View Full Version : research boat cape moreton area?

captain rednut
31-12-2009, 06:33 PM
Does anyone know the research boat going around the cape moreton area in summer for the last couple of years???? its a big white older shark cat with two yamahas on the back with big black writing research on the side! he comes over to each boat about 20 mtrs away and photographs you and looks at you taking details of your boat and doesnt wave or respond to any radio calls, does any one know what department or who they are????, and this is nowhere near a green zone at hutchies for example. just curious if anyone has encountered this boat
cheers jim

31-12-2009, 07:06 PM
that sounds a bit strange Jim........Maybe you should of showd them a full moon and see if there so keen for a pic then..lol

NorthC
31-12-2009, 07:58 PM
Hi Jim

I have worked within the marine and fisheries research community since '93 with a whole host of of different universities and government agencies. At all times when on the water "researching" the boat is required to be marked as such, which the boat you are seeing is doing right - but should also display a banner such as UNIVERSITY OF QUEENSLAND or CSIRO and research permit numbers such as QPI&F Permit # AAAAA99 / DERM Permit # BBBB77. So to me, it is a bit weird that if they are getting that close your not seeing where they are from - that is some other banner or labelling on the vessel.

paul11
31-12-2009, 08:02 PM
Yeah saw them about six weeks ago at Hutchies, cruised around all the boats just looking around it seemed. Didn't see them taking photo's that day, was three on board in i think EPA uniforms. Gave them a wave and they waved back then just carried on, didn't really think much of it as hadn't seen them before.

Vitamin Sea
31-12-2009, 09:35 PM
Hi Jim

Have not seen the boat in question, however I would not like any agency/body taking photos' of me, my crew or my boat, I would be very surprised if they are legally able to do so, it gives the impression that you are doing something illegal.

Go over to them and request them to state their business, if they did not obilge I would be very inclined to tell them to pi$# off, and quite within your rights to do so.

Have a good new year.

Bill

sleepygreg
01-01-2010, 03:01 AM
I think you would be well within your rights to approach them and ask for ID, permits etc if they are taking photos of you, I would also be putting a call in to VMR stating the situation and their vessel rego. Keep your ass covered at all times. Not saying you are doing anyting wrong...but who knows what they are up to?

soulfish
01-01-2010, 08:39 AM
They also photographed my boat at smiths last wednesday,at first i thought it was a police boat coming over for a safety check ,but they stopped took a picture waved & pissed off.

jason

01-01-2010, 08:58 AM
Sounds like they are mapping the areas fished by number, what better way to get the general marks of the majority of Anglers than to hunt them down.

May not be polite but certainly legal, after all what are they going to do, they have a solid no faith vote from the majority of educated anglers so asking for them will not work, aerial reconnaissance is too expensive even when compared to scaring or unsettling the public.

There must be some more of that 'stuff' about to flow out from the end of the pipe placed above every anglers head...

Still I do not get the photo idea.....very strange, unless they plan on a propaganda drop/research questionnaire based on each rego or a suspected poacher database.....you just never know these days
Someone needs to get a photo and post it on here .

Sheesh we put up with a lot...not quite china yet.

01-01-2010, 11:13 AM
More green zones on the way?....Nothing worse then getting botherd while your having a fish. If you wanted them to come fishing with you you would of asked.
How many times do you get pinged by other boaties when your fishing? Sometimes i feel like pulling anchore and following them. Wait for them to anchore then do the same thing.

trueblue
01-01-2010, 11:22 AM
was it the "Tom Marshall? out of Scarborough?

Jono_SS
01-01-2010, 11:37 AM
was it the "Tom Marshall? out of Scarborough?

I doubt it would be, given the colour and donks on the back described by Capt Rednut :D

ShaneC
01-01-2010, 01:26 PM
No, was not the Tom Marshall. I saw them on Wednesday, they pulled up alongside us as we were trolling, took photos and hung around for about 5 minutes. Was extremely annoying and quite unprofessional I thought as they didnt seem to be wearing uniforms. Would love to know who it was and how to contact them, as I resolve to whinge more in 2010 and they could be the first......

