View Full Version : Have you ever bagged out on any species?

25-05-2010, 11:53 PM
Just a question of your catch rates. I probably fish between 15 and 20 times a year on average but have only bagged out with 50 winter whiting once and 5 snapper twice. All on separate occasions.

I tend to catch a big fish and then have to go home and tell someone, or struggle to catch anything at all.

How do you do?

trueblue
25-05-2010, 11:58 PM
I'm not threatening many species of fish either Chris............

25-05-2010, 11:59 PM
I'm not threatening many species of fish either Chris............

We are just in the same league Mick.

trueblue
26-05-2010, 12:02 AM
mind you, I have had a very singular species focus over summer.......

sleepygreg
26-05-2010, 12:04 AM
Have bagged out on Snapper twice in the five years I have been up here. I think i have been close with flathead a couple of times....but then I only keep the 55 - 65cm ones.

Tazmaniac
26-05-2010, 12:16 AM
I just voted "often", at least 50% of the time. That may sound impressive
( or greedy ) but with a combined demersal species bag limit of only TWO fish, it aint all that hard to do over here in Western Australia !
Cheers, Taz.

26-05-2010, 12:18 AM
The statics are very low on fisherman bagging out, less than 1% of all trips. I cant remember the exact numbers but its something like 0.02% for offshore and even less for estuary.

Its for that very reason that reducing bag limits has minimal impact on fish stocks.

sleepygreg
26-05-2010, 12:28 AM
If your sole aim was to 'bag out' everytime you went fishing, i am sure there would be a thriving specialist business out there for 'counsellors or therapists' to 'treat' the hordes who indulge in this practice (fishing). OOHH hang on...there is a couple of businesses doing that.....XXXX and Bundy..forgot about them.

Far side
26-05-2010, 04:46 AM
I prefer to catch my fish with light gear its more of a challenge
Bagging out is not at the top of the TO do list
Catching fish on very light equipment is the go with enough for a feed
Also its quite satisfying to see the look on the crews faces when they catch a big one

26-05-2010, 05:49 AM
Depends what time of year and species really to Chris. Spano's and Cobia are quick to reach bag limits when they are on. We have gotten then alot and the odd species of reefy but most of all a good mixed bag to

flatzie
26-05-2010, 06:31 AM
I'd say there are quite a few blokes on here who bag out, but would never admit it due to being "bagged" on this site!
I've seen a lot of reports with a load of fish and pretty soon someone is toweling them up" LOL
Flatzie

Donny Boy
26-05-2010, 06:57 AM
................but would never admit it due to being "bagged" on this site!

Flatzie

I was gunna say.............

The only bagging out I ever get is from Kdog.....................:'(

26-05-2010, 08:11 AM
Once on mulloway, 5 fish.
Only fish I would be interested in bagging out on, and then only because apart from being great to eat and freezing well, they are also easy to clean.
I hate cleaning and preparing more than one or two fish especially big ones, so I always have this in mind on those occasions when I might strike a purple patch. I would bag out on tailor and sea mullet if I could, but only because I could freeze most of them for bait.
It's yet to happen though, I tend not to fish for choppers and 3 or 4 1/2 decent greenbacks is plenty enough for my familys' immediate needs.

26-05-2010, 08:12 AM
A few times with marsupials while on a road trip, I wonder when given natural progression we will be required to stop and count windscreen and radiator bugs:)

bushweek
26-05-2010, 08:14 AM
once or twice a year on spottys if we are lucky

26-05-2010, 08:19 AM
Yup.

If you go fishing enough when the snapper are "on" it is not that hard to do.

It can be disappointing when the next fish is larger than the others, though. :(

Still, we must not be greedy.

Pazz01
26-05-2010, 08:53 AM
Yeah we'd get out bag on trout probably 2-3 times a year if we can ever get out the reef at the moment due to this bloody wind.

Reds a big mouth we would also maybe 1-2 times if we go chasing them.

