View Full Version : Fisheries Officers, Get it off Ya chest!
smashed crabs
04-12-2009, 09:19 AM
Gday all
I think it's high time that we the fisho's have a little discussion about our fisheries patrol , i have read alot of post's in here and i would have to say there is a fair bit of negativity towards them.Question Why?
Personaly i think our fisheries do the best they can do with the little they have, i do not think they get the support from most as they rightly deserve , Question Why not?
Have a think about this, rules and regulations are put into action and fisheries officers try to make sure these are being followed, ARSE HOLES dont give a crap and then it is more rules and regulations for the honest fisho's. Each time this happens it's more bitching and carry on resulting in the fisheries officers getting yet another slap in the face.
I can just imagine our officers talking amongst themselves every time there are new reg's that have to inforce, thinking gee they arnt going to like this one !
What are we doing about it people, what are we going to do to help, if we all did the right bloody thing there wouldnt be a problem to begin with, i dont want to see a another rule or regulation put into to place by the activities of Idiots or others.
And im sure our Officers dont want to have inforce another friggin reg.
As i have said in another thread(illegal crabbing) it is the actions of individuals thats stuff things up.
Have your say people , get it of your chest , don't sit on your hands and do f$#k all.
04-12-2009, 09:31 AM
In my area, which is reasonably large, there is 2 Officers to patrol the whole lot, and they are mostly concerned with Abalone Poachers and only the very odd "blitz" on boat ramps or rec fshos in general, I can honestly say that in all my years of fishing in the Illawarra, I have only been approached by them once, and that was during a combined Police/Maritime/Fisheries crackdown at one local ramp, so unless the force is enlarged considerably, then poachers and ilegal activities will go on mostly at will.
STUIE63
04-12-2009, 09:54 AM
what gets on my goat is that there are three different lots of enforcement officers (DPIF,GBRMPA &police) up here why is there not only one that does everything there would be less costs which would free up more money for extra people on the ground .the waste of money must be huge .
Ozie_3
04-12-2009, 10:32 AM
although ive heard stories about draconian fisheries officers i personally have had no problems whatsoever, of course im polite to them and do the right thing all the time (i have drifted into a green zone unintentionally and remedied that pretty fast)..
seems the ones that get heavied are the ones that lose their cool...
i see people fishing greens, crabbing them and speeding thru goslows all the time as im sure you all do, and as for keeping undersized fish n jennies that happens a lot.. hopefully these people will crash and burn one day...
the reason officers are detested is the same as police and parking officials...people dont like getting caught cheating....
if theyre doing their job fairly and conscientiously (spelling) WTG to them...
cheers chris
04-12-2009, 10:38 AM
I don't think the probelm is people getting caught, and Fisheries doing their job, it is more people NOT getting caught because the patrols are so far and few between simply because there is not enough officers to fully cover their "zone"
dredger
04-12-2009, 10:42 AM
G/day back fellas, down here ( Brisbane) I work at the mouth of the river , and I see many a thing. Question why do they see a tinnie say and of the three departments one will head to them, then 1 minute later a 20 footer goes past or is parked up and not a thing, a riveria comes up and not pulled up, Why is this, no undersize or drunks on these boats is it. I don't give a flying fish really but these are some that I notice , and myself with the grand kids have been pulled over and some only some are a bit over the top and the boy's got upset one day when one yelled ya not taken my fish and started crying a tad, I think they could be a tad gentle if kids on board. Ah also they don't get into them till Friday's either funny that.Good luck all. Laz
smashed crabs
04-12-2009, 12:29 PM
There is great value in what you mob are saying, if there are any fisheries officers joined up in here you should also have your say, people need to know whats going through your head, you know how we feel.Drop the badge of your shirt for a minute and give us a few words.
Communication is the key to success and individual thoughts and inputs add to the Collective> A collective of individuals.It will be these peolpe that truly make the difference for our future fisheries resources and make it work.
Wrong doers are individuals they dont form clubs and join groups, they dont get together and talk about how many fish over the bag limmit they caught or how many pots they robbed or stole, why? because they are self centered mongrels that have no respect for others, these are the worst individual you can have.
The one thing we can do they can't is be a collective of individual thoughts and ideas backed up with good will values, in doing this we will always have the upper hand,no way in hell will you ever get mongrels to work together( there is no honour amongst theives)
If you really want to make a difference put your thoughts on the table.
Be proactive starting from yourselves, we sure as hell need to.
If new rules and regulations are brought to the table , we all get upset and have a little cry about it and moan ect ect , it should never ever had gotten to this stage in the first place.
Know matter what the idea or how stupid you might think it is put it on the table.
If there are any non subscribed members out there reading this pay your money and get in here and have your say, dont sit on the fence
samson
04-12-2009, 01:41 PM
Totally agree with dredger i see it all the time they check and pick on the people who can least aford it even though most go out of their way to do the right thing and still get fined, i got nothing against fisheries doing their job its the way some do it that is the problem and it ain't just fisheries it's anybody with a badge it goes to their head and if they get pissed at someone watchout if your next in line these guy's should lose their jobs if they can't operate in a cival manner across the board it's simple as that.
