View Full Version : Brissie bream
chief
23-01-2010, 06:35 PM
Been chasing a few bream on hard body lures. Started slow while throwing R2 Sea Df40s but swung over to the Jackal chubbies and the bream decided they were the go. Bit more exspensive than the baby cranks but what works you go with. I noticed Duncan Mcwhiters report with the Moses perch and must say those buggers are in plaige preportions. They were lousey on the wrigglers or critters. Everywhere I looked you could see small prawns being harassed by small fish. The river seems to be full of small bay and jellie prawns Ended up with 6 nice bream and unfortunately dropped a better quality fish. Sorry solo trip so crap pictures;) You can certainlly see what the Moses have been chewing on.
duncan mcwhirter
23-01-2010, 06:56 PM
well done mate! nice feed there. That moses perch do you also call them fingermark?
Jurkyjj
23-01-2010, 06:56 PM
Great effort Chief.
Good to see some quality bream are on the chew.
Well Done
Jason.
chief
23-01-2010, 08:25 PM
Duncan..different fish mate, Moses perch (lutjanus russelli) and Fingermark (Lutjanus johnii). Fingermark have the capability to grow to over 90 cm where the smaller Moses seems to be around that high 20cm mark. I don't think there is a min. size limit on Moses perch. There not bad on the chew but I think there to small and pretty to keep.
Mullet Musketeer
23-01-2010, 10:27 PM
I have heard the Moses Perch called Fingermark Bream - I think thats where the confusion may come from and the fact that the have a whopping great 'fingermark' on them. Nice fish - good effort.
23-01-2010, 10:49 PM
Those look like really good quality bream.
Well done, Chief!
jesse148
24-01-2010, 07:09 AM
some nice breambos there chief! The wife and I were out on the river yesterday for a good mixed bag... I haven't converted her to sp's yet so her bait was getting plagued by the old Moses too!
chief
24-01-2010, 07:43 AM
There not bad bream, they just seem to be a bit of an effort because they seem to get turned on by lure stalling and the slightest move theyre hitting it. With the water at 27 degrees they should be going off but at least there on the chew. I haven't tried bait on them ?
Jesse148.... Hi mate, LOL, heaps of perch mate? Agressive suckers. What sort of boat were you in mate. Wasn't to many boats on the water yesterday
HeadBanger
24-01-2010, 09:07 PM
Those moses perch are becoming more and more popular. I had a small one (about 16cm) engulf my hook up at Noosa a few weeks back. I had no idea what it was at the time, and continued to catch a few more over my time fishing there.
Great bream by the way too, I'm yet still to catch one on lures.
Kaidon:freak:
jesse148
24-01-2010, 09:13 PM
yeh heaps of the perch around, not many on sp's but heaps on bait... I'm in a white 4.3 stessco, fished from bulimba ck to the mouth... Got the day off tomoz so guns do a solo sesh in the morn, might try some new spots...
Just_chips
24-01-2010, 11:02 PM
Moses seems to be around that high 20cm mark. I don't think there is a min. size limit on Moses perch.
I thought that Moses perch had a minimum size of 25cm with a bag limit of 5. I could not find a specific reference but I think that they are covered by the group 'Tropical Snappers and Sea Perches' on the DPI webiste. I have caught some bigger models on Sunny coast and Fraser Coast reefs, up to mid 30's
Kev
chief
25-01-2010, 04:55 AM
Just chips...Cheers mate I'll check yhat out but i've never found any written rules and all conversations so far have lead to believe no restrictions.
Jesse 148... Left ftom the same ramp mate
stessco
25-01-2010, 06:10 AM
great session on the bream! the chubbies are the best lure for bream, I have lost up to 5 in one session on big bream it hurts.
hodges4
25-01-2010, 06:36 AM
Hi Chief
As Just Chips stated above they are covered by the group 'Tropical Snappers and Sea Perches' and are part of the Coral Reef Fin Fish. This requires a pectoral fin be removed if kept. I haven't heard of anyone down here being pinched for it though, yet...
chief
25-01-2010, 01:49 PM
Stessco...yeh mate Usually when there on the df 40s are just what the doc ordered at $14 but when the bream are fussy and your throwing $25 a pop around the sticks ;D. Garrett and myself lost 14 river 2 seas in one session but it was full on and it was bream and squire kaos. Thank God they weren't jackals and the Df40s were $10 at that stage, still I'm not telling the wife ;D
chief
25-01-2010, 02:04 PM
Cheers Just chips and hodges4 your both spot on ,25 cm and bag of 5. Googled up Moses perch and traced it back to the DPI that way.
jesse148
25-01-2010, 04:09 PM
Yeh the sticker on my boat says 25cm for moses.... Went out this morning for a couple of hours tried a new spot and landed some nice little cod...
flatzie
25-01-2010, 04:29 PM
Nice catch there mate!
Moses Perch grow much bigger out on the reefs up in NQ, it wasnt uncommon to catch them up to 35 - 40 cm on night trips in deep water...a by catch when chasing reds etc. and as mentioned they are very different to Fingermark (Golden Snapper in NT) Now they are awesome to eat and catch! (see pic)
The MPs are an excellent eating fish as well and as mentioned they are limited at 25cm, so dont get caught with one smaller in your esky!
I get quite a few on some rocky sections in the Passage, I would trade 2 bream for one of these when it comes to eating! Most are small but some are up to 27cm or so
Flatzie ;D
Nico.d.R
25-01-2010, 04:36 PM
good looking bream chief , we got a heap on friday night on bait , only a few were over 30cm . We couldnt get a bite near around the pylons so we fished the rock wall across from the pinkinbah ramp ( near the old jetty ) and there were a lot off 20-24cm mosses perch around there . There were heaps off prawns flicking and the odd boil here and there near the mouth , we also saw a decent size bully launch out off the water there .
cheers nico
.:::stotty:::.
25-01-2010, 06:21 PM
Nice work mate, I went out this arvo for a solo sesh after a cash job and got a few nice bream on 2inch bait (2inch gulp shrimp) biggest going 34.5cm.
Their are a few around atm guys, find the eddys on the run out tide and you should be able to land a few solid bream for tea. Imo use prawn style lures for the next couple of weeks, the prawns are out in numbers.
chief
25-01-2010, 07:04 PM
Jesse 148...Nice work on the cod mate, Any size to them?
Nico..They've been not bad bream but i was just telling Mickthe how their really responding to the stalled lure. I noticed I was getting followers but not committing to the lure so I stop it and you could see them fire up and a little twique and they'd smack it.
Stotty...That last rain we had must have got the prawns going , there certainly out in full force. As soon as that tide turns and thro the run out is the go, your dead right. I know what you mean looking for a few of those eddy's, we've had a few decent tidal flows with those big highs. I prefer to fish those smaller runs where you can fish the sticks thro the whole outgoing tide with some cracker results
jesse148
25-01-2010, 10:10 PM
Around 30cm chief, I got a 44 last week tho.... Also got onto some trevs up to 35 cm, man they are fast. Hooked onto one and he was around the electric before I knew it! Haha