View Full Version : over offshore fishin,need help
rosco1974
24-01-2010, 07:26 PM
the last couple of trips offshore have been shocking really think i am in need of a bit of help from the offshore guru's,if any1 needs a deckie i am your man,will chip in for fuel and bait,will even bring the cooked chook,just trying to find out what i am doing wrong,or is the bottom fishing just been that bad
cheers rosco
24-01-2010, 07:40 PM
Seat on my Boat Rosco if your this way again.
Mate if fishing was perfect everytrip we'd get sick of going
Have ya tried them berley bucket R Jays They work great
rosco1974
24-01-2010, 08:03 PM
thanks jt,gets bloody frustraiting some times,today we had bait from the bottom up to 40mtrs when fishin in bout 65mtrs with fish in it but do u think we could get the buggers to bite,tried floatin bait, plastics and patanosters but wouldn't come to the party,have to come up there soon for a trip,u buggers seem to get a few good fish and wouldn't mind gettin a trout and a red
cheers rosco
jeffrey_h
24-01-2010, 09:47 PM
Rosco,
Don't go fishing go boating then if you don't catch anything you are not disappointed. We went out on Saturday morning past Double Island and beyond, up to 100 mts and with a 4 to5 knot current south couldn't get bottom easy.
Must have hit something on the way out and snapped the transducer off then it would not work and lost the paddle wheel as well, so lost that speed reading. Had to use the gps chart to guess depth, bugger and no fish sounder, and no fish not even a bite.
You're not the only one.
JT I'd be happy with perfect fishing days.
Jeffrey
timddo
24-01-2010, 09:55 PM
Rosco i'm in the same shoes and find fishing in the summer months poorly.
I'm yet to go trolling with all the gear i have purchased as summer months are mainly pelagic. Hence spotties and tuna.
Have you tried the area's from square patch and deep tempest. Most good catches are done overnight.
My next outing will be be at the coast or the grounds near straddie. A local has given me a few tips and marks.
rosco1974
24-01-2010, 10:00 PM
looks like i am not alone,hope u got a big boat jt lol,
cheers rosco
lido76
24-01-2010, 10:05 PM
Rosco don't disspare mate its a crappy time of year for bottom bashing the end of feb onwards will see some more colour coming into the boat mate. If your keen for a trip off mooloolaba you can tag along with me, I only have a small boat so have to pick my days. I mainly fish the 12mile and cal wide and come back with a feed most of the time. drop us a pm if your keen for a run. Cheers Brendan........
rosco1974
24-01-2010, 10:11 PM
mate send me a pm when u headin off maloolaba and will be there,or even jump in my boat,tis big enough
cheers rosco
Rosco here are my tips for summer offshore fishing -
Fish mid week if possible, less boat traffic = more fish
Jig some livie's, run a livie down on the bottom and one just under the surface
Chuck soft plastics around
Do some trolling, skirts and hardbodies
If you try all that and still can't get a few fish then start searching your boat for bananas
cheers tim :)
25-01-2010, 06:39 AM
Rosco,
Don't go fishing go boating then if you don't catch anything you are not disappointed. We went out on Saturday morning past Double Island and beyond, up to 100 mts and with a 4 to5 knot current south couldn't get bottom easy.
Must have hit something on the way out and snapped the transducer off then it would not work and lost the paddle wheel as well, so lost that speed reading. Had to use the gps chart to guess depth, bugger and no fish sounder, and no fish not even a bite.
You're not the only one.
JT I'd be happy with perfect fishing days.
Jeffrey
I'm Hearing ya
Hi Rosco
I'm certainly not an offshore guru & in fact its been years since I've really fished offshore.
This aside , what I can share is what I did to improve my results.
Now , I'm not sure of your fishing / boating experience - so I'll assume that you are a bit of a novice.
The first thing I would do is get some marks for shallower fishing 15-30M ( wrecks , reefs , pinnacles , islands , bomboras , channel markers etc) ....... Use these locations to learn ( soundings , fish finding , effect of tide & wind + how to anchor correctly / efficiently - boat positioning) .
