View Full Version : Custom made prawn net
Gator
07-02-2010, 04:02 PM
I am looking to purchase a top quality custom made cast net for prawning. Has anyone got details of where I could purchase one please.
John.
rando
07-02-2010, 07:34 PM
Bob the netmaker 32066379
Stan The netmaker- 0412122256
Gator
08-02-2010, 05:23 PM
Rando and Pero,
Thanks very much for your helpful suggestions. I have contacted and organised to pick one up off Stan at Carbrook.
Greatly appreciated ,
:)
bondy99
08-02-2010, 11:59 PM
Good on ya Stan.
Go the Tiger
Matt76
08-03-2010, 07:46 AM
Does anyone know what locations these guys are in? I don't want to waste their time if they are at the other end of the earth.
PS I am on the northside of bris
johnathon joe
08-03-2010, 11:29 AM
Derek 0410719083 Around Virginia area or thereabout See him at Deep water bend sometimes
Gator
08-03-2010, 04:49 PM
Stan is at Carbrook.(other side of the earth for you)
Matt. You get a price for a custom net. I will make it and deliver 10 bucks cheaper.
bondy99
08-03-2010, 09:17 PM
Pero,
I could also do with a new one, the old one is still ok but has seen better days
After this Friday
Pero,
I could also do with a new one, the old one is still ok but has seen better days
After this Friday
yournew one is waiting for you.
ShaneJ
10-03-2010, 06:40 PM
Matt. You get a price for a custom net. I will make it and deliver 10 bucks cheaper.
Do they come with lessons? :P
I used to be able to toss a net with the best of them.. Couldn't do it to save my life now :(
Do they come with lessons? :P
I used to be able to toss a net with the best of them.. Couldn't do it to save my life now :(
Well, you can lead a horse to water ,but can you make him drink?
ie- I can give you lessons but will it help?
Here are my rates for a cast net-
3.0 to 3.3 metre with a *leadline-$230
3.0 to 3.3 metre with a chain- $250
3.3 to 3.7 metre with a *leadline-$260
3.3 to 3.7 metre with chain-$280
For march only. Or as long as a deposit is paid during or by end of march.
*slight variation in price might occur depending on quantity of lead weight wanted by client.
Matt76
11-03-2010, 11:23 AM
Thanks Pero, pm sent
Gator
11-03-2010, 12:10 PM
Matt,
The net I purchased from Stan performs well. It is hand stitched mono with an extra long rope and stainless swivel. The mono is very durable and seems to open really well when it hits the water.
The first net I got was around 51/2-6 kg in weight. Due to a bad shoulder and gammy back it was a bit heavy to throw for long periods. Stan was more than happy to swap it for a lighter net.;D
He is also able to do repairs after you've caught your first rock bar!:(
Last time I visited Stan he had the upright freezer in the garage full of prawns.
The man can cast.
If you buy a net he just might sweeten the deal with a few!;)
Cadman
11-03-2010, 01:08 PM
Pero, leadline or chain what's easier to throw for a novice?? ... what's the weight difference ??
I reckon chain is better. occasionally the leads catch on the mono and ruins the throw. depending on how well the leads are crimped by the netmaker. the leads are usually splits. that are crimped onto a rope. Also chain gathers better at the bottom when pulling your net up. I will take 2 photos later and post them for your benefit.
It would be quicker if you could provide an e-mail address. If not, I would need some site like photobucket to host the images in order for you to view them..
ok, As you see the chain bunches tighter at the bottom.
The rope between the leads isn't to supple and keeps the leads seperated slightly. With banana and especially tiger prawns, you weould lose the odd prawn that hasn't gone into the top of the chute.
MICHAELG
11-03-2010, 04:21 PM
I just got 1 of Stans chain nets yesterday and i do find it quite easy to throw. My other nets are all lead line and my initial assessment the chain type do cast more evenly and keep flatter on the retreive and close better
Now i just need some good weather so i catch something
Michael
ps thanks again Stan
bondy99
11-03-2010, 09:18 PM
Pero,
Do you have anoither made from chain as opposed to lead?
Send me a pm.
I'll be free Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday new windscreen fitted to car in the morning, Wednesday Free also, at this stage.
Cadman
12-03-2010, 09:49 AM
Pero ... Chain sounds good ... i sent a PM of details.
pickers
13-03-2010, 06:12 AM
Pero
I make my nets with 20 gram tube leads and use 3.5mm 8 platt polyester cord on the leadline and the nets come together real nice.
crimped leads are a bugger for repair when you rip a big hole in them.
bugger the rope and crimping of leads...I hang the leadline and they work fine.
