View Full Version : New 4WD and paint protection
Synful
19-04-2010, 09:50 PM
Evening guys,
Wondering if you can help me; finally made up my mind and have gone for a new PK Ranger 4x4 which should be here by the end of May.
One thing that I am totally confused about is the proposition of paint protection; there seems to be a lot of guys that have opinions either way. There's a lot of people who say that it's just dealers making $$$ out of a sale and the buyers pride at the end of the day.
Then again, there seems to be a similar number of people who feel that the paint protection stuff is worth the $$$ and they wouldn't be without it :-/
The dealer is trying to get me to go for the VIP Crystal Elements 4x4 pack for $2695.00 which to me seems to be VERY expensive (includes electronic and spray rust prevention) . I checked with Tint-A-Car and they will do a paint protection system along with electronic rust protection and an under vehicle anti-rust spray with the tint of my choice for $1600 give or take. At $1000.00 cheaper like most, you'd be a fool to not consider what the differences are.
The main ones that i can find is that the Crystal Elements only needs to be applied once where the Tint-A-Car solution seems to be something that needs to be re-done every 6 to 12 months.
My research indicates that using Johnsons baby shampoo is the best stuff to wash your car with and the Meguires wax and polish range the best for maintaining the duco.
So the big question; have any of you sprung for the VIP pack and was it worth it; also are there any viable alternatives? Secondly, I think the spray rust prevention is worth it, but considering what we drive over on dirt roads, am I right considering the amount of dust and rocks that will be flying up and hitting the underside of the chassis?
Thirdly, are the electronic rust prevention units worth it (jury seems to be out on them as well)?
Obviously, if you go through salt, then a wash down with fresh water ASAP similar to our boat trailers is in order.
White Pointer
19-04-2010, 10:18 PM
Don't spend any of it. It is a total rip off. If you want proof ask the dealer to double the manufacturers warranty on paint and corrosion even if you never wash it. That should shut them up.
White Pointer
Yeah don't be sucked into that shite mate,give it the ounce over with Meguires Wet look polish when you get it......as for the rust protection...well if you drive on the beach frequently do it if not don't bother.
$2600 will buy a lot of polish,did you go a metalic paint or plain? metalic's are the one's that you need to look after more due to the clearcoats usually.......my next 4x4 will definatly be plain ol white,
Synful
19-04-2010, 10:41 PM
Dan & WhitePointer - thanks for your opinions; I think that I will probably go with the spray rustproofing to be honest; that is on my current Falcon which has absolute minimal rust over the 12 years that I've had it and 5 to 10 of that has been near salt in coastal environments.
That in itself is a good indicator of it's effectiveness; IF rust does start to come into it a bit, then I can always look at a Couplertec further down the road to try halt it in the tracks.
Dan, have gone with the Black Mica paint; so looks like I have some work cut out for me washing and polishing etc. :-)
I'd still like to hear from more members on this issue though; so please keep 'em coming!
BLACK MICA!!!!!!!!! Jesus you'll be forever cleaning it.
My Cruiser is that deep cheery red mica......what a mongrel colour it all ways looks dirty......prolly cos it is LOL.
Are you getting it in Cairns or Mareeba? apparently Mareeba is supposed to do better deals?......How's that Dory going? getting out and about?
Cheers Dan
Steeler
20-04-2010, 01:17 AM
Synful
Don't do it,in some cases and in particular entry level " new " priced vehicles dealers make more loading you up with all that stuff than what they actually make from the vehicle itself.
Steeler
20-04-2010, 04:49 AM
No, don't do it!!! Total waste of money.
Just wash it and polish it yourself when it needs it. Buy $2,700 worth of fishing kit. Much more fun, much better result.
Synful
20-04-2010, 05:25 AM
BLACK MICA!!!!!!!!! Jesus you'll be forever cleaning it.
My Cruiser is that deep cheery red mica......what a mongrel colour it all ways looks dirty......prolly cos it is LOL.
