View Full Version : mixed bag off wello

netmaker
10-03-2010, 04:57 PM
hi all,

got an early leave from work this morning - 9.30 so raced home and hitched up the boat for a plastics sesh off wello. had to be home by 1 so i was moving. got to the boat ramp and as i pulled up i had about 10 cops running at me. i figured they looked a little keen to be doing safety inspections and was quite right. had my tinny commandeered to pick up a bloke about 400M off shore and south of the jetty. too shallow for police boats which were hanging outside the edge of the drop off. i took 2 police on board although they wanted more - i only have a 20 hp so had to cap it at 2 with one more on the way back. picked the bloke up and took them all back to the ramp, had to leave details etc etc. shot off to the northern end of green and had a nice squid follow up the plastic first cast and then shoot off. put on a jig and never saw another! got a nice 55cm flatty 5 minutes later and that was when i realised that in my haste i left the esky sitting on a table in my backyard. catch and release today. landed a 40cm snapper 15 minutes after that and went home. turns out some poor woman was found dead this morning at wello point and that explains why there were so many cops (at least 20 by the time i returned, provided details again!) - tomorrow morning it's the statement at the station.

now if that aint a real mixed bag i dont know what is: 1 flatty, 1 snapper

davo

netmaker
10-03-2010, 04:59 PM
AND

first time ive had police that close to my boat and no one cared how many pfd's i had on board!!!!!!!!

10-03-2010, 05:05 PM
Just saw it on TV. Bloody sad. Murder/Suicide??

netmaker
11-03-2010, 05:55 PM
yes mike,

police advised that the woman (wife) was strangled. the man had superficial cuts. the detective who took my statement couldn't work out how the man was going to do himself in. where we picked him up the water was only 3 feet deep which was why the police couldnt get their craft in. 2 hours later it was high and dry there. they thought he might have been baiting sharks?

davo

clone trooper
11-03-2010, 06:51 PM
mate, thats gotta put a bad taste to your day???

Midnight
11-03-2010, 09:39 PM
Gday Netmaker,
One of my missus work colleagues is their neighbour! I got all the info through that channel, sad indeed.
Myles