyday,i have gone through your advertisement and i am satisfied with it.
As for the payment..i will be paying you via the fastest and secure way to pay online(PayPal).
I have a private courier agent that will come for the pick up after the payment have been made ...so no shipping included.
You can now send me your PayPal email so i can pay in right away and also include your address in your reply.If you don't have a PayPal account, you can easily set up one...log on to www.paypal.com.au and sign up. its very easy.I await your reply asap.
Sent: Monday, 14 June 2010 4:48:26 AM
Hi mate,thanks for mailing back,am ok with the condition and the price,am buying it for my vacation,cos i'll be coming soon from our rig as am a petroleum engineer and am on a rig offshore,i won't be able to come for the inspection due to my work basis.i will be paying you through PayPal,please get back to me with your PayPal details so i can proceed with payment and contact the courier agent that will come to pick it up and deliver to my location in Perth,Western Australia.
Await your reply.....
Sent: Monday, 14 June 2010 8:30:09 AM
Thanks for the swift response...i am willing to know the lowest price of the boat.due to the nature of my job and location...i will not be able to come for inspection,am a very busy type as i work long hours everyday,i have gone through your advertisement and i am satisfied with it.
As per the pick up don't worry about that because i have my own private courier company and the courier services company will will be coming to pick it up.
With the issue of my details,transferring the name of ownership and signing of all paperwork will be done by the courier services company agent so you don't have to worry about that.
I'll like you to send me your address so that the courier services company can figure it out
and come for the pick up and other necessary things....more so,send me your
PayPal details(PayPal email) so i can pay in.
None have a working phone, but can check email. What a crock!
:rifle: :rifle: :rifle: :rifle:
MyEscape
15-06-2010, 05:13 AM
I've said this before when I sold my Cruisecraft.
I received a phone call from a guy who immediately asked what would be the lowest price I would accept. Can you send as many photos of everything and all over the boat, motor and trailer. I asked "are you a dealer" No, private buyer was the answer.
I sent lots of photos to his email address the next day.
I called this guy back one day and another guy answered his mobile. Just answered "Workshop"
I responded with which workshop? It was a cruisecraft dealership in Brisbane. I let the guy know that I was calling this bloke as the "private buyer"
Not sure which one now, but I didn't call him back and he didn't call me.
Then there was another from a bloke in Melbourne (I was in Mackay) who asked a similar thing with all the photos etc. I thought it was a long way to come to buy a boat (surely transport costs would kill the sale) but once again, "what would be the lowest price you would take?
15-06-2010, 06:11 AM
don't be surprised about people from Melbourne wanting to buy a boat..i sold mine, a few years ago, to a bloke from down there. He flew up here..had a look and arranged the transport.
The rest, as per the original post...all scams.
theangryangler
15-06-2010, 07:20 AM
same sort of stuff is rife on ebay.
Sold a 5m brooker side console and had a guy
come look at it then come back that night and try to
steal it!!!
Easy way NO PAYPAL or online payments NEVER give
bank details to anyone for any reason
including for a sale/transfer.
tell them to look in person or PIS* OFF!!
VEry Rife on ebay for buy it now electrical stuff
Always staing that they work overseas
is gift for friend please send to nigeria!!!
Unfortunately lots of people fall for these scams.
my sister in law works in the post office and
is always tellin us about all the saps sending thousands of
$$$$$over there via western union to ?help? people!
Aussie post should put up signs warning of scams
Rhinoc
15-06-2010, 07:28 AM
I've got my boat on Boatpoint at the moment also and since advertising it Thursday last week have received two of these phishing attempts. Its a real pain which has caused me to be quite apprehensive about responding to any email enquiries. As soon as I see email addresses from one of the free web based emails I immediately become concerned.
They are scum and tracking them down is almost impossible.
Rhino...
Yeah likewise, Boat point actually warns you about people offering to pay via paypal and western union.
They scam you via western union trying to get you to pay for shipping and swindle the 2-3 grand you sent to "the shipping company"
Easily spotted though, most use @gmail.com accounts.
You usually receive 3-4 scam emails in the first week you sign up. After that they taper off.
Received 5 emails from people wanting to buy immediately and even a phone call at bloody 3am one friday..
Ratman
15-06-2010, 08:06 AM
Heard of one the other day.