Are you getting it in Cairns or Mareeba? apparently Mareeba is supposed to do better deals?......How's that Dory going? getting out and about?
Cheers Dan
Gday Dan,
Yeah, a 4WD that looks dirty - who'd of thought?8-):thumbsup:
But in all seriousness, all the washing and polishing will help to keep the paint work protected!! I know that black is probably the worst colour to have from that perspective but I really love it.
Getting it from Cairns mate, getting a full tank of diesel and some heavy duty floor mats for the front and rear plus, quote the sales guy, "whatever is lying around" when I pick it up thrown in. Once I get the paint protection etc. removed, it comes down to just over $38k, so I'm happy with that for an XLT.
Yeah the dory is good, wish that I could just co-ordinate the Minister for Finance's work shifts and the weather a bit better - might get out more often! :-X Still, I have a 5 year old little boy now who loves coming along so he's got the bug, the trips will increase as the years go by and when we get the Ranger; there's so many camping trips being planned as well :-)
Synful
20-04-2010, 05:29 AM
No, don't do it!!! Total waste of money.
Just wash it and polish it yourself when it needs it. Buy $2,700 worth of fishing kit. Much more fun, much better result.
Geez, thanks Tim - now there's a man who thinks like me and never a truer word spoken!!
Synful
20-04-2010, 05:36 AM
Synful
Don't do it,in some cases and in particular entry level " new " priced vehicles dealers make more loading you up with all that stuff than what they actually make from the vehicle itself.
Steeler
Hi Steeler, thanks for your comment.
I really thought that this was the case, sweet "Jesus H tap-dancing Christ" - $2600.00 for bloody paint, rust and upholstery protection??
I had the spray on my Falcon when I got that some 12 years ago and it has minimal rust in it after being around salt air for a good 7 or so years so I think that it a good enough testimony from that perspective.
Mr__Bean
20-04-2010, 07:51 AM
With a 5 year old I would consider doing the Scothguard upholstery protection yourself, it really does help when you need to mop up a potential stain on the seat fabric.
And it is so simple to do when the seats are new.
- Darren
I remember looking into paint protection , they told me at nissan that they only do the inside of the doors and under the bonnet.. its a total crock... don't waste ur cash. AND... after i told the lady it was BS she halfed the price!! ... must be worth it if you can half the price in a matter of minutes... i still told her to jam it LOL.
Jas
BenDover
20-04-2010, 08:59 AM
I wouldnt even bother with the rust sprays/injections. Definately get the electric rust proofing though. You can never stop the rust just slow it down and with electronic it takes roughly 7 times longer.
A mate about 10 years ago got a electronic rust system cheap if he promoted it and displayed it to all the guys at his 4x4 club. He sand blasted 2 towballs back to bare metal and we went up the beach for a week. 1 was hooked up and 1 wasnt. After 1 night you could see the rust starting to form. After 3 nights it had a coating all over it. After a week even after wire brushing it, it had gone deep into the steel. Nothing at all on the electrolic 1 even after driving it into salt water.
The more you get to know your 4x4 the better you will find all the places sand and mud will hide.
20-04-2010, 09:48 AM
Yep, ditch the package but get the Scotchguard on the inside.
Well worth it with a youngster.
themissus
20-04-2010, 10:30 AM
Our water usage has increased by 25% since buying my black ute and it's only a weekender. Black cars looks schmick when they're clean though!!8-)
As has been said paint protection is a crock.
Have a look at after market electronic rust protection. It will more that likely be cheaper and a better product. The holden e/rust protection has a 10 warranty for the original owner but only 5 years for the second owner..... pfftt.
Enjoy the new ride
Cheers Kim.
FrogBat
20-04-2010, 10:36 AM
I like your signature Kim.
I'm sure Satan thinks that with me.
At least my ex-husband did.