Fishing deep water 50M + is not easy to do well unless you know exactly how long it takes for an anchor to set - the lay & to be able to position the boat on the most prominent positions on a location (high points , sand/ reef edges , wrecks and schools of fish ) ...... taking into consideration tide / wind & where your baits will end up Miss these & you might as well go fish over a desert
Sound the location ..... understand the lay of the land / features
Anchor rather than drift ...... try to get the fish to come to you
Use live or very fresh bait .
Berley ...... try to get the fish to come to you
Fish as light as possible for the species selected ( Yes target a species)
Fish tide changes & change of light periods.
Take the time to learn these & you'll go a long way to improving your future results + you'll probably catch some nice fish along the way.
Best of luck
25-01-2010, 07:54 AM
the last couple of trips offshore have been shocking really think i am in need of a bit of help from the offshore guru's,if any1 needs a deckie i am your man,will chip in for fuel and bait,will even bring the cooked chook,just trying to find out what i am doing wrong,or is the bottom fishing just been that bad
cheers rosco
Have you tried golf???............it's even more frustrating than fishing at times.
Stick with it Rosco.
Tim, fishing midweek is only better outside school holidays, although more and more people are taking days off midweek to fish.
Rosco if it makes you feel better, we didn't go too well out near the banks.
Wags
honda900
25-01-2010, 08:36 AM
Rosco,
Perserverance.. we have done 3 trips in 3 weeks, the first 2 accounted for one legal pearly between us, nothing on the troll. both these trips were big runs out in the boat.
Last trip, Saturday 23/1, we got lucky, which makes up for the other 2 trips. It has taken us a good couple of years to start catching fish offshore consistently and now if we come with a couple in the box we are happy.
We had a bottom bash on saturday at the cathederals and the current was absolutely ripping.. So we trolled some more, have a look at the attachment the wave rider bouy was almost under water due to the current.
Bill Corten runs an offshore fishing course which helped me, goes through the gear rigs, places to fish, worthwhile if you are struggling a bit.
Enjoy your time on the water, catching fish is not everything, just being out there is worth the time effort and expense.
HOnda.
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l269/honda900_uw/23012010013.jpg
FISHAWN
25-01-2010, 08:36 AM
I'd forget bottom fishing off the goldy during the summer rosco, i only seem to nab the odd 32-40cm snap and traggy.
Only up until 2 weeks ago i decided i would do offshore again this summer and that was to have a shot at my first mack off palmy. Hesitent at first knowing there be 100+ boats on the reef but had a crack last weekend and bought some nice macks home and lost 15+fish each due to bad rigs (which we now have sorted) but still had one of the best fishing sessions ever and used bugger all fuel.
rosco1974
26-01-2010, 03:37 PM
naggs
i wish i was a novice fisho and boatie,but quiet the opposite,not the most experienced offshore but far from a novice,was just askin really if any others are finding it tough out there at the moment,and maybe get a deckie spot with some1 who is still gettin a good feed to find out if they are doing something different than i am,know how to read sounders what to look for ,
but i dont anchor offshore never have except when fishin overniters.as i said findin good shows on good ground but the buggers just arn,t bittin very frustraiting
cheers rosco
26-01-2010, 04:14 PM
Mate, change tactics. Run some HBs and skirts around some of the well known spots for a while or troll a few liveys. Fresh baits drifted around some of the shallow coffee rock reefs can be productive. Have a livey or two out at the same time
NQ-FISH
26-01-2010, 04:35 PM
Hey rosco dont know about down there but done a charter on a sat caught fish bottom bashing but worked hard for them. Done a charter on the sunday drag lures and believe it or not mate filled kill pit with a variety of fish and a couple of spanyards that would not fit in bin so mate just be flexible and try everything and you should get a feed
Snapp.
03-02-2010, 06:01 PM
Hey Rosco.
I'm hearing you mate. pretty shitty at the moment. I have had to cover alot of ground to catch a few. i've been drifting over some marks and if nothing after a couple of drifts i bail. I learnt a while ago not to get hung up on marks just because there are good shows. thats my advice mate. put in some solid travel and hit up a good amount of spots each time your out.