Fraudster contacts you saying they want to buy your whatever and they are located offshore and have computer and phone problems and want you to deposit the shipping costs into a paypay account for them.
They say they will reimburse the principle plus shipping costs back to you once the shipping company are happy.
You receive a bogus paypal email saying the funds from the fraudster are in the account (being principle plus shipping) and can you release the funds (shipping).
You do this and lose your money.
That fraudster was from the UK.
fly_1
15-06-2010, 08:27 AM
Its a scam. We have had the same thing happen with carpoint.com.au. We have been advertising a car and have had the same response saying they will only pay with paypal etcetc.....
Do a google search and it will all be explained to you...
trent
15-06-2010, 09:39 AM
As Pinhead said don't worry about guys from Vic too much. For some reason boats are a bit more expensive down here so we travel north. I brought two from NSW last year sight unseen until they were picked up, inspected and cash paid then.
NTMID8
15-06-2010, 11:35 AM
I bought my boat from VIC ( i live in SA) i organised over the phone and made the trip without seeing the boat. Advice is if someone is serious about buying whatever your selling they will make the effort to call and will almost always try and get the price lower by offering cash! (i did anyways lol)
jeffo
15-06-2010, 04:45 PM
Geez George your still alive!! haha. You selling to make way for the 65 foot Assegai or what? Been fishing or to much work?
theangryangler
15-06-2010, 05:13 PM
Only sell for COD only safe way nowadays
team_mongo
15-06-2010, 08:43 PM
it gets better...
So got jack of it, and changed my ad to read "ABSOLUTELY NO PAYPAL PAYMENTS ACCEPTED!" and within 2 hours I was sent an email by admin asking me to remove that statement.
They even had the gall to SMS me a message to email them, and the same old paypal spiel.. Of course that phone number has no voice line.
Angry,
thats unbelievable. Thats why you need a rottie - tear'em limb from limb I say :hanged:
Jeffo, been out and about, but getting back into it. MegaMongo is almost finished, then we'll head out and get into it hey?
George
sharkymark2
15-06-2010, 09:01 PM
I advertised my ute the other day and the same thing happened. Also had a guy ring up 'whats the lowest price you will take?". My reply was price is something we can talk about after he checked the ute out and went for a test drive......haaaaa that soon sorts them out. ;)
Fatenhappy
15-06-2010, 09:15 PM
The off shot of this is these sort of rip off a**holes really do make it very hard when you are genuinely not available and try to do business over the net etc.
The little lovely and I have been based in Dubai now for the past year and still have probably another 5 or so to go. Unfortunately then for genuine people, most everyone now is not willing to forward stuff either to here or the Middle East because of all the scam artists.
On the bright side the UAE government jails anyone who is found guilty of this sort of BS .. pity more don't, but it does make it hard to just get the normal stuff done !
Besides if I was spending a few grand there's no way I wouldn't be fronting up personally! ... ;)
MindyJ
13-08-2010, 01:45 PM
Hey guys,
This cole flogger tried to scam me too, I've added every detail I could to my post here, and will try and do the same on boatsales as I know heaps of people have been caught out.. The receipt he sends looks genuine to someone who isnt suspicious in nature!
It started when I got an sms from this number 0408832914 saying
"Goodday seller is the boat still available for sales... kindly get back to me with this email coletrell@hotmail.com (coletrell@hotmail.com) so that we can sort things out."
I sent him an email saying it was still for sale and sent my home number in case it was more convenient.
his reply was
"Thanks for the swift response...i am willing to know the lowest price of the boat.due to the nature of my job and location...i will not be able to come for inspection,am a very busy type as i work long hours everyday,i have gone through your advertisement and i am satisfied with it.
]As per the pick up don't worry about that because i have my own private courier company and the courier services company will will be coming to pick it up.
With the issue of my details,transferring the name of ownership and signing of all paperwork will be done by the courier services company agent so you don't have to worry about that.
I'll like you to send me your address so that the courier services company can figure it out[/font]
and come for the pick up and other necessary things....more so,send me your
PayPal details(PayPal email) so i can pay in."