In saying that there are some true gentlemen with a badge and they should get all the respect that they deserve.
vertico
04-12-2009, 03:45 PM
totally agree samson, if you are pissed off and have a badge dont come knocking on my boats door :P
04-12-2009, 04:01 PM
Totally agree with dredger i see it all the time they check and pick on the people who can least aford it even though most go out of their way to do the right thing and still get fined, i got nothing against fisheries doing their job its the way some do it that is the problem and it ain't just fisheries it's anybody with a badge it goes to their head and if they get pissed at someone watchout if your next in line these guy's should lose their jobs if they can't operate in a cival manner across the board it's simple as that.
In saying that there are some true gentlemen with a badge and they should get all the respect that they deserve.
Mate there just profiling there targets , same as customs do , same as the police do, etc, there chasing people who they believe might be doing the wrong thing! It's just to bad they dont profile the people that haunt the pumping jetty with yellow rain coats and fish mincers! They do go through the big boats by the way,;) The 40"er i sometimes fish on got done along with the crew for having some dollie fillets with the skin removed!
PaulMark
04-12-2009, 04:05 PM
There is great value in what you mob are saying, if there are any fisheries officers joined up in here you should also have your say, people need to know whats going through your head, you know how we feel.Drop the badge of your shirt for a minute and give us a few words.
Communication is the key to success and individual thoughts and inputs add to the Collective> A collective of individuals.It will be these peolpe that truly make the difference for our future fisheries resources and make it work.
Wrong doers are individuals they dont form clubs and join groups, they dont get together and talk about how many fish over the bag limmit they caught or how many pots they robbed or stole, why? because they are self centered mongrels that have no respect for others, these are the worst individual you can have.
The one thing we can do they can't is be a collective of individual thoughts and ideas backed up with good will values, in doing this we will always have the upper hand,no way in hell will you ever get mongrels to work together( there is no honour amongst theives)
If you really want to make a difference put your thoughts on the table.
Be proactive starting from yourselves, we sure as hell need to.
If new rules and regulations are brought to the table , we all get upset and have a little cry about it and moan ect ect , it should never ever had gotten to this stage in the first place.
Know matter what the idea or how stupid you might think it is put it on the table.
If there are any non subscribed members out there reading this pay your money and get in here and have your say, dont sit on the fence
Unfortunately,they would be unable to make any comment in an official capacity due to constraints put on them by their employer,Also do you think anyone who was a Fisheries officer would stand up and let it be known? I know i wouldn't with some of the cowboys on here. They are someones son/daughter after all,trying to do a job.Its simple really play the game by the rules and they'll say G'day and head off to the next punter.But I must say Fishing and boating attracts an amazing amount of boneheads as I'm sure you'd agree,as some of the stories on here relate.
Paulo
smashed crabs
04-12-2009, 06:08 PM
Unfortunately,they would be unable to make any comment in an official capacity due to constraints put on them by their employer,Also do you think anyone who was a Fisheries officer would stand up and let it be known? I know i wouldn't with some of the cowboys on here. They are someones son/daughter after all,trying to do a job.Its simple really play the game by the rules and they'll say G'day and head off to the next punter.But I must say Fishing and boating attracts an amazing amount of boneheads as I'm sure you'd agree,as some of the stories on here relate.
Paulo
Paulo , i dont really exspect( them the fisheries) to say a sinlge word.
You just never know how many have already read what we have written;)
Same goes for the cowboys that have been reading all this, your in here we cant see you but we know your there, scabing out tips and using our tricks >:(
Do the right thing, obey the rules (whether you agree with it or not - thats why we have a democracy - vote em out or run yourself and have a crack), treat others how you expect to be treated - no problems yeah?
Boating/fishing/crabbing does seem to attract an extrordinary large amount of fools who have no common sense, no morals, and no idea - pity that!
flatzie
04-12-2009, 07:49 PM
Smashed Crabs
maybe you should become a fisheries police inspector whatever! You sound like you got it wired, sniffing out the cowboys!
Flatzie
bigjimg
04-12-2009, 08:33 PM
Look if you do the right thing keep up to date with the regs and know where all the GZ's are you won't have a problem.The problem comes to you when you do get an officer who is having a bad day.Just be polite make sure you tell them to stand off your vessel so you both can get fenders out before they connect with your boat.If they are rude or smart arses get a photo of them and their id numbers and tell them to bugger off or you will radio the police.Thats what i would do,who needs a day on the water ruined by these type.For the most part all my experiences have been positive.Jim
The officers must like me. They pulled me over to check my prawns 3 times in one day.;D
Now I have this complex every time I see one.
Wahoo
04-12-2009, 08:44 PM
Thats me right there, " WRONG DOER " " RED NECK " " COWBOY " an individual that dont want to join a club or have group hugs or whatever..Im not a team player and never will be. i had to delete the rest as Steve will ban me..............GIDDY ON UP
smashed crabs
04-12-2009, 09:38 PM
Thats me right there, " WRONG DOER " " RED NECK " " COWBOY " an individual that dont want to join a club or have group hugs or whatever..Im not a team player and never will be. i had to delete the rest as Steve will ban me..............GIDDY ON UP
Wahoo back giddy up, Who said anything about working as team?
