View Full Version : Hard Work Friday off the Ville

levinge
14-12-2009, 09:46 AM
Made arrangements with Horseboy for a trip out to the reef last Friday. All set, boat loaded and Horseboy arrives loads up and we are away.

Launched about 5am and headed out into what could only be described as a lumpy swell. Trimmed out he boat and managed 18kts out past Maggie Island. We had designs on going to Keeper or Grub, but alas with the lumpy easterly swell, it was going to be a rough trip. After a quick rethink, we gave into the swell and headed for John Brewer Reef. On the way we did a quick drift at the 7 Bombers, with no takers.

Arriving at John Brewer we set a drift in the deep water between JB and Loadstone. After a couple of minutes I got a big hit on my rod, short fight and the hooks pulled &%$# (this was going to be my thing all day).

No more hits, so we decide to bottom bash around JB. I have never fished this reef before, so it was going to interesting. Anyway we sound around and find some good shows. Down goes the pick and we set up for a fish. I wasn't long before we are into the fish, a couple of nice trout up and in the box. We were hoping for some flesh baits to add to the menu for out friends down below. It took nearly 2 hours of fishing before the first flesh bait hits the board.

The whole morning was going toes up for me. In total I pulled the hooks on about 6 good fish (but thats fishing). Horseboy had his own probs, while waiting for the fish to strike, I decided to fin the fish and gut a few of them. After gutting the first one, I hand it to him to rinse off.........OOOPS!!! was all I heard as he is grabbing the net, YEP missed the fish and its gone (lucky it was one of his).

Anyway, from then on all the gutted fish went straight back into the esky (rinse later). Horseboy hooks up a nice fish, but alas its a Barramundi Cod (protected). So we do the right thing and release it back into the water, he flounders on the surface for about 1 minute and just as it is ready to dive WHAM!!!!! A 1.5M Noah slams him on the surface and he's gone.

The fish were coming up at regular intervals most of the morning, with alot being released back. We even saw a Whale and Calf out the back of the boat also (wrong time of year, but we definitely weren't halucinating).

Anyway the conditions had glass out from 8am to midday, so it was a really nice day out. Midday it began to freshen and with the threat of 15/20kts in the arvo, according to BOM. We decided to give it until 1pm and then make tracks back.

Just after midday, I'm looking at my line in the water and notice it is moving, I cant feel anything on the line, so I decided to slowly take up the slack and then the shit hit the fan. I am on and its a good fish, running, diving and pulling hard. After a 5 minute fight, this fish finally comes up and I'm calling out for the net.
Nice Trout, it has made my day after all the pulled hooks.

In total was had about 8 nice fish in the boat, including trout, Grassy Sweets and Red Throat. Not a bad day, but not my best either. Still it was fun.

We head back into Townsville with the swell and wind gradually getting worse over the trip back.

"JB I'll Be Back"

nidrac
14-12-2009, 10:47 AM
haha Nice fish mate... good way of getting a reference to the size of the fish... there's always a few empties around... we ventured out to rib last weekend (not many fish) and saw a couple of whales out there as well...

14-12-2009, 11:35 AM
sounds like a good trip brett, and a weekend was had that was easily 1000 times better than mine. had to help my sister and her ###### boyfriend move into their house, geez i was close to making him bite the kerb....such a fw.

anyway, relieved a bit o stress with a bit of surface fishing that night whilst i soaked a couple of pots, not a lot biting but ended up with a small barra and as a bonus I snared a good buck in the pot for the table.

PS, what sort of trout is that? The photo's make it look like it has white spots rather than blue?

levinge
14-12-2009, 11:39 AM
Sorry to hear that!!!

At least you got to stress relieve.

I believe they call them the "Common Coral Trout" Link below is a good identifier of the differences between the Trouts..

http://www.reef.crc.org.au/publications/brochures/documents/CoralTroutFlyer_000.pdf

14-12-2009, 02:02 PM
strange one that, never seen them with white spots before....nevertheless he's taste great anyway!

LostNearBribie
14-12-2009, 02:21 PM
I have got to get one of those fish measuring devices!
Lovely looking fish mate.

levinge
14-12-2009, 02:45 PM
I have got to get one of those fish measuring devices!
Lovely looking fish mate.

Took me about 25minutes to make it hehehehe....

Some real good fillets fell off him after the photo

ronnien
14-12-2009, 03:39 PM
nice day out brett,
but why is that yellow tail sitting on the bait board??????? next time make sure that it is attached to the fillet (bigger trout) & hang on.

ron.

gucci84
14-12-2009, 04:46 PM
looks like a great day on the water mate nice bloody trout havnt got one like that for a while i agree with ron though i have always found the wings or tail left on the fillet help attract the bigger trout

have a good one

casey

levinge
14-12-2009, 06:01 PM
I did put the tail down for a soak but got no takers, so up it came and down went some Golden Trev and thats when the bad boy jumped on..

Captain Seaweed
14-12-2009, 06:31 PM
A trout is an unreal fish by any standards and that is a f%$king nice trout!!! Well done! Wish we got them down here off Straddy, I would quit work. Well it would leave a big dent in the male prostitution field but hey its a trout insnt it;)

Marty

blueline
14-12-2009, 09:09 PM
good to see you got out brett, nice fish.

WalFish
14-12-2009, 09:29 PM
Not a bad feed in the end Brett. Will be home soon so leave some for me...34 days to go.

NorthC
15-12-2009, 02:00 AM
Brett, that is a "blue spot" trout Plectropomus laevis not the "common coral trout" Plectropomus leopardus - and by the looks of it, getting up towards the max size limit (80 cm). As a Townsvillian, this one is the same species as the big one doing the rounds in the local papers at moment.

Nice fish though well done.

And although the CRC Reef pamphlet is a good place to start with id for trout, most reef fish species vary their colours (mostly due to depth) and the relative size of spots (or bars) can change with size - but once you have seen a few they are pretty easy to pick.

Pazz01
15-12-2009, 09:19 AM
Brett, that is a "blue spot" trout Plectropomus laevis not the "common coral trout" Plectropomus leopardus - and by the looks of it, getting up towards the max size limit (80 cm). As a Townsvillian, this one is the same species as the big one doing the rounds in the local papers at moment.

Nice fish though well done.

And although the CRC Reef pamphlet is a good place to start with id for trout, most reef fish species vary their colours (mostly due to depth) and the relative size of spots (or bars) can change with size - but once you have seen a few they are pretty easy to pick.

I'm pretty sure a blue spot does not have transparent pectrol fins (i.e. on a normal trout you can the pecs are a lot lighter and you can see through them).

On blue spots they are very dark and you can't see through.

I'm pretty sure i've got them the right way. That's an easy way to tell.

Pazz

NorthC
17-12-2009, 01:00 AM
Same species, same reef, couple of weeks earlier, and a little bigger (105) - but another example of different and variant colours and hues a species can show.

This one is a little stressed and is showing the darker saddles across the back - these correspond to the black saddles this fish would have worn as a youngster in the "footballer" phase. The black splotch on the gill plate is rare, and I would say considered like a birthmark in the fish world - you don't get too many common coral trout with similar birthmarks, but I have noticed when you do get them they are generally from deep water

levinge
17-12-2009, 07:14 AM
I got my one in 18 Metres of water, but I think he was cruising as he picked up the bait and started to swim away with it.

Good fish that one..Did you end up releasing it???

NorthC
18-12-2009, 10:47 AM
Yep - as he was well oversize at 105cm

levinge
18-12-2009, 11:42 AM
Definitely a Minties Moment on that one...