View Full Version : If you caught a 130 would you get it mounted?
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 10:10 AM
Guys just chucking this one up for your thoughts, seeing as I'm planing on catching a 130 sometime this year:P
I know Scotty got his big girl mounted a couple of years ago, but that one choked on an XRap and couldn't be revived, so he did it some justice in getting it mounted.
Many moons ago I caught a 21kg fish on 3kg in Tinaroo that I kept to weigh for a line class record. I ended up giving to some nomads in the caravan park, as I was hitting the road the next day and had no means of keeping it. They were over the moon, that probably only lasted until they tasted it....
Anyway, I've sort of been kicking myself for not making the effort to get it mounted, seeing as I had already killed it.
Now my dilema is, when I get my 130 (:P ) should I keep it and get it mounted. I now know a guy who does awesome fibreglass mounts that would really do it justice. Those who saw the 'Barra Trophy' trophy would agree.
But then there is the dilema of killing a big barra, I'm not sure if I could bring myself to do it now. On the other hand, its a stocked fish and can't breed....
Then there is the logistics of having a big ice box to ice it down and get it to Nerang, maybe cutting a trip short.......Plus it would cost in the vicinity of $1200, Many dilemas!
I believe a 130 barra is the holy grail of barra angling, fish of a lifetime capture. Is it worth preserving that in fibreglass to brag about, or just keeping the photographs and memories, knowing that she lives on....?
03-06-2010, 10:48 AM
I would in a heartbeat and would not be made feel guilty for it by anyone.
as you say, these fish are stocked landlocked freshwater fish and cannot breed. Therefore the argument that you killed a 'big breeder' is nothing short of a furphy.
Coupled with the fact that the fish are stocked for the purpose of being caught and taken.
If you want to do it, do it and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The fish are put there for people to catch and take home, just ask the organisation that does the work.
I'd do it myself cept for the swamp donkey colour, give me a nice metre long chrome salty instead
03-06-2010, 11:28 AM
Hey Matt
I remember seeing you capture that World Record fish on 3kg string back in your Dam Hot series. Awesome video mate and I still love looking at the vids you bunch of hooligans made;) Ah....the Mega Snag::) I was always curious as to how long she actually went or whether Jack just weighed her for you.
Now back to the question. It really depends on a lot of factors for me....the condition of the fish after capture, my mental commitment at the time to having it mounted (I would sure not like to eat it), suitable storage to keep her chilled, the availability of my chosen taxidermist/fibreglasser to do the work, money obviously comes into it as well.
I would not begrudge anyone if they went down this path, for the reasons Scott outlines above and other "unknowns". Each to their own and good luck to them.
To answer the question: Perhaps, if all the planets aligned to do so.
Hi Matt
You raise a topic that has been brought up several times among my fishing mates - usually around a bbq or fire.
Firstly (obviously) it's a personal choice and depends where it sits on your priorities.
From a personal perspective ..... After seeing many mounts over the years - I've seen very few examples of large fish that do it justice - the best seem to be smaller fish like small barra and trout in a lifelike situation - the flat ones that go on the wall - Nah .
A lot of guys said that they wouldn't do it again ....... because they caught larger or more significant captures later ..... or they just regret it
I think your world record made for a compelling case - but did you know at the time it would be ratified....... it was a significant capture regardless .
$1000-1500 is a lot of money for a dust collector :'(
I'm more for a really good photo ...... its why I spent a considerable amount on an digital SLR & now the go -pro. A high resolution photo that can be blown up and framed ...... The only thing is having someone to take the photos and do a good job of it - Though I would review the photos ...... my PBs photos are crap because the photographer didn't really give a hoot and was a poor photographer ...... yet OBI_WAN did a great job on my number 2.
