View Full Version : spinning for Tailor
reel scream
04-11-2009, 09:18 PM
Hello,
I am over at Moreton atm and headed to the surfside today to throw some slugs. Have never done this for Tailor before so have some questions.
1) Do I use the same slugs that I throw at spotties- Lasers/halco slices?
2) Do I wind them in like a madman like with Makeral?
All I managed this arvo was a heafty Dart foul hooked.
chiefsimo
04-11-2009, 10:29 PM
try mixing it up lure wise - generally need at least a 40g to get some distance in the surf.
Mix your retrieve up - search old posts from slider as he has written about spinning for tailor.
Main thing is to look for any birds working and keep persisting.
childers
05-11-2009, 05:33 PM
G'day mate,
Maybe try find a headland ,and if you see any patchs of wash hit em with your lures ,
I find just a steady retrieve works well ,not too fast but as said above mix it up a bit and try and find something they like , dont know if you will have any larger lures with you to try like 65 and 85 gm raiders, of late ive been killing them with a abu toby copys, surecatch make 40 gm - Lazer Lures make copys in various weights ,been meeting alot of other guys on the rocks who like them as well,just a slow retrieve with them and they have a real wide side to side action ,
good luck cheers.
supa29
05-11-2009, 07:12 PM
hey scotty i used a popper up at fraser a month ago and once you hook one thats all you ill use. hell fun watching a surface hit but there is a lot of casting between hits sometimes. try the big crome slugs but i found that you shouldn t reel them in to fast.
wish i fishing over there mate be better than working
got a coulple of dollies of mooloolabah last weekend billies starting to move around a little
catch you on the water mate
kel............
05-11-2009, 08:16 PM
I have done OK with 65gm Raiders. I cast them out. Let them sink then work a mod/fast retrieve. Its important to hit the zone where the fish are holding. You may be between the northern and southern migration at the moment. I have dine better towards X mas
Slider
06-11-2009, 06:42 AM
Tailor on a northern migration (winter/spring) prefer a slow to medium pace lure or fast lures that are paused on the retrieve. Tailor on a southern migration (summer/autumn) prefer fast lures with pauses being effective also.
Brand of metal not important for getting strikes but needs to be sufficiently weighted for casting distance and to suit conditions - generally 40g + for surf. Would recommend changing small trebles supplied on all metals to opposite facing singles of 3/0 to 5/0 depending on lure weight. But all metals other than Sliders drop a lot of tailor irrespective of hook set up.
If spinning around bait fishos getting tailor, or other spinners getting tailor, then lure size needs to be similar to pilchard size or other spinner's lure size.
Getting more kingies off the beach here than tailor atm and the kingies are taking quick lures and the choppers on pauses. So first 75% of retrieve is fast (flat out tss4) for kings and if no strike then paused for the chops - same method for southbound tailor.
The kings are hanging around schools of 4 inch dart - find the dart and there may be kings lurking.
There is a lot of info in the archives on spinning for tailor, and just about every fishing subject. But if topics didn't keep reoccurring, then new members wouldn't get an opportunity to contribute their knowledge and questions, and Ausfish would die a rapid death. So personally, I am perfectly happy to repeat things I've written many times before for these reasons and I may learn something in the process. Others who aren't, must be just in it for bragging rights.
Lindsay
reel scream
07-11-2009, 07:11 AM
hey scotty i used a popper up at fraser a month ago and once you hook one thats all you ill use. hell fun watching a surface hit but there is a lot of casting between hits sometimes. try the big crome slugs but i found that you shouldn t reel them in to fast.
wish i fishing over there mate be better than working
got a coulple of dollies of mooloolabah last weekend billies starting to move around a little
catch you on the water mate
kel............
I am here for work Kelly;D . A lot of down time to wander around the island.
Still waiting for you to give me a call mate.