White Pointer
27-04-2010, 09:18 PM
Geez, thanks Tim - now there's a man who thinks like me and never a truer word spoken!!
But you bought a black one and you will be forever polishing out the tiny scratches that would never show on a white or pale silver car.
I suggest that you get the rust prrofing oil sprayed all over it and NEVER wash it off. That should preserve it forever, nobody will ever steal it and that give you heaps more time for fishing.
We have solutions for every problem!
White Pointer
27-04-2010, 10:01 PM
Andrew we have an 2002 model car here that had a hard paint protection covering of some type sprayed on it when bought new, it certainly works! I do not like the way they covered plastic as well as some discolouration can be seen but the paint proper is still in tip top condition because of whatever was sprayed on it.
It scratches white (black car), can be buffed out to disappear where if it where bare paint a person could be in trouble, i only bothered to try on one because of what the car is to us but think it could be brought back to near new even now.
if you ever plan to actually use the 4wd in the future and got a specialist spray shop to do the job I guess when you do sell it might more than pay for it's self.
For the first and often the second owner the underbody/rust sprays are nothing but rip as are those electronic rust protection thingies...ever read the disclaimers in warranty on those things!!
PS if you buy your new car never never ever never ever use a cutting compound on it and never never ever let anyone 'professional' like a detailer use a cutting compound on it either...ever never ever!!!...unless it's a repair job. Hope i am not coming across too soft:cheesy::smiley:
I like these new smilies
27-04-2010, 11:11 PM
why no cutting compound? i cut the christ outa my 2 new prado's to help reduce the peel in them. if its done properly and followed up with lighter compounds to combat the swirls a heavy creates, it looks awesome!!!!! in the wrong hands, it will be a disaster.
here a story i did a while back, might help ya.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=151824
cheers lippa
Synful
28-04-2010, 05:42 AM
But you bought a black one and you will be forever polishing out the tiny scratches that would never show on a white or pale silver car.
Very true WP; however I couldn't say no, the black is just so bad ass and looks awesome - at least I have something to do now on the days when I have to baby sit the kids and or the weather goes to shit stopping me getting the tinny out :wink:
I intend to have the vehicle for the next 10 years anyway, so it will be getting a good lovin' with fortnightly washing and waxing whether or not I like it.
Synful
28-04-2010, 05:58 AM
Andrew we have an 2002 model car here that had a hard paint protection covering of some type sprayed on it when bought new, it certainly works! I do not like the way they covered plastic as well as some discolouration can be seen but the paint proper is still in tip top condition because of whatever was sprayed on it.
It scratches white (black car), can be buffed out to disappear where if it where bare paint a person could be in trouble, i only bothered to try on one because of what the car is to us but think it could be brought back to near new even now.
if you ever plan to actually use the 4wd in the future and got a specialist spray shop to do the job I guess when you do sell it might more than pay for it's self.
Thanks Scott;
I ended up not going for any paint protection as my reasoning was thus:
"Sooner or later be it from a stone chip, trolley, or a hanging vine; the paint work is going to get chipped, scratched or generally damaged".
Now the thing is that none of these things was covered in the warranty by the paint protection and the aftermarket chick couldn't come up with anything to disagree with me so she backed off on that one. Hell, we don't buy a 4WD to have it sitting the driveway "looking pretty"...
Let's face it, if we go off road, then the likelihood of something scratching the car is pretty high and spending $xxxx on paint protection when the warrantly doesn't cover it is silly considering that the protection has to be re-applied at my cost. If I was buying an XR6/HSV or a sedan then yes, I could see some wisdom in getting it, but not on a 4WD.
I will be parking away from the crowds at shopping centres so I don't have to deal with the soccer mom with the brat that HAS to push the trolley which manages to go right along the side of my car; might lose a bit of the gut as well that way :rolleyes:
I did spring for the sound deadening and also the underbody rust spray as well, this should cover that pretty well.