Finally ..... I did get that warm & fuzzy feeling letting those big fish go :) - who knows those big fish could also be someone else's fish of a life time
I hope you get the chance to make that decision :P
robersl
03-06-2010, 12:20 PM
I would just take the photo and see is she could be revived but it is personal choice to do this, no drama's about keeping a big fish for mounting if thats your thing ,what i would not like to see is a big fish caught and kept that could of been released unharmed but ends up in a bin gathering flies there is no sense to that
shane
Steve B
03-06-2010, 03:10 PM
Would I mount a 130cm Barra??.....fish that big would probably mount me:P;)
'whos ya daddy';D;D
2 years ago I would have said no full stop. nowdays, probably not still personally bucause I could think of better ways to spend $$$$, but I certainly wouldn't begrudge anyone that does....Rather see it mounted than filleted..then chucked out cause it tastes crap.
Chris makes a pretty good point, something I have never thought of. Probably the bigger ones would be a MASSIVE dust collector on the wall. A healthy little one with some snags etc around it would look sweet in any pool room:)....photo of a big fish, with a big effort holding it, with a big smile....blown up in a frame in the pool room would certainly do me.
PS: what Scotty did when his big girl that couldn't be revived was definately the right thing to do....chucking a big beauty like that in the bin....or letting it float off dead would be a sad injustice.
warrior
03-06-2010, 05:53 PM
a great resolution photo on the wall will do me fine, 1200 to 1500 will get me a lot of trips back up there to do it again ,i got my 1070 pb salty a few years back and thought about it but it will be broken soon so a bit of a waste, all to his own though no probs with me if they mount them.i find some other thing better to mount than those;D ;D ;D
Gday Matt, looking forward to seeing you holding that 130 mate!
Each to their own, doesnt matter to me, but from a personal point of view, a pic on the mat, and a good pic of me holding it, and I'd be happy.
Chris, feel ya pain re the bad pic taker. My best at 120, and I asked a couple of blokes near by to take a pic, its a shocker.
Didley
03-06-2010, 06:56 PM
As Brian said "each to their own", for me a good photo and a swim away fish with out doubt, I've never liked dead fish or any animals on a wall, but that's me , if you like it go 4 it, as U say there stocked fish.
Dids
Thats about it Dids.
Last couple of years Ive seen a definate swing away from hard core C & R in this forum, to a more relaxed "by all means take it, just dont waste it" attitude.
My self included there, must be getting old and soft!
Race you to that 130 Matt, loser shouts a carton of the victors choice, and I like Bundy and cokes, by the way ;D
Tropicaltrout
03-06-2010, 07:13 PM
A good piccy for me Mat. love to catch a big fish but man I love seeing them swim after. In saying that if someone was to take one, good on them there are some really great ones done with logs as part of the main feature and yeah there fish there time and effort they do what they like.
By the way reading Pauls post I finally realised who you are, you did part of the dam hot series with my uncle John (Rowie) at Borumba ha well there ya go....
Nath
Apollo
03-06-2010, 07:17 PM
Me, no. Don't care if others do. They put in the effort and should feel no remorse for doing so.
03-06-2010, 07:17 PM
A good piccy Mat for me. love to catch a big fish but man I love seeing them swim after. In say that if someone was to take one good on them there are some really great one done with logs as part of the main feature.
By the way reading Pauls post I finally realised who you are, you did part of the dam hot series with my uncle John (Rowie) at Borumba ha well there ya go....
Nath
As I said Nath....he's a hooligan;D Haven't you seen some of the clobber from his Awoonga boys' bash each year? The out takes on his Dam Hot series was also special.
snodger 08
03-06-2010, 07:42 PM
Matt,
When I was at mondy last, The locals and guide said if I were to keep one they would prefer I kept a big one (meter plus) not the smaller 700-800 ones.
There was also a 1.4 sitting in the bottom of the shop freezer up there a kyaker was getting mounted.
No problems from me if you did tho.
Just getting a 1.3 is the trick hey. ;)
Roll on the 25th
If you do end up getting mounted, why not consider putting it in a display frame like those 3D photos.
It would keep the dust away and you could include some lights to accentuate it.
Peter4
03-06-2010, 07:48 PM
We don't care what others do as long as the fish is not mistreated and does not go to waste...
For us, one of the great highlights of barra fishing is the successful revival and release. We are very proud of never having had a barra croak on us!
An indelible memory supplemented by a pic or two satisfies our needs...