We try and get a good feed and only go when we want more fish. We don't go for the sake of bagging out every weekend.

Pazz

Bill_V
26-05-2010, 08:56 AM
I haven't bagged out on anything before but I am going to be home in 2 weeks with 3 weeks off and I am going to give the Moreton Bay snapper a hard time. Hopefully can bag out at least once for the first time.

Bill;D

murf
26-05-2010, 08:57 AM
haha someone answered always :)

bag out on bait fish :)

nearly all the fish we eat is out of my freezer so a bag out every now and then is good

I hate to have to get the cleaning table dirty for only one or two fish

cheers Murf

26-05-2010, 09:08 AM
Trag jew - once
Spotty macs - twice
Snapper - four or five times....

All up in about 15 years of fishing....

26-05-2010, 09:23 AM
bag ot a couple times a year on spaniards and spotties, and maybe once or twice on trout. Never bagged out on reds, esky isn't big enough! (though you'd think 350L would be heaps).

caster226
26-05-2010, 09:38 AM
it can be hard not to bag out on some species at times when you fish a lot. threadfin are the only species i can say i have never baged out on off the top of my head. i prefer to only catch feed but cause it means my next trip is a lot closer to get more.

26-05-2010, 11:52 AM
Again the poll doesn't really tell the whole story, if your the sort of fisherman that heads out before dawn and plans to be back in the afternoon your obviously going to do better than the guy that puts the boat in at 7.00am and fishes till miday ( he will do well sometimes but not that often) My last half dozen trips have had no real time limit, i left on a thursday afternoon and really only plan to be back Saturday sometime, now that's a 48hr period and at some stage over a 48 hr period the fish are going to come on the chew. It may be in the first night in which case we come home early or it maybe very scratchy for the fish day or so then fire up but generally we bag on a few species as that's what were there for. Now because of this we bagout i guess more often that most but we put in far more effort than most aswell so it balances out .

ian

26-05-2010, 02:47 PM
do winter whiting count?????? :)

26-05-2010, 05:03 PM
do winter whiting count?????? :)

50 is a hard task if you have 2 rods going when solo and then there is the cleaning to look forward to.

I would prefer a couple of better snapper as they are easier to clean but when whiting fishing I am more about conserving fuel and relaxing on the calmer waters. Beer in hand and crackers abound.

It appears that most would have a relaxed attitude to getting a bag full and really for a short trip are only after the couple of feeds.

I am not here to condemn nor judge in any way, those that bag out on one or more species.

I just feel that some more professional and even green or political opinions consider that us weekend fisherman are killing out species through our exuberance to over fish areas.

Many a day I have come back with nought for the table but my enjoyment on the water was not the less satisfying for not having to clean fish at the end of the day.

mangomick
26-05-2010, 05:43 PM
Two Cobia and your bagged out
6 tuskies
10 hussar
5 little stripies or spanish flag
Not really that hard really

26-05-2010, 06:14 PM
my enjoyment on the water was not the less satisfying for not having to clean fish at the end of the day.

Ain't that the truth!

I always find that cleaning a big fish is like having to clean and dress a sheep.

After one or two, the fun goes out of it. ::)

indy
26-05-2010, 06:31 PM
Lately we have been bagging on parrot and pearlies every trip but in saying this we also put in the time for example last trip left home 2am fished the sun up for nothing moved north for the rest of the day getting our bag of parrot then fished arvo getting bag of pearlies, slept there overnight for morning session way to rough for anymore fishing so we headed home at 7am with a good amount of fish between the two of us. So in that time we travelled about 150klm for 33 fish for two family's to enjoy for the next month.

timddo
26-05-2010, 07:44 PM
I bagged out on sharks. One fish and your there

26-05-2010, 09:29 PM
Lately we have been bagging on parrot and pearlies every trip but in saying this we also put in the time for example last trip left home 2am fished the sun up for nothing moved north for the rest of the day getting our bag of parrot then fished arvo getting bag of pearlies, slept there overnight for morning session way to rough for anymore fishing so we headed home at 7am with a good amount of fish between the two of us. So in that time we travelled about 150klm for 33 fish for two family's to enjoy for the next month.

