View Full Version : Spin Stick for Spaniards and Tuna

devocean
04-05-2010, 05:59 PM
Gday boys

After a new spin stick to chase spanish and big longtails. Unlike you lucky buggers I live a good 200km from a decent tackle shop so i need some quality ausfish advice(hasnt let me down yet). I want something at least 7 foot long around the 10 -15kg mark that will throw a little slug a fair way. Its is matched up to an 8000 spin reel and will cop a decent hammering from the odd big GT (hate those things bloody gea destroyer)as well.
I have heard the T Curves are a nice rod . I have used live fibres in the past but a change would be nice.

Any help appreciated.

marty+jojo
04-05-2010, 06:10 PM
E GRELL S10H contact ausfish member (The Bear), i'm sure he could post you one.
I have 2 of his rods, they are quality.
Marty.

bluefin59
04-05-2010, 06:29 PM
Yep as Marty said s10 h is greatits what Ouse ,I have a 4500 saltiga on mine it's a weapon ......Matt

Sevric
05-05-2010, 06:04 AM
The lightest loomis Pro Blue spin stick would also be worth a look; i think it is rated to 25LB. I use the 30lb model for heavy work but doubt it would throw a light slug. The lighter model 25lb would be far better at this.

dodgyone
05-05-2010, 08:01 AM
TCurve Kingmack Spin would also fit your description.

LostNearBribie
05-05-2010, 08:13 AM
Put me in the Egrell line mate.
It would be the lightest of the rods listed already.

www.egrell.com.au

I have a Samurai NV9 with a 8000 sustain on it that is a multi purpose rod.
It feels like a tree compared to a S10H.

Do you have a budget in mind for the rod mate?

snodger 08
05-05-2010, 06:08 PM
Gotta agree. The Egrell is top stuff and good after sales backup

devocean
05-05-2010, 06:48 PM
Id like to keep it under 500 bucks if I can but i dont mind paying for quality. I do like the loomispro blue range though I have heard good things about the bear rods. I have heard good things about their impondment rods as well. Will the S10 have enough power to stop a decent GT?

GPB
05-05-2010, 10:17 PM
What size is a decent GT?
I use a Egrell PopaBeaR as a medium PE4 popping / spinning / heavy duty plastic outfit and if I score a 15-20kg GT on it I will very happy.
There are also some top Gary Howard rods out there which may suit you.

Here is the top end of the BeaR range
S10 Heavy + 7'4-10kg (8-20lb)7-30g(1/4-1oz)Uniquely dezigned with a lightweight tip for casting weighted and unweighted 4-5" soft-plastics with the fighting capabilities there when needed. Great for Snapper but is more than capable of fighting Tuna and Barramundi.
S10-H Heavy ++ 7'6-12kg (12-24lb)9-42g(3/8-11/2oz)A heavier version of the S10 with all the fighting attributes needed for fighting longtail Tuna as well as the offshore species such as Snapper, Amberjack, Kingfish etc. Also a great spin style points casting rod for impoundment barra. Now available with choice of split grip configuration.
"BeaR Metal" Heavy + 7' 8-10kg(16-20lb) 30-80g(1-2 7/8oz)A rod dezigned for the Angler who likes to high-speed spin for the palegic species.
"BeaR Essential"Heavy ++ 7' 8-15kg (20-30lb) This rod has been introduced to give the offshore angler a powerful rod to work heavy jigheads for deeper water presentations. Ideal rod for tackling bottom dwellers such as Coral Trout and Red Emporer.
"Poppa BeaR"Extra Heavy + 7'10-15kg (20-30lb)50-120g(1 3/4-4 1/4oz) A rod dezigned for casting and working popper style lures up to 120gm.

Steve B
06-05-2010, 08:04 PM
Id like to keep it under 500 bucks if I can but i dont mind paying for quality. I do like the loomispro blue range though I have heard good things about the bear rods. I have heard good things about their impondment rods as well. Will the S10 have enough power to stop a decent GT?

Agree with all the lads....S10...it will stop a decent GT, and it will also double up as an impoundment rod or plastic jigging rod if need be!!

If in doubt, go a bigger version like the S10H or the BeaR metal.