Wahoo who put you in that category? you did and all by yourself ;)
Wahoo i thank you for your post
smashed crabs
04-12-2009, 10:13 PM
Do the right thing, obey the rules (whether you agree with it or not - thats why we have a democracy - vote em out or run yourself and have a crack), treat others how you expect to be treated - no problems yeah?
Boating/fishing/crabbing does seem to attract an extrordinary large amount of fools who have no common sense, no morals, and no idea - pity that!
Great post by BR65, does anyone else here want to pin them selves with the lower half , any taker's?
There is great value with every post made in here, how you perceive or interpret them is purley up to you.
The idea of starting this thread was to have individual thoughts and ideas brought to the table, onec you make you post it becomes part of a collective.What you take away from it is your choice.
Cheers;)
smashed crabs
04-12-2009, 11:02 PM
Smashed Crabs
maybe you should become a fisheries police inspector whatever! You sound like you got it wired, sniffing out the cowboys!
Flatzie
Hell no, no thanks to Mr Hillier i got branded with the name of Shadow but thats okay after our little run in he got branded with the name Captain Holly-Wood.Still see him time to time on TV and down at the ramp.
My run in with fisheries officers use to been frequent over the years( and im not talking about hows ya mother type of stuff), most of the arguments was from me telling them how useless i thought they where.
I would sit down and read up on fisheries legislation and im not just talking about the simple stuff , find the loop holes and then front up at the fisheries office and say im going to do this, you tell me why i cant.
Well it had them completly stuffed, they would scramble around trying to find where it was written with there eyes popping out and tell me that i was not to do a thing untill they followed it up, to which i replied see you on the water, to which they replied i will throw the book at you, to which i replied see ya there i will bring the pen.
One of the arguments was a pearler, face to face and spit going everywhere, all in all my individual actions forced the officers to brush up on legislation, because they never knew what stunt i would pull next.
Good times! Cant beat good old war stories;D
To cut a long story short Flatzie , NO ;D
supa29
04-12-2009, 11:41 PM
iAnother area in which there is a difference of opinion, and as usual there is strong arguements on both sides. i havent got any problem with the fisheries doing their jobs as i got boarded 12 miles out, all ok. but my problem is upon returning to the ramp to see the fisheries putting boat on trailer and walk passed an asian family with a bucket full of under size fish in clear view of them with nothing done. i find this un explainable and unbelivable as i got a warning for my life jackets as they had lost their tags.
i am for fisheries patrols but there has to be balance across the full spectrum of rec fishing not just the boaties . the best thing that can be done is to allow the officer discression in their interptation of the law.
I think fisheries have a hard job but education is the key. Start in schools and fihing comp and boat shows.
kel.,............
bondy99
04-12-2009, 11:53 PM
I know applied to become one and commenced my studies with their pilot training programme between Qld TAFE (Gateway Campus) and DPIF /QBFP, uni courses took too long and people had to be retrained to "their way".
I managed to get 5 people into jobs but ####ed myself up by going public and made the headlines on the Northern Star ...Caption "Students Reel in DPI".
The selection crieria has to be addressed and seemed to be based on some US Psychology profiling format, unless you are about 18 to 27 forget about it unless you kiss arse with the boss or blood related...I know how it works I also use to be in the Government many years ago.
Too many chiefs and not enough indians.
That's my spin...Peter
05-12-2009, 03:08 AM
Only had chats with them twice..once this year and the previous time was about 1970. I don't have a problem with them...they have a job to do. I don't get into arguments with them with spit going everywhere..I obey the rules most of the time therefore have no problems or guilty conscience. I prefer to go about my business and let them go about theirs.
uglyfish
05-12-2009, 06:40 AM
I don't think the probelm is people getting caught, and Fisheries doing their job, it is more people NOT getting caught because the patrols are so far and few between simply because there is not enough officers to fully cover their "zone"
This is not the case at all, im am qualified to become an officer but, they are not hiring anyone because of the budget.The budget runs the whole operation with out money nothing can get done.
05-12-2009, 07:53 AM
Wahoo, you are part of a group its called Ausfish! You contribute as much as anyone else and aren't affraid to voice your oppinion, popular or not. Thats what makes this forum great.
As for me, I just wish we had more Fisheries Officers..... Like 3 times the amount!!!! Or more! Too many people getting away with raping our waters because the Pittiful excuse for a government seriously underfunds them.
Then as a result they bring in more restrictions on little or no science. In the end it is only the blokes doing the right thing that get hurt! The majority will continue to do the right thing by the legislation even as it continues to curtail our favorite past time while the deadsh!ts continue to flaunt the Regs.
I can understand some officers having an attitude with some of the crap they must put up with because you know what the type(that overtly break the fishing regs) would be like dealing with once caught.