Once i get the tax cheque back; I'll be springing for an ARB bullbar and a UHF radio and she'll be pretty much fully kitted out at that point.:cool:
Good luck with the colour - I've had a hate/hate relationship with a black mica subaru over the last few years.
Enjoy taking a long loving last look at it at the dealers - cause it ain't going to look that good again.......
28-04-2010, 07:54 AM
Good you have it all sorted Andrew sounds good, bet you cannot wait! finally a 4wd that can tow my boat to the ramp for overnighters:)
Synful
28-04-2010, 08:55 AM
Good you have it all sorted Andrew sounds good, bet you cannot wait! finally a 4wd that can tow my boat to the ramp for overnighters:)
Yeah, got that right - down to close to a month now pending no hold ups in shipping / customs should have it in my possession by the 29th May with a bit of luck.
It's the only Ranger getting to Cairns before the end of June by the looks of it; last one they got here didn't even last a day before it was sold...
Crocodile
28-04-2010, 10:17 AM
Be very wary of electronic rust systems.
I had a unit fitted and the car went very rusty.
When I complained to the manufacturer he gave a spray can of fisholene!
Some may work but how are you going to know?
gr hilly
28-04-2010, 10:21 AM
i do know it is a giant ripp off the best protection for your paint is a product called liquid polymer sealant you apply like car polish once you have used it you will see what happens when you wash your car the dirt or salt just hoses off and i still recon spray under with diesel and drive on a dirt road and then repeat the process it has stopped my 25 yr old land cruiser getting rust and i go on the beach all the time i do this twice a year.
hilly
28-04-2010, 12:13 PM
why no cutting compound? i cut the christ outa my 2 new prado's to help reduce the peel in them. if its done properly and followed up with lighter compounds to combat the swirls a heavy creates, it looks awesome!!!!! in the wrong hands, it will be a disaster.
here a story i did a while back, might help ya.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=151824
cheers lippa
Yeah i guess it's each to their own but if one is to keep the car it's the only plan, only way the paint will still shine like new in 30 years time all other things being equal.
Every day i see older cars on the road with faded through paint for being loved to death by the early owners armed with a cutting compound, these are always right along the easy parts of each panel to reach, the middle of the bonnet and roof for instance will still look as good as the day it was made ...if a polishing was still worth it.
Polish is all that's ever need, one with a mineral base preferred then a person can go from there with a wax but for me waxing is a waste of my life I prefer a once a year polish applied every 6 months.
28-04-2010, 12:15 PM
i do know it is a giant ripp off the best protection for your paint is a product called liquid polymer sealant you apply like car polish once you have used it you will see what happens when you wash your car the dirt or salt just hoses off and i still recon spray under with diesel and drive on a dirt road and then repeat the process it has stopped my 25 yr old land cruiser getting rust and i go on the beach all the time i do this twice a year.
hilly
Hilly, what's the best way to spray the diesel? used to do the same with boat trailers, a brush had those covered.
I have been using Nu finish polymer, on one car I bought almost new in the late 80s i kept in various forms of use from everyday to unregistered and stored down the back under a fruit bat tree until just 3 years ago when I gave the reliable old girl away, nu finish kept the paint like new even till the last and i only applied it twice a year and inbetween the rain washed it clean!
Not the same stuff i know but the same result I suspect.
Jabba_
28-04-2010, 05:49 PM
I wouldnt even bother with the rust sprays/injections. Definately get the electric rust proofing though. You can never stop the rust just slow it down and with electronic it takes roughly 7 times longer.
A mate about 10 years ago got a electronic rust system cheap if he promoted it and displayed it to all the guys at his 4x4 club. He sand blasted 2 towballs back to bare metal and we went up the beach for a week. 1 was hooked up and 1 wasnt. After 1 night you could see the rust starting to form. After 3 nights it had a coating all over it. After a week even after wire brushing it, it had gone deep into the steel. Nothing at all on the electrolic 1 even after driving it into salt water.