Regs
Pete & Kyle
tim barra master
03-06-2010, 09:12 PM
G day Matt
A big fat yes only problem is a few years ago i would have mounted a 120 last year a 132 next year im after a 140 or betta
Can get expensive I have a great contact taxadermist he uses silicon moulds they get some great detail Dont mark the fish with net ropes etc as it will show
So when would you do it?????????????????????????????????????
probably when you can get a bit of wall the right size for the right fish
Here is something to enspire you Good luck
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 09:46 PM
Hey Matt
I remember seeing you capture that World Record fish on 3kg string back in your Dam Hot series. Awesome video mate and I still love looking at the vids you bunch of hooligans made;) Ah....the Mega Snag::) I was always curious as to how long she actually went or whether Jack just weighed her for you.
Now back to the question. It really depends on a lot of factors for me....the condition of the fish after capture, my mental commitment at the time to having it mounted (I would sure not like to eat it), suitable storage to keep her chilled, the availability of my chosen taxidermist/fibreglasser to do the work, money obviously comes into it as well.
I would not begrudge anyone if they went down this path, for the reasons Scott outlines above and other "unknowns". Each to their own and good luck to them.
To answer the question: Perhaps, if all the planets aligned to do so.
Thanks Paul, the barra went 114cm. It was good fun filming the Dam Hot series, much less fun editing, but very glad I did it.
I think I'm with you on the 'perhaps' atm.
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 09:56 PM
Hi Matt
You raise a topic that has been brought up several times among my fishing mates - usually around a bbq or fire.
Firstly (obviously) it's a personal choice and depends where it sits on your priorities.
From a personal perspective ..... After seeing many mounts over the years - I've seen very few examples of large fish that do it justice - the best seem to be smaller fish like small barra and trout in a lifelike situation - the flat ones that go on the wall - Nah .
A lot of guys said that they wouldn't do it again ....... because they caught larger or more significant captures later ..... or they just regret it
I think your world record made for a compelling case - but did you know at the time it would be ratified....... it was a significant capture regardless .
$1000-1500 is a lot of money for a dust collector :'(
I'm more for a really good photo ...... its why I spent a considerable amount on an digital SLR & now the go -pro. A high resolution photo that can be blown up and framed ...... The only thing is having someone to take the photos and do a good job of it - Though I would review the photos ...... my PBs photos are crap because the photographer didn't really give a hoot and was a poor photographer ...... yet OBI_WAN did a great job on my number 2.
Finally ..... I did get that warm & fuzzy feeling letting those big fish go :) - who knows those big fish could also be someone else's fish of a life time
I hope you get the chance to make that decision :P
Chris, I know what you mean by 'some mounts don't do the fish justice' and I wouldn't go for a flat on the wall mount.
Although it would take up a heap of room, I'd do an action type pose set on a nice bit of timber and set it in a corner.
I had a fair idea the barra would be a World Record as I knew the existing record was 18 kg on 3kg, and I though it would be more than that. Turns out Jack Leighton who weighed the fish for me held the record and had the fish mounted at his place. I felt a bit bad about breaking his record.
I know what you mean about some of your mates being poor photographers. Sometimes not just poor but woefull. If I go solo I take a tripod and use the timer, and get much better pics than those that some of my mates take.
I'm keen to see these go-pros they sound good.
Daintreeboy
03-06-2010, 09:58 PM
Guys just chucking this one up for your thoughts, seeing as I'm planing on catching a 130 sometime this year:P
But then there is the dilema of killing a big barra, I'm not sure if I could bring myself to do it now. On the other hand, its a stocked fish and can't breed....
Being stocked and unable to breed as it's in fresh water you should not have any guilty feelings. It's the cost that would be the issue.
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 10:02 PM
Would I mount a 130cm Barra??.....fish that big would probably mount me:P;)
'whos ya daddy';D;D
2 years ago I would have said no full stop. nowdays, probably not still personally bucause I could think of better ways to spend $$$$, but I certainly wouldn't begrudge anyone that does....Rather see it mounted than filleted..then chucked out cause it tastes crap.