I like the look of the chain.
pickers
Matt76
13-03-2010, 06:50 AM
Thanks for the help guys, I have ordered one from Pero.
Pero
I make my nets with 20 gram tube leads and use 3.5mm 8 platt polyester cord on the leadline and the nets come together real nice.
crimped leads are a bugger for repair when you rip a big hole in them.
bugger the rope and crimping of leads...I hang the leadline and they work fine.
I like the look of the chain.
pickers
yeah cord is a good idea for leadline but its expensive
bondy99
13-03-2010, 11:37 AM
yeah cord is a good idea for leadline but its expensive
Pero,
You have one with a chain made up?
Razgo-
13-03-2010, 05:45 PM
Pero, Are located sth east side Brisbane?
Yes ,I am .Carbrook.
bondy99
13-03-2010, 07:00 PM
Pero,
Mate, you make awesome nets and they spread very nicely. You have the knack, no doubts there.
ozbee
14-03-2010, 10:24 AM
they draw string . about what every body up north uses now
bondy99
14-03-2010, 12:09 PM
I slept like a log for 12 hours, didnt hear the alarm, woke only 20 minutes ago. I was there in spirit. 95% proof.
rosco1974
14-03-2010, 05:14 PM
pero,
have you got any of the chain nets ready for sale now
cheers rosco
Tuesday definately Rosco.
Need to know what size and weight you want.
rosco1974
14-03-2010, 06:24 PM
pm sent pero
bondy99
14-03-2010, 08:40 PM
Pero certainly knows how to make them spring into action .I'm waiting on Pero to make another 3.2 metre drop
rosco1974
16-03-2010, 08:44 PM
just picked up my net from pero,had 2 casts on the lawn when i got home got it to open 3/4 the way 1st cast then next opened right up,not bad for some1 who hasn't casted a net in 4 yrs,great net thanxs pero
cheers rosco
bondy99
16-03-2010, 10:31 PM
Pero.
I might have to come and see you with that cord and make up a special net with chains.
just picked up my net from pero,had 2 casts on the lawn when i got home got it to open 3/4 the way 1st cast then next opened right up,not bad for some1 who hasn't casted a net in 4 yrs,great net thanxs pero
cheers rosco
Good to here that Rosco.
Went out to that spot today and got 4 litres. And- A 30cm bream with my first cast next to the jetty, and a 25cm bream. The water was unbelievably green.
Went to the pine for a look too. And bagged a ripper flattie 2cm inside legal size. Caught enough bait to supply brisbane bait shops for a year. Did you get out there?
rosco1974
17-03-2010, 07:40 PM
yeah had a bit of a go,got bout a kilo for an hour throwing,bottom of the tide got most incoming got bugger all,give it a go again tommorrow,was land based
bondy99
19-03-2010, 04:07 PM
Pero, I'll but the special cord from ATS at Clontarf (about 19 metres), Can you make one up for next year?
bondy99
21-03-2010, 08:20 PM
Pero,
Have you disconnected your phone?
bondy99
24-03-2010, 09:19 PM
Pero has succeeded where others seem to have failed. Mate, the nets are a pearler, spreads beautifully, and yep catches prawns.
pickers
25-03-2010, 07:42 PM
Bondy
you just have to have your pattern right and the net will spread like a $2 hooker and catch whatever it go's over.
some people make nets to catch fishermen and some blokes make them to catch prawns.
pickers
bondy99
25-03-2010, 09:45 PM
Bondy
you just have to have your pattern right and the net will spread like a $2 hooker and catch whatever it go's over.
some people make nets to catch fishermen and some blokes make them to catch prawns.
pickers
Yeah, and chicks spread the bigger net and catch everything
bondy99
02-04-2010, 07:43 PM
Pero, sent you a pm for net number 3
sharkymark2
18-04-2010, 05:39 PM
Hi Pedro. What is it with Chain as opposed to lead? and why are your nets better than what you can buy from a normal outlet? I haven't used one but would like to learn.
bondy99
18-04-2010, 08:57 PM
Thanks Pero,
Net is great and spreads like it should, well done.
355avk
19-04-2010, 09:05 AM
hi pero,do you do castnets with bottom pockets at all?if not do you have a 3.7mtr with chain and how much?
$400 for bottom pocket cast net and half money up front. Chain and bottom pocket take 20hours alone.
dspt69
19-04-2010, 01:15 PM
HEY PERO
your pm box is full. just a question regarding the chain.
snodger 08
19-04-2010, 03:00 PM
Hey Pero,
When you giving up the day job????