I told him we would go to a lower price and gave him our address and my paypal email address (idiot!!!!) as I didnt see anything dodgy as yet. The next email got alarm bells ringing though
he said
"]I was just about to make the payment when i had this little problem with the picking up,Igot an email from my agent...he said he won't come for the pick up unless i pay him the]agent commission fee first in order to be able to schedule suitable a pick up date and time
and my pick up agent Headquarters is in the United Kingdom and all commission payments made for pick up from anywhere in the world is sent to their Headquarters in the Uk and the only form of payments they accept is western union money transfer and i tried to pay online (www.westernunion.com (http://www.westernunion.com/)) but it requires a credit card to make the transfer online which i don't have access to and there is no post office on sea.(there is usually a western union section in most post offices).
[]So now i will include the $950 they charged to pick it up and take it home(1st class]treatment)to the payments i will send through paypal.After receiving the confirmation email[,PayPal after i have made the payments, i will need you to help me send the $950 to my pick up agent through western union money transfer.The western union money transfer can be made at a post office or online at www.westernunion.com.I (http://www.westernunion.com.i/) will be making the payments shortly and will email you as soon as am done"
]I thought ooh western union, thats a bit dodge, and rang my husband. He's got workmates who have been done over by this same bloke too. I replied and said I will not be payments on your behalf as I have been receiving a lot of fake emails and asked him which courier company he owned which has a HQ in the UK?
today I received these emails.
I have just made the payment now and i expect paypal to have emailed you by now,check your paypal email address if you have been messaged yet, i sent $2,350 in all, i have decided to add the amount of $1,050 which i paid through paypal, So you can now wire the sum of $950 to my agent's Headquarters in UK via western union where they confirm all commission payment so that they can be able to schedule a suitable pick up date and time immediately.
As said earlier in my previous email,the western union transfer can be done at the post office as their is a western union section in all post office and can also be done via the internet(www.westernunion.com).I (http://www.westernunion.com).i/) added extra $100 to cover the western union charges which shouldn't be more that $60-75 but just to be sure i added $100.
[
[Here is my pick up agent Headquarter info needed to get the money sent through western union money transfer
Jame Wilson
Highbury,87 Drayton ParkLondon N5 1BU
UK
Note:PayPal won't release the funds until they get the western union information from you due to the fact that i emailed them about the excess payment i made.Please kindly email the necessary details to paypal :the mtcn which you will be given at the western union after the $950 has been sent as well as the sender's name and address used to send the money through western union so they can take necessary steps.Await your response
then I got an email saying it was from paypal
sevice@paypal.com.au (sevice@paypal.com.au) [onlinereview@financier.com]
subject - Notification of an Instant Payment Received from Cole
Dear mindymackay@bigpond.com
This (mindymackay@bigpond.com) email confirms that Cole Contrell has sent you $2,350.00
View the details of this Transaction here
Payment Details
Transaction ID: 9TQ95872YQ3810894P
Item # N/A
Item Title - Boat
Quantity - 1
Price - $1,300.00AUD
Subtotal - $1,300.00AUD
Pick-up & Delivery:
(includes any pick-up delivery fees) $1,050.00 AUD
Shipping Insurance:(optional) $0.00AUD
Total:
$2,350.00 AUD
This is to inform you that you are required to send a sum of $950.00 AUD to the address below via Western Union Money Transfer and get back to us with the relevant information's which you will be provided with after the money has been sent. You are requested to give us the Mtcn# (Money Transfer Control Number) and the Sender's Name and Address used in making the transfer after which we will then credit the total sum of ]$2,350.00 AUD into your PayPal account. Below is the Address where the money is to be sent using Western Union Money Transfer.
Agent's Info:
Jame wilson
87 Drayton Park, London
N5 1BU
Highbury
England
United Kingdom
Address Status:
Confirmed http://images.paypal.com/en_US/i/scr/scr_symQuestion.gif (http://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/?cmd=p/pop/confirmed_address_checkout-outside)
Please note:
We wish to inform you that Cole Contrell has made his intentions known to PayPal that he will like $950.00 AUD to be sent to the recipient's address above via Western Union Money Transfer
]Click here (http://www.westernunion.com/info/selectCountry.asp?country=global&) to locate nearest Western Union Agent in your area
these guys have gone to a lot of trouble to make it look as realistic as possible, so I wanted to add every single bit of information I have to this thread for you guys, so hopefully I can stop at least one person getting screwed over by this bunch of *****.