In saying that i did manage to get a few nice spotties down the coast 2 weeks ago.
Good luck mate
Regards Matt
jeffo
03-02-2010, 06:48 PM
Rosco- only 2 types of fish mate....billfish or baitfish!!! Summer is the ONLY time for offshore fishing for me!!
Snapper on plastics in winter is very much a 2nd best for me. Do a heap of reading, get yourself the gear and have a crack at gamfishing.
Russ B
03-02-2010, 07:20 PM
Hey mate. I agree with Honda 900. Give Bill Corten a call and do one of his offshore trips. The advice I got from him was fantastic. I never fill the boat with fish but will often catch more than others on the day. We all get the bad trips but when fising trips are averaged out it is worth it. Just enjoy what you are experiencing on a bad day because you will have experiences on the water that few others are fortunate enough to enjoy.
Goldfinch
03-02-2010, 10:42 PM
Hey Rosco,
If dates and times line-up, I'll happily take you out for an Oz Fishing Adventure. Tim_D and Scalem with vouch that it's a good day out. You may have to work the video camera though!!! Just a matter of all things lining up to make for a good day. I really study the weather systems, barometric pressure, tide times, swell, wind and I base my location decision and type of fishing on these factors. Most of the time we hit a jackpot at some stage during the day. We may go 6 hours without landing a keeper and then BINGO....we find a new spot, give it a crack and come up trumps. Summer is a more challenging time to fish but the harder you work...the luckier you get. I was just about to quit trolling the other week and then put 40kg of fish in the esky in an hour. You can't pick it sometimes mate. Last summer I had about 6 dud trips. Then I changed locations, tried new things and started to get results. Put the Hunter Gatherer Hat on, get some Soft Plastics and smash it up mate!!!!
See ya out there!!!
dave
04-02-2010, 06:59 AM
G'day Rosco,
Yep, I'm hearing you - its very frustrating trying to find an active school sometimes. Hang in there, when losing confidence after a couple of lean trips I make sure I go back to basics, do the simple things right and keep persevering. Everyone experiences lean trips from time to time - particularly this time of year.
Bill's days are always excellent value for money and can go a long way to helping restore confidence - as the lads suggest, it could be worth considering.
rosco1974
04-02-2010, 05:54 PM
gettin keen for another go offshore,just got to get the weather back on the good side,got a couple of jigheads to try from dayoo today they glow,i recon these will help out gettin a few keepers:D ,
goldfinch,
let me know am keen as to do a trip with u plastic guys,got to broarden my knowledge on them, got bugger all at the moment,not real sure how i would go holdin the camera and pullin up a big snapp at the same time though::) ,not long now till winter,but till then will be still havin a crack offshore,will just be dropin my pots out for some sandies on the way out
cheers rosco
Ally Jack
04-02-2010, 08:48 PM
At least you lads down south are getting out a bit...
It's been 2 months since the boat touched the water and it's driving me mad.
Even the missus is hoping for good weather just to get me out of the house.
My advice is more time out there more chance to learn whats going on, what is working and what's not. That's why it's called fishing not catching
Ally Jack
05-02-2010, 08:41 PM
Rosco
You have got to realize that you have good and bad trip offshore. Most of the time it's persisstance that will get you the fish. You caren't be a pro at it overnight.
rosco1974
06-02-2010, 09:30 PM
yeah i know spiro,just too use to gettin a feed all the time in the bay,looking forward to the next adventure offshore though,
cheers rosco
Donny Boy
07-02-2010, 07:46 AM
Roscoe,
You are certainly not alone. mate.
I'm going so bad they even refused to serve me at Raptis !!!:'(
Gotta try & convince the missus i've been doing something for the last 8 weeks.....
Last thing I caught was an Anchor Rope...........and it was mine !:P
Couldn't catch a friggin cold ATM.:'(
I think JT's boat'll hafta be as big as the QE2 !!
Oh, and BTW.......don't read the "Bundy Red" offshore report..
it'll really make your day