I would have to admit that those trips are the more rare ones.
Overnighters for me are more about a hot feed on the gas cooker and a couple of beers then sleep through the night and get up early to chase the fish again.

26-05-2010, 09:33 PM
I bagged out on sharks. One fish and your there

Yep. Got me on a technicality there. I'm generalising about the more common reef and bay species

This is the first poll I have started so be kind.

NormC
26-05-2010, 10:50 PM
Difficult to answer. Several times a year we catch our limit and more of Barra, Fingermark and occasionally Black Jew. But to be honest we do this on less than 5% of fishing trips. But we have never kept out limit and rarely keep more than 2 Barra (limit is 5 per person, so 10 in total) 3 or 4 Fingermark (same limit as Barra) and 1 Jew (limit 2 per person).

We are fortunate to fish in an area of NT where it is possible to 'bag out' at times. Also fortunate enough to fish often enough to be able to release more than we keep on good days.

So my honest answer (and vote) is never.

Only thing I'm skiting about here is our good fortune in where we fish and how often we can do it.

Norm C

XtremeBoony
26-05-2010, 10:54 PM
Only bagged out on Barra in the gulf and then bagged out on fingermark twice from port alma. Just to say that some people see bagging out as killing our sport but the way I see it being from central QLD is that we get about 6 trips a year in if we are lucky so our soul purpose is to try and bring a feed home to get us to the next trip....

27-05-2010, 08:02 AM
I think this just goes to show that bag limits are a pretty ineffective method for preserving fish stocks. They may curb illegal shamatuer mongrels but would do little overall to improve fisheries

onerabbit
27-05-2010, 03:38 PM
I voted for the third option,

I dont really fish less than 60mtrs, so C and R doesnt really happen.

NSW bag limit for pearlies is 5, easily done in two drops when you find them,
snapper 10, not that hard either,

when the leatherjackets turn up you can catch your limit in 7-10 drops, not even a challenge..................

This doesnt mean that it is always that easy, we often come home with a very mixed bag,
but there are plenty of times when we need to count whats in the box and stay or move to a new spot accordingly.

Captain_Zero
27-05-2010, 07:59 PM
Your definition of always (50% or more) reminds me of a conversation I had with someone once during an internal audit at a former workplace. He thought he should get a rating of always if he did the job right about 80% of the time.

Anyway I have never bagged out on any species and rarely catch more than 2-3 fish to take home.

Spot82
27-05-2010, 09:11 PM
I said around 50% but in saying that it is usually only for one species not coral reef fin fish limit. For me a fishing trip these days is always at least 36 hours, often 60hrs in duration and most of that is spent fishing and travelling anywhere up to 300kms a trip. Usually only fish based on the almanac, moons and tides also and generally target cetrain species at certain times of the year in certain locations.

Having said this I have done many a trip where the esky looks very very lean, especially when chasing those red bastards!

Just as happy taking the tinny out in Hervey bay for a few hours for one trout and a coral bream, its not about bagging out, its about relaxation and enjoyment not filling the esky.

All fish caught is shared amoungst our extended family and close friends and we would only typically do one trip a month, so nothing goes to waste.

Anthony

odes20
28-05-2010, 11:30 AM
Bagged out on largemouth about 5 times in the last 5 years and had the whole crew (4 fisherman) bag out together in 1 hour on largemouth Nannygai just once. Wives wondered what went wrong to be home so early.

bagged out on coral trout occasionally over the years (personally) but only once in twenty yrs for a crew of 4.

In real terms, I don't seek to bag out as a value in my fishing.

odes20
28-05-2010, 11:34 AM
I said around 50% but in saying that it is usually only for one species not coral reef fin fish limit. For me a fishing trip these days is always at least 36 hours, often 60hrs in duration and most of that is spent fishing and travelling anywhere up to 300kms a trip. Usually only fish based on the almanac, moons and tides also and generally target cetrain species at certain times of the year in certain locations.

