View Full Version : Beast MJ and a few Marlin baits!
.:::stotty:::.
17-01-2010, 08:27 PM
Went fishing over the weekend with Jason, headed out to our spot's with some livies and an eski full of beer.
Was a quite afternoon with a few small Giant herring landed, best going around 65cm. We decided to ring up another mate and we proceeded to another spot.
With 3 livies in the water their was a much better chance of something big getting caught, after 30min of fishing Jason decides to use a fresh whiting. The bait didn't even touch the bottom and he was yelling, YUP im on!
This fish was a true beast, taking massive runs and big headshakes. After a few min fight on hvy drag the fish popped up and we went to comfort lift it up the bank (forgot the net)
Jason upgraded his PB jack by a few cm's, he is now in the 60cm Jack club!
After releasing this fish the action went quite and we decided to call it quits and had a sleep on the back on the ute.
Was a great night.
Pics…
Nico.d.R
17-01-2010, 08:57 PM
thats a bloody nice solid jack , do the GH make good baits ?
cheers nico
17-01-2010, 08:59 PM
Couldn't find any better baits according to some ppl.
We don't keep them thou, to rare of a fish.
brisbane_boy
17-01-2010, 09:07 PM
Saw the other pics of that jack, you saving that for one of the mags? it was a true animal havnt seen quality like that since SU.
Pistol_P
17-01-2010, 09:10 PM
Yep...thats a beast..!
Save those pics for the mags.
17-01-2010, 09:25 PM
Saw the other pics of that jack, you saving that for one of the mags? it was a true animal havnt seen quality like that since SU.
Yep...thats a beast..!
Save those pics for the mags.
Yes boy's, saving the best ones for the mags.
The jack sure did make the 3500 Kix look like a 1000 exist.
shaun_s
17-01-2010, 09:30 PM
thats a beast alright, u guys have got it soo sussed keep it up
childers
17-01-2010, 10:01 PM
Well done boys , thats an excellent photo of a great jack , cheers.
brisbane_boy
18-01-2010, 12:18 PM
hang in there dids you will get a 60 plus soon
ronnien
18-01-2010, 12:35 PM
great job mate, he's been eating well hasn't he!!
ron.
Didley
18-01-2010, 01:38 PM
hang in there dids you will get a 60 plus soon
How do you reckon this would look on a brag mat Brisy boy. This was in my days before bragmats, It's my PB, what do you think I should call it for??????:-/
Regards Dids;)
brisbane_boy
18-01-2010, 02:44 PM
sucks to fish out your spots of small ones, karma can be a bitch.
Didley
18-01-2010, 02:55 PM
Top fish by the way Jason.
childers
18-01-2010, 03:03 PM
How do you reckon this would look on a brag mat Brisy boy. This was in my days before bragmats, It's my PB, what do you think I should call it for??????:-/
Regards Dids;)
Would estimate 36-38 cm ,
Was it just short of 1 kilo ?
Didley
18-01-2010, 03:14 PM
What are U doing to me Chill, that's a 12 INCH ruler there????????
childers
18-01-2010, 03:20 PM
Just having a joke didley ,
didnt you say went 58 or so
Didley
18-01-2010, 03:38 PM
Just having a joke didley ,
didnt you say went 58 or so
Yeah, I'd think even nudging a bit higher (maybe), but on a bragmat ?????? I think a lot would be claiming a 60.
But I'll be happy to claim a true 58cm fish. They are beautiful fish at any size.
Jason or Stotty how did it fight, I think once the get to about 50 although they do feel heavy, they don't pull that much harder. What do you think ?
Creek Vermin
18-01-2010, 03:59 PM
you're jokin dids..Once they hit early to mid 50's is when the fun starts, around structure anyway. Thats when they start puttin on the weight. Fish under 50 weigh bugger all, unless they don't have to do a lot of swimming in areas of very low current::)
Cracking fish btw mate....
Cheers. Keith
Didley
18-01-2010, 04:07 PM
Yeah you could be right, I've caught all my biggies in rocky areas not trees. They'd be hard to pull out of a tree, I'd think! But they don't seem to have the staying ability of the smaller fish.
18-01-2010, 04:16 PM
Went very hard mate, much harder than his 52cm on lure a few mths back. Took a very hvy drag on a 3500 reel with 40lb leader, jason only just turned its head before it went back to its home.
Was a strong and healthy fish.
Creek Vermin
18-01-2010, 04:24 PM
Gotta disagree with ya there dids. Normally takes up to ten seconds to have a fish under 50 in the boat, where a 55 might take 15 seconds.....
18-01-2010, 04:33 PM
Regards Dids;)
I thought your PB was mid 50's, this only looks 49.9cm to me.
;D