Moffy
01-01-2010, 03:21 PM
sounds like someone's trying out a stealth way to pick up some new fishing marks........

captain rednut
01-01-2010, 06:54 PM
Hi The Blokes Onboard Were Not Wearing A Uniform And It Wasent The Tom Marshall From Scarborough, The Main Thing That Concerns Me Is What Evidence Are They Gathering To Hold Against Us Fisherman In The Future, They Have Approached Me South Of Shallow Tempest This Time Last Year And At The Cape A Month Ago And At Hutchies A Couple Of Days Ago, A Mate Of Mine Was Approached 6nm East Of Flinders. So They Get Around.
Cheers Jim

the baker
01-01-2010, 07:34 PM
Get an S.L.R (I do mean camera) with a dirty big scope sorry I meant lens on it and take shots of them. And see how they like it

bakes
01-01-2010, 08:00 PM
I also thought it was weird as they done the same thing to us. We were on the plane haeding home when they motored up beside us.

sleepygreg
01-01-2010, 11:39 PM
Sounds like we should get some happy snaps of them and publish them here. Good for the goose....good for the gander. Then once we have that established, ask for a comment from what ever dept they claim to represent. If we were to take happy snaps of other peoples kids fishing, we could be up on all sorts of charges, so lets see what their response is. ( I know....PC gone berserk....but they are the ones that make the rules...lets make them play by the same rules), especially if you have kids on the boat with you ;)

captain rednut
02-01-2010, 09:09 PM
hi greg
i agree they took there last photo of me this time! it was only that i had visitors from nz onboard that i held my cool, next time i will take a photo of them and take there rego number to make some enquires.
thanks jim

03-01-2010, 04:25 PM
Guys,

It is not illegal to take photographs of anyone or anything in the " public arena ". It becomes illegal when you sell those pics without permission. It is also illegal to sell / distribute pics of minors.

Taking pics over fences, into houses etc is illegal, the privacy act 1994 has the rules.

I think the best thing to do is find out who they are... one or two groups come to mind and both are radical / hardcore greenies.

Easiest thing to do is motor over to them, ask their business and if as we suspect they are " up to no good ", raise a blue and white flag on your boat, take pics of them next to you with your flag in pic and report them for coming within 30 mtrs of a Dive Flag.... mmm Did I say that ??? :o ;D :-X :-X

LP

03-01-2010, 05:10 PM
Did you say what Phil? I didnt hear nuffin.....

f.t.r.
03-01-2010, 05:44 PM
agreed this would shit me too. someone please front them.

however i must say, yesterday, sat 2nd, approx 2pm, i was at work at the port in a crane, when a homemade looking sailing boat was working its way down the river.

this "thing" had "sails" that were very, very homemade and definately wasnt handling the wind.

after nearly hitting the wharf he/she decided to head to the other side where they got in real trouble. from where i was it looked as if the sails broke away, then the boat ran aground.

the waves were pounding hard and the boat was on a serious lean. with no other boats around i rang the water police to ask them for help. unfortunately i was told by the constable thank you for the call, and he would ring port security straight away.

anyway, in the next twenty minutes there were five boats that passed going in or out. none of them offered assistance. knowing that port security werent a chance i was going to ring the water police again when the "research" boat offered a rope for a tow.

the s.s.minnow was eventually dragged free and continued on her way.

reading this thread about these voyeurs capturing my co-ordinates, details and most importantly my body makes me livid. but so does watching a fellow boatie in trouble with others that are able but not willing to help within yelling distance.

by all means, if someone has the chance, front these photographers for an explaination. but please thank them for me for assisting the curtain sailed boat.

matty

captain rednut
03-01-2010, 08:37 PM
i can assure you the next time they attempt to come close im going to find out what there up to and post a picture of the boat if i dont get a sattisfactory answer to what they are up too!! and maybe ill be diving that day and they will get a fright when i surface????
thanks jim

Frank OO
04-01-2010, 07:29 AM
Hi Jim,

I have been approached three times and each time they did exactly as you mentioned. The would approach slowly and circle our boat and then drive away.