Having said this I have done many a trip where the esky looks very very lean, especially when chasing those red bastards!

Just as happy taking the tinny out in Hervey bay for a few hours for one trout and a coral bream, its not about bagging out, its about relaxation and enjoyment not filling the esky.

All fish caught is shared amoungst our extended family and close friends and we would only typically do one trip a month, so nothing goes to waste.

Anthony

I feel the same Anthony, especially being able to share some lovely fillet with friends who could never afford to buy it, and have no way of fishing themselves. Red Emporer $44.00 kg cairns Trout $49.00 kg!!

28-05-2010, 05:22 PM
I feel the same Anthony, especially being able to share some lovely fillet with friends who could never afford to buy it, and have no way of fishing themselves. Red Emporer $44.00 kg cairns Trout $49.00 kg!!

Quite often I will give away fillets and it's great to get the response that they are the best fillets they have ever had. I also tend to give them away to random customers as a treat for any reason. I normally give my fillets away to older people who are past the fishin charter thing or even never fished.

murf
28-05-2010, 05:38 PM

mmm I am thinking I have a lot of mates getting some mighty fine cheap feeds :)

nothing better than a doz or so friends around the fire out the back talking shit eating top notch fish and drinking a few beverages ;)

cheers Murf

odes20
28-05-2010, 06:47 PM
Its tragic that even rubbish fish costs about $9 KG
Even the shite fish they import at the gig grocery stores costs heaps.

ANGLA youre right about the comment "best fish weve ever tasted" It makes for more joy in fishing to be able to share.

I was posting in a thread in Freshwater some time ago and talking about giving fish away when you catch a good bag and I got ripped into for abusing fish stocks, but I think sharing good fish with others really counts and I hope I always
can do so.

Feral
29-05-2010, 07:05 AM
Every time I go Barra fishing in the closed season (on the dams) and pull one in, I'm bagged out. If I'm real lucky happens four or 5 times on a trip!

Bass Similar, I'll often troll one lure slowly, while casting at snags I'm going past, a double hookup is ya bag limit! I sometimes been embarassed by being over my bag limit when tagging (fish in the live tank) and not able to get fish back in the water quick enough before I get another hit.

Shark fishing also, every time you pull one in your bagged out.

Its not hard.

BaitThrower
30-05-2010, 07:33 AM
I sometimes bag out on sand flatties (bag limit of 5) and always bag out on Shark over summer (which is now bag limit of 1) :P

8astripey
31-05-2010, 05:12 PM
only bagged out once in the last 5 years. pulled up at spot x cape cap and bagged out in an hr on nanagi. mate and i tried for the next 2 hrs to catch another species and only caught nanagi. ;D moved twice and caught nothing for the next 2 hrs.
every other trip to the same area we have caught maybe 2 nanagi and a few parrot. normal catch is about 10 mixed reafies of a size worth bringing home.
still blowing every weekend i get off :(

31-05-2010, 05:22 PM
only bagged out once in the last 5 years. pulled up at spot x cape cap and bagged out in an hr on nanagi. mate and i tried for the next 2 hrs to catch another species and only caught nanagi. ;D moved twice and caught nothing for the next 2 hrs.
every other trip to the same area we have caught maybe 2 nanagi and a few parrot. normal catch is about 10 mixed reafies of a size worth bringing home.
still blowing every weekend i get off :(

That's about my sort of fishing. I may bag out on snapper (5) but just can't find other species so end up heading home happy with the catch.

REEF KINGS
31-05-2010, 08:25 PM
This i find strange all you guys talking about commercial fishermen taking to many fish in the saltwater section, but you are now all talking about bagging out, now i bet there is a shit load more recs out there that do more damage by so called bagging out every weekend which cant be right with fish in possesion, you work it out every day the weather is good there would be 90% more recs on the water taking fish from the water .