Chris makes a pretty good point, something I have never thought of. Probably the bigger ones would be a MASSIVE dust collector on the wall. A healthy little one with some snags etc around it would look sweet in any pool room:)....photo of a big fish, with a big effort holding it, with a big smile....blown up in a frame in the pool room would certainly do me.
PS: what Scotty did when his big girl that couldn't be revived was definately the right thing to do....chucking a big beauty like that in the bin....or letting it float off dead would be a sad injustice.
Trust you to read it like that Steve! ::)
It would be a big dust collector, thats for sure and take up a lot of space. I'm starting to lean towards the release - but I'd have to make sure the pics were schmick! Even if it meant jumping in with it.
trueblue
03-06-2010, 10:04 PM
your call mate. not any one elses decision.
Daintreeboy
03-06-2010, 10:07 PM
How have you guys found releasing these big fish in the dams? The ones we've all caught over a metre are almost lifeless when boated and seem spent, even after a lot of swimming.
A few 'experts' in the know reckon to take them out anyway to help the younger ones come through. The bigger fish are cannibals and eat the smaller Barra plus there's the competition factor.
Something to consider anyway.
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 10:10 PM
As Brian said "each to their own", for me a good photo and a swim away fish with out doubt, I've never liked dead fish or any animals on a wall, but that's me , if you like it go 4 it, as U say there stocked fish.
Dids
I'm with you there actually Dids, I went to Bass Pro Shops in Missouri in '96 (the original shop) Part of the store is this massive shed full of taxidermed animals, everything you could imagine from every corner of the globe and not just one of each animal, but like a display of say six to ten of each critter.
I felt sick in the guts when I left...
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 10:13 PM
A good piccy for me Mat. love to catch a big fish but man I love seeing them swim after. In saying that if someone was to take one, good on them there are some really great ones done with logs as part of the main feature and yeah there fish there time and effort they do what they like.
Nath
Yep that's me. John was great to fish with and a great fly instructor. I've never gotten around to getting back to Borumba though. I know its well overdue.
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 10:18 PM
Thats about it Dids.
Last couple of years Ive seen a definate swing away from hard core C & R in this forum, to a more relaxed "by all means take it, just dont waste it" attitude.
My self included there, must be getting old and soft!
Race you to that 130 Matt, loser shouts a carton of the victors choice, and I like Bundy and cokes, by the way ;D
I'd have to be a very brave man to take you on Brian. But what the hell, how 'bout a square bear on it?
Steve B
03-06-2010, 10:19 PM
Trust you to read it like that Steve! ::)
It would be a big dust collector, thats for sure and take up a lot of space. I'm starting to lean towards the release - but I'd have to make sure the pics were schmick! Even if it meant jumping in with it.
your right Matt, ensuring the pic is right is the hardest bit. I got lucky with a couple of nice fish, thankfully had good photographer, with good camera..it makes all the difference. Depends on day or night too I spose....personally I dont like night photos...and thats when lots of big girls are caught!:( but thats me.
I will save my taxi job for the 140cm I have lined up this year:P;);)
CHeers Steve
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 10:21 PM
If you do end up getting mounted, why not consider putting it in a display frame like those 3D photos.
It would keep the dust away and you could include some lights to accentuate it.
Yeah that would look good Luc. The costs are going up....
matt fraser
03-06-2010, 10:29 PM
G day Matt
A big fat yes only problem is a few years ago i would have mounted a 120 last year a 132 next year im after a 140 or betta
Can get expensive I have a great contact taxadermist he uses silicon moulds they get some great detail Dont mark the fish with net ropes etc as it will show
So when would you do it?????????????????????????????????????
probably when you can get a bit of wall the right size for the right fish
Here is something to enspire you Good luck
That is a dead set beast Tim, it might be a few years before you better that PB but good luck with the quest for a 140, I recon they are out there.
03-06-2010, 11:23 PM
How have you guys found releasing these big fish in the dams? The ones we've all caught over a metre are almost lifeless when boated and seem spent, even after a lot of swimming.
