View Full Version : young fellas curtain Kingy

Rainbowrunner
25-01-2010, 04:43 PM
We took off early from Redcliffe with a bunch of livies, had a look around for Mackeral to throw mack slugs at but didnt see any on the way across, stopped at M8 for a while but wasnt much happening there either, a couple of asian guys got a few small mackeral on pillies while we were there and all we could get was small kings about 25cm long
So off to Curtain artificial reef and Kaimen gets the only run of the day resulting in his first decent Yellowtail king on a livebait. Sat there for a coupla hours and started blowing up sop we took off home stopping at M8 on the way back again for zip. Sort of thought we would see a few mackeral in bay after all the reports lately.

Still a great day tho a bumpy trip home with a good 15-20knot NE following us.

Pistol_P
25-01-2010, 04:47 PM
Thats a nice Kingy to the young fella...!!8-) 8-)

Would have had some pull in him.

LostNearBribie
25-01-2010, 05:03 PM
Yes that is a cracker mate.
They taste pretty bloody good too!

RAT-KING
25-01-2010, 06:11 PM
Well done great fish did u get any measurements?

FireFly
25-01-2010, 06:28 PM
Great fish mate :thumbsup: ...especially considering all the structure he could have smashed you up on down there! TOP JOB getting him in!

25-01-2010, 06:38 PM
Great work extracting him from all of the structure

3rd degree
25-01-2010, 06:43 PM
That's a nice fish, and top effort for a Kingie over at Curtain...

Like Firefly says there's a heap of structure down there.

I reckon I've hooked a number of them there and am yet to land one!

Kleyny
25-01-2010, 08:18 PM
Nice kingy.

Is that a quinny dory you have?

neil

sleepygreg
25-01-2010, 08:40 PM
Very nice kingy from some serious structure...he stopped the unstopable.

CRAFTY24
25-01-2010, 08:48 PM
Nice work. I was there from around 6.30 to 9.00 and didn't have any luck. Curtain has been a little quiet my last few trips.

I had posted in the saltwater chat how quiet it had been on my last few visits and was anyone catching anything but this answers my question.

25-01-2010, 09:23 PM
Very nice kingy from that area.

TimD
25-01-2010, 10:33 PM
Nice Kingfish there Kaimen :thumbsup:

cheers tim :)

SWANY22
26-01-2010, 08:03 PM
awsome stuff there not to many landed that size.

Rainbowrunner
27-01-2010, 04:26 AM
thanks fellas,
It was over a metre as the esky is a metre long and it would just fit curled up
We fish from a 520 Quintrex dory

ddobson
28-01-2010, 05:17 PM
Good kingy anyway for the day. Well done a day similar to ours last sat chasing nothing in a full bay that you need to be there at the right time to reep the rewards but later i caught 2 spotty's off green in my tinny. Go figure. Cheers boys

Si
29-01-2010, 10:35 PM
wow! very nice kingy for Moreton Bay. Can i ask were you got your livies from?

Rainbowrunner
31-01-2010, 07:05 AM
we get our livies by jigging them up at redcliffe before we head across and a couple of throws with the cast net at the boat ramp
These kings seem to be a very common size at curtain reef.