Feral
31-05-2010, 11:53 PM
This i find strange all you guys talking about commercial fishermen taking to many fish in the saltwater section, but you are now all talking about bagging out, now i bet there is a shit load more recs out there that do more damage by so called bagging out every weekend.

Not when possession limits are one or two fish. A limit of one fish, your "bagged out" every time you pull one on board. Whether your practicing catch and release or not.

01-06-2010, 07:28 AM
This i find strange all you guys talking about commercial fishermen taking to many fish in the saltwater section, but you are now all talking about bagging out, now i bet there is a shit load more recs out there that do more damage by so called bagging out every weekend which cant be right with fish in possesion, you work it out every day the weather is good there would be 90% more recs on the water taking fish from the water .

Are you suggesting everyone bags out on all species everytime they go fishing. My thoughts about pro's may include some that find a good spot will catch all they can......... Are they limited to 5 or even 1 of any species. It would be crazy to think a trawler would be limited to 50 whiting per person on board.
I respect that a pro is fishing for a community and a living and not just for his own table.

I don't really want to go here with the thread I started.
This is a generalised question based on what I find with my trip results. I am not searching for a comparison of pro's and rec's catch results. That would be the DPI's job I believe

8astripey
01-06-2010, 05:48 PM
bagging out once or twice a year isnt really the issue for me. its the wankers who go out every weekend that they can and fish for more than they can eat just so they feel the trip has paid for itself. i can go out 40 mile and catch 2 fish and still enjoy the day, others get pissed of if they dont get enough to pay for the fuel and bait and will stay out as long as it takes to get payback?.
and there are plenty of them out there.

Sea-Dog
01-06-2010, 08:51 PM
I once bagged out on garfish...

<hangs head in shame>

Converted some of them for something better.

odes20
04-06-2010, 01:31 PM
bagging out once or twice a year isnt really the issue for me. its the wankers who go out every weekend that they can and fish for more than they can eat just so they feel the trip has paid for itself. i can go out 40 mile and catch 2 fish and still enjoy the day, others get pissed of if they dont get enough to pay for the fuel and bait and will stay out as long as it takes to get payback?.

Maybe there are differnt points of view on this as well.
I think fishing started for food as in hunting and gathering, and has developed in some places in the earth to sportfishing.
If someone is a ###### for wanting to equal their dollar to the catch, then the whole world including the poor is full of millions of wankers?

Think it thru.

If someone is still a hunter and gatherer (as the vast mojority of fishers in the world are) and they do the maths to see if their trip is paying off in that respect than I think thats their business. I fish foir sport/recreation and to eat nice fish.

Calling people wankers becuse they go fishing to eat and not just for sport is a bit sideways to this thread and not real thoughtful either.

Dedicated sportfishos in general have no right to persecute the hunters for food.
As for those who get pissed off and stay out there to get value for dollar as a lifestyle I can't say Ive met any one like that.

8astripey
04-06-2010, 06:33 PM
Maybe there are differnt points of view on this as well.
I think fishing started for food as in hunting and gathering, and has developed in some places in the earth to sportfishing.
If someone is a ###### for wanting to equal their dollar to the catch, then the whole world including the poor is full of millions of wankers?

Think it thru.

If someone is still a hunter and gatherer (as the vast mojority of fishers in the world are) and they do the maths to see if their trip is paying off in that respect than I think thats their business. I fish foir sport/recreation and to eat nice fish.

Calling people wankers becuse they go fishing to eat and not just for sport is a bit sideways to this thread and not real thoughtful either.

Dedicated sportfishos in general have no right to persecute the hunters for food.
As for those who get pissed off and stay out there to get value for dollar as a lifestyle I can't say Ive met any one like that.

