View Full Version : is backing line needed for braid
lifestyle
11-06-2010, 07:04 PM
i have just purchased a 88 dollar shimano bass combo i was going to put 6 pound braid on it . question is do you realy need a backing line for the reel can you put the braid straight on and do you need a leader when fishing for bass or is the braid straight up OK. Thanks Shane
breakthelines
11-06-2010, 07:17 PM
I use 10lb mono as backing on all my gear, gives the braid something to grip to.
G'Day Shane,
As breakthelines said, you will need some mono backing on the spool as straight braid will slip, the mono gives it something to bite into.
With regards to leadersm I would recommend you do use leader for bass or any other species. As braid is non-stretch the leader acts as a shock absorber when you get a hit and you are less likely to pull the hooks. I usually use a rod length of leader, tied to the braid with an improved albright knot.
Braid is also very easy to see in the water so the leader (I use flurocarbon leaders) helps make the lure or bait appear more natural as the leader is less likely to spook the fish than straight braid.
Hope this helps.
11-06-2010, 08:01 PM
Mono backing is not required for braid. The slipping problem is very easily overcome with one layer of electrical tape in the bottom of the spool then braid directly on top of that. I prefer no backing for two reasons, backing reduces line capacity and it is one less knot that has potential to fail if you get all your braid out past the tip.
Mike Delisser
11-06-2010, 08:07 PM
Asuming your new bass combo is a spin outfit, you should always put some mono 1st up on the reel, a couple of meters at least (baitcaster as well). Otherwise the whole thing may slip on the spool. Also depending on the size of your new reel and the length of the braid, it may need to be topped up to fill the spool. If the spool is not filled to within 1/8 of an inch of the lip, you won't get the max distance cast you could get, it will also wear the line quicker and possably lead to more tangles than you would otherwise get. Over filling will also lead to more tangles.
To get the braid to the right hight on the spool, wind it on, then get any old mono you might (about 6 to 10lb in your case, old used stuf is fine). Tye it to the braid then wind it on on top of the braid until its within 1/8 of an inch of the spools lip. Cut it off there because now you have the right length. Now you need to reverse the line on the reel so the braid is on top. Wind it off the new reel and onto another reel. I find an Alvey is good to use for this, just wind it on top of any line that is already on it, the braid will now be on top. Now you need another reel and wind the line onto it, the mono will now be on top. Now wind it onto your new reel, you've just reversed it and the braid will be on top and the perfect length.
Don't worry about the quality of the mono undernieth because you'll never see it unless you hook a tuna and there's not many of them where you catch bass. Also get a spool of 10lb flurocarbon for leaders. The cheapest you'll prob get away with is 10lb Berkley Vanish from Big W, 150 meters will last you years as leader material. If you want to learn some knots to use for braid to mono, just google "youtube" and "Improved Albright" or "Slim Beauty" or Double Uni" and see how they are done.
Hope this helps.
Mike Delisser
11-06-2010, 08:14 PM
Mono backing is not required for braid. The slipping problem is very easily overcome with one layer of electrical tape in the bottom of the spool then braid directly on top of that. I prefer no backing for two reasons, backing reduces line capacity and it is one less knot that has potential to fail if you get all your braid out past the tip.
Must be some big bass up your way Tunaticer.
11-06-2010, 09:40 PM
Must be some big bass up your way Tunaticer.
Nah Mike, bored with bass now... doubt I will ever outdo my PB for bass so now I chase decent saltwater fish these days and those extra few yards of line do make a big difference at times.
first of all, fluro leader is needed.
second - i only use mono backing for maximising casting distance and in turn saving money. i.e keeping the braid close to the lip of the spool makes casting easier and longer. to use mono for backing so 'it has something to bite into' is a bit bewildering. it bites into itself. i mean how often do you get spooled where the risk of slipping the last ten metres of your braid on your spool actually happens. am i missing something?
Apollo
13-06-2010, 07:23 AM
I use thread tape on those spools (then straight braid) where I need all the capacity I can get. Others, I use mono to fill the spool.
bennykenny
13-06-2010, 08:34 AM
to use mono for backing so 'it has something to bite into' is a bit bewildering. it bites into itself. i mean how often do you get spooled where the risk of slipping the last ten metres of your braid on your spool actually happens. am i missing something?
yeah if you dont use backing of some sort either the tape or a bit of mono, you can find yourself in the situation where the whole spool of braid will just turn around on spool itself which makes it reaal hard to reel in, dosent happen every time but it will happen.
I'm still undecided about whether backing is required or not -
I'm not a fan of tape on the spool - it can break down & can gunk up a wiffle spool on a baitcaster.
I do use mono - but only as a filler to make up the capacity (when required).
In most instances - I use straight braid to the spool. *** The key is to use several wraps around the spool prior to doing your knot. Seems to work fine with no slippage:)
.:::stotty:::.
13-06-2010, 10:59 AM
Backing is a must, otherwise a few things will happen.
1: Slight chaffing to the spool because of the harshness of the charactistics of braid.
2: Braid will slip under tension when a fish is taking hvy drag.
3: It doesn’t reduce line capacity if done right, yeh you will have less braid but when you tie the mono onto the spool perform a double then when you tie the braid onto the mono perform another double in both lines then a improved Albright.