On the last occassion the we were on "Too Easy" and the boat approached like a police vehicle would. Watched us from about 60 meters away and then sped off.

The first two times we were at Hutchies and the last time we were in 60 meters due east of the Cape.

The Boat looks very similar to an ex-police boat with the black ribs along the side.

I will take some photos of the crew with the zoom lense the next time they come close.

Frank OO

Getout
05-01-2010, 07:39 AM
They buzzed me just off the Cape last Jan. Same behaviour.

05-01-2010, 11:22 AM
Been reading this thread with voyeuristic curiosity in regard to who the middle individual is today, so many encounters and not one that felt confident enough of their freedom to snap a picture back or anything higher than coy obedience, actions really do speak louder than words.

Understandable this basal uncertainty and fright in known martial law type country's but I wonder if the same approach was made in the USA what would be the outcome in a thread like this...may go to add weight to the understanding that guns are simply not necessary to instil a controlling level of fear into any population.

Obviously what i wrote is not aimed at anyone here but simply a contextual observation.

Our country's social experiment continues ....for what it's worth.

catfishkid
05-01-2010, 01:27 PM
Unsure of the writing on the side but i work for maritime safety qld and we have a 2700 kevla-cat with twin yamahas on the back and hydrographic surveys written on the side in black letters, as i am not in that sector i dont know if they would be taking photos of other boats, just a sugestion guys, sounds a bit odd to me though. I know msq is moving into more of the safety side of things (pretty much doing fisheries job) and the nav aids side is going private, so it could be them starting a little bit early then planned?
Interesting tho, ill ask the boys at work on thursday if they know anything about it and let you boys know.

cheers zac

cheers zac

Jono_SS
05-01-2010, 04:14 PM
Unsure of the writing on the side but i work for maritime safety qld and we have a 2700 kevla-cat with twin yamahas on the back and hydrographic surveys written on the side in black letters, as i am not in that sector i dont know if they would be taking photos of other boats, just a sugestion guys, sounds a bit odd to me though. I know msq is moving into more of the safety side of things (pretty much doing fisheries job) and the nav aids side is going private, so it could be them starting a little bit early then planned?
Interesting tho, ill ask the boys at work on thursday if they know anything about it and let you boys know.

cheers zac

cheers zac

Are you saying "maritime safety" is the job of "Fisheries Queensland" rather than "Maritime Safety Queensland"?

captain rednut
06-01-2010, 06:57 AM
hi zac
it would be nice to find out as for a commercial operation they arent available on either channel 12 or 16 for communication and they last time came towards me at high speed whist i was trolling and then appeared to try to pass me on my port side?? whist alongside they then to stop and sit beside me to do whatever they are doing??????????????? terribly close i might add, they act like they are the water police heading towards you and are going to stop your boat so it makes you prepare to stop and wait for direction only to be stared at and notes taken and then they put the throttles down and take off to the next boat!!!. thanks for any feedback jim

Rainbowrunner
07-01-2010, 04:44 AM
happened to us while we were anchored up in the brisbane river chasing threadies, went past us about 6 times once about 10ft away, looked to me as if they were surveying something. Just thought it a bit strange and rude.
Seen them afew times inside moreton but they have never come near us at all or obviously shown interest in what we were doing. . . we must look too innocent hey? Not like all those other shifty characters on here ;-)

catfishkid
11-01-2010, 01:56 PM
Are you saying "maritime safety" is the job of "Fisheries Queensland" rather than "Maritime Safety Queensland"?