I would disagree with your point of view that there are many of us that fish are hunter gatherers.
Most people in Aust who fish out of a boat on the weekend could not be classed as hunter gatherers but oportunist who hope to catch a feed for the day. they do not rely on the catch to survive (as most would starve)
I would in no way class an Indian or Thai fisherman living of his catch as a ######. Or for that matter any pro fisho in aus, as that is their primary source of income. Nor do i class the majority of sportsfisher and amatures as wankers however i do know of at least 3 in my area that have freezers full of fish that would make a pro blush. these are the ones that go out and come back in the middle of the night with 200> 300kg in the box every weekend they can get out. would i class them as sportsfishos no
oportunists no, hunter gatherers no,
pillagers yes

odes20
04-06-2010, 07:46 PM
Fair comment I thought from your other post that there were plenty of that type out there, but you are saying you know three so I can understand your frustration about them.
Im suprised no one has informed Fisheries about that extreme?

Besides that I don't think their are many like them.

JOhn

onerabbit
04-06-2010, 09:10 PM
Hmmmm,

whenI spend the dollars involved to have a day at sea,
considering the cost of boat, rego, gear, bait and fuel that is involved for a days fishing,
I'm buggered if anyone is going to bag me for chasing a good box of fish for my efforts,
admittedly some of these trips are VERY profitable,
but many are only average,

few trips involve bagging out on more than one species, that is because not all types of fish will be on the bite at one time,
and if you are lucky enough to have one of those magic days when everything goes right....................WELL GOOD ONYA.....

For the ones who winge because they either are not good enough fishos,
or just cant be bothered to work as hard on a day out as others are,
well, the answer is simple.....

spend more time and money getting better at it,

Spot82
04-06-2010, 10:34 PM
Well they do say 10% of fisherman catch 90% of the fish, and I reckon this is true.

But every species is different, I know guys that can go nail x species on any given day be it one or two jacks or snapper or mackeral, each species is a completely different challenge to catch. Someone who is a great bream fisho might be a hopeless snapper fisho and vice versa.

trueblue
05-06-2010, 01:57 AM
If it is legal, and I can use it without wastage, I will take it. If I have too much to use personally, I will release it.

I'll be buggered if I will go out and release fish to then go and buy fish at the shops..........

05-06-2010, 06:56 PM
I bag out just about every time I chase snapper in PPB (3 fish over 450mm I think) Not so often with other species but it happens. Squid, every trip now and they taste great and make the best bait.

Amazing fishery the PPB snapper and on the doorstep of a capital city. How rare is that. They said at the start of the season that a light plane over head could see the cloud of red coming through the heads. Still rather be in Darwin though.

07-06-2010, 03:54 PM
Winter time's meat fishing time.

If I come home not bagged I'm not too happy.

5 pearl
5 snap

Hardly seems worth the drive now, only do a few of those trips each winter now because of it........

ssab1
07-06-2010, 07:33 PM
Who the hell are you to pass judgement on fish bag limits, wankers??? its people like you that are bringing the Fishing reports to its knees or haveny you noticed the lack of reports that get posted since a few WANKERS have came on this site and crucified those fishes that are merely abiding by the law and enjoying fishing as they choose, within the limits already imposed on them, if you dont like the regulations related to fishing become a politician (better known as wankers) and do your uttermost to change them otherwise give it a rest . cheers alex :o ::)

ssab1
07-06-2010, 07:37 PM
we might be strange as you say but be assured there are stranger people out there;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D cheers alex