Solution for this whole bloody thread is to hire a heap more of them. The majority of us will be far better off!
dredger
05-12-2009, 08:43 AM
:-/ G/day Fellas great day hey. So we all seem to agree that the regs and rules are ok and that we can work with it , no problem it's just the way the rules and Regs are interpretated by the general public and the officers. Therefore maybe we need a 3 strike system and that they can explain why and how, and we can take this in, and maybe contact the officers if we still don't agree.
Probably like me when fishing was free and plenty, I still recall and miss them days, and find it hard to comprehend the rules some times. But you have to roll with the swell these days, as where only small group, but donate a lot to the State ( tax).
Yes I get pissed too when you see some things let go and I have heard and seen as i'm the water everyday nearly. But what can be done there, if they don't wont to charge, man we have been told to forget it quiet a few times . ( undercover they could be ).
Just loving it, Good on ya's
Laz ;D :-X
smashed crabs
05-12-2009, 10:27 AM
Well said , from all
Social networking , great stuff
Education and promotion is lacking.Fisheries Officers should visit school's and talk to the little people.
A suggestion for volunteer officers was brought up on another thread by a young fella, very interesting idea.
I had brought up the idea of fisheries liason officer's, it works for the police.
Another possible idea would be a totally independant group of Volunteers, purely for education and promotion.
As far as im aware you can volunteer with the fisheries, not as an officer, only for education and promotion down at your local ramp.I think this is not a bad idea, a couple of times heading down to put the tinny in i had wanted the fisheries to be there to ask a question but they were not there and i spent the day fishing anyway with my question burning my brain, thinking gee i wonder if im doing the right thing here?
I realy do feel enough is not been done, i come from the days of open slather when i could jump in my boat and nick of to the shelf on my own, put on 60 fish and go home,in those days i didnt fish for fun, i fished for food, those fish feed 4 families.
Fishing for me in those days and providing for my family gave me a great sense of pride.
I look at my young bloke now and think he will never know those days, he will never be able to do the same as i have done, what will the future hold for him?.
I dont want my young bloke coming up to me in when im old and buggered and saying guess what dad there is going to be a 1fish bag limit on barra.
My young bloke is 5 now, this is him before he turned 3, he drives and i tie the crabs.Teaching him young from the get go and arming him the my knowledge and the great knowledge of others is my individual contribution towards our fishery. This is my new sense of pride, ehanched from collective knowledge of others.
I choose what i take away from your post's, no one choose's for me.
All your post's here are highly valued for me and my young bloke and i have been running him through and exsplain your post's to him.
Thankyou all again for your contribution's towards this collective of knowledge8-)
dredger
05-12-2009, 10:54 AM
:scholar: Very well explained Smashed Crab, agree in short. ;D So if you could put that to the authorities might be a great start for 2010. Your very good at putting the point across.
Cheer-O
Laz :thumbsup:
poddy mullet
05-12-2009, 04:01 PM
It would be nice just to see more of these fisheries officers out our way (west of the blue mountains). Plently of dropper setting, gill netting and drum net setting happening all the time in our local river.
I fish pretty regularly and so do my mates..... Only been pulled up once in 20 years of fishing!
Three officers to cover the massive western/central section of NSW just isn't enough!
bondy99
05-12-2009, 06:25 PM
The last time I applied for one of their jobs was 2 years ago, got in fo testing then one in you had to complete a teamplay role and given some bullshit scrambled test and hod to work out a the mathematics of building a bloody pyramid using old archaic slang and how long it took to build to build if every anyon was a day off and it required three bogons to lay 10 pickets each day x 15 hour days but every 5th day they had a day off but then a gremlin worked on that day etet etet tecc....
People who applied were mixed sex i.e. male and female. Female federal copper from Canberra wanted to join so she could come back and stay in Qld,..ex army bloke, current serving DPI people, a international student coordinator from Sunshine Coast, another copper from NSW and another 7 of various backgrounds and occupations. All were tested to see if they can drive and operate a vessel.
Only 3 positions Queensland Wide and out of 640 applicants, it was culled to 140 and further culled to 25, I know, I was one of the 25. At the end of the day it still is not what you know but who you know or related to in the department...people who say otherwise are pissng in the wind.
bondy99
05-12-2009, 06:27 PM
Pedro, how was your trip to the north?
smashed crabs
06-12-2009, 10:34 AM
:scholar: Very well explained Smashed Crab, agree in short. ;D So if you could put that to the authorities might be a great start for 2010. Your very good at putting the point across.
Cheer-O
Laz :thumbsup:
Dreger , i do plan to front up at my local fisheries office and ask a few questions , i want answers straight fro the horse's mouth, so if there are any questions person want answers for i will present them also.
To all
In short i will be asking for answers againts the following taken from your post's in this thread and other threads
Not enough officers
Too many different body's
Poor public image
To big of an area to patrol
Power trippers with a badge
Picky officers that are seen to single out
Feeling of being victimized, flash boat verses crap boat
Lack of common sence by fisho's , flip side fisheries officers as well
A want for more officers
Many illegal activities going on , turning a blind eye?
Lack of education and promotion
What can i do
all this just to list a few......................:P
What suprises me the most is the lack of participation towards this subject by the hundreds that have been veiwing, why is this so?