A few 'experts' in the know reckon to take them out anyway to help the younger ones come through. The bigger fish are cannibals and eat the smaller Barra plus there's the competition factor.
Hey mate, the release isn't too bad providing time in the boat is kept to a minimum. We time it as though we are holding our own head underwater.......the less time, the less trauma. You do not have to swim them a lot, just get them vertical in the water (in their swimming position) to get their equilibrium back in check, a quick squeeze of their tail wrist and they generally power off.
You don't have to hold them for minutes on end, that's probably more detrimental than a good quick release.
There's obviously more complex issues to consider than that, but that is the two minute noodle version.
In terms of cannibalism, we have seen no evidence as such. Over the years, I have not heard one report of a big barra eating a smaller barra. It would occur for sure but a rarity when there are so many easier and less nimble prey items like gar and boney bream lolling around in the water,
We have all heard the "big barra predating smaller barra" theories floating around, yet no one has even come close to half proving it. An absolute load of sh*t if you ask me and plenty of others. Some one show me some hard evidence over a consistent time frame and my ears will prick.
I wouldn't be too concerned about the predation of barra by bigger barra ....... I personally think this is one of the greatest pieces of misinformation out there.
While it no doubt happens ....... fish like Catfish would have a far greater effect on fingerlings. let alone the population of shags , egrets & pelicans
Barra grow fast ...... & are fast in their own right - A big barra would be less likely to bother wasting energy chasing down such a meal........ particularly when the population of baitfish in most big barra dams are massive.
robersl
04-06-2010, 06:47 AM
Hey mate, the release isn't too bad providing time in the boat is kept to a minimum. We time it as though we are holding our own head underwater.......the less time, the less trauma. You do not have to swim them a lot, just get them vertical in the water (in their swimming position) to get their equilibrium back in check, a quick squeeze of their tail wrist and they generally power off.
You don't have to hold them for minutes on end, that's probably more detrimental than a good quick release.
There's obviously more complex issues to consider than that, but that is the two minute noodle version.
In terms of cannibalism, we have seen no evidence as such. Over the years, I have not heard one report of a big barra eating a smaller barra. It would occur for sure but a rarity when there are so many easier and less nimble prey items like gar and boney bream lolling around in the water,
We have all heard the "big barra predating smaller barra" theories floating around, yet no one has even come close to half proving it. An absolute load of sh*t if you ask me and plenty of others. Some one show me some hard evidence over a consistent time frame and my ears will prick.
Hey paul
I have seen a couple of fish landed in the wild that have coughed up 10 inch barra i have not seen it in the dams as yet but i would think they would
shane
04-06-2010, 11:52 AM
Yep I don't doubt that Shane. Darwin's theory probably applies even more so in the wild. I wouldn't like to be swimming around in the salt just waiting to be eaten by something bigger than me.
Conversely, the sheer biomass in impoundments is like a KFC on every corner for Miss Big Barra.
matt fraser
04-06-2010, 01:51 PM
There is no doubt Barra are cannibals and predate on the smaller ones. There is plenty of evidence to support that. Right from scratch, Kurt at the GAWB hatchery has to constantly grade the barra, the only have to be a few mils longer and they eat the smaller ones.
That said, I totally disagree with the theory of barra experts in North QLD that the bigger ones should be taken to stop predatation. The scientist pushed this at Tinaroo in the late 90s, local bought it, and killed heaps of fish leaving them on the bank or hanging off guide posts.
Consequently the collapse of the Tinaroo fishery from around 1999 - 2001 is good evidence to support the fact that stocking can't keep up with the amount of fish anglers take.
So releasing the barra is definitely the way to go.
Stressless
04-06-2010, 05:17 PM
There is no doubt Barra are cannibals and predate on the smaller ones. There is plenty of evidence to support that. Right from scratch, Kurt at the GAWB hatchery has to constantly grade the barra, the only have to be a few mils longer and they eat the smaller ones.
That said, I totally disagree with the theory of barra experts in North QLD that the bigger ones should be taken to stop predatation. The scientist pushed this at Tinaroo in the late 90s, local bought it, and killed heaps of fish leaving them on the bank or hanging off guide posts.