msq is going through a change over the next four years, the area of navigational aids is going to be privatised, and msq is starting to focus on the the safety side of things, pulling up next to boats and checking safety gear, rego etc

captain rednut, i will question my boss next time i see him and let you boys know why and what they are upto, if it is even people from maritime operations,

and rainbow runner that would be the boys just doing general survey work, sorry for the disturbance.

sorry on my behalf if it is anything to do with msq, i will certainly let my boss know that if it is us, he needs to check up on his staff a bit more as some of the boys like to turn the marine radio down.

cheers zac

ShaneC
11-01-2010, 09:51 PM
I would also have thought that if they were a department within a government sector that they would be wearing uniforms????? Geez I wish I used my head at the time and videoed their exploits. Thanks catfishkid for checking up on them mate, but I tend to think they are an element that are doing their own thing for their own gain. I hope I am wrong.

bondy99
12-01-2010, 04:08 PM
agreed this would shit me too. someone please front them.

however i must say, yesterday, sat 2nd, approx 2pm, i was at work at the port in a crane, when a homemade looking sailing boat was working its way down the river.

this "thing" had "sails" that were very, very homemade and definately wasnt handling the wind.

after nearly hitting the wharf he/she decided to head to the other side where they got in real trouble. from where i was it looked as if the sails broke away, then the boat ran aground.

the waves were pounding hard and the boat was on a serious lean. with no other boats around i rang the water police to ask them for help. unfortunately i was told by the constable thank you for the call, and he would ring port security straight away.

anyway, in the next twenty minutes there were five boats that passed going in or out. none of them offered assistance. knowing that port security werent a chance i was going to ring the water police again when the "research" boat offered a rope for a tow.

the s.s.minnow was eventually dragged free and continued on her way.

reading this thread about these voyeurs capturing my co-ordinates, details and most importantly my body makes me livid. but so does watching a fellow boatie in trouble with others that are able but not willing to help within yelling distance.

by all means, if someone has the chance, front these photographers for an explaination. but please thank them for me for assisting the curtain sailed boat.

matty

G'day Matty,

I think by law mariners suppose to stop and assist those who are in distress, otherwise it's contravenes International Martime Law Agreement of the Sea Organisation.

I'm sure those who went past and never offer assistance will suffer the same and then cry foul...poetic justice I would think.

catfishkid
15-01-2010, 11:59 AM
gdau guys

this boat is not one of the msq vessels, but some of the head people are looking into it as they find it very strage and suspicious too.
Maybe get the police involved if it keeps happening?
Try to get them in anyway possible because in my eyes its a violation of privacy.

cheers zac

Levi69s
15-01-2010, 03:33 PM
maybe someone should check here:

http://www.mhshydro.com/

Bobpen
15-01-2010, 05:02 PM
Hi All:
The boat is the CSIRO Scylla. They are doing a survey of where people fish and how serious they are. The photos are a simple way to look later at if it is a dedicated fishing boat. There is no link to Fishing Regulation enforcement. Try not to be too paranoid unless you are doing the wrong thing of course. They also do aerial surveys of boats fishing.
I will forward this web site to the people involved. They may chose to comment.
Regards Bob Pen

gr hilly
15-01-2010, 08:37 PM
what they are all doing is simply taking count of how many boats fishing in the most popular areas, and shortly these locations will become green zones you know you cant fish there no more.

tight lines hilly
ps qld has seen better days.

15-01-2010, 08:53 PM
Hi All:
The boat is the CSIRO Scylla. They are doing a survey of where people fish and how serious they are. The photos are a simple way to look later at if it is a dedicated fishing boat. There is no link to Fishing Regulation enforcement. Try not to be too paranoid unless you are doing the wrong thing of course. They also do aerial surveys of boats fishing.
Regards Bob Pen

right thing wrong thing, they have no right taking pics of me without my OK...............

FireFly
15-01-2010, 10:48 PM
Hi All:
Regards Bob Pen

...so are they marked accordingly??