Is there a feeling of hoplessness by viewers or are you totally unaware of the day to day runnings of our fishery, or simply put do you not give a rats, i would really like to hear comments from you, i dont care how negative you think your veiws are just say somthing, dont sit on the fence
If i can change one thing and make that difference i will be truely happy.
I firmly beleive in taking a proactive stance towards our fishery.Im not after a pat on the back or browny points from any of you and i do not exspect a following
I do this for me and my kids , if the spin of from my actions benifits you all along the way then thats great;D
Im sick to sh.t of the twitts that are f..king things up on both sides of the fence>:(
06-12-2009, 11:04 AM
Dreger , i do plan to front up at my local fisheries office and ask a few questions , i want answers straight fro the horse's mouth, so if there are any questions person want answers for i will present them also.
To all
In short i will be asking for answers againts the following taken from your post's in this thread and other threads
Not enough officers..see your locaL MLA
Too many different body's..see your local MLA
Poor public image..according to whom ?
To big of an area to patrol..see your local MLA
Power trippers with a badge..that will go down well
Picky officers that are seen to single out..have you dates and times and eveidence or just a so called general observation?
Feeling of being victimized, flash boat verses crap boat..that could be disagreed with
Lack of common sence by fisho's , flip side fisheries officers as well
A want for more officers..see your local MLA
Many illegal activities going on , turning a blind eye? date, time and evidence
Lack of education and promotion..not their concern..fishos should know the rules..ignorance is no excuse
What can i do
..see your local MLA
all this just to list a few......................:P
What suprises me the most is the lack of participation towards this subject by the hundreds that have been veiwing, why is this so?
Is there a feeling of hoplessness by viewers or are you totally unaware of the day to day runnings of our fishery, or simply put do you not give a rats, i would really like to hear comments from you, i dont care how negative you think your veiws are just say somthing, dont sit on the fence
If i can change one thing and make that difference i will be truely happy.
I firmly beleive in taking a proactive stance towards our fishery.Im not after a pat on the back or browny points from any of you and i do not exspect a following
I do this for me and my kids , if the spin of from my actions benifits you all along the way then thats great;D
Im sick to sh.t of the twitts that are f..king things up on both sides of the fence>:(
I have no problems at all with fisheries..I would hate the job..getting abused by knobs in boats whenever you approach them and all the other crap. They know they are understaffed and underfunded..nothing they can do about it.
bondy99
06-12-2009, 02:26 PM
It's the politicians that should be given the message, to give the department funds instead of the lurks and perks for their own office and party, party, party.
Then there are their parliamentary secretaries also get looked after....it awlays has been and always will be the attitude i.e.. screw the working class so the rich can get richer at the expense of the poor. Don't need to be a rocket scientist to know that.
smashed crabs
06-12-2009, 04:56 PM
Thank you PinHead but my post clearly stated that i will be seeking answers from fisheries.
And thank you Bondy;)
Police and firemen roll up at school to promote and educated what make fisheries any bloody different , are they speacial or something?
06-12-2009, 05:06 PM
well sc..there is nothing fisheries can do about some of your questins..they can only be answered by the pollies that control the purse strings unfortunately.
But lots of luck anyway.
06-12-2009, 05:10 PM
It's the politicians that should be given the message, to give the department funds instead of the lurks and perks for their own office and party, party, party.
Then there are their parliamentary secretaries also get looked after....it awlays has been and always will be the attitude i.e.. screw the working class so the rich can get richer at the expense of the poor. Don't need to be a rocket scientist to know that.
Peter...parliamentary secretaries are pollies themselves...but..don't get too carried away about those that work in the public service..I can assure you that many work damn hard and perform admirably..always have done and always will do.
06-12-2009, 05:19 PM
Until Fisheries are give a bigger budget to work with, your not going to get much action in changing the way things are at present.
Yes some whinge when pull up by a Fisheries officer, but you must be one of the lucky ones, once in all my years on the water have i been inspected, a lot of this is because i predominately fish at night.
Ranting and raving on hear wont change things.
Going face to face with a officer in your area and hitting him with all the above question, will also not give you many replies except the word Budget.
How do you think things will change when even DPI (Fisheries) has not enough Budget to get things done, the reason a lot of our fisheries are in the state there in a present.
Best of luck in your endeavours, but your better off approaching your local state member.
bondy99
06-12-2009, 07:46 PM
I can tell you from the horses mouth (I wont mention his name as he is a current fisheries officer based inland and has a lot of miles to cover in his district). All monies and budget has been diverted to pay for the massive water pipeline projects throughout the State of Queensland.
bondy99
06-12-2009, 07:52 PM
Peter...parliamentary secretaries are pollies themselves...but..don't get too carried away about those that work in the public service..I can assure you that many work damn hard and perform admirably..always have done and always will do.
Pinhead,
I'm targetting the entire Public Service, I also was one of them (ex-Govt), there are a few that like to fob people away....Apart from the pollies, pollies also have staff such as secretaries and minders...like everwhere in the workforce there are good workers and crap workers.