Consequently the collapse of the Tinaroo fishery from around 1999 - 2001 is good evidence to support the fact that stocking can't keep up with the amount of fish anglers take.
So releasing the barra is definitely the way to go.
Measure it, weight it, release it, 'cause there is probably a fibreglass mould to suit any size fish already sitting behind a shed in Cairns
aussiebasser
04-06-2010, 09:43 PM
Measure it, weight it, release it, 'cause there is probably a fibreglass mould to suit any size fish already sitting behind a shed in Cairns
Yep, I have to agree. I'd prefer to release the fish after some photo's and order a 'glass replica in that size. I think Dick in Kunanurra did that last year.
Now if it's a 60cm+ Bass, it's goin' on the wall coz there are no moulds for that one!
Yep, I have to agree. I'd prefer to release the fish after some photo's and order a 'glass replica in that size. I think Dick in Kunanurra did that last year.
Now if it's a 60cm+ Bass, it's goin' on the wall coz there are no moulds for that one!
come on Dale ..... you hear about 60cm bass all the time ::) - usually a mates mate - funny though , ya just dont see the photos;)
aussiebasser
05-06-2010, 08:53 AM
come on Dale ..... you hear about 60cm bass all the time ::) - usually a mates mate - funny though , ya just dont see the photos;)
Yep, anecdotally, there are thousands of the buggers caught. Saw one photo of what was supposed to be a 64. It could have been, if the guy holding it had a ring finger that was 25mm wide at the first knuckle.::)
Yep ..... I've never seen a legit photo of a 60cm bass .....(fork length or tail) - 55s are about the biggest
A 60's bass would be a mother of a fish ..... hell a 50 looks big:)
Well Dale ..... I hope you nail that big sucker - I'd be mounting it too..... yee haa;D
Barraboss
05-06-2010, 10:08 AM
I am with Stressless on this one.
After seeing an awesome mount done of a mates 120cm fish of a lifetime (from NSW) I also found out at the same time that the very talented taxidermist had 120 barra moulds of various sizes (including world record mould).
It would have to be of astronomical size and pretty much effed before I would get it mounted. Why not use a pre-existing one of same size
leelee
05-06-2010, 11:37 AM
Matt I think its totally up to you.
For me personally its not a matter of pics or realeasing the beast, its the fact that when you catch the bugger, well the trip is over as you need to get him sorted real quick to get the mold done. Imagine its on your first day, well thats the end of the trip.
Also where the hell do i store a beast like that and how do i store it to make it usuable for the mold and how do I get it to the taxidermist asap. To much for me to worry about.
Good luck in your goal and hope you get it.
Yep ..... I've never seen a legit photo of a 60cm bass .....(fork length or tail) - 55s are about the biggest
A 60's bass would be a mother of a fish ..... hell a 50 looks big:)
Well Dale ..... I hope you nail that big sucker - I'd be mounting it too..... yee haa;D
I think Carl has a pic of a 58cm fork that I have seen floating around. I know there is a pic of a 63cm wild fish caught from the hawkesbury in a tackle store in Sydney.
Lee
:-? If its not your fish that you get mounted ...... then why bother ? .... It would be a representative only - sort of defeats the purpose , doesn't it ?
I always thought that the thing about getting a fish or animal mounted was the fact that it was your trophy .....
It would be no different to having a photo of some elses fish ........ Imagine " hey did you catch that ?" ..... No, but I caught one just like it ! ::) .... just not the same IMO
Sorry .... Get your own fish mounted or just take a good photo - frame it with the lure used ....... & enjoy the memories.
Bad_Bubby
05-06-2010, 02:39 PM
I've also thought about it in the past, but can think of better ways to spend money. A few years ago at Tinaroo I landed a heavily built 123cm fish that was deep hooked. Since my family were staying at the Holiday Park we kept the barra and had it weighed in (30.2kg). Most of the family had never seen a barra and keeping the fish allowed them to be involved in the big barra experience instead of simply hearing stories. We still look back on some of the pictures from that day. I don't feel any moral remorse about keeping that fish. Since then I have released all the barra I have caught at Tinaroo (apart from barra bash catches).