Can't they decide their and then that it's a fishing boat without taking photo's to have a think later :hammer:, sounds fishy to me!!!

I don't see any reason why photos are required unless this is to be used as evidence against something? More like EPA getting CSIRO to do some research on potential additions to the 'Greenzones'...because if EPA boats were out we would all know why wouldn't we.:angry:

BR65
16-01-2010, 03:31 PM
This one stinks!
Sounds like they have ulterior motives to me, and they wont be good for the off shore boys!

captain rednut
16-01-2010, 08:09 PM
Hi All:
Regards Bob Penhi bob thanks for your reply and im looking forward to hopefully seeing a response from them on here to shed some light on this subject, thanks jim

sleepygreg
16-01-2010, 11:10 PM
If that was the case, wouldnt common courtesy mean they let you know why they were taking your photo. Any other 'official' from any govt department (especially if they are in enforcement/identification roles) are required to provide you with their authority/ID. If they are a non govt entity...then they better be prepared for the backlash that may not be so 'official'.

Even the volounteers doing the research at boat ramps are required to identify themselves.

Sounds VERY suspicious to me.

gr hilly
17-01-2010, 10:41 AM
i was aproached by inspectors at the boat ramp (jacobs well) i must say the were verry polite and i was pleased to see them doing a good job even if they did turn away some fella and sent him packing they showed thier ids checked every thing in my opinion its good to see.these guys taking pics should explain why and allso ask for permission prior to taking pics what they are doing is not the australian way of doing things and the hair on the necks of boaties is starting to stand up.
hilly

patrol50
17-01-2010, 12:20 PM
seen it once and did not pay much attention at the time - but now i am thinking maybe gathering info for the greens to lobby with for more closures - doubt if its govt related as usually in uniforms and always well marked
cheers rob

patrol50
17-01-2010, 12:48 PM
ok sorry did not see re the csiro response before my previous post - so now i am wondering why do they need to take photos of boats on locations if they are doing fisheries research - why not just mark the location on the gps and call up on the radio and ask what fish have been boated etc
- seems a very strange way to do fishery research more like boat and high use spot or marks research
rob

17-01-2010, 09:36 PM
Hi Jim

Have not seen the boat in question, however I would not like any agency/body taking photos' of me, my crew or my boat, I would be very surprised if they are legally able to do so, it gives the impression that you are doing something illegal.

Go over to them and request them to state their business, if they did not obilge I would be very inclined to tell them to pi$# off, and quite within your rights to do so.

Have a good new year.

Bill

If you are not taking photos of censored material then I doubt it would be illegal. You can tell them to piss off, but they can tell you right back.

deepfried
17-01-2010, 09:44 PM
Why doesnt someone ring CSIRO and ask them ?????

caster226
18-01-2010, 08:12 PM
comment deleted

18-01-2010, 09:13 PM
its a covert undercover vessel financed by labor and the evil green machine and manned by epa to find the best fishing spots in queensland and green zone them

signed
P. Aranoid

Actually you are not too far wrong at least within the strength of your ideology, the vessel points a finger at the normalised personal low character of those within this government department.

The lack of self control displayed by the department in this instance is deplorable, corruption today is no longer only about money, it's also about departments that behave as if base civil behaviour toward the general population is to be deplored.

Individuals are silenced of any voice, one needs an organisation....is there an organisation of individuals who would take this up and past the this departments firewall?

captain rednut
18-01-2010, 09:45 PM
Why doesnt someone ring CSIRO and ask them ?????
hey deepfried have you ever tried to ring a goverment department attempting to gather imformation on something like this?????????? you cant even get through the switchboard, and then i could amagine what they would say if i started questioning what they are up too???. i wouldnt waste my phone call. i think this thread will find out whom they are and what they are up too without ringing around, its a small world someone will read this one day and know who they are and more importantly what they are up to?
cheers jim

18-01-2010, 09:57 PM
FWIW, the absolute last thing I would want if I was trolling a spread of lures would be for some dimwit noname boat coming up behind me or beside me and calling out to me. They would get a french lesson for sure.