8astripey
09-06-2010, 04:53 PM
Well i seemed to have stirred some people with my post, however i dont think you have read it in its context or maybe i have not explained myself correctly.
As for being a good a fisherman as some of those that are making comment i would not rate myself as being better than them and far from being close to the top but some think they may be.
heres a little story of how true professional wxxxxxxx work. these guys will leave most of us for dead as rank amatures , yes they have worked their knowledge base up over the last 10>20 years know every tide, moon when and where the fish are and bitting.
friday night and your on the reef with your 2 mates in a 7m boat. dropping the whiting baits over that you got your neighboures kids to catch . (payback is reef fish) nothing wrong with that except they may be undersized , who checks kids on bikes with buckets. a few blocks of pillies and some squid for starters.
No rods on this boat mate its all handlines and gloves. that box on the back has got to be filled. work the reef all night for trout and redrthroat and some of the deeper holes for reds if they are in. Morning is up and if the box has got its quota should have 200 to 300 kg of fish bagged out on a few species, if not lets keep going till mid morning. Box is full time to head in, get the missus's to meet us at the creek and shovel the fish in the trailer with the ice. shees on at the reef .
wives are bitchin cause they have to rotate the 100s lt fillets already in the freezers.
fill up with ice and bait and fuel and head out for sat night. sitting on the reef again by 7 and lets do it all over again.
sunday morning heading back with another load. sunday afternoon the wifes bitching about lack of freezer space, will maybe have to buy another freezer. put the barby on shout the neighbours a feed and give some of the old fillets out of the freezer to them.
hard workers these guys gotta give it to them not many of us would work as hard for a feed .
hey fellas the se's are dropping by next Sat get the boat ready fellas should be a another good run.
you wont find these guys writting in the ausfish forums or bushand beach fishing reports mate, only at work or down the pub bragging.

Platitudinus
09-06-2010, 08:24 PM
Interesting thread.
I have been an Ausfish member for only two years and have found the most reliable information when you ask a question comes from PM's. Its like a recent post from Smithy who said he didn't have a booking so he phoned round a few locals and they had a great day out. In the hands of professionals such as these we can all do well from time to time yet other threads here show that too many charter operators are rogues and dont care how well or even if you catch a fish. Hence many of us have our own boats and spend hours of enjoyment on the water, regardless of whether we 'bag out' or not. I fish charters a lot and when we target fish according to season, we usually bag out! When I fish on my own boat - its just not the same and yet still come home tired but happy.
I've even been out on mates boats 36 foot Rivieras etc with all the electronics you could wish for - no we have never bagged out even though we had the pro skippers marks as the 'amateur' skipper couldn't get the drifts right or didn't want to anchor up etc.
I suppose its like bad s*x - regardless of the hunt and chase, its still quite enjoyable!
Plato
Apologies for the lack of 'G' rating

Benben86
19-06-2010, 06:58 PM
Couldn't have said it better myself. Just enjoy it and take what ya need. Don't need to bag out to have fun. Though a full esky is quite nice every now and then.

19-06-2010, 07:39 PM
Good tale 8astripey.
I think your heart is in the right place.

26-06-2010, 11:41 PM
I could see this thread heading this way so I waited to post. For me I bag out rarely. I bag out rarely and I get out just as much. I am like the most out there that don't get to fish as often as I would like and because of that the catch rates suffer. Hence the 90%/10% rule. It will always be like that. Add to this weather, rainfall and all the other things that prevent us all from getting out like work and right there you have the best tool for fish management stocks out there.

As with above I think that Size and Bag limits ARE effective. So much so I highly doubt there is a better solution out there for managing fish stocks. If there is one I would love to hear about it.

In line with that I once asked why Mahi Mahi had such small bag limits concidering that they are one of if not the most prolific breeding and growing "eating fish" in the sea. I believe it was Smithy that said that part of the reason is when you do find them you could fill the boat with them "or words to that effect". That made me think about other species.

While there is still something inside me that says Mahi should be relaxed a little considering we would find it hard to diminish them with in possession limits twice as leanient.... Imagine how many people would go nuts on Snapper and Pearlies and Reds and everything else if..... on one of their few and far between trips they DID get onto them when they were on the bite??? Many would go nuts....