Hey Pero,
When you giving up the day job????
I can't give up my dayjob, cause this is seasonal.another 6 weeks and the prawns will thin out. Then I gotta find something else to do.
bondy99
19-04-2010, 08:34 PM
Pero, freshwater licence for Redclaw expires in June, might have to make use of it before the reddies go night night
mudrunner
23-04-2010, 05:29 AM
pero. have your nets got a top pocket?
Yes, they have a top pocket.
And, to the bloke saying draw string nets are the "ducksnuts" Until I see the Pro fishermen Using draw String instead of Chain Nets. - I reckon chains gotta be better for prawning.
rosco1974
23-04-2010, 10:06 PM
pero,
the net u made me with top and bottom pocket and chain is a cracker of a net,1st cast the other week at nudgee i got 6 keeper summer whiting and 30prawns land based,thanks mate
cheers rosco
dspt69
24-04-2010, 10:45 AM
pero,
the net u made me with top and bottom pocket and chain is a cracker of a net,1st cast the other week at nudgee i got 6 keeper summer whiting and 30prawns land based,thanks mate
cheers rosco
that is brilliant. well done.
whats the story with people casting for prawns in shallow water? is it possible? i saw a guy casting in the shallows near cabbage tree a couple of weeks ago and wondered if that was what he was going for.
bondy99
25-04-2010, 09:33 PM
that is brilliant. well done.
whats the story with people casting for prawns in shallow water? is it possible? i saw a guy casting in the shallows near cabbage tree a couple of weeks ago and wondered if that was what he was going for.
Yeah, you can get prawns in shallow as well as deep water, depending on current, tides etc, etc.
ronnien
25-04-2010, 10:09 PM
Yes, they have a top pocket.
And, to the bloke saying draw string nets are the "ducksnuts" Until I see the Pro fishermen Using draw String instead of Chain Nets. - I reckon chains gotta be better for prawning.
a lot of the pro guides up here use draw strings.. have for years.
like tonight, went down to the boat ramp watching a lot of people catching big banana prawns most were getting a few kg in about 1 hour with top & bottom pocket, no room down there so i went up a little further & nailed 11 kg in 20min's with a draw string. so much quicker with a draw string.
ron.
got a bucket in 10 minutes yesterday, myself. Took 8 throws.
royslaven
26-04-2010, 10:26 AM
got a bucket in 10 minutes yesterday, myself. Took 8 throws.
Yeah Pero , us mere mortals have to work a bit harder for them, cheers, royslaven.
bondy99
29-04-2010, 09:51 PM
Went today to test Pero's net, mate what a ripper, caught 5kg one cast, easy to use and opens beautifully .Bagged out in 30mins.
Yellow coats were out and about and was amazed and tried muscling in on the bootie :angry: . They disappeared after I out foxed the fox:smiley: .
Photo will be uplaoded later
And here is the photo :grin: :grin:
dspt69
29-04-2010, 10:12 PM
Went today to test Pero's net, mate what a ripper, caught 5kg one cast, easy to use and opens beautifully .Bagged out in 30mins.
Yellow coats were out and about and was amazed and tried muscling in on the bootie :angry: . They disappeared after I out foxed the fox:smiley: .
good work bondy. keep em honest mate.
bondy99
30-04-2010, 09:28 AM
good work bondy. keep em honest mate.
No worries buddy, I must have collected the bulk before they realised there was non to get :rolleyes::grin::grin:
Razgo-
30-04-2010, 05:14 PM
I'm definitely going to order one of these nets soon! good job :shocked:
marty_z
30-04-2010, 05:22 PM
Sounds like an awesome trip - look forward to the pics.
Any hints on the area the prawns were at today?
Marty
bondy99
30-04-2010, 10:15 PM
Sounds like an awesome trip - look forward to the pics.
Any hints on the area the prawns were at today?
Marty
Waiting for my mate with the camera. Did not venture out today (Friday 30.4.2010), just have to find them on the sounder.
gr hilly
30-04-2010, 10:30 PM
i got a nice sounder peter but i havn't put in in the boat yet i should get you to have a look at the set up you might have a good idea as to where to put it' and dont be rude lol
glynn
bondy99
30-04-2010, 10:44 PM
i got a nice sounder peter but i havn't put in in the boat yet i should get you to have a look at the set up you might have a good idea as to where to put it' and dont be rude lol
glynn
Glynn,
You just want to place it where you can easily reach it and in a position where its not going to get damaged, as you said one has to look at the boat to see where she's going to be placed.
gr hilly
30-04-2010, 10:49 PM
im used to having it in front of my face just behind the steering wheel but now i have no steering wheel just a tiller steer.
bondy99
01-05-2010, 09:23 AM
im used to having it in front of my face just behind the steering wheel but now i have no steering wheel just a tiller steer.