If on the other hand they called me on the radio, I would probably answer but how would they know my call sign?

Sounds suss to me and if they want to take photos of me I'd be showing them the full moon, and they and all the other looney greenies can kiss that!

sleepygreg
19-01-2010, 02:09 AM
and that last post is from a research scientist...so go figure. LOL

Cheers jeremy

TheGurn
19-01-2010, 08:43 AM
Found this dated 15-03-09 from a Uni edumacated dude involved in and defending the bays green zone decisions. Could be related...?

Bit in there about '

That is not to say more science would not be useful. We just need to be wary regarding the cost ($3 million) and the time. The EPA has embarked on considerable monitoring of the marine reserves in association with CSIRO and other groups and I hope to soon see the details of the monitoring. I have provided some advice on how it should be carried out.

http://qccqld.org.au/docs/Campaigns/Nature_Conservation/Letterhead-Springborg-MB-Rezoning-March14-2009.doc

Mr__Bean
19-01-2010, 12:54 PM
Would it be an offense if you were to shine a mirror in their face as they went to photograph you?

I would love to see their faces lit up bright with a decent mirror.

- Darren

bennyboy
19-01-2010, 04:44 PM
I can't understand why people are so upset about getting their photo taken.

They drive down the servo to put petrol in the boat, get recorded by CCTV. Pay for it on a card, have the banks record your purchasing habits to on sell. Drive down the highway, get recorded by traffic monitoring CCTV, go the the tackle shop, CCTV, put in the water, cross the bar, get recorded by Coastwatch cameras, then someone takes a photo of them and for all we know are researching somthing like the value of recreational fishing to the community and they get their back up.........

Don't get me wrong I think it's all a huge invasion of privacy but if the looked at the number of times they were recorded before they even got to the boat ramp one photo on the water is a drop in the ocean.

19-01-2010, 05:01 PM

They drive down the servo to put petrol in the boat, get recorded by CCTV. Pay for it on a card, have the banks record your purchasing habits to on sell. Drive down the highway, get recorded by traffic monitoring CCTV, go the the tackle shop, CCTV, put in the water, cross the bar, get recorded by Coastwatch cameras, then someone takes a photo of them and for all we know are researching somthing like the value of recreational fishing to the community and they get their back up.........

Don't get me wrong I think it's all a huge invasion of privacy but if the looked at the number of times they were recorded before they even got to the boat ramp one photo on the water is a drop in the ocean.

I am curious suppose you where having a law abiding picnic in a park with family or friends and a bloke walks up to just a picnic blanket or two away said nothing no ID/identifying marks and took a photo........under what style of government would this be considered perfectly Ok/expectant?? and why should those on the picnic consider it perfectly ok???

captain rednut
19-01-2010, 08:34 PM

hey beenyboy its nothing like going to a servo or a bank and being recorded on cctv as these places are a security risk and also i am aware they are watching and they have signs at front door to notify me of it prior to me entering these places! however the ocean is a place we go to escape these invasive intrusions of privacy, so i dont beleive its acceptable without ones permission? especially when im not in the wrong place, for example (green zone) or breaking the law.
cheers jim

bennyboy
20-01-2010, 08:47 AM
You guys should feel special!
Normally you have to be a rich layabout or movie star to be photographed without your permission.
You all haven't been kissing Paris Hilton have you? I heard she likes fishermen.

You all better make sure your wives aren't buying womans day or New Weekly because we sure as hell don't want to be supporting people who take photographs without permission.

Hey I'm just kidding here, I think there is massive invasions of privacy happening every day.