Yes size and bag limits do work imho. As someone said those that do bag out regularly dont come one these boards and they certainly don't fill out fisheries surveys just so a couple of desk scientists (vego's) can ponder how to strangle our way of life away from us.

nickstock
28-06-2010, 07:35 AM
Well i seemed to have stirred some people with my post, however i dont think you have read it in its context or maybe i have not explained myself correctly.
As for being a good a fisherman as some of those that are making comment i would not rate myself as being better than them and far from being close to the top but some think they may be.
heres a little story of how true professional wxxxxxxx work. these guys will leave most of us for dead as rank amatures , yes they have worked their knowledge base up over the last 10>20 years know every tide, moon when and where the fish are and bitting.
friday night and your on the reef with your 2 mates in a 7m boat. dropping the whiting baits over that you got your neighboures kids to catch . (payback is reef fish) nothing wrong with that except they may be undersized , who checks kids on bikes with buckets. a few blocks of pillies and some squid for starters.
No rods on this boat mate its all handlines and gloves. that box on the back has got to be filled. work the reef all night for trout and redrthroat and some of the deeper holes for reds if they are in. Morning is up and if the box has got its quota should have 200 to 300 kg of fish bagged out on a few species, if not lets keep going till mid morning. Box is full time to head in, get the missus's to meet us at the creek and shovel the fish in the trailer with the ice. shees on at the reef .
wives are bitchin cause they have to rotate the 100s lt fillets already in the freezers.
fill up with ice and bait and fuel and head out for sat night. sitting on the reef again by 7 and lets do it all over again.
sunday morning heading back with another load. sunday afternoon the wifes bitching about lack of freezer space, will maybe have to buy another freezer. put the barby on shout the neighbours a feed and give some of the old fillets out of the freezer to them.
hard workers these guys gotta give it to them not many of us would work as hard for a feed .
hey fellas the se's are dropping by next Sat get the boat ready fellas should be a another good run.
you wont find these guys writting in the ausfish forums or bushand beach fishing reports mate, only at work or down the pub bragging.

I do not know of a single commercial fisherman who targets Trout at night?

D river
02-11-2010, 06:38 PM
I bag out on target species most reef trips I do,I only get about 6-8 trips in a yr and do an average of 200km a trip and I dive and line fish for my fish, I know where when n how to chase what I want and work hard for it and be f*cked if some w*nker guna tell me that my (or any other rec up this way) few bag outs a yr can be compared to what the pro's take. I'm definately the bloke who is totally p*ssed off if I dont get a good haul each time as I refuse to eat the rubish served at fish shops and me n my family like to eat fish twice a week and who enjoys catching nothing be f*cked if I know any1 that enjoys sitting round catching f*ck all. If you do know some1 (and I doubt you do) that has a big enough boat to get out every weekend and fish comfortable enough to do any good (300kg of fillets) up this way then pm me his number cause I'd be keen to get out on a trip or at least buy some decent fillets off him when I run out. I recon that most (not all) of the people who winge about blokes getting there bag limits are useless jealous w*nkers that have no idea, Learn how to look for the fish your chasing n how to catch them n you'll prob complain less.

Hey scotty you can fillet them reds when the fillet is over 400 just leave the skin on, hope that helps ya fit a few more in the esky mate.

05-11-2010, 05:34 AM
or at least buy some decent fillets off him when I run out.

I sincerely hope it's just your passion talking (which I share), and not actually your intention to participate in the black market (which I and I would hope everyone else, don't share).

05-11-2010, 06:23 AM
If you do know some1 (and I doubt you do) that has a big enough boat to get out every weekend and fish comfortable enough to do any good (300kg of fillets) up this way then pm me his number cause I'd be keen to get out on a trip or at least buy some decent fillets off him when I run out.:o >:(

I have no issue with people who stick within the rules but your attitude does not sit well with me:P . If the only gauge of success is killing over half a ton of fish then I feel you just don't get the true enjoyment of fishing that many of us experience. If the value of your trips are only measured by the weight of fish brought home then you are much poorer than most of the fishos I know who can get a great buzz from a couple of nice fish and just being in the environment they love.

As for your support for the black market ferals I feel nothing but contempt for you:-?