I know I worked damn hard but still got shafted by bosses, back stabbers and brown tongues, you cant tell me that does not go on where you used to work or still are? It has to be a large dept, not small outfit.
smashed crabs
06-12-2009, 08:17 PM
Pinhead,
I'm targetting the entire Public Service, I also was one of them (ex-Govt), there are a few that like to fob people away....Apart from the pollies, pollies also have staff such as secretaries and minders...like everwhere in the workforce there are good workers and crap workers.
I know I worked damn hard but still got shafted by bosses, back stabbers and brown tongues, you cant tell me that does not go on where you used to work or still are? It has to be a large dept, not small outfit.
Bondy , same thing happend to me , i was watching millions of dollar getting wasted by dick heads.Eventually i grew a ball sack and just after that filled them with balls(two balls) and i gave them hell for there crap, anyway i now no longer earn 150k a year and i wouldnt be dead for quids, f.ck them and their bullshit.
CHEERS
06-12-2009, 09:58 PM
The coppers applying musn't be able to get a job as parking police like they have done for years to serve out their retirement?
The coppers still want to do the power play and crap with attitude that gives some of the fisheries guys the bad name. Self assertive is one thing but the constant demeaning nature of some of the blokes out there is poor. They should have education packs or something to give to kids on boats so kids respect them rather than dread the mood dad gets in as they come along side.
Shame to hear of officers being good blokes and basically getting peoples backs up so they don't bother reporting stuff anymore.
Easy - Make everyone a officer - $1000 reward for information that leads to a conviction. Put a bounty on the heads of th wrongdoers and leave the rest of us alone. They $1000 would be a lot cheaper the than extra officers and people would soon realise that like the film "ransom" they need to trust nobody and keep looking over their shoulder. They would stand out more or take more risk. A few more very public prosecutions of the repeat offenders and increased penalty for them wouldn't hurt either.
Amazes me how many adds the "coral sea" " conservation movement" etc can afford and I can't remember the last time fisheries had a TV add. Why aren't fisheries advertising on the internet sites.
Be nice to get rid of the badge syndrome - yeah they have to deal with some morons but they also get to deal with 99 other nice families.
Fining Mums , dads and kids for minor idescretions will never work and make them approachable or get people to respect them.
smashed crabs
06-12-2009, 11:17 PM
I asked my kids tonight if fisheries officers had ever been to their school to teach them anything, no was the answer, only firemen and police.Again why is this so?
I have read in these post that ignorance is no excuse and fisho's should know the rules, well i onec was a little kid fisho , a little kid that had to learn the hard way, i stole pots and strung nets and didnt know any better, untill one day i was sprung and got my arse kicked. Point being here is who educate's and promote's our fishery?
And who should be doing it? The most obvious answer if the Fisheries
Most bad habits are picked up from an early age, partly through not knowing any better or from picking up bad habits from those who couldnt care less.
How many of you have had you kid or kids say to you your speeding or you arnt aloud to do this or that ect ? Kids are switch on little buggers.
Just tonight i was catching sharks down at the local river , my second youngest said to me that im not allowed to catch sharks , i said who told you that , she said Bindy the Jungle girl, she was most upset as i clobberd the first shark over the head. I had a tough time trying to explain it all to her and that what i was doing wasnt a bad thing and it is in the way you do it, once she knew the in's and out's she put in a line and started fishing.
ShaneC
10-12-2009, 11:58 PM
I dont mind the fishos, they have a job to do, and most perform it admirably. I strongly disagree with the way the Green Zones were implemented and some other legislation, but them's the way of the world, and these guys would be in the poo if they didn't enforce the laws they have been employed to enforce. It would be nice to see some certain groups targeted a bit more (they generally hang out in families and wear raincoats), but to target them effectively would require tip offs from the public, so dont be shy mate if you know of somewhere that they hang out.
I have rang fisheries when I thought undersize fish were being offered for sale, and I am glad to say it was followed up and it turns out the retailer sourced fish from interstate, had receipts, and it was all above board. This was investigated the next day and I was informed of the outcome within a week, which I thought was rather impressive to be honest.
You say that the fisheries do not visit schools when other authorities do. Come on mate, you are the one asking for greater patrols, more enforcement and more funding. I am sure operational fishos have better things to do than visit schools. Fireys and coppers visit schools for very different reasons than what fishos would and their message is a lot different to trying to educate young kids on fisheries legislation. I pose this suggestion to you. I too have a young son I take fishing, I show him how to fish and I educate him on the fine art of fishing as well as teach him right from wrong. I was taught that way by my old man, and I imparted what I knew to my mates as a kid, and now as an adult. I hope they did/ do the same. Potentially one blokes ethics and skills were passed to quite a few.
So, instead of expecting more from the blokes employed to enact the law, use the opportunity you have to educate some so they dont have to..... I think it will be more enjoyable and worthwhile to you. Government authorities have heaps of people whinging at them, what makes you think they will listen to you?? After all, they have ignored the whole of Queensland and plan to sell our assets....
Just my two bobs worth.
mowerman
11-12-2009, 04:59 PM
I went for a wander down to the local ramp today(Cleveland) as I do most days on my dust mowing rounds. Anyone got 12 inches of rain in their back pocket?