The more you get to know your 4x4 the better you will find all the places sand and mud will hide.
Mid Febuary my trailer jumped off my tow ball and the anchor plowerd straight into my tail gate denting it and gouging right back to bare metal... I have electronic rust proofing and 10 weeks later there is not one spot off surface rust on the bare metal gouges.. I live 1km from the broadwater, and my Navara spends its weekends at the boat ramp....
Electronic rust proofing is the best money I have spent on the Navara...
BenDover
28-04-2010, 06:10 PM
Yep, exactly right Jabba_, There are good ones and cheap ass bad ones. I think the 1 crocodile is refering too is the ones that have anoids fitted to every panel that claim that the rust is drawn to the anoids and it rusts instead of the panel itself. Which is B/S. There is only about 3 good ones made for 4x4's. But, this being a boating and fishing site aswell. Im sure there are heaps of guys that have different types.
As a side note. Dont EVER use fisholine on your 4x4 (channels, chassi, whatever) As what happens is it sticks like you know what to a blanket. And all the sand and salt mixes and sticks to the oil. Then the oil dries out leaving an extremely hard surface to clean with serious rust issues if not addressed in time.
28-04-2010, 06:22 PM
I will be parking away from the crowds at shopping centres so I don't have to deal with the soccer mom with the brat that HAS to push the trolley which manages to go right along the side of my car; might lose a bit of the gut as well that way :rolleyes:
You can be the only car in the carpark well away from the entrance......and you come out and find someone has parked beside you.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :cry: :cry: :angry: :angry:
Anyway, back to the subject......the paint protection I haven't worried about in the past, but electronic rust protection was a major player for me. Had it now on 2 vehicles, 1 new (rodeo). Used both in all salt conditions (took a wave over the rodeo) and highly recommend the use of ERPS.
My rodeo was days old before its first scratch from the bush. That's what they're for -->4wding.
Good luck with the Ranger.
Wags
Jabba_
28-04-2010, 06:30 PM
I'm not sure what rustproofing unit have as it was dealer fitted,,, But it does have 2 wires running from it, one attached to the chassis and the other to the radiator support panel...
Obviously its working very well for the gouges are as far from the the electronic source as possible and there is still no rust....
I was going to have it repaired a month ago, but now I am curious how long it is going to take to get some surface rust on the gouges..... I am prepared to wait 6 months.....
Synful
28-04-2010, 09:18 PM
hey guys, with regards to the electronic rust proofing, i was only going to install a Couplertech (http://www.couplertec.com.au/4wd/suv-systems/4wd-self-fit-kit-/detailed-product-flyer).
They seem to have the best reputation; any 'lectric rust proofing that uses anodes is bad with a capital B from what everyone tells me.
The CouplerTech costs $525 to get and whatever the auto sparky charges per hour to install it. TJM in Cairns quoted me $800 for the unit and installation labour.
Synful
28-04-2010, 09:21 PM
Good luck with the Ranger.
Wags
Thanks Wags; you're probably right - idiots are attracted to the humans :rolleyes::lipsrsealed:
Also, looking at your avatar; I need to get a new set of Ausfish stickers for the back window when I get it and the tint is put on :cool:
28-04-2010, 11:15 PM
Mid Febuary my trailer jumped off my tow ball and the anchor plowerd straight into my tail gate denting it and gouging right back to bare metal... I have electronic rust proofing and 10 weeks later there is not one spot off surface rust on the bare metal gouges.. I live 1km from the broadwater, and my Navara spends its weekends at the boat ramp....
Electronic rust proofing is the best money I have spent on the Navara...
Me too I have a 4 inch long and deep gouge in the back door of the patrol from someone's piece of S$%# trailer coming of the ball, no paint left for a cm wide and 50mm long, that happened almost a year ago, no rust yet.