I think it is well and truly established though that someone doesn't need your permission to take your photograph. Do I agree with it.... hell no

dayoo
20-01-2010, 12:51 PM
Hi All:
Regards Bob Pen

This boat maybe owned by the CSIRO but my spies tell me that the EPA has requested and paid CSIRO for the research into displaced effort. Methinks more green zones in popular fishing spots are on the cards.

I will forward the info in detail to Lucky Phill and Ecofishers Qld so that they may follow this up.

Barry

21-01-2010, 08:46 AM
If only they put so much effort into trying to stop illegal fishing/undersize etc,

Chris Ryan
21-01-2010, 09:00 AM
..and protecting the habitat from water based pollution and siltation due to changing the tidal flow of areas with extended walls/wharves etc....

captain rednut
31-01-2010, 08:49 PM
..and protecting the habitat from water based pollution and siltation due to changing the tidal flow of areas with extended walls/wharves etc....
thanks for all of your input, its interesting ive been out there 9 times since the start of this post and havent seen them again???????? maybe there in another area??
thanks cr

Cdirt
03-02-2010, 10:56 AM
Dear all

The boat you are referring to may be the CSIRO Scylla, it is a 7.2 m Noosacat with the word “RESEARCH” printed along the side as well as a CSIRO logo.

CSIRO has been conducting research in the Moreton Bay region for a number of years.

In partnership with Queensland’s Department of Environment and Resource Management, we have been given the task of monitoring the change in human activity including fishing in Moreton Bay in response to the implementation of the new Marine Park Plan. The monitoring contributes to an assessment of the appropriateness of current management strategies and looks at the following questions:

How have the patterns of human usage of the bay changed after re-zoning?
Is there more human activity outside the green zones than before the zoning changes?
Do fishers specifically target zone boundaries, or spread themselves more widely over areas open to fishing?
The first phase of the research was conducted from August 2008 to February 2009, prior to the green zones being implemented, and the second phase of the research is now being conducted and will continue for another 18 months. At the beginning of the project, we outlined our plans through local newspapers and industry journals, and via direct phone calls to some fishing clubs and groups.

Two boats are used for the research (the Noosacat and a smaller rigid inflatable). A full survey is conducted every couple of months taking four to five days in Moreton Bay and offshore. Two to three people are usually on the boat and do not wear uniforms. The on-water surveys are also supplemented with aerial surveys to collate a one-day snapshot of the region. We attempt to talk to about 10% of fishers but are conscious of being intrusive, have limited time and will only approach on-water if the weather is very calm.

As part of the research, we note details of the activity (such as fishing, jet-skiing, snorkelling and picnics), number of people, position and the type of vessel. We only identify usage patterns by the type of vessel or activity.

Photos are seldom taken and are only used internally to show representations of certain types of boats. They are not distributed or used in public materials. Some of the photos are happy-snaps as the researchers appreciate a nice boat.

In total, 42 individual trip surveys have been conducted (38 on-water, four aerial and four shore-based). Preliminary results of the surveys will soon be available and we will upload these to the CSIRO website – www.csiro.au (http://www.csiro.au/)

If you would like more information, please contact me:
Rob Kenyon
CSIRO
Email: rob.kenyon@csiro.au
Phone: 07 3826 7274

Chris Ryan
03-02-2010, 12:06 PM
Dear Rob,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to put your response up here. I would like to make one small suggestion if I may, use this site more often. Ausfish will probably give you a faster exposure (and at least cost than published in journals) and get your message spread quickly to the grass roots as well as club anglers.

One thing you would know is how a lack of information can lead to a distrust quickly. This also adds a lot of negativity towards you, your team and the work you do. Keep 'us' in the loop and let anglers know what you are up to early (obviously where you can and contractual conditions with the Government allow) and you might find a lot of fisho's will be less skeptical and maybe even more forthcoming with assistance when you seek it.