Anyway, there was the Marine Parks boat getting ready for a launch.
2 officers in uniform, she is a nice sort, and 2 teenagers about 15 or 16.
Dressed in their going to the beach gear.
Work experience, or rellies. Who knows.
I have only been checked once by Fisheries or was it Water police?
Bondy99 might know. He was in the old Haines with me out at harries earlier in the year.
They must have been on overtime because it was just on dark and their first concern was nav lights.
Rod
11-12-2009, 07:50 PM
why would you want fisheries visiting schools ???
smashed crabs
13-12-2009, 06:27 PM
why would you want fisheries visiting schools ???
Good question PinHead, i will answer your question with questions, why not ?;)
Do you not beleive in education and promotion?
gav73
13-12-2009, 06:41 PM
The Mrs and I went to Conway Beach the other day fishing and crabing for the first time and just about to launch the boat and a Fisheries Officer turned up. We had a chat he looked at our safety gear , regos and he gave us some advice on the hazards in the river. Mate he was a top bloke if you are doing something wrong you deserve to be caught. Cheers Gav
13-12-2009, 06:44 PM
I do believe in education but schools are not the place to teach all aspects of life and leisure activities...a lot of this should be done at home..schools are for teaching the fundamentals and judging by some of the results that I have seen in some school leavers it leaves a lot to be desired.
smashed crabs
13-12-2009, 06:47 PM
The Mrs and I went to Conway Beach the other day fishing and crabing for the first time and just about to launch the boat and a Fisheries Officer turned up. We had a chat he looked at our safety gear , regos and he gave us some advice on the hazards in the river. Mate he was a top bloke if you are doing something wrong you deserve to be caught. Cheers Gav
I think it might pay that you read from the start of the thread and not the last post.
cheers;D
smashed crabs
13-12-2009, 06:56 PM
I do believe in education but schools are not the place to teach all aspects of life and leisure activities...a lot of this should be done at home..schools are for teaching the fundamentals and judging by some of the results that I have seen in some school leavers it leaves a lot to be desired.
Thanks PinHead finaly a honest answer to an honest question.
To all
Question
What would be the best way to educate and promote our fisheries resources?
Im going to jump in here on this and say that it starts with you, am i wrong?
And for those who are thinking about jumping in and saying something it might pay that you read from the start of this thread before you shoot your mouth off.
deepfried
13-12-2009, 08:17 PM
The idea of fisheries officers visiting schools may not be possible due to budget constraints. For many coastal schools that have fishing as a sport perhaps they should visit the fisheries office and do a test on size and bag limits before they are allowed to fish though. Much the same as a surfer has to do a bronze medalion before they can chose surfing for sport. Just an idea although just about every sport etc known to man sends a rep to schools nowadays so why not fisheries as fishing is Aust biggest sport ( i think ? ). Might be possible if there was a Rec Licence as it could be used to fund it hahaha.
PS i have read the thread from the start so dont rip my head off ;D .
Blusta
15-12-2009, 07:53 PM
In an ideal world, governments would provide mini ads like station promotion time to inform the general public about much of this stuff; road rule updates, boating matters, ramp usage etc etc . Instead of telling us what a wonderful job they are doing to promote themselves(political advertising, by another name some might think). In an ideal world ...
shayned
15-12-2009, 10:55 PM
Here is some information for all you guys who are legitemately concerned about education. DPI&F already has a volunteer arm which works on educating people, the group is called "Fish Care" and if you follow this link it will give you information on how to join up and make a difference. Fairly certain you would welcomed with open arms. http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/28_9635.htm
Failing that you join with someone like PRFMA, where you will be assisted to get a Blue Card free of charge, get to work with qualified instructors and teach kids how to fish sustainably for our future. www.prfma.com.au (http://www.prfma.com.au)
HeadBanger
21-12-2009, 09:03 AM
A few years ago, back when I was in Primary School, we went to Tallebudgera beach school, which is basically a school camp on the beach. In the week that we were there, we had the option to go fishing, which me and my friends chose to do. We were given limited (but still valuable knowledge) of the waterways, how to protect them and to observe bag and size limits.
I'm sure that there are other places around like this, and for all you parents out there, I'm sure that going to a place like this would be a great field trip suggestion:P
Just my two cents,
Kaidon:freak:
Fishmatics
28-12-2009, 11:46 AM
Shane C raises a very interesting and concerning point, that we have different bag and size limits from state to state. I believe that fishing should be controlled by the federal government and not state!
A collective strategy for managing our fishing resources should be top priority across all states. The current situation is an absolute joke - I can launch from the Tweeds heads and depending on what side of the border I'm fishing I could be over the limit or under. If I have 10 Dolphin fish on board I Ill get fined in QLD but be ok in NSW, similarly I could have 10 tuna on board an be ok in QLD but get fined in NSW. I have raised this many times - where is the science to support an 8 fish difference in bag limits from NSW to QLD for Dolphin fish and have a no bag limit on tuna in QLD and 5 in NSW??????????