Glynn,
Where you sit to steer your boat using the tiller steer, just mount the finder to one of the sides, you might need to make a board to do this, make sure you can swivel the sounder, also in a position where she wont get in the way. I'm sure you will find a good location, as long as its within arm reach.
gr hilly
01-05-2010, 09:37 AM
ive just baught another boat today peter its a centre console with all the gear in it i don't know witch boat im going to keep now
..glynn
bondy99
01-05-2010, 09:47 PM
Glynn,
I'm sure you will choose wisely, costly to keep two with rego etc.. Maybe you can off load the other one
bondy99
01-05-2010, 10:03 PM
Here's the pic again in case it was bypassed
Caught with net made by Pero:cool: :cool:
dspt69
04-05-2010, 04:17 PM
good haul there bondy. i went out there for a throw on sunday afternoon but only took home about 25 prawns.
To my astonishment, I saw better today, Bondy.
A fellow who calls himself Baydog on this forum,. Caught what I estimate was 6-10 litres in one throw. From now on I think he should be known as Baygod!
:shocked:
bondy99
04-05-2010, 08:13 PM
To my astonishment, I saw better today, Bondy.
A fellow who calls himself Baydog on this forum,. Caught what I estimate was 6-10 litres in one throw. From now on I think he should be known as Baygod!
:shocked:
Pero, I'm amazed, but then again Baydog does pounce. Rain screwed today for me.
Must have been very thick. The again if there are less cast netters it gives the prawns a chance to school up so that would be the case.
How did you go Pero?
Awshucks
04-05-2010, 08:54 PM
And here is the photo :grin: :grin:
What's your secret to get rid of this scum when they do the watch and copy technique?
bondy99
04-05-2010, 09:44 PM
What's your secret to get rid of this scum when they do the watch and copy technique?
I think it might have something to do with the words Police or Fisheries on the vessel
Pero, I'm amazed, but then again Baydog does pounce. Rain screwed today for me.
Must have been very thick. The again if there are less cast netters it gives the prawns a chance to school up so that would be the case.
How did you go Pero?
Yes Bondy, It gives the prawns a chance to school up.It was the same place you got yours. Only our 2 boats .
Rain was belting down, my sounder wasn,t working I had about 3 litres in an hour throwing from intuition.
Then Baydog came along, I did him a good turn early this year by putting him onto a patch I had found. So I followed him around for an hour.
I kept 10-20metres from him.
I got my bucket in 2.5 hours(No sounder remember). He had close to 2 buckets in an hour-ish, when I left.
He had his missus with him (2 buckets between them):shocked: .
bondy99
05-05-2010, 02:12 PM
Yes Bondy, It gives the prawns a chance to school up.It was the same place you got yours. Only our 2 boats .
Rain was belting down, my sounder wasn,t working I had about 3 litres in an hour throwing from intuition.
Then Baydog came along, I did him a good turn early this year by putting him onto a patch I had found. So I followed him around for an hour.
I kept 10-20metres from him.
I got my bucket in 2.5 hours(No sounder remember). He had close to 2 buckets in an hour-ish, when I left.
He had his missus with him (2 buckets between them):shocked: .
You done well Pero without the sounder, seems like the spot is a goer. Yeah, I thought they would school up, more of them would be nice.
Nice to be reprical.
Hey Bondy,
two of my mates went out today.
They couldn't find anything there today. They went north To the next green marker. (You know where I mean.) They got there at 2pm, and got their bucket each in under an hour. Only one was casting.
What r u doin tomorrow?
bondy99
05-05-2010, 09:17 PM
Hey Bondy,
They couldn't find anything there today. They went north To the next green marker. (You know where I mean.) They got there at 2pm, and got their bucket each in under an hour. Only one was casting.
What r u doin tomorrow?
Thats a bugger hey, yeah I know the spot you're on about. Sounds like arvo is the go then maybe morning too.
Tomorrow? Elsewhere I'll be. What are you doing Friday?
Happy Prawning
bondy99
05-05-2010, 09:20 PM
Hey Bondy,
What r u doin tomorrow?
Thats a bummer. Yeah I know the spot. sounds like morning and arvo
Tomorrow I'll be elsewhere.
What r u doing Friday?