The manufacturers use a pretty trick metal condioning process before painting these days forget what it's called but personally I wouldnt be putting the lack of rust down to the gizmo just yet.
Kevaclone
05-05-2010, 12:21 AM
Dan & WhitePointer - thanks for your opinions; I think that I will probably go with the spray rustproofing to be honest; that is on my current Falcon which has absolute minimal rust over the 12 years that I've had it and 5 to 10 of that has been near salt in coastal environments.
That in itself is a good indicator of it's effectiveness; IF rust does start to come into it a bit, then I can always look at a Couplertec further down the road to try halt it in the tracks.
Dan, have gone with the Black Mica paint; so looks like I have some work cut out for me washing and polishing etc. :-)
I'd still like to hear from more members on this issue though; so please keep 'em coming!
Paint protection is as much work as just polishing every month or so
I had the VIP stuff when I bought my Falcon(part of a promotion, free paint protection)
it doesn't stay shiny any longer than normal paint, has to be inspected/reapplied every 12 months, get small damage repaired and have to have it re done, can't wash the car properly so bug stains are visible in the paint
Forget the $800 they want for $200 product
As for rust proofing
Why would you bother unless you live on the beach
when was the last time you saw a rusty 4WD made in the last 10 years?
the new car will usually have a 10 year rust warranty anyway
How long do you intend to keep it for??
Kevaclone
05-05-2010, 12:36 AM
Be very wary of electronic rust systems.
I had a unit fitted and the car went very rusty.
When I complained to the manufacturer he gave a spray can of fisholene!
Some may work but how are you going to know?
It's like the Shu Roo devices
My father had them fitted to his car, swore by it
So I asked him how he knew it was working
He told me because he hadn't hit any roos
So I asked him how many roos he'd hit before fitting it
"One", HMMMM, one roo in 15 years in a country area
And of course they manufacturer won't guarantee that you won't hit a roo either
So with an electronic rust preventative, how do you know it's working?
Your vehicle doesn't rust?
Would it have rusted without it?#
Buy a brand new car and get rid of it before it's 10 years old. Any rust if it hasn't been repaired will be covered by the manufacturer's warranty
Synful
05-05-2010, 05:21 AM
Forget the $800 they want for $200 product
As for rust proofing
Why would you bother unless you live on the beach
when was the last time you saw a rusty 4WD made in the last 10 years?
the new car will usually have a 10 year rust warranty anyway
How long do you intend to keep it for??
Hi Kevaclone,
Will be keeping it for at least 10 or so years, and want to give it to my little boy who is now 5 when he is old enough to get a licence at 15 / 16. It's also a great incentive for him to keep it clean and not leave crap such as toys and food wrappers in it as well! :wink:
With regards to the rust, I've gone with the spray rust proofing and the sound deadening. Between the two of them, that should be enough at present.
I think that I've already mentioned that I couldn't justify the paint protection when the vehicle is going to be going on off road tracks which will result in the car more than likely getting scratches which will not be covered by the warranty. I'm going to be washing and polishing the car every 2 - 3 weeks so that should keep the paint work up as much as it is ever going to.
BenDover
05-05-2010, 07:48 AM
It's like the Shu Roo devices
My father had them fitted to his car, swore by it
So I asked him how he knew it was working
He told me because he hadn't hit any roos
So I asked him how many roos he'd hit before fitting it
"One", HMMMM, one roo in 15 years in a country area
And of course they manufacturer won't guarantee that you won't hit a roo either
So with an electronic rust preventative, how do you know it's working?
Your vehicle doesn't rust?
Would it have rusted without it?#
Buy a brand new car and get rid of it before it's 10 years old. Any rust if it hasn't been repaired will be covered by the manufacturer's warranty
With the rust spray and injections, you dont know if its working or not. They dont cover all bases either. You have to keep inspecting it. But, With elec rust proofing. You can be sure its working (unless the wire pulls off or something). Cheap insurance and you can take it from car to car. Well worth the $$$