View Full Version : Help with predicting current strength offshore
cuzzamundi
24-02-2010, 04:38 PM
G'Day All,
Just wondering if anyone can help with regards to predicting how much run there'd be offshore. I know for the estuaries it's a matter of looking at the tidal variances (stronger around new/full), does the same apply offshore? All help appreciated. Thanks.
Cuzza
24-02-2010, 05:57 PM
Anything in this region over a 4.0 metre tides usaully pionts to a strong current here
24-02-2010, 05:59 PM
Cuzzamundi
Mate it not easy , alot of guys say to stay away from the Moons ( full and New) as your more likely to have run at these times but i've been at the shelf at these times with no run and had heaps of run on the quarters , so it not a certainty.
If you look up sea surface temperatures you'll be able to see the warm water pushing down the coast in places and this is current so depending were the edges of this water water are it should give you some guide. Similarly if you look at the wave rider bouys particularly the one of Point Lookout and notice a sudden rise in water temp you can be sure the currents in there atm!
Also the currents pick up in in summer and drop off in winter if that's any help?
Your best bet is to ask someone , seriously! Look at the post on here and ask if they had current at the spot they were fishing, and if you know some other poeple out fishing on the area you wish to fish ask them on the vhf , it's really the only way other than driving out to the location you wish to fish but it's a bugger when you see the current howling on the surface when your getting near your location.
Ps remember the current moves in and out all the time so if it's running when you get there it may slow down in a while and you can fish in current it's just harder and you may have to drift your deep spots.
PPs get a sea anchor it helps stop the wind effecting your drift.
Captain Seaweed
24-02-2010, 06:26 PM
Cant find it at the moment but there is a website that shows currents off shore
cuzzamundi
24-02-2010, 06:59 PM
Thanks a million John, Ian, and Captain Seaweed. There's some fantastic info here. Much appreciated.
Cuzza
24-02-2010, 08:52 PM
Always drops off hour either side of the tides as well makes for good fishing in the deeper waters anyways .................. Not knowing what it's like south of us
lampuki
24-02-2010, 08:55 PM
Re: current out on the barwon banks
http://www.cmar.csiro.au/remotesensi...ne/latest.html (http://www.cmar.csiro.au/remotesensing/oceancurrents/Brisbane/latest.html)
cuzzamundi
25-02-2010, 12:11 AM
Thanks again, fellas.
Cuzza
rando
25-02-2010, 01:06 AM
Go to BoM ,look up Marine services,,, Sea Surface Temp is listed as SST this function has a current option.