As fish are not limited by state boundaries why should the control there of be limited to state government. I would be extremely happy to see a greater federal police fishing unit enforcing rules that are common across all states and that are scientifically based. Because of breading habits and the migratory nature of certain species bag limits could vary by latitude lines vs State Boundaries
Regards Andrew
horseboy
01-01-2010, 09:30 AM
Police, firies and ambos get asked to come to the schools( most anyway) Fisheries are overlooked. Fisheries do have a volunteer programe they most certainly dont know the regs in side out but most will find out and get back to you with answers if asked. They have no right to go through boats for catch and safety gear, But if offered will check fish to ensure compliance with regs. Smashed if you would like to see these volunteers in the Ingham area it can be arange but at this stage there are none living in that region. But there are some who fish up that way from Townsville. As far as patrols go The townsville Officers cover an area from down near bowen up to past mission beach with all ramps reefs creeks and dams inclusive i believe that they are spread to thin. Oh and i am not a "fishpig"
bondy99
05-12-2014, 12:31 AM
Rod (Mowerman),
So sorry for not getting back earlier, had a lot of things on my plate.
They were Water Police on the evening we went out. They too have been officially inducted by Fisheries to take on the role as Fisheries Inspectors aka Field Officers.
At the time when I was undertaking that industry specific course, Henry Palazsck or however his name is spelt was the Minister for Fisheries then, I raised a question with his office asking whether Police are now being trained and recruited to take over the role of Fisheries Inspectors, , he replied "No"....obviously that was a lie as history now shows.
Have a great day wherever you are Rod,
Merry Christmas and all the best for 2015.
Cheers, Bondy
05-12-2014, 05:03 PM
I reckon bring in a fishing licence in Qld and 100% of the funds go into fisheries policing.
All of the moneys the fines raise can go into ramps and so forth.
I like fishing Victoria where you get checked every 4 to 6 hours.
marto78
05-12-2014, 07:37 PM
Rod (Mowerman),
So sorry for not getting back earlier, had a lot of things on my plate.
They were Water Police on the evening we went out. They too have been officially inducted by Fisheries to take on the role as Fisheries Inspectors aka Field Officers.
At the time when I was undertaking that industry specific course, Henry Palazsck or however his name is spelt was the Minister for Fisheries then, I raised a question with his office asking whether Police are now being trained and recruited to take over the role of Fisheries Inspectors, , he replied "No"....obviously that was a lie as history now shows.
Have a great day wherever you are Rod,
Merry Christmas and all the best for 2015.
Cheers, Bondy
A response 5 years late is better then never I suppose lol
Redspeckle
13-12-2014, 08:59 PM
Well said , from all
Social networking , great stuff
Education and promotion is lacking.Fisheries Officers should visit school's and talk to the little people.
A suggestion for volunteer officers was brought up on another thread by a young fella, very interesting idea.
I had brought up the idea of fisheries liason officer's, it works for the police.
Another possible idea would be a totally independant group of Volunteers, purely for education and promotion.
As far as im aware you can volunteer with the fisheries, not as an officer, only for education and promotion down at your local ramp.I think this is not a bad idea, a couple of times heading down to put the tinny in i had wanted the fisheries to be there to ask a question but they were not there and i spent the day fishing anyway with my question burning my brain, thinking gee i wonder if im doing the right thing here?
I realy do feel enough is not been done, i come from the days of open slather when i could jump in my boat and nick of to the shelf on my own, put on 60 fish and go home,in those days i didnt fish for fun, i fished for food, those fish feed 4 families.
Fishing for me in those days and providing for my family gave me a great sense of pride.
I look at my young bloke now and think he will never know those days, he will never be able to do the same .
i used to be a DPI fisheries Fishcare volunteer education officer until Campbell Newman government abolished the fish care volunteers program gee weren't even not getting paid for it was part of the 20 thousand reducation public servant work force only it (I for believe in education is the way too go ( with no inforcement powers ) just purely education people on fish identification , fish can & can't eat and ones can harm you & Rules and Regulations eg on size & possession limit ( better under standing of it ) Fish friendly tackle I done boat shows, fishing clubs , fishing comps , community groups and special schools + take a kid fishing days. And main one done was at the boat Ramps around SE QLD extra set of eyes around the place any not right report it back to our head DPI fisherys officer that run the fish care volunteer program
yes we can lean from our mistakes from the pass but need to move on for the fishing future and education is the way too go and least I know did try give something back to the fishing community if they ever get the fish care volunteer program back up running with it again I be one of the volunteers again for it But I can't see it happening anytime what joke this current state goverment on fishing and boating matters just sat on there hands so far there has been the odd occasion they gotten off there butts only if it got votes in it
mitch
ps I don't post here much anymore there is to many key boards warriors as I far concern should get off there butts and help instead of being ctrics
airlock
15-12-2014, 04:12 AM
i think most people tend to get annoyed about the way things are done, overly aggressive or very rude encounters tend to be the norm, certainly up here in noosa they can be very hard work. I've had two encounters one felt more like chatting to a nice old bloke down the pub while the other seemed much more like something you would experience in North Korea. i took exception to being treated like a hardened criminal by some evil sod i'd met less then a minute before.
I should add neither involved any wrong doing and where simply checks on gear.