I look forward to reading the report on the CSIRO website soon.

captain rednut
03-02-2010, 10:41 PM
Dear Rob
Thank You For Your Time To Explain What This Vessels Intensions Are In Its Operation, The Purpose Of This Thread Was To Find Out The Information You Supplied And I Hope We Have All Learned From This.??
May I Suggest Radio Comunication Be Available On Channel 16 When You Approach Vessels So They Can Make Contact If They Require? As I Have Attempted To Make Contact On The Last Visit With No Success.
Many Thanks Jim

ellicat
04-02-2010, 02:19 AM
Dear all

The boat you are referring to may be the CSIRO Scylla, it is a 7.2 m Noosacat with the word “RESEARCH” printed along the side as well as a CSIRO logo.

CSIRO has been conducting research in the Moreton Bay region for a number of years.

In partnership with Queensland’s Department of Environment and Resource Management, we have been given the task of monitoring the change in human activity including fishing in Moreton Bay in response to the implementation of the new Marine Park Plan. The monitoring contributes to an assessment of the appropriateness of current management strategies and looks at the following questions:
Is there more human activity outside the green zones than before the zoning changes?
Do fishers specifically target zone boundaries, or spread themselves more widely over areas open to fishing?
The first phase of the research was conducted from August 2008 to February 2009, prior to the green zones being implemented, and the second phase of the research is now being conducted and will continue for another 18 months. At the beginning of the project, we outlined our plans through local newspapers and industry journals, and via direct phone calls to some fishing clubs and groups.

Two boats are used for the research (the Noosacat and a smaller rigid inflatable). A full survey is conducted every couple of months taking four to five days in Moreton Bay and offshore. Two to three people are usually on the boat and do not wear uniforms. The on-water surveys are also supplemented with aerial surveys to collate a one-day snapshot of the region. We attempt to talk to about 10% of fishers but are conscious of being intrusive, have limited time and will only approach on-water if the weather is very calm.

As part of the research, we note details of the activity (such as fishing, jet-skiing, snorkelling and picnics), number of people, position and the type of vessel. We only identify usage patterns by the type of vessel or activity.

Photos are seldom taken and are only used internally to show representations of certain types of boats. They are not distributed or used in public materials. Some of the photos are happy-snaps as the researchers appreciate a nice boat.

In total, 42 individual trip surveys have been conducted (38 on-water, four aerial and four shore-based). Preliminary results of the surveys will soon be available and we will upload these to the CSIRO website – www.csiro.au (http://www.csiro.au/)

Rob Kenyon
CSIRO

38 +4 +4 = 46 (not 42)

Hope that's not indicative of DERM's output :P;D

MTAQ/BTAQ
10-02-2010, 02:21 PM
I was n Scarborough Harbour today (10/2/10), launching at the boat ramp adjacent to the coast guard and a Customs vessel cruised past and photographed me and my vessel - so using inspiration from this thread I took out my phone camera and immediately snapped back - driver of the vessel made an inaudible comment to the snapper about me snapping back.

Why would customs be taking pics in the harbour?

10-02-2010, 02:50 PM
damn paparazzi ............... a man can't even slip up to the iga for a roast chook these days without getting his photo in the gossip columns

g'day mtaq, i'm thinking that a small boat harbour within a hop, skip and a jump of a major east coast shipping channel would maybe attract some form of customs surveillance given the amount of contraband that gets chucked off ships, i'm sure you'll be ok ........................ as long as you weren't out there grabbing 10 kilos of heroin conveniently dropped off at the m3 for you

bondy99
15-03-2010, 08:17 AM
Dear all

Rob Kenyon
CSIRO

Cdirt, I noticed you signed in to clarify the situation, however, it appears that CSIRO in conjunction with another Government Agency may be contemplating extending or modifiying the green zone and / or increase the marine park zones to encompass the areas that the recreational fishers peruse.

As you may well know, it's called "intelligence gathering" and some time down the track, the majority of marine scientists only look at modelling generated by a computer software programme or a statistician...also, statistics can be misleading and manipulated to suit the author.