Midnight
06-12-2009, 05:22 PM
Gday,
Headed out wide of Cape Moreton on Friday in ideal conditions.
We had the lures in the water at 0730 and got a Blue on at 0825, 22nm N.E of Cape Moreton in around 1200m of water.
It took the short rigger and put on a magic display on the surface for the first 40 seconds and then took off! We chased the fish hard with the boat and my mate Richie fought it at 12kgs of drag, with out a stand up harness, just my cr@ppy old Shimano bottom basher gimbal, for an hour before I said to sunset it (15kgs on that reel) for the last half hour. We had the leader at the 30 minute mark but the decky couldn't hold it, I'm glad he dumped the wraps when he did or he would have joined the fish in the water!
Sadly the fish came up dead. I feel it died around 15 mins before we boated it.
I was surprised that it died so quickly? Does that sound normal to you guys in the know?
Anyway, we managed to haul it onboard for some photos before returning it to the sea. I didnt have a tape but I would call it 10feet short length from the beam of my Bertram 25. Anyone estimate the weight? We called it 300lbs. I will post pics when I work out how.
We got another one on around lunch time that followed the lumo sprocket on the long rigger and billed it a few times before inhaling the 6 inch fruit salad I had in the shotgun. This one was a Black hooked in around 300m of water due east of deep tempest. It grey hounded across the surface and peel the 50lb outfit like it was in freespool hahaha I was on strike this time;D and we charged after it and picked up a lot of line when it decided to turn and charge at the boat, it went under it and out the other side before we could turn, i shoved the rod tip in the water and backed the drag right off but I got busted off>:(
It was an awesome day out at sea, dolphins escorting us for around 3 hours in the afternoon, cruising around and looking at the lures too. We found a turtle on the surface about 25nm east of Mt Tempest with 2 large Mahi Mahi with it, a bull and a female. We trolled it, cast slugs, poppers and nothing could interest them. I very nearly went for the gaff to get one haha
There were two boats I spoke with on the radio but I cant remember the call signs. One was a white BW34 im pretty sure, it was near us in the morning when we got the Blue, and another Black Watch Express with a black hull in the arvo.
How did you guys go??
Thanks all that gave me advice on this site and helped me get my first Blue;D ;D
Myles
Headed out wide of Cape Moreton on Friday in ideal conditions.
We had the lures in the water at 0730 and got a Blue on at 0825, 22nm N.E of Cape Moreton in around 1200m of water.
It took the short rigger and put on a magic display on the surface for the first 40 seconds and then took off! We chased the fish hard with the boat and my mate Richie fought it at 12kgs of drag, with out a stand up harness, just my cr@ppy old Shimano bottom basher gimbal, for an hour before I said to sunset it (15kgs on that reel) for the last half hour. We had the leader at the 30 minute mark but the decky couldn't hold it, I'm glad he dumped the wraps when he did or he would have joined the fish in the water!
Sadly the fish came up dead. I feel it died around 15 mins before we boated it.
I was surprised that it died so quickly? Does that sound normal to you guys in the know?
Anyway, we managed to haul it onboard for some photos before returning it to the sea. I didnt have a tape but I would call it 10feet short length from the beam of my Bertram 25. Anyone estimate the weight? We called it 300lbs. I will post pics when I work out how.
We got another one on around lunch time that followed the lumo sprocket on the long rigger and billed it a few times before inhaling the 6 inch fruit salad I had in the shotgun. This one was a Black hooked in around 300m of water due east of deep tempest. It grey hounded across the surface and peel the 50lb outfit like it was in freespool hahaha I was on strike this time;D and we charged after it and picked up a lot of line when it decided to turn and charge at the boat, it went under it and out the other side before we could turn, i shoved the rod tip in the water and backed the drag right off but I got busted off>:(
It was an awesome day out at sea, dolphins escorting us for around 3 hours in the afternoon, cruising around and looking at the lures too. We found a turtle on the surface about 25nm east of Mt Tempest with 2 large Mahi Mahi with it, a bull and a female. We trolled it, cast slugs, poppers and nothing could interest them. I very nearly went for the gaff to get one haha
There were two boats I spoke with on the radio but I cant remember the call signs. One was a white BW34 im pretty sure, it was near us in the morning when we got the Blue, and another Black Watch Express with a black hull in the arvo.
How did you guys go??
Thanks all that gave me advice on this site and helped me get my first Blue;D ;D
Myles