This technique has worked for me and my mates for the past few years, with over 5 times the line has reached the bottom of the spool only hanging of the 20lb doubled mono spool knot.
Like this: 94cm giant hearing screaming off with a battler flanker, 100dc Calcutta and the line down to the spool just not breaking under the strain.
http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=121&u=13075921
Tim_N
13-06-2010, 11:47 AM
I never use a tape or a mono backing and never have had a slippage problem.
I'm with Nagg on this one, if it is attached properly, you shouldn't have any probs.
If you're that far down on your spool when fighting a big fish, I reckon it's time to start the outboard and go and play chasey.
Backing is a must, otherwise a few things will happen.
1: Slight chaffing to the spool because of the harshness of the charactistics of braid.
2: Braid will slip under tension when a fish is taking hvy drag.
3: It doesn’t reduce line capacity if done right, yeh you will have less braid but when you tie the mono onto the spool perform a double then when you tie the braid onto the mono perform another double in both lines then a improved Albright.
This technique has worked for me and my mates for the past few years, with over 5 times the line has reached the bottom of the spool only hanging of the 20lb doubled mono spool knot.
Like this: 94cm giant hearing screaming off with a battler flanker, 100dc Calcutta and the line down to the spool just not breaking under the strain.
http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=121&u=13075921
Interesting about the chaffing ..... I've never seen it myself - How long does it take ?
As for slippage ...... If you use several wraps around the spool prior to the knot being tied it wont slip -
I just wound 10M of 30lb braid on a spool after doing 5 crisscross wraps & a knot ....... I tied off one end & applied tension - I broke the tie off knot without any slippage ....... even when down to only a couple of meters of braid on the spool - no slip & the braid would break. ......... That is way more tension than what could be applied in a real fishing situation. :)
13-06-2010, 12:57 PM
What happens if the braid spins of the spool it will cut into it leaving chaffing or in extreme casses will cut into the metal.
But if u say it's secure and won't spin, then I guess this won't happen. But
IMO mono backing is always better.
What happens if the braid spins of the spool it will cut into it leaving chaffing or in extreme casses will cut into the metal.
But if u say it's secure and won't spin, then I guess this won't happen. But
IMO mono backing is always better.
That's the trick - A good foundation & all is good - be it mono backing , tape or multiple wraps
I've seen some shockers over the years ....... so bad that in one instance we could not retrieve a small fish & had to back down on it ::)
lifestyle
13-06-2010, 05:21 PM
Well what a huge amount of responces to this thread . I Think I will use some mono as a backing after reading all the pros and cons. As for leader still not sure but probably will use some .. Thanks fellow fishers for your tips . Now try to get the kids on to some bass at sommerset maybe next weekend. Thanks again . Shane
Mike Delisser
13-06-2010, 10:21 PM
Good luck at Somerset Shane, find out where Pelican Point is and drift around out from there in 18 to 25 feet (I assume you got a sounder).
You should use a leader, flurocarbon is the best but mono will be ok.
If you can get a box style shrimp trap like the one below and you'll catch a few shrimp at night at somerset (or just about any creek), use a little dry dog food as bait. the kids will like checking the trap and collecting the shrimp as much as the fishing. You almost can't miss out with a live shrimp on the hook.
http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/431/0014sc.th.jpg (http://img15.imageshack.us/i/0014sc.jpg/)
I'm a little susprised some of you guys would fill the spool of a $88 combo with braid to fish for bass in the fresh? cause that's the question "Lifestyle" (Shane) was asking.
I just put 6lb braid on a 2500 size reel for snapper flickin and it took 300mts + a bit of mono.
14-06-2010, 12:18 AM
I'm a little susprised some of you guys would fill the spool of a $88 combo with braid to fish for bass in the fresh? cause that's the question "Lifestyle" (Shane) was asking.
I just put 6lb braid on a 2500 size reel for snapper flickin and it took 300mts + a bit of mono.
Your point being?
lifestyle
14-06-2010, 08:00 AM
Thanks for the heads up mike If we catch one fish the kids would be so happy. Shane
That's the trick - A good foundation & all is good - be it mono backing , tape or multiple wraps
I've seen some shockers over the years ....... so bad that in one instance we could not retrieve a small fish & had to back down on it ::)
;D ;D . back down onto a small fish!, funny!!!
Fair dinkum - a flatty from memory :-[ - the braid was just spinning on the spool of the little spin reel.
Had another mate suffer the same thing not that long ago ....... and had to sort it out on the boat - lesson learned
hairypunt
16-06-2010, 03:18 PM
I hardly ever back my reels most of them have a full spool of braid straight tied directly to the spool i have never had any slippage at all as long as the knot is tied properly and the line is wound on tight you shouldnt have a problem. The only time i use backing is when the spool is getting low on line and i want to top back up to the lip of the spool.
What size reel are you using? if it has a shollow spool you might not need backing at all.
Leader is a must when using braid.
At somerset i use 10/16lb leader depending on what i'm throwing and where i'm throwing it. Bass are not leader shy so if you decide to tie on a hevier leader it shouldnt affect your catch rate.
Cheers kyle.