Personally I think the cannabilism theory is total bs. Yes barra are cannabilistic, that is plain and simple. But Tinaroo is not just a pool of water with barra like most people seem to think. It is a large ecosystem teaming with other predatory species. Throw a lightly baited line in any weedy section of the dam and it will be converted into a 20cm mouth allmighty. More than a bit of a coincidence that the stocking started to be successful when barra were stocked bigger than mouth allmighty.
matt fraser
06-06-2010, 10:14 AM
I sort of see what you are saying Chris, it would mean more if you knew it was you own fish. But at the same time, I think I would be more than happy to be able to order a replica, as long as I was sure it would be a good mount.
That would certainly take away the trouble of keeping and transporting the barra, and maybe cutting a trip short.
Stressless or Matt, have you got the details of the Cairns or NSW guy who have all these molds? or do they have a website?
One reason why I was considering taking my own fish is because I have spoken to a couple of taxidermists and was surprised when they both said, it would cost the same to mount a new barra, as it would be to make one from and existing mold. That doesn't make sense to me, I thought it would be significantly easier and less time consuming if they already had the mold. Which should mean a cheaper end product?
Still not sure what I would do? but great discusssion here, thanks.
wheezer
06-06-2010, 06:45 PM
i don't think i would. didn't even consider it with my current and previous PB's (128 and 127 respectively) i have thought about finding out if there are molds of similair size fish so i could get something 3 dimensional up on the wall of my soon to be completed mans room, but i wouldn't take such an amazing fish just for that purpose
mouse71
06-06-2010, 06:56 PM
I'm pretty sure I would think about it, if I knew the outcome was going to be pretty special. Don't know if I would spend the money on a taxidermist job but, a few good photos, with a nice frame would probably do. Don't forget these stocked systems are a put in, take out fishery, so no problems with anyone who does.
Tropicaltrout
06-06-2010, 07:25 PM
Just had a thought could you get a mini type barra made attach it use it as the centre peice of the collarge with piccies of the fish around the mini mould plus put the relative details in there somewhere as well plus the lure that did the dammage....? at least it would be different.....?
Noel has a wall of fame in his bar. Pics of his and boys biggest barra and bass, and the lure hanging off the pic.
Barraboss
06-06-2010, 09:15 PM
Matt,
Address and ph # is:
Australian Creative Fish Mounts
1 Law Street
Ph: 07 4051 6182
I have a couple of pics on my phone of friends mount. He even did the inside of the mouth down the throat. I was amazed at how awesome it looked
wheezer
06-06-2010, 09:36 PM
thanks mate, good to know there is someone local for us....nice profile pic!
TinarooTriumph
08-06-2010, 12:22 PM
Think a bloke by the name of Bill Spooner operates out of Australian Creative Fish Mounts. Have seen a Coral Trout (WR fish) and also an Emperor done by Bill and they are both of excellent standard. The cost is the thing that grabs me... it'd want to be one huge fish! Perhaps if it was of extreme proportions, a local Tackle Shop or business would move in to pay for the mount & display it in their shop front (like Dave Powells WR fish @ Cairns Tackleworld on Aumuller).
As for storing the fish before it being mounted/or WR attempt... local publicans I have found are more then happy to chuck it in their freezers, as long as YOU properly wrap the fish in some form e.g. plastic, tarp etc. This has been done numerous times around the Tablelands with Tinaroo fish. The lone fish I've taken from Tinaroo was stored at the Holiday Park @ Tinaroo (deep freeze) and later transported up to the Royal Hotel in Herberton where it was kept for a day before being sliced up (not a nice job!).
I'd take a 100lb'er and the drop of a hat... wouldn't even think about it. A 130... mhmm... that would require some thought. Photographs are great things.
Dicko
08-06-2010, 02:19 PM
Agreed on the photo idea.
Put the $1200 you're prepared to spend on a mount towards good camera gear, learn how to use it, then you can take awesome pics of plenty of other fish too.