Cheers Steve

Kev_McC
09-05-2010, 06:33 AM
The egrells are the best casting and fighting tools out there but I think you might be chasing something heavier than the S10H. The lures you're casting will in part determine which one is right for you. If you want to cast metals/poppers upwards of 40-50g then go the poppa model. I reckon an 8000 size reel would feel too big on an 10H as well

Daintreeboy
10-05-2010, 03:20 PM
The T-Curve Kingmack spin or probably better the bluewater spin in either 10-15 kilo as you want or 15 to 24 kilo size.

devocean
12-05-2010, 06:55 PM
I have narrowed it down to the T Curve King mack but I am interested in the
G Loomis Pro-Blue Series Saltwater Rod PBR844S 7' 1pc

(sorry about the big text copied and pasted) Anyone want to shed some light on this rod for throwing small slugs. I have three other Loomis rods and they are awesome but nothing this big.

megalongzilli
14-05-2010, 01:07 PM
The 844S is a beast of a rod. I own the 963S which is a little lighter in line class than the 844 and 1 foot longer and can confidently say that these rods have a lot of power.

I have comfortably cast 80 gram cup faced poppers with this rod and it seems to work them reasonable well.

I have cast slugs as light as 30 grams and 1/2 ounce plastics but if you want to get any distance the lightest would be about 40 grams.

So what is your definition of a "little" slug. Anything say 30 or under and i would say this is not the right rod for your needs.

Although i will say if you intend to match it up with an 8000 shimano it would be a well matched, versatile combo.

shanejohnson
14-05-2010, 07:41 PM
I have the loomis 844s pro blue as well and it is a real powerfull stick for its rating and weight. 10kg max drag. I have an SW 8000 on it . The spool on the stella is big so i had a bigger stripper guide put on it and it casts much better. Also had a gimbal cap fitted which makes it a verstile big fish killer. Recently a mate bought a catalina 7"6" pe5 rod for his sw10000, and we pulled 14kg of drag over it . One of the best rods i have felt. Bit longer for casting.

devocean
16-05-2010, 07:38 PM
Hey guys

Interesting development today, spoke to a guide who has been using a couple of T Curve Kingmack spins and he is not impressed at all with the quality with plenty of issues with the guides especially. I guess catching GTs all day is going to take its toll but other rods have stood up a lot better.

16-05-2010, 09:19 PM
What did he suggest?

devocean
18-05-2010, 03:04 PM
He suggested I go with a Custom Bob Spees rod (whitsunday bloke) I did see the TCurves they looked pretty bad.The epoxy or glue around the runners were not to good.

dog tooth
18-05-2010, 05:03 PM
check out the daiwa catilina stick

scuttlebutt
20-05-2010, 01:13 PM
Far as I know the guides used on the T-curves are all Fuji SiC which are probably the best guide available.

Would be interesting to know what problems the guide was talking about, or was it just a binding issue? Spose they are a mass-produced rod but I've got a couple of the baitcaster style T-curves and love em.

finlayson
20-05-2010, 10:53 PM
I use a 10-15kg t curve bluewater(7.6ft) with a stradic 6000. great rig, has never let me down.."work horse", great casting ability weather its on the beach of the rocks or in the boat, good feel and control even when you are casting 70g+ slugs or 40g- . also well priced for what you get IMO i payed $319 for mine. As for the guides i haven't had any issues there at all, might of been a bad batch and im sure if that was the case they would be warranty covering that. On the other side of the coin if you bye a loomis you will be handing it down to your kids:grin:

dodgyone
21-05-2010, 07:54 AM
Must of been a bad batch.
I have the TCurve Kingmack Spin and cant rave about it enough. Does everything from jigging to casting metals to tuna, trolling deep divers and throwing poppers. Definately my go to rod for all occasions.
Mine has had a full esky dropped on it in the boat and had a couple of guides squashed. Straightened out and reepoxyed and kept going. Also left a deepdiver on there once and the trebles wore through the clear into the blank. Been lent to new deckies that have highsticked it and Ive ducked and waited for the bang but still intact. Mine is probably on its 4th season and been well used (and abused).

Have seen a few of the Overhead with major problems though. Got no idea how one can be great and the next just rubbish.

GPB
21-05-2010, 08:17 AM
Never heard of a problem with std model T-Curves, I have owned many of the different models and still have some well worked ones 6-8 years old, their was a problem with the 1st batch of 'GT Specials' where some guide bindings came apart on a couple of rods being used [and abused] on charter in the Coral Sea, the problem was rectified straight away :smiley: .
I think the 'Guide' may have his own agenda :undecided:.

devocean
21-05-2010, 11:01 AM
I went with the Loomis Pro Blue as I got it for under 300 so it made the decision a little easier. This was definetly a one off report about the Tcurve and I have heard far more glory stories than bad ones on this rod. Hopefully I will put a bend in it this weekend !!!

dodgyone
21-05-2010, 06:23 PM
As good as the TCurve is I would have bought a Pro Blue for $300 as well. Any more where you got that one from????

devocean
21-05-2010, 06:43 PM
Ill check it out