View Full Version : bad fishing bribie

jpcqw1
09-05-2010, 06:17 PM
went to bribie today bad weather no fish I would not reconmend going there till the weather is great hopless fishing in bribie with bad weather, cheerrs:smiley:

LostNearBribie
09-05-2010, 06:50 PM
That's not a good report mate.
Where were you, what were you doing, what were you fishing for?
We might be able to offer some help...

Tailortaker
09-05-2010, 06:52 PM
Bad weather ?:huh: it was nice here all day. But even so i find it fishes better with bad weather :undecided:

09-05-2010, 08:28 PM
Tuesday brings in the westerly changes with Wednesday being a real gusty event.....time for me to get serious about fishing again. Gotta love those biting cold westerlies and gusts that pass straight through you.

flatzie
09-05-2010, 08:53 PM
Thats the most "give up" report Ive heard for a long time. With Bribie there are lots of opportunities to get in the lee of the wind especially in the Passage.
You gotta work hard at fishing, trying with lures, baits and SPs etc. Once you figure an area out you will always have options, and fish in your esky.
Keep trying!
Flatzie

jpcqw1
10-05-2010, 11:31 PM
yea thanks just every time i go there I never seem to get no more than 1 fish if your will to help me tell me what i should be doing and some good spots that would be great .

I seemed to have tryed every think to like: floated pillies, metal lures, other baits. soft plastics, berley, oil, pillies with weight so they would sink to the bottom the only thing I didnt try was trolling which i think is quite hard in 10m of water lol

dredger
11-05-2010, 04:12 PM
Sh#t buddy hope I do better than you ,I'm going ( now) thursday for a flick going back to some old haunts , hopefully producing still. you at the southern end or up mission way? laz :shocked:

But any advice I take it all you guy's, I love it when I get good advice, Makes the day so much better.:cool:
Any one going by just give a hoy I wont ignore you .:grin: http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/icons/icon14.gif

flatzie
11-05-2010, 04:38 PM
There is a wealth of hard learned knowledge on here re how to fish estuaries etc easily found thru a search on here.
Soft plastics are very effective in the Passage and almost every week people are reporting good catches up there.
Look up Posts by me and particularly the one on how to catch on SPs
Hope it helps.
And theres lots of other great fishos info on these subjects as well.
Flatzie

BOMBER
11-05-2010, 04:42 PM
Bribie is a great spot very rarely do I go there without catching a fish I find the best way to fish most of Bribie is look for drop offs that run up onto sand banks throw gulps or vibes in these areas, the canals are also great to fish I usually use vibes here throwing them to the backs of the pontoons and retrieving them under the pontoon putting in a few flicks and hops, also the boat hulls in Elimbah creek throwing vibes or hardbodies past and along the hulls and working them back past the hull a sure fire method for a few Bream. And if you troll in 10 mtrs of water get a lure that dives close to this depth plenty there to try so you should be able to catch something if you try hard enough useing a few of the methods described, I never use bait so the guys on this site that do maybe more help in this area than I.

The Bomber

dredger
11-05-2010, 05:50 PM
:undecided: Ok at this time of the year ( this week ) thursday, what would you suggest I target, remembering have not been hear for awhile. I myself would like a few flatie's, whiting secondly.That would be my day Not crabbing as don't reckon much to be around ( cool). Will start at the beacon front of passage work up the passage to a few places that where my favourite haunts years ago.
Any advice , change of fish to target etc ?:undecided:

Laz
Hey Flatzie your posts how do I get there, are they video or written?

New alert, the boss is now comming and wants a yabbie bait so will be up river at the low tide, whiting still around are they?

Geezs I hate this she out fishes me.

hungry6
11-05-2010, 06:28 PM
Flaties are going crazy at the mouth of Ningi atm, and there some decent size flounder getting caught on shallow sand bank.

flatzie
11-05-2010, 08:00 PM
You search for my name, or right click on my avatar and then find posts etc
Flatzie

11-05-2010, 08:57 PM
Thursday is looking good for weather and tides for the passage. Flathead are the mainstay at the moment and are easily targetted. Look for anomalies in the sandbars and banks. Often times you will find a cut through in a set of sandbanks that drops into some deeper water downcurrent from the cut through. These places ALWAYS hold numbers of flathead.
Anywhere from Ningi Creek north to Tripcony Bight is prime target areas for lots of flathead.
The same area also has excellent whiting territory even though the summer whiting are tapering off at the moment. Look for feed banks on a rising tide with live yabbies as bait. Feed banks are shallow channels that cover with water soon after the tide starts to come in, not the tops of banks that eventually go under. Many people look for the banks and miss out somewhat.

Bream can be found anywhere you find a snag, mud bottom, shell grit bottom or channel, they are always plentiful if you take your time and target them properly.

Fishbait
11-05-2010, 09:40 PM
There's always fish at Bribie! You just need to get to know the area and then target the species your chasing properly (tides, time of day, location etc etc). It takes time but the fish are there. As Flatzie and others have said, just read the other estuary reports and what folk have added to this post already, and you should do better next time. Better luck next time your out.

dredger
14-05-2010, 09:17 AM
:cry: Well guy's went for me fish at the passage, and looks like I'd better get into the practice a bit more, as Had not much luck but had a great day beside that, weather was bloody terrific, water great, tides I thought where good company good. Fished from bullcock creek to the southern end of Bribie admittedly fished most of my old haunts, and not much chop. we got a feed, but nothing exciting.
Bitten and broken by something big at the passage southern end, could'nt get the rod out of the holder Geez's went off big three times, bringing bigger line next time.